DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (device) in the reply filed on 05 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 05 September 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species 1 is generic to species 2 comprising the additional contactings. This is found persuasive and therefore only the species restriction of 07 July 2026 is withdrawn. The restriction between inventions (I, II, and III) in the Office action of 07 July 2026 is maintained. Claims 1-22 are examined on the merits in this Office action.
Drawings
Figures 8 and 9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the simultaneous arrangement of different lattice structures and the irregular /random distribution of lattice structures (claims 9-10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites “the material” in line 5. This limitation lacks antecedent basis, leaving the claim unclear as to what “the material” is meant to refer to. For the purpose of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as “the metal material”. For at least this reason, claims 3-10 are also rejected based on their dependency from claim 2.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“together with the semiconductor substrate, the metal material provides a Schottky junction configured for absorbing the electromagnetic radiation” and “a reflector arranged at the common surface and configured to at least partially reflect the electromagnetic radiation” of claim 1.
“wherein the lattice structure is configured to at least partially transmit electromagnetic radiation” of claim 2.
“wherein the lattice structure is configured to transmit the electromagnetic radiation in dependence on the polarization of the electromagnetic radiation” of claim 4.
“wherein the lattice structure is configured to transmit the electromagnetic radiation” of claim 7.
“wherein the metal material arranged in the trench floor area is configured to facilitate the absorption of the electromagnetic radiation” of claim 11.
“wherein the Schottky junction is adapted to a wavelength range”, “wherein the metal material is dimensioned”, “and “metal material is composed… the absorption is facilitated by” of claim 12.
“wherein the metal material is configured to form, together with the reflector, a resonator for the electromagnetic radiation” of claim 13.
“wherein the apparatus is configured to absorb the electromagnetic radiation” and “wherein the absorption of the electromagnetic radiation is facilitated by” of claim 14.
“wherein the first and second contacting are configured to provide a photocurrent” of claim 15.
“wherein the apparatus is configured to absorb electromagnetic radiation” of claim 17.
“configured to evaluate the one or multiple apparatuses of a grid or matrix element” of claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudolph H Dyck et al. (US 4,876,586 A; hereinafter Dyck).
Regarding Claim 1, Dyck discloses an apparatus (Fig. 6 in view of Fig. 1; wherein the left side of Fig. 6 (except the reflector) is described in conjunction with Fig. 1, as disclosed in [C4:L15-L24]) for absorbing electromagnetic radiation, the apparatus comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Si substrate 10; [C2:L61-C3:L8]) with a main side (top) and a trench structure (plurality of 15; [C2:L44-L60]) introduced into the main side (top) and comprising at least one trench (single 15) in the semiconductor substrate (10) (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6),
wherein each trench (15) of the trench structure comprises a trench floor area (bottom area of 15), and
wherein the semiconductor substrate (10) is transparent for the electromagnetic radiation (IR light 12; [C2:L61-C3:L8]) (as described in [C2:L61-C3:L8] wherein infrared light 12 enters the bottom surface of the substrate 10, passing through the silicon essentially unattenuated); and
a metal material (21; [C3:L41-L57]) arranged in the trench floor area (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 wherein the metal material 21 is arranged in the bottom area of 15),
wherein, together with the semiconductor substrate (10), the metal material (21) provides a Schottky junction configured for absorbing the electromagnetic radiation (12) (as described in [C2:L30-C3:L8]); and
a filling structure (silicon dioxide 100; [C2:L44-L60]) arranged in the trench (15) and filling the trench and forming a common surface with the main side (as shown in Dyck annotated figure 6, 100 fills the trench 15 and forms a common surface CS with the main side {top} of substrate 10); and
a reflector (Metal Reflector; [C4:L15-L24]) arranged at the common surface (the Metal Reflector has bottom surfaces that are arranged at the same plane as the common surface CS, as shown in Dyck Annotated Fig. 6) and configured to at least partially reflect the electromagnetic radiation received by the semiconductor substrate in the direction of the metal material (as described in [C4:L15-L24]).
Regarding Claim 2, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the trench structure comprises a multitude of trenches (15) (as shown in Fig. 6); and
wherein the metal material (15) is arranged in each trench floor area of the multitude of trenches (as shown in Fig. 6; metal material 21 is arranged in each bottom area of each trench 15); and
wherein, together with the material (interpreted as the metal material 21) arranged in each trench floor area (bottom area) of the multitude of trenches (15), the trench structure forms a lattice structure (interpreted in light of the instant application at [¶0085] which states only that this requires the metal material arranged at the bottom of the trench floor areas; the metal material 21 arranged at the bottom area of the trenches 15 shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 of Dyck thereby satisfy this limitation); and
wherein the lattice structure is configured to at least partially transmit electromagnetic radiation in a predetermined wavelength range and to at least partially reflect electromagnetic radiation outside of the predetermined wavelength range (this limitation is directed toward the intended use of what is required by the structural limitations of the claim, as the instant specification does not specifically define/limit/describe any further structural features, this limitation is implicitly satisfied by Dyck Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the lattice structure (of the metal material 21 in the bottom area of trenches 15) comprises a lattice constant, and wherein the lattice constant is determined by the distance of the metal material of two adjacent trenches (15) of the trench structure; and
wherein the lattice constant is at least 100 nm and at most 1000 nm, or
wherein the lattice constant is at least 100 nm and at most 4000 nm (in view of Fig. 3-5, which is the manufacturing method [C3:L9-L26], the lattice constant is the pitch between the bottom of trenches 15, and is 4000nm [4 micron; C3:L9-L26]).
Regarding Claim 4, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the lattice structure is configured to transmit the electromagnetic radiation in dependence on the polarization of the electromagnetic radiation (interpreted in light of the instant specification at [¶0087], which requires the trench structure to have one long axis and one short axis; this is thereby satisfied in view of Dyck Fig. 2, wherein each trench 15 has one long axis in the up/down direction and one short axis in the left/right direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the lattice structure is a one-dimensional lattice structure and causes a transmission of the electromagnetic radiation in dependence on the polarization of the electromagnetic radiation (interpreted in light of the instant specification at [¶0087], which requires the trench structure with a “one-dimensional lattice structure” to have one long axis and one short axis; this is thereby satisfied in view of Dyck Fig. 2, wherein each trench 15 has one long axis in the up/down direction and one short axis in the left/right direction).
Regarding Claim 6, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the trenches (15) of the trench structure comprise, in a plane parallel to the main side (top) of the semiconductor substrate (10), a first extension (long axis in the up/down direction of Fig. 2) and a second extension (short axis in the left/right direction of Fig. 2) approximately perpendicular to the first extension, wherein the first extension is greater than the second extension (as shown in Fig. 2) (wherein this is interpreted in light of [¶0087] of the instant specification and is thereby satisfied by Dyck Fig. 2), and
wherein the trenches (15) of the trench structure are arranged on the main side in parallel to one another with an approximately equal distance in each instance (as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and wherein they have equal pitch as described in C3:L9-L26).
Regarding Claim 11, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the metal material (21) arranged in the trench floor area (bottom of 15) is configured to facilitate the absorption of the electromagnetic radiation at the Schottky junction by means of plasmonic effects (this is interpreted in light of the instant specification [¶0094-¶0096] which only sets forth a structural requirement of a metal material arranged in the trench floor area, this limitation is thereby satisfied in view of Fig. 6 of Dyck with the metal material 21 arranged in the trench floor area).
Regarding Claim 12, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the Schottky junction is adapted to a wavelength range (infrared wavelength range; [C2L61-C3:L8]); and
wherein the metal material is dimensioned, in dependence on the wavelength range, such that, upon irradiation of the apparatus with electromagnetic radiation with wavelengths within the wavelength range, plasmonic effects occur or are amplified, in order to facilitate the absorption of the electromagnetic radiation at the Schottky junction by means of the plasmonic effects, and/or
wherein the metal material (21) is composed, in dependence on the wavelength range, such that, upon irradiation of the apparatus with electromagnetic radiation with wavelengths within the wavelength range, the absorption is facilitated by the composition of the metal material (wherein the metal 21 is a metal that is selected [C3:L41-L57] and the composition of 21 facilitates the absorption of infrared light and transfer of charges [C2L61-C3:L8]).
Regarding Claim 13, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the metal material (metal material of 21) is configured to form, together with the reflector (Metal Reflector), a resonator for the electromagnetic radiation (interpreted in light of [¶0078] of the instant specification, which only requires the structure of claim 1 wherein a reflector is arranged to reflect some light toward the metal material) (this limitation is thereby satisfied by the structure of Dyck Fig. 6 wherein the Metal Reflector reflects light back to the metal material 21 that would have otherwise escaped as described in [C4:L15-L24]).
Regarding Claim 14, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the apparatus (Fig. 6) is configured to absorb the electromagnetic radiation (IR light 12) based on an internal photoemission by using the Schottky junction (between metal material 21 in the trench floor area of each trench 15 formed in the semiconductor substrate 10),
wherein the absorption of the electromagnetic radiation (IR light 12) is facilitated by plasmonic effects in the metal material (21) and by multi-reflections between the reflector (Metal Reflector) and the metal material (21) (this is the intended use of the structure and is interpreted in light of [¶0079] of the instant specification, which only requires the structural limitations of the claims 1 and 14; this is thereby implicitly satisfied by the structure of Dyck Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 15, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a first (Fig. 1; 35a) and second (35b) electric contacting, and
wherein the first contacting (35a) is connected in an electrical conductive way to the metal material (21) (via 38 as described in [C2:L44-C3:L8]); and
wherein the second contacting (35b) is connected in an electrically conductive way to the semiconductor substrate (10) (via 38 as described in [C2:L44-C3:L8]); and
wherein the first and second contacting are configured to provide a photocurrent, on the basis of an internal photoemission, through electromagnetic radiation absorbed at the Schottky junction (interpreted in light of the structural requirements of the claim, and as described in [C2:L44-C3:L8])).
Regarding Claim 16, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first (35a) and second (35b) contactings are arranged at opposite sides of the apparatus (left and right side, respectively, as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6); or
wherein the first and second contactings are arranged on a same side of the apparatus (top side, as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the apparatus is configured to absorb electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength of
at least 1 μm and at most 12 μm (platinum silicide as disclosed in [C3:L41-L57] which absorbs infrared light [C2:L61-C3:L8] in the 3 to 5 micron range [C1;L45-L50]), or
at least 1 μm and at most 3 μm.
Regarding Claim 18, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor substrate (10) comprises a doping (p-type doping as shown in Fig. 1 and/or including N-type doped region 30; [C2:L44-L60]), and wherein a doping degree of the doping towards the Schottky junction is constant, stepped, or gradually variable (this is implicitly satisfied by encompassing all possible doping profiles).
Regarding Claim 19, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a layer stack; and/or
wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises silicon, germanium, and/or
a material compound comprising silicon (silicon; [C3:L9-L26]) and/or germanium; and/or
wherein the metal material comprises a layer stack; and/or
wherein the metal material comprises a metal, a silicide, and/or a metallic nitride; and/or
wherein the filling material comprises a semiconductor material and/or an insulator material.
Regarding Claim 21, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the filling material (100) comprises Poly-Si, SiO.sub.2 ([C2:L44-L60]), and/or SiN.
Regarding Claim 22, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the trench structure (15) comprises an extension (the vertical extension between adjacent 15’s) vertical to the main side of the semiconductor substrate (horizontal main {top} surface of 10), which is at least 50 nm and at most 1000 nm, or at least 80 nm and at most 1200 nm, or at least 50 nm and at most 4000 nm (2000nm {2 microns} as disclosed in [C3:L27-L40]).
Regarding Claim 23, Dyck discloses a system for use in an image sensor ([C2:L30-L43]), comprising: a multitude of apparatuses according to claim 1 (thousands of Fig. 1), wherein the multitude of apparatuses is arranged in a grid or in a matrix (rectangular array), and wherein one or multiple apparatuses of the multitude of apparatuses are each assigned to each grid or matrix element, and wherein the system is configured to evaluate the one or multiple apparatuses of a grid or matrix element, each regarding a photocurrent created by absorption of electromagnetic radiation (as described in [C2:L30-L43]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyck in view of Wei Dong et al. (US 20190074396 A1; hereinafter Dong).
Regarding Claim 7, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 2,
but does not expressly disclose wherein the lattice structure is configured to transmit the electromagnetic radiation with a first polarization direction and a second polarization direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Dong teaches an infrared detecting device (¶0026) comprising: (see Fig. 3, 9, 10A) a silicon substrate (2; ¶0058) comprising trenches (concave portions 12; ¶0098) with a metal material (14A; ¶0098) arranged in the trench floor area (see Fig. 10A) forming a Schottky junction (¶0098); wherein the trenches (12, and thereby the lattice structure) can be formed in shapes that are either a stripe arrangement (see Fig. 9; wherein this configuration is equivalent to the arrangement of Dyck) to detect one polarization, or a matrix shaped pattern wherein the trenches are circular shaped (see Fig. 3 wherein the trenches 12 are circular shaped) in order to detect light independently of the polarization (¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the shape of the lattice structure of Dong (Fig. 3 including the circular shaped trenches) for that of Dyck, since Dong has established the shapes of the trenches can be configured according the type of desired light detection (circular shaped Fig. 3 detects light independent of polarization {¶0088}; or strip shaped Fig. 9 which detects polarized light {¶0095}).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyck in view of Dong and Eiji Takeda et al. (US 20220310868 A1; hereinafter Takeda).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Dyck teaches the apparatus according to claim 7,
but does not expressly disclose wherein the trenches of the trench structure are connected to one another and formed as a trench surface, and
wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises columns in the area of the trench structure, wherein the columns are arranged with a predetermined distance from one another in a regular arrangement.
In the same field of endeavor, Takeda discloses (Fig. 2A/2B) an optical device comprising a silicon substrate (10; ¶0055) with trenches (11b) are connected to one another and formed as a trench surface (as shown in Fig. 2A), wherein a metal material (20) is arranged on the trench surface (as shown in Fig. 2B) forming a Schottky junction to absorb electromagnetic radiation through surface plasmon resonance (¶0063), wherein the semiconductor substrate (10) comprises columns (11a) in the area of the trench structure, wherein the columns (11a) are arranged with a predetermined distance from one another in a regular arrangement (as shown in Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the shape/arrangement of Takeda for that of modified Dong in order to provide an improvement of absorptance of near-infrared light to about 90% (Takeda; ¶0079).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyck in view of Shimpei Ogawa et al. (US 20230343882 A1; hereinafter Ogawa).
Regarding Claim 9, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 2, but does not expressly disclose wherein the apparatus comprises a multitude of different lattice structures.
In the same field of endeavor, Ogawa teaches a device (see Fig. 30, which may contain any of detectors 100 to 116 from earlier embodiments; ¶0244) for detecting IR light (¶0040) including variously shaped holes (30; ¶0054) in filter structure (3; ¶0054) which collectively form a lattice structure for the purpose of wavelength detection. These may include a multitude of different lattice structures (as described in ¶0246 and shown in Fig. 30; 200, 201, 202, and 203 are different from one another according to any of the first 20 embodiments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a plurality of different lattice structures in the apparatus of Dyck (in the manner of Ogawa) in order to provide a device capable of detecting multiple wavelengths (Ogawa; ¶0247-¶0248).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Dyck teaches the apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the different lattice structures are arranged irregularly and/or distributed randomly (wherein Ogawa discloses the different lattice structures may be arranged not periodically but at different intervals; ¶0246).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyck in view of Takeda.
Regarding Claim 20, Dyck discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. Dyck discloses a variety of metals may be employed [C3:L41-L57], but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the metal material (21) comprises at least one of aluminum, copper, nickel, gold, titanium, nickel silicide, cobalt silicide, titanium silicide, and/or titanium nitride.
In the same field of endeavor, Takeda discloses (Fig. 2B) an optical device comprising a silicon substrate (10; ¶0055) with trenches (11b), wherein a metal material (20) is arranged at the bottom floor area of each trench (as shown in Fig. 2B) forming a Schottky junction to absorb electromagnetic radiation through surface plasmon resonance (¶0063), wherein the metal material may be gold, silver, copper, aluminum, or palladium (¶0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize gold, silver, copper, or aluminum (thereby satisfying the limitation) for the metal material of Dyck. This is an obvious substitution for a known equivalent material for the same purpose (wherein Dyck discloses the metal material may be palladium [C3:L41-L57] and Takeda discloses that gold, silver, copper, or aluminum are equivalents to palladium in ¶0069 for the same purpose of absorbing electromagnetic radiation in a Schottky junction of a trench structure in a silicon substrate).
The substitution of a known equivalent for another known equivalent is prima facie case of obviousness. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
NATHAN PRIDEMORE
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/NATHAN PRIDEMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898