Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 9, 2026, regarding the claim and drawing objections (page 8) have been fully considered and – in light of the amendment - are persuasive, therefore the related objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 claim rejections (pages 9-11) have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons, therefore the related rejections have been maintained:
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Although the applicant has asserted that Swoboda does not teach the amended features of the claims (page 9, Sec. “Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102, para. 3), the particular features that are not taught were not indicated. Further the examiner considers the amended language to be, if not identical in scope at least substantially similar, such that any disagreements between the examiner’s mapping of the claimed features to the teachings of Swoboda should have been explained. Therefore the examiner points to the related 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections in this and the previous office action were their position that Swoboda teaches the claimed features is detailed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SWOBODA (DE-202023105665-U1) (note: the underlined portions relate to the latest amendment, for the applicant’s convenience).
Regarding claim 1, SWOBODA teaches an apparatus (Steering System 1, Fig. 1) comprising:
a probe housing assembly (Steering Angle Sensor System 9, Fig. 2) of a roadwheel actuator (Steering System 1), wherein the roadwheel actuator includes a pinion shaft arm (Para. [0027] teaches that Transfer Pinion 12 and Scanning Pinion 11 are coaxially fixed in a rotationally fixed manner, such that, together with Fig. 2, they are understood to be joined by a shaft);
a first spur gear (Sensor Pinion 13, Fig. 2) disposed on a first portion (the lower end of Steering Angle Sensor System 9, Fig. 2) of the probe housing assembly; and
a second spur gear (Transfer Pinion 12, Fig. 2) disposed on a first portion (the near portion of the implied shaft, Fig. 2) of the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator, the second spur gear (12) being configured to mesh with the first spur gear (13) and to rotate with the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator (being rotationally fixed as taught is Para. [0027]) causing the first spur gear (13) to rotate (Sensor Pinion 13 being meshed with Transfer Pinion 12, Para. [0027] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, SWOBODA teaches a system (Steering System 1, Fig. 1) comprising substantially similar features to the apparatus (1) of claim 1 (see the 102 rejection of claim 1 above) and further teaches:
at least one sensor (Steering Angle Sensor 14, Fig. 2) configured to provide measurement data associated with at least one aspect of [the] first spur gear (Steering Angle Sensor 14 being understood to sense an angular position of Sensor Pinion 13, Fig. 2 and Para. [0029]),
a controller (a controller being implicitly taught by numerous instances of the terms “measurement”/ “measured” and “signal”: Paras. [0010], [0015], [0030], [0031], which are functions understood to be carried out by some form of controller, particularly in the construction of a “steer-by-wire” system- Para. [0017]) configured to:
receive the measurement data from the at least one sensor (Para. [0031] teaches measurement signals from Steering Angle Sensor 14); and
determine an angle of the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator based on the measurement data (Para. [0031] teaches determining a steering angle based on sensor measurements, which is understood to involve determining the angle of Transfer Pinion 12, which comprises a pinion shaft arm as discussed in the 102 rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 7, SWOBODA further teaches that the probe housing assembly (9) is configured to house at least one sensor (Steering Angle Sensor 14, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), SWOBODA further teaches that the at least one sensor (14) includes at least one position sensor (Steering Angle Sensor 14 being understood to sense an angular position).
Regarding Claim 9, SWOBODA further teaches that a controller associated with the roadwheel actuator receives at least one measurement from the at least one sensor (see the 102 rejection of claim 12 above, which discusses the teachings of a controller and receiving measurements from Steering Angle Sensor 14).
Regarding Claim 10, SWOBODA further teaches that the controller is configured to determine an angle of the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator based on the at least one measurement (see the 102 rejection of claim 12 above, which discusses the teachings of determining an angle of a pinion shaft from the measurement made by Steering Angle Sensor 14).
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), SWOBODA further teaches that the roadwheel actuator (1) is associated with a steer-by-wire steering system (as taught in Para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 20, SWOBODA teaches a method comprising:
receiving measurement data from at least one sensor (see the 102 rejection of claim 12 above, which discusses the teachings of receiving measurements from Steering Angle Sensor 14) disposed in a probe housing assembly (Steering Angle Sensor System 9, Fig. 2) of the roadwheel actuator, wherein the roadwheel actuator includes a pinion shaft arm (see the 102 rejection of claim 1 above), that includes a first spur gear (Sensor Pinion 13, Fig. 2) configured to mesh with a second spur gear (Transfer Pinion 12, Fig. 2) disposed on the pinion shaft arm that is configured to rotate with the pinion shaft arm causing the first spur gear to rotate, wherein the measurement data is associated with at least one aspect of a first spur gear (Steering Angle Sensor 14 being understood to sense an angular position of Sensor Pinion 13, Fig. 2 and Para. [0029]); and
determining an angle of the pinion shaft arm based on the measurement data (see the 102 rejection of claim 12 above, which discusses the teachings of determining an angle of a pinion shaft from the measurement made by Steering Angle Sensor 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SWOBODA.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 13-14, (having different dependencies but similar limitations, differing as discussed below), SWOBODA does not teach that the {first spur gear includes 10 teeth [claims 2 and 13]/ second gear includes 11 teeth [claims 3 and 14]}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the number of gear teeth is directly correlated to a strength of the tooth, the gear ratio between meshed gears, and/ or the smoothness of operating of the gears, which are desirable characteristics of the apparatus (as a “result effective variable”, per MPEP 2143 and 2144.05-II-B). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, to modify SWOBODA’s apparatus such that the {first spur gear includes 10 teeth [claims 2 and 13]/ second gear includes 11 teeth [claims 3 and 14]} since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SWOBODA in view of Froese (“What are the technical factors…”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), SWOBODA does not teach a bevel snap ring.
Froese teaches, in a related article about retaining ring applications (Title), the use of bevel snap rings for securing parts and that they advantageously provide compensate for accumulated tolerances or wear (Section: “Bowed and beveled retaining rings” and image caption therein).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of SWOBODA and Froese in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify SWOBODA’s apparatus to include a bevel snap ring as suggested by Froese. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of compensating for accumulated tolerances or wear, as taught by Froese and discussed above, that would beneficially make a longer lasting and higher quality apparatus.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), SWOBODA, as modified by Froese, does not teach that the bevel snap ring is larger than the second spur gear.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the bevel snap ring of SWOBODA’s apparatus, as modified, larger than the second spur gear, since it has been held that changes in size and/ or proportion of an invention involve only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, (having different dependencies but similar limitations), SWOBODA, as modified by Froese, does not teach that the bevel snap ring is removable from the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator with the second spur gear disposed on the first portion of the pinion shaft arm of the roadwheel actuator.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of SWOBODA and Froese in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify SWOBODA’s apparatus, as modified, such that the bevel snap ring is removable from the pinion shaft arm with the second spur gear disposed on the first portion of the pinion shaft arm. A person of ordinary skill in the art would, when adding a bevel snap ring to SWOBODA’s apparatus, arrange the ring such that it was removable while the second spur gear was on the pinion shaft arm for the purpose of, for example, using said ring to retain the second spur gear on the pinion shaft arm. This would require that the ring was removable from the shaft while the gear was on the shaft. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of retaining the second spur gear with a bevel snap ring to gain the advantage of compensating for accumulated tolerances or wear, as taught by Froese and discussed in the 103 rejections of claims 4 and 15 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611