DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim is 12 objected to because of the following informalities: line 6 recites "an main printed circuit board" should read "a main printed circuit board". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the active device" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A active device was not introduced prior to this recitation, it is not clear if the recited active device is the same active device included on the main printed circuit board.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the active device" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A active device was not introduced prior to this recitation, it is not clear if the recited active device is the same active device included on the main printed circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duis et al. [US 20130094864 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Duis discloses a circuit board assembly (600, Fig 7) for a pluggable module (900, Fig 10) comprising:
an upper interface printed circuit board (606) including first data channels (receiver circuitry, [0058]), the upper interface printed circuit board (606) including an upper mating edge and upper mating pads (706) proximate to the upper mating edge forming portions of the first data channels, the upper mating edge (at pads 706) configured to be plugged into a first card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]) to mate the upper mating pads (706) with first contacts of the first card edge connector (not shown);
a lower interface printed circuit board (605) including second data channels (transmitter circuitry, see [0058]), the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including a lower mating edge and lower mating pads (705) proximate to the lower mating edge forming portions of the second data channels, the lower mating edge (at pads 705) configured to be plugged into a second card edge connector (not shown) to mate the lower mating pads (705) with second contacts of the second card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]);
a main printed circuit board (601) including an active device (transmitter driver 602, receiver driver 603) configured to be electrically connected to the first data channels (receiver circuitry) and the second data channels (transmitter circuitry), the active device (602, 603) including a repeater device (drivers 602, 603) restoring signals transmitting along the first data channels and the second data channels;
an upper flexible circuit (604) connected between the upper interface printed circuit board (606) and the main printed circuit board (601) to electrically connect the first data channels (receiver circuitry) to the active device (receiver driver 603); and
a lower flexible circuit (604) connected between the lower interface printed circuit board (605) and the main printed circuit board (601) to electrically connect the second data channels (transmitter circuitry) to the active device (transmitter driver 602).
Regarding Claim 2, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the upper interface printed circuit board (606) and the lower interface printed circuit board (605) form a dual paddle card interface for the pluggable module (900).
Regarding Claim 3, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the upper and lower flexible circuits (604) allow the main printed circuit board (601) to move relative to the upper and lower interface and circuit boards (606, 605).
Regarding Claim 4, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the first and second data channels (receiver and transmitter circuitry) from the upper and lower interface printed circuit boards (606, 605) are combined on the main printed circuit board (601) for processing by the active device (602, 603).
Regarding Claim 5, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the upper interface printed circuit board (606) includes a rigid substrate, the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including a rigid substrate, the main printed circuit board (601) including a rigid substrate, the upper and lower flexible circuits (604) extending between the corresponding rigid substrates (606, 605, 601).
Regarding Claim 10, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the repeater device (602, 603) is one of a re-timer device or a re-driver (driver) device for processing the first and second data channels (transmitter and receiver circuitry).
Regarding Claim 11, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis further discloses the main printed circuit board (601) includes an electrical-to-optical converter and an optical transceiver configured (OEDs, see [0044]) to be operably coupled to a fiber optic cable.
Regarding Claim 12, Duis discloses a pluggable module (900, Fig 10) comprising:
a shell (housing 901, 902) having a cavity (where assembly 600 is held, see annotated Fig 11), the shell having a mating end (at the end comprising pads 705, 706), the shell having an opening (see annotated Fig 11) at the mating end; and
a circuit board assembly (600) received in the cavity of the shell (901, 902), the circuit board assembly (600) including an upper interface printed circuit board (606), a lower interface printed circuit board (605), a main printed circuit board (601), an upper flexible circuit (604) connected between the upper interface printed circuit board (606) and the main printed circuit board (601), and a lower flexible circuit (604) connected between the lower interface printed circuit board (605) and the main printed circuit board (601); the upper interface printed circuit board (606) including first data channels (receiver circuitry),
the upper flexible circuit (604) electrically connecting the first data channels (receiver circuitry) to an active device (receiver driver 603), the upper interface printed circuit board (606) including an upper mating edge and upper mating pads (706) proximate to the upper mating edge forming portions of the first data channels (receiver circuitry), the upper mating edge (at the end where pads 706 are located) presented at the mating end of the shell (901, 902) for plugging into a first card edge connector (not shown) to mate the upper mating pads (706) with first contacts of the first card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]);
the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including second data channels (transmitter circuitry), the lower flexible circuit (604) electrically connecting the second data channels (transmitter circuitry) to the active device (transmitter driver 602), the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including a lower mating edge and lower mating pads (705) proximate to the lower mating edge forming portions of the second data channels, the lower mating edge (at the end where pads 705 are located) presented at the mating end of the shell (901, 902) for plugging into a second card edge connector (not shown) to mate the lower mating pads with second contacts of the second card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]);
the main printed circuit board (601) including the active device (transmitter driver 602, receiver driver 603) electrically connected to the first data channels and the second data channels (receiver and transmitter circuitry), the active device (602, 603) including a repeater device (drivers 602, 603) restoring signals transmitting along the first data channels and the second data channels.
Regarding Claim 13, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 12, Duis further discloses the upper and lower flexible circuits (604) allow the main printed circuit board (601) to move relative to the upper and lower interface and circuit boards (606, 605).
Regarding Claim 14, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 12, Duis further discloses the first and second data channels (receiver and transmitter circuitry) from the upper and lower interface printed circuit boards (606, 605) are combined on the main printed circuit board (601) for processing by the active device (602, 603).
Regarding Claim 15, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 12, Duis further discloses the upper interface printed circuit board (606) includes a rigid substrate, the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including a rigid substrate, the main printed circuit board (601) including a rigid substrate, the upper and lower flexible circuits (604) extending between the corresponding rigid substrates (606, 605, 601).
Regarding Claim 17, Duis discloses a pluggable module comprising:
a shell (housing 901, 902) having a cavity (where assembly 600 is held, see annotated Fig 11), the shell having a mating end (at the end comprising pads 705, 706), and a cable end (opposite the mating end at rear featuring optical interface 100 and adapter 1004), the shell having an opening (see annotated Fig 11) at the mating end (at the end comprising pads 705, 706); and
a cable assembly (optical fibers via mating connector 920, Fig 9) extending from the cable end, the cable assembly cables having conductors (optical fibers); and
a circuit board assembly (600, Fig 7) received in the cavity of the shell (901, 902) and terminated to the conductors of the cables of the cable assembly, a main printed circuit board (601), an upper flexible circuit (604) connected between the upper interface printed circuit board (606) and the main printed circuit board (601), and a lower flexible circuit (604) connected between the lower interface printed circuit board (605) and the main printed circuit board (601); the upper interface printed circuit board (606) including first data channels (receiver circuitry),
the upper flexible circuit (604) electrically connecting the first data channels (receiver circuitry) to an active device (receiver driver 603), the upper interface printed circuit board (606) including an upper mating edge and upper mating pads (706) proximate to the upper mating edge forming portions of the first data channels (receiver circuitry), the upper mating edge (at the end where pads 706 are located) presented at the mating end of the shell (901, 902) for plugging into a first card edge connector (not shown) to mate the upper mating pads (706) with first contacts of the first card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]);
the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including second data channels (transmitter circuitry), the lower flexible circuit (604) electrically connecting the second data channels (transmitter circuitry) to the active device (transmitter driver 602), the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including a lower mating edge and lower mating pads (705) proximate to the lower mating edge forming portions of the second data channels, the lower mating edge (at the end where pads 705 are located) presented at the mating end of the shell (901, 902) for plugging into a second card edge connector (not shown) to mate the lower mating pads with second contacts of the second card edge connector (not shown, see [0059]);
the main printed circuit board (601) including the active device configured to be electrically connected to the first data channels and the second data channels (receiver and transmitter circuitry) and configured to be electrically connected to the conductors of the cables of the cable assembly, the active device (602, 603) including a repeater device (drivers 602, 603) restoring signals transmitting along the first data channels and the second data channels.
Regarding Claim 18, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 17, Duis further discloses the upper and lower flexible circuits (604) allow the main printed circuit board (601) to move in the cavity relative to the shell (901, 902)
Regarding Claim 19, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 17, Duis further discloses the first and second data channels (receiver and transmitter circuitry) from the upper and lower interface printed circuit boards (606, 605) are combined on the main printed circuit board (601) for processing by the active device (602, 603).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duis et al. [US 20130094864 A1] in view of Wang et al. [US 20120129396 A1].
Regarding Claim 6, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 5, Duis does not explicitly disclose the rigid substrate of the upper interface printed circuit board is arranged along a first plane, the rigid substrate of the lower interface printed circuit board being arranged along a second plane parallel to and spaced apart from the first plane, the rigid substrate of the main printed circuit board being arranged along a third plane parallel to and spaced apart from the first and second planes.
However, Wang discloses a circuit board module (Fig 4) comprising a stack of three circuit boards (1, 2, 3) where the boards are spaced from each other in a “parallel relation” (see claim 11, Fig 4-5). This arrangement specifically shows a “second printed circuit board” and “third printed circuit board” (the interface boards) and a “first circuit board” (main board) where each rigid substrate is arranged along its own parallel plane, creating a vertically stacked configurations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duis as suggested by Wang to provide the main substrate (601) of Duis to the parallel, spaced-apart arrangement taught by Wang. Doing so would reduce the height of the pluggable module while maintain high number of signal channels as recognized by Wang.
Regarding Claim 7, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 5, Duis further discloses the upper interface printed circuit board (606) includes an inner surface and an outer surface, the lower interface printed circuit board (605) including an inner surface and an outer surface. Duis does not explicitly disclose the upper mating pads being arranged on both the inner surface and the outer surface of the upper interface printed circuit board, the lower mating pads being arranged on both the inner surface and the outer surface of the lower interface printed circuit board.
However, Wang discloses a configuration for a dual-interface module where the circuit boards (2, 3; interface printed circuit boards) include a plurality of mating pads (211,212, 203, 204, 205, see Figs 9-10; 311, 312, 303, 304, 305, see Figs 11-12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duis as suggested by Wang to provide the upper mating pads being arranged on both the inner surface and the outer surface of the upper interface printed circuit board, the lower mating pads being arranged on both the inner surface and the outer surface of the lower interface printed circuit board. Doing so allows for mating with counterpart modules that have a large number of contacts increasing the contact density and data throughput as recognized by Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 8, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Duis and the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose an upper cable printed circuit board including an upper cable terminating area and upper cable pads at the upper cable terminating area configured to be terminated to conductors of cables; a lower cable printed circuit board including a lower cable terminating area and lower cable pads at the lower cable terminating area configured to be terminated to conductors of cables; and flexible circuits between the main printed circuit board and the upper and lower cable printed circuit boards to electrically connect the upper and lower cable pads to the active device, along with all other limitations of claim 8 and 1.
Claim 9 is objected to as it is dependent on claim 8.
Regarding Claim 16, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 12, Duis and the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose an upper cable printed circuit board including an upper cable terminating area and upper cable pads at the upper cable terminating area configured to be terminated to conductors of cables; a lower cable printed circuit board including a lower cable terminating area and lower cable pads at the lower cable terminating area configured to be terminated to conductors of cables; and flexible circuits between the main printed circuit board and the upper and lower cable printed circuit boards to electrically connect the upper and lower cable pads to the active device, along with all other limitations of claim 16 and 12.
Regarding Claim 20, Duis discloses all the limitations of claim 17, Duis and the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose an upper cable printed circuit board including an upper cable terminating area and upper cable pads at the upper cable terminating area terminated to corresponding conductors of the cables; a lower cable printed circuit board including a lower cable terminating area and lower cable pads at the lower cable terminating area configured to be terminated to corresponding conductors of the cables; and flexible circuits between the main printed circuit board and the upper and lower cable printed circuit boards to electrically connect the upper and lower cable pads to the active device, along with all other limitations of claim 20 and 17.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834