DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,8,11,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakai USP 9,298,148.
Wakai discloses, regarding claim 1, An image forming apparatus comprising:
one or more memories (fig.3, C4/L38-42); and
one or more processors (305) functioning by executing instructions stored in the one or more memories (see at least fig.3) as the following units:
a chart output unit configured to output a test chart obtained by executing post-processing on a sheet (see at least fig.6A);
a display control unit configured to display a screen containing information indicating a measurement position related to a position of the post-processing on the test chart (fig.4);
a setting unit configured to accept setting up of adjustment related to the position of the post-processing on the screen (fig.10C); and
an adjustment control unit configured to adjust the position of the post-processing based on the setting through the setting unit (fig.11A).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the setting unit further accepts a choice about whether to output the test chart; and the chart output unit outputs the test chart in a case where a choice to output the test chart is made (“YES” at step S506 in fig.5A), and does not output the test chart in a case where a choice to not output the test chart is made (“NO” at step S506 in fig.5A).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the post-processing is a saddle stitching process combining a folding process and a binding process (see at least fig.6A).
Regarding claim 13, A method of adjusting a post-processing position in an image forming apparatus, comprising:
outputting a test chart obtained by executing post-processing on a sheet (see at least fig.6A);
displaying a screen containing information indicating a measurement position related to a position of the post-processing on the test chart (fig.4);
accepting setting up of adjustment related to the position of the post-processing on the screen (fig.10C); and
adjusting the position of the post-processing based on the setting in the accepting (fig.11A).
Regarding claim 14, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program which causes a computer to execute a method of adjusting a post-processing position (see at least C20/L29-34), the method comprising:
outputting a test chart obtained by executing post-processing on a sheet (see at least fig.6A);
displaying a screen containing information indicating a measurement position related to a position of the post-processing on the test chart (fig.4);
accepting setting up of adjustment related to the position of the post-processing on the screen (fig.10C); and
adjusting the position of the post-processing based on the setting in the accepting (fig.11A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakai USP 9,298,148.
Wakai discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above) and further discloses wherein the setting unit sequentially accepts setting up of adjustment of a folding position and setting up of adjustment of a binding position on the same screen (fig.11A), but does not expressly disclose the setting unit sequentially accepts setting up of adjustment of a folding position and setting up of adjustment of a binding position on different screens. However, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the setting unit sequentially accept setting up of adjustment of a folding position and setting up of adjustment of a binding position on different screens since the use of different screens as opposed to a single screen since it would be obvious to make separable (see MPEP 2144.04 V C).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 2-7,9,10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ooba et al. (USP 10,832,103) discloses a setting unit (715; fig.9) that adjusts the saddle stitch position and the saddle folding position for a bundle of sheets.
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 5/15/2026