DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sim (US 2017/0124877).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Sim discloses an ego vehicle, CRM, and method (drivers vehicle 210 of figure 2) comprising:
at least one perception sensor coupled to the ego vehicle (see at least [0041] which teaches a camera in the vehicle); and
a system comprising one or more processors and logic encoded in one or more non- transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
capturing data on an external environment using the at least one perception sensor; detecting at least one wheel of at least one object vehicle based on the data that is captured (see again at least [0041] which teaches camera used to measure front tire data of traffic ahead);
computing wheel movement information of the at least one wheel, wherein the wheel movement information indicates vehicle movement information of the at least one object vehicle (see at least [0047-0049] which teaches determining wheel movement data of both front and rear wheels of surrounding vehicles); and
detecting a predicted collision between the ego vehicle and the at least one object vehicle based on the wheel movement information (collision avoidance as disclosed in at least [0010, 0028-0030, etc.]).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Sim discloses the wheel information comprises wheel rotation information (see at least [0028] which note multiple variables related to wheel rotation).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Sim discloses wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising alerting a driver of the ego vehicle of the predicted collision based on the wheel information (see at least [0010, 0013] which discloses a warning to the driver based on wheel information).
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20, Sim discloses the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising performing one or more evasive actions of the ego vehicle to avoid the predicted collision (see at least [0083] which teaches e.g. controlling steering and braking at the same time to avoid a collision).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim (US 2017/0124877) and further in view of Reichel et al. (US 2015/0210216).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Sim discloses alerting a driver of the ego vehicle of the predicted collision as noted above in the rejection to claim 3. However, Sim does not explicitly disclose alerting the driver via an infotainment system, per se, of the ego vehicle since Sim does not appear to delve into any specific detail about how the warning system is structured. Reichel teaches a similar motor vehicle collision monitoring system which also detects wheel/tire information of other vehicles, and also discloses an equivalent infotainment system (see at least [0035], although the term “infotainment” is not used, the examiner contends it is obvious that the described display system would be considered an infotainment system due to the description of various input buttons and the display screen and the general way in which modern day infotainment systems are integrated into selectable input controls and screens for drivers). Therefore, from the teaching of Reichel it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the time of the filing of the invention to provide the system of Sim with an appropriate display means to display vehicle surrounding risk information visually to a driver similar to that of the teaching of Reichel in order to help alert adverse situations as soon as possible.
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim (US 2017/0124877) and further in view of Vyas et al. (US 2022/0185269)
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Sim discloses alerting at least one other driver of the at least one object vehicle of the predicted collision (as set forth in the rejection to claim 3 above) however, Sim does not appear to explicitly disclose alerting via crowdsourcing. Vyas describes a similar invention to that of Sim which also uses optical sensors to track tire information, and includes an equivalent means of “crowdsourcing” to that of the instant claim of by communicating information to drivers in the same vicinity of potential adverse driving conditions (see at least [0019, 0034, 0044] which teaches various examples of crowdsourcing information). Therefore, from the teaching of Vyas, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the time of the filing of the invention to provide the system of Sim with shared collision risk information in a V2V shared road information system, similar to that of the teaching of Vyas, in order to help prevent accidents and warn other drivers in the vicinity of a potential accident or other adverse road conditions.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Sim discloses the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising performing one or more evasive actions to avoid the predicted collision (see again at least [0083]). However, Sim does not explicitly disclose, the evasive action comprises alerting a traffic infrastructure system of the predicted collision.
Vyas describes a similar invention to that of Sim which also uses optical sensors to track tire information, and includes a traffic infrastructure system where a traffic data service, which is equivalent to a traffic infrastructure system, share traffic data between vehicles including sharing sensed data from said vehicles (see at least [0019, 0027, 0034, 0041, 0078] which teaches various examples of shared notification system information both over a network and NFC). Therefore, from the teaching of Vyas, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the time of the filing of the invention to provide the system of Sim with shared collision risk information in a shared traffic infrastructure system, similar to that of the teaching of Vyas, in order to help prevent accidents and warn other drivers in the vicinity of a potential accident or other adverse road conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892 form.
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658