Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Claim 1-6, drawn to an electric work vehicle that charges the battery to a target current limit based on load and temperature rise.
Claims 7-10, these claims are drawn to an electric work vehicle which can change between operable and non-operable states based on the position of a key switch.
Claims 11-15, these claims are drawn towards an electric work vehicle which can disable movement when charging.
Given the aforementioned embodiments, the applicant elected invention A for examination of the current application (see “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed 11/24/2025). As such, claims 1-6 were examined for this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NANBU (US 20210309118 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
NANBU discloses:
An electric work vehicle comprising: an electric motor to drive a body of the electric work vehicle to travel; (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0020, “Examples of the vehicle 10 include an electric vehicle and a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. The vehicle 10 includes a battery 20 to supply electric power to a motor (not illustrated), which is a drive source. The battery 20 is, for example, a secondary battery such as a lithium-ion battery. The vehicle 10 also includes a charging port 22 to be coupled to the battery 20. The charging port 22 is disposed in, for example, a side surface of the body of the vehicle 10.”)
a battery to supply electric power to the electric motor, the battery being chargeable by an external power supply device; (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0022, “The vehicle 10 includes, in addition to the battery 20 and the charging port 22, a junction box 40, a communication unit 42, an outside air temperature sensor 44, a notification unit 46, a storage unit 48, and a vehicle controller 50.”; ¶ 0031, “The charging controller 72 controls the external charging of the battery 20. For example, the charging controller 72 controls the turning on and off of the relay, the contactor, or the like, which is an example of the electric devices 64 in the charging circuit 60, to supply electric power to the battery 20, stop the supply of electric power, and resume the supply of electric power.”)
a temperature detector to detect a temperature of the battery; and(see at least NANBU, ¶ 0024, “The charging circuit 60 is constituted by various electric devices 64. That is, the electric devices 64 are disposed in the current path (current path for external charging) between the charging port 22 and the battery 20. The electric devices 64 include, for example, a relay, a contactor, and a busbar. The electric devices 64 are not limited to the exemplified components and may be components constituting the charging circuit 60. The temperature sensor 62 detects the temperature of a space in the junction box 40.”; ¶ 0029, “The electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 acquires the temperature of the electric devices 64. The temperature of the electric devices 64 is hereinafter sometimes referred to as the electric-device temperature. For example, the storage unit 48 stores in advance a conversion table indicating correlations between the temperature of the space in the junction box 40 and the electric-device temperature. The electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 acquires the temperature of the space in the junction box 40 from the temperature sensor 62 and converts the temperature into the electric-device temperature using the conversion table.”)
a controller configured or programmed to (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0022; ¶ 0028, “Further, the vehicle controller 50 executes a program to also function as an electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70, a charging controller 72, a predicted charging time deriving unit 74, and a travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76.”)
control operation of the electric motor and (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0070, “As described above, the travel permission time (tr) is set to a time before the charge end time in the case of timer-based charging, and external charging is started on the basis of the corrected predicted charging time. This can prevent the electric-device temperature from becoming greater than or equal to the first threshold even if the driver immediately drives the vehicle 10 after the charge end time in the case of timer-based charging.”; ¶ 0072, “The travel-preparation threshold described above may be, for example, a constant value set in advance. If the travel-preparation threshold is fixed to a constant value, the electric-device temperature may reach the first threshold during the traveling of the vehicle 10 after the external charging is completed, depending on the operation of the driver. In this case, the acceleration or the like of the vehicle 10 may be limited, and the driver may not be able to drive the vehicle 10 as desired.”)
control a state of charging performed by the power supply device; (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0028; ¶ 0031; ¶ 0045, “When the supply of electric power is paused, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the SOC of the battery 20 does not increase and is maintained substantially at the value obtained at the point in time when the supply of electric power is paused. Since no current flows, the electric devices 64 do not generate heat, and heat is dissipated by the outside air temperature. Thus, as illustrated in FIG. 4B, the electric-device temperature gradually decreases from the first threshold”)
wherein in response to charging being performed by the power supply device, (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0042, “When the charging is started (ts), the charging controller 72 causes the charging circuit 60 to supply electric power from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. At this time, the battery 20 is supplied with electric power according to allowed input current. The allowed input current is current that can be input from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. Accordingly, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the SOC of the battery 20 increases with time after the charge start time (ts).”; ¶ 0059, “Accordingly, when the electric-device temperature at the charge completion time is greater than or equal to a travel-preparation threshold, the charging controller 72 waits for a period from the charge completion time to when the electric-device temperature becomes less than the travel-preparation threshold although the actual charging is completed. The travel-preparation threshold will be described in detail below. At the point in time when the electric-device temperature becomes less than the travel-preparation threshold, the charging controller 72 issues a notification that the external charging has been completed, and permits the vehicle 10 to travel.”)
the controller is configured or programmed to set a target charging current in such a manner as to enable work travel after charging, (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0042; ¶ 0056, “In one example, the initial charging time, the pause time, and the recharging time (i.e., the time taken to change the electric-device temperature) can be derived using Equation (1) below. In Equation (1), ΔT denotes the temperature difference between before and after the change in electric-device temperature, I denotes the allowed input current, R denotes the internal resistance of the electric devices 64, t denotes the time taken to change the electric-device temperature, C denotes the thermal capacity of the electric devices 64, a denotes the heat dissipation coefficient, Tb denotes the current electric-device temperature, and To denotes the current outside air temperature. The first term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat generation, and the second term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat dissipation.”; ¶ 0075, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 reads amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature during the most recent several travel cycles from the storage unit 48 and derives a typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature. The typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature is, for example, but not limited to, the maximum value of the read values. Alternatively, the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature may be the average value or the like of the read values.”)
based on a detected value of the temperature detector and a preset setting condition. (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0024; ¶ 0029, “The electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 acquires the temperature of the electric devices 64. The temperature of the electric devices 64 is hereinafter sometimes referred to as the electric-device temperature. For example, the storage unit 48 stores in advance a conversion table indicating correlations between the temperature of the space in the junction box 40 and the electric-device temperature. The electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 acquires the temperature of the space in the junction box 40 from the temperature sensor 62 and converts the temperature into the electric-device temperature using the conversion table.”; ¶ 0077, “FIGS. 5A and 5B are diagrams describing effects of the derivation of the travel-preparation threshold. FIG. 5A illustrates an example change in battery temperature. FIG. 5B illustrates an example change in electric-device temperature. FIGS. 5A and 5B exemplarily illustrate a case where the vehicle starts traveling immediately after the travel permission time (tr). In FIG. 5B, a one-dot chain line A10 indicates an example in which a slow acceleration operation is performed from a constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A two-dot chain line A12 indicates an example in which a rapid acceleration operation is performed from the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A solid line A14 indicates an example in which a travel-preparation threshold (Th2) that is lower than the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1) is derived in this embodiment, from which a rapid acceleration operation is performed”)
Regarding claim 2:
NANBU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and NANBU further discloses:
the controller is configured or programmed to set, in advance, a correlation between a temperature rise of the battery that is predicted to occur accompanying work travel after charging and (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0033, “As illustrated in FIG. 2B, a first threshold is set in advance for the electric-device temperature. The first threshold is set to protect the electric devices 64. The first threshold is set to be less than or equal to a temperature allowable for the electric devices 64. The charging controller 72 is allowed to supply electric power to the battery 20 for a period from the charge start time to the point in time at which the electric-device temperature reaches the first threshold (“temperature reaching time”).”; ¶ 0074, “For example, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 sequentially acquires the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle and stores a change in the electric-device temperature in the storage unit 48. At the end of the travel cycle, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit subtracts the minimum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle from the maximum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle to derive an amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the current travel cycle, and stores the amount of increase in the storage unit 48. The amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle increases as, for example, the number of times the rapid acceleration operation is performed increases.”; ¶ 0075, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 reads amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature during the most recent several travel cycles from the storage unit 48 and derives a typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature. The typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature is, for example, but not limited to, the maximum value of the read values. Alternatively, the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature may be the average value or the like of the read values.”; ¶ 0077, “FIGS. 5A and 5B are diagrams describing effects of the derivation of the travel-preparation threshold. FIG. 5A illustrates an example change in battery temperature. FIG. 5B illustrates an example change in electric-device temperature. FIGS. 5A and 5B exemplarily illustrate a case where the vehicle starts traveling immediately after the travel permission time (tr). In FIG. 5B, a one-dot chain line A10 indicates an example in which a slow acceleration operation is performed from a constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A two-dot chain line A12 indicates an example in which a rapid acceleration operation is performed from the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A solid line A14 indicates an example in which a travel-preparation threshold (Th2) that is lower than the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1) is derived in this embodiment, from which a rapid acceleration operation is performed.”)
a target charging current corresponding to an allowable temperature rise of the battery due to charging. (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0042, “When the charging is started (ts), the charging controller 72 causes the charging circuit 60 to supply electric power from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. At this time, the battery 20 is supplied with electric power according to allowed input current. The allowed input current is current that can be input from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. Accordingly, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the SOC of the battery 20 increases with time after the charge start time (ts).”; ¶ 0056, “In one example, the initial charging time, the pause time, and the recharging time (i.e., the time taken to change the electric-device temperature) can be derived using Equation (1) below. In Equation (1), ΔT denotes the temperature difference between before and after the change in electric-device temperature, I denotes the allowed input current, R denotes the internal resistance of the electric devices 64, t denotes the time taken to change the electric-device temperature, C denotes the thermal capacity of the electric devices 64, a denotes the heat dissipation coefficient, Tb denotes the current electric-device temperature, and To denotes the current outside air temperature. The first term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat generation, and the second term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat dissipation.”; ¶ 0076, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 subtracts the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature from the first threshold and sets the resulting value as a travel-preparation threshold. Accordingly, the travel-preparation threshold is set to a lower value as the rapid acceleration operation is performed more frequently in the most recent several travel cycles.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NANBU (US 20210309118 A1) in view of LEE (US 20200062141 A1).
Regarding claim 3:
NANBU discloses the limitations within claim 2 and NANBU further discloses:
set the correlation in a manner such that even if a temperature rise occurs accompanying work travel after charging, the temperature of the battery is reduced to a temperature according to which the used power suppression process is not executed. (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0033, “As illustrated in FIG. 2B, a first threshold is set in advance for the electric-device temperature. The first threshold is set to protect the electric devices 64. The first threshold is set to be less than or equal to a temperature allowable for the electric devices 64. The charging controller 72 is allowed to supply electric power to the battery 20 for a period from the charge start time to the point in time at which the electric-device temperature reaches the first threshold (“temperature reaching time”).”; ¶ 0074, “For example, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 sequentially acquires the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle and stores a change in the electric-device temperature in the storage unit 48. At the end of the travel cycle, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit subtracts the minimum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle from the maximum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle to derive an amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the current travel cycle, and stores the amount of increase in the storage unit 48. The amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle increases as, for example, the number of times the rapid acceleration operation is performed increases.”; ¶ 0075, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 reads amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature during the most recent several travel cycles from the storage unit 48 and derives a typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature. The typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature is, for example, but not limited to, the maximum value of the read values. Alternatively, the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature may be the average value or the like of the read values.”; ¶ 0077, “FIGS. 5A and 5B are diagrams describing effects of the derivation of the travel-preparation threshold. FIG. 5A illustrates an example change in battery temperature. FIG. 5B illustrates an example change in electric-device temperature. FIGS. 5A and 5B exemplarily illustrate a case where the vehicle starts traveling immediately after the travel permission time (tr). In FIG. 5B, a one-dot chain line A10 indicates an example in which a slow acceleration operation is performed from a constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A two-dot chain line A12 indicates an example in which a rapid acceleration operation is performed from the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A solid line A14 indicates an example in which a travel-preparation threshold (Th2) that is lower than the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1) is derived in this embodiment, from which a rapid acceleration operation is performed.”)
NANBU does not disclose, but LEE teaches
in response to work travel being performed, the controller is configured or programmed to (see at least LEE, ¶ 0008, “According to an embodiment, an apparatus for controlling vehicle motors based on a battery temperature includes: a battery temperature sensor unit for measuring a temperature of a battery pack of an industrial vehicle; a battery monitoring unit for monitoring a measured value of the battery temperature sensor unit, and for transmitting temperature information when the temperature of the battery pack is out of a reference value that is predetermined; a vehicle control unit for restricting driving of a motor that receives a power from the battery pack based on the temperature information; and a fan control unit for controlling driving of a fan that cools the battery pack based on the temperature information.”)
stop operation of the electric motor in response to the temperature of the battery detected by the temperature detector exceeding an allowable upper limit temperature, or (see at least LEE, ¶ 0008)
execute a used power suppression process to reduce drive output of the electric motor, and (see at least LEE, ¶ 0047, “The vehicle control unit 150 controls a revolutions per minute (RPM) of the motor by controlling an output current so as to control the performance of at least one of the drive motor and the hydraulic pump motor. More specifically, when a temperature of the battery pack 110 is higher than a first reference temperature that is predetermined, the vehicle control unit 150 restricts driving of at least one of the drive motor and the hydraulic pump motor, and when the measured temperature is lower than a second reference temperature that is predetermined, the vehicle control unit 150 derestricts driving of at least one of the drive motor and the hydraulic pump motor. The second reference temperature is substantially equal to or lower than the first reference temperature. The second reference temperature may be lower than the first reference temperature and higher than a third reference temperature. In a case where the second reference temperature is lower than the first reference temperature, safety may be improved in the system since the state of restriction and derestriction of the performance does not change continuously.”; ¶ 0052, “The output unit 170 outputs information provided from the control unit 150. The information may include temperature information, and a notification of the restriction or derestriction of driving of at least one of the drive motor and the hydraulic pump motor. The information may include a notification of driving and non-driving of the fan.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the collection of travel cycle temperature rise for controlling charging within NANBU to include information about a potential shift in motor performance due to rising battery temperatures as demonstrated by LEE to yield a more effective travel cycle temperature prediction that accounts for unexpected spikes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NANBU (US 20210309118 A1) in view of VILAR (US 20210316713 A1).
Regarding claim 4:
NANBU discloses the limitations within claim 1 and NANBU further discloses:
the controller is configured or programmed to set the target charging current to a different value depending on whether or not the work device is attached. (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0033, “As illustrated in FIG. 2B, a first threshold is set in advance for the electric-device temperature. The first threshold is set to protect the electric devices 64. The first threshold is set to be less than or equal to a temperature allowable for the electric devices 64. The charging controller 72 is allowed to supply electric power to the battery 20 for a period from the charge start time to the point in time at which the electric-device temperature reaches the first threshold (“temperature reaching time”).”; ¶ 0042, “When the charging is started (ts), the charging controller 72 causes the charging circuit 60 to supply electric power from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. At this time, the battery 20 is supplied with electric power according to allowed input current. The allowed input current is current that can be input from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. Accordingly, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the SOC of the battery 20 increases with time after the charge start time (ts).”; ¶ 0074, “For example, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit 70 sequentially acquires the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle and stores a change in the electric-device temperature in the storage unit 48. At the end of the travel cycle, the electric-device temperature acquisition unit subtracts the minimum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle from the maximum value of the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle to derive an amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the current travel cycle, and stores the amount of increase in the storage unit 48. The amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the travel cycle increases as, for example, the number of times the rapid acceleration operation is performed increases.”; ¶ 0075, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 reads amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature during the most recent several travel cycles from the storage unit 48 and derives a typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature. The typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature is, for example, but not limited to, the maximum value of the read values. Alternatively, the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature may be the average value or the like of the read values.”; ¶ 0077, “FIGS. 5A and 5B are diagrams describing effects of the derivation of the travel-preparation threshold. FIG. 5A illustrates an example change in battery temperature. FIG. 5B illustrates an example change in electric-device temperature. FIGS. 5A and 5B exemplarily illustrate a case where the vehicle starts traveling immediately after the travel permission time (tr). In FIG. 5B, a one-dot chain line A10 indicates an example in which a slow acceleration operation is performed from a constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A two-dot chain line A12 indicates an example in which a rapid acceleration operation is performed from the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1). A solid line A14 indicates an example in which a travel-preparation threshold (Th2) that is lower than the constant travel-preparation threshold (Th1) is derived in this embodiment, from which a rapid acceleration operation is performed.”)
NANBU does not disclose, but VILAR teaches
a work device is attachable to and detachable from the body of the electric work vehicle; and (see at least VILAR, ¶ 0006, “In an embodiment, a self-propelled work vehicle as disclosed herein comprises a chassis supported by a plurality of traveling devices, the chassis further supporting one or more work implements. A battery unit is configured to discharge energy for at least assisting with actuation of one or more of the traveling devices and the work implements. A controller is communicatively linked to the battery unit and a user interface associated with an operator of the work vehicle, and configured to perform a method as follows. The controller receives input data regarding one or more specified missions to be performed by the work vehicle in a given period of time, predicts rates of energy consumption for at least one operating mode corresponding to each remaining mission of the one or more specified missions to be performed, and generates to the user interface output data corresponding to a required charge state of the battery unit based on the predicted rates of energy consumption, relative to a detected current charge state of the battery unit.”; ¶ 0009, “The controller may further be configured to correct the predicted rates of energy consumption based on determined work vehicle usage data and associated battery unit discharge data during the given period of time.”; ¶ 0030, “As previously noted, the work vehicle 100 may include one or more work implements, which in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 1 are a front-mounted bucket 130 (i.e., a loader) and a rear-mounted bucket 142 (i.e., a backhoe). In alternative embodiments the work implements may include only one of the aforementioned implements, or, e.g., shovels, blades, tillers, mowers, and the like. Buckets 130, 142 are moveably coupled to the chassis 110 for working the terrain, e.g., scooping, carrying, and dumping dirt and other materials. The front-mounted bucket 130 may be moveably coupled to a front end of the chassis 110 via a first boom assembly 132, including a plurality of hydraulic actuators for moving the front-mounted bucket relative to the chassis. The first boom assembly may include hydraulic lift cylinders 134 for raising and lowering the first boom assembly and a hydraulic tilt cylinder 136 for tilting (e.g. digging and dumping) the front-mounted bucket. The rear-mounted bucket 142 may be moveably coupled to a rear end of the chassis via a second boom assembly 140, including a plurality of hydraulic actuators for moving the rear-mounted bucket relative to the chassis. The second boom assembly may include, e.g., a plurality of hydraulic swing cylinders 144 for swinging the second boom assembly from side to side, a hydraulic lift cylinder 146 for raising and lowering the second boom assembly, a hydraulic crowd cylinder 148 for bending the second boom assembly, and a hydraulic tilt cylinder 150 for tilting (e.g. digging and dumping) the rear-mounted bucket. The operator may selectively control movement of the buckets 130, 142 using controls located within the operator cab, such as one or more of the above-referenced user interface devices.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the collection of travel cycle temperature rise for controlling charging within NANBU to include predictions for energy consumption due to the expected mission of the work vehicle with the necessary work implement within VILAR to yield a more effective travel cycle temperature prediction that accounts for attachments to the work vehicle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NANBU (US 20210309118 A1) in view of VILAR (US 20210316713 A1) in further view of OKAMURA (US 20190130662 A1).
Regarding claim 5:
NANBU in view of VILAR discloses the limitations within claim 4 and NANBU further discloses:
set the target charging current depending on the type. (see at least NANBU, ¶ 0042, “When the charging is started (ts), the charging controller 72 causes the charging circuit 60 to supply electric power from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. At this time, the battery 20 is supplied with electric power according to allowed input current. The allowed input current is current that can be input from the external charger 12 to the battery 20. Accordingly, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, the SOC of the battery 20 increases with time after the charge start time (ts).”; ¶ 0056, “In one example, the initial charging time, the pause time, and the recharging time (i.e., the time taken to change the electric-device temperature) can be derived using Equation (1) below. In Equation (1), ΔT denotes the temperature difference between before and after the change in electric-device temperature, I denotes the allowed input current, R denotes the internal resistance of the electric devices 64, t denotes the time taken to change the electric-device temperature, C denotes the thermal capacity of the electric devices 64, a denotes the heat dissipation coefficient, Tb denotes the current electric-device temperature, and To denotes the current outside air temperature. The first term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat generation, and the second term of the right-hand side of Equation (1) represents heat dissipation.”; ¶ 0064, “When deriving the predicted charging time, the predicted charging time deriving unit 74 predicts an expected electric-device temperature at the charge completion time (completion-time temperature). For example, the predicted charging time deriving unit 74 derives the last recharging time (for example, t6 to tf) on the basis of the total supply time, the initial charging time, and the recharging times between the pause times. The predicted charging time deriving unit 74 derives the amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the last recharging time on the basis of the last recharging time, the allowed input current, and the outside air temperature. The predicted charging time deriving unit 74 adds the amount of increase in the electric-device temperature during the last recharging time to the second threshold to derive the completion-time temperature.”; ¶ 0076, “The travel-preparation threshold deriving unit 76 subtracts the typical value of the amounts of increase in the electric-device temperature from the first threshold and sets the resulting value as a travel-preparation threshold. Accordingly, the travel-preparation threshold is set to a lower value as the rapid acceleration operation is performed more frequently in the most recent several travel cycles.”)
NANBU does not disclose, but OKUMURA teaches:
the work device includes a work device controller; the work device controller and the controller are configured or programmed to communicate information with each other; and (see at least OKAMURA, ¶ 0032, “As shown in FIG. I and FIG. 11, the working device 3 is provided with a communication device (hereinafter referred to as a first communication device) 10. For example, the first communication device 10 is attached to the frame 3b of the working device 3. Further, on the side of the tractor 2 (vehicle body 4), a receiving device 11 is provided. For example, the receiving device 11 is attached to the rear portion of the cabin 9.”)
the controller is configured or programmed to determine a type of the attached work device based on identification information transmitted from the work device controller, and (see at least OKAMURA, ¶ 0068, “According to the above embodiment, the communication system of the working machine includes the first communication device 10 and the receiving device 11. Thus, by simply bringing the working device 3 corresponding to the work close to the rear portion of the tractor 2 (the vehicle body 4), the receiving device 11 can obtain the device information such as the identifying information (a machine type, a model number, and the like) of the working device 3 transmitted to the outside by the first communication device 10 with the beacon. "; ¶ 0069, “That is, when the working device 3 is attached to the rear portion of the tractor 2 (the vehicle body 4), the device information of the working device 3 (hereinafter, occasionally referred to as the mounting device) that has been installed is transmitted to the tractor 2 side, and on the tractor 2 side, the receiving device 11 can receive the device information of the mounting device 3.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the collection of travel cycle temperature rise for controlling charging with predictions for energy consumption due to the expected mission of the work vehicle with the necessary work implement within NANBU in view of VILAR to include automatic identification of work attachments (working device) within OKAMURA to yield a more effective travel cycle temperature prediction that automatically accounts for attachments to the work vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NANBU (US 20210309118 A1) in view of ITO (JP 2017091963 A).
Regarding claim 6:
NANBU in discloses the limitations within claim 1 and NANBU does not disclose, but ITO teaches:
an outside of the battery is covered in a hermetically-sealed state by a storage case. (see at least ITO, ¶ 0009, "In a particularly preferred embodiment, a circulation fan is provided to generate a longitudinal air flow that circulates through the first space, the second space, the third space, and the fourth space. In this configuration, multiple battery modules and a circulation fan are sealed and housed in a single battery case, and the circulation fan circulates air within the space inside the case, and the sealed battery case prevents outside air from entering, thereby preventing the entry of foreign matter from outside while maintaining a uniform temperature within the space inside the case. In this case, if the electrical unit and battery modules are arranged so that the cooling air generated by the circulation fan passes through the electrical unit and each battery module in turn, the temperature distribution of each battery module will be as uniform as possible. This makes it easier to equalize the temperature distribution of the battery modules, and each battery module operates electrically efficiently.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the vehicle within NANBU to implement a sealed battery compartment as within ITO to effectively yield a vehicle with a protected battery compartment to protect the battery from outside elements as disclosed in ITO ¶ 0009.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
CHO (US 20170001534 A1)
¶ 0017, “In another aspect, the present invention provides a method for controlling a battery charge and discharge quantity in an eco-friendly vehicle that may include: determining a primary motor output limit based on information on battery state of charge (SOC) and battery temperature; determining a weighting factor of the primary motor output limit based on information regarding battery SOC and battery voltage; and determining a final motor output limit by correcting the primary motor output limit using the weighting factor.”
/RAFAEL VELASQUEZ VANEGAS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667