Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagate et al (US 5679995 A).
With respect to claim 15, Nagate discloses a stator (fig. 26, stator 26) including a plurality of stator teeth configured to receive a plurality of stator windings (col. 16, ln 60-62 “stator magnetic poles 27 are excited by coils not shown.”); and a rotor configured to rotate around the stator (fig. 2, rotor), the rotor including: a lamination stack including an inner lamination portion and an outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked below), a first permanent magnet located within a first slot of the lamination stack (fig. 2, magnet 3 top of page), the first slot being between the inner lamination portion and the outer lamination portion (fig. 2, slot 6 top of page), a second permanent magnet located within a second slot of the lamination stack (fig. 2, magnet 3 bottom of page), the second slot being between the inner lamination portion and the outer lamination portion (fig. 2, slot 6 bottom of page), a first consequent pole located between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, pole 5B), the first consequent pole having a first length and a first width (see figure 2, pole 5B has a length and width on the rotor), a second consequent pole located between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, poles 5D), the second consequent pole having a second length and a second width (see figure 2, pole 5D has a length and width on the rotor), and an air gap located between the inner lamination portion and the outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked below).
With respect to claim 16, Nagate discloses the first consequent pole and the second consequent pole are constructed from the lamination stack (fig. 2, pole 5B/D is made from sheets 4).
With respect to claim 18, Nagate discloses the air gap is enclosed by an outer rib of the lamination stack (fig. 2-3, bridge 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagate in view of Kouda (US 12237738 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Nagate teaches a motor including: a stator (fig. 26, stator 26) including a plurality of stator teeth configured to receive a plurality of stator windings (col. 16, ln 60-62 “stator magnetic poles 27 are excited by coils not shown.”), and a rotor configured to rotate with respect to the stator (fig. 2, rotor), the rotor including: a first permanent magnet within the rotor (fig. 2, magnet 3 top of page), a second permanent magnet within the rotor (fig. 2, magnet 3 bottom of page), and a consequent pole located between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, poles 5B and 5D), the consequent pole having a length and a width (see figure 2, poles 5B and 5D have a length and width on the rotor), the consequent pole being made of a non-magnetic material (figs. 1-2 and col. 7 ln. 38-39 “the yoke 2 is formed by laminating a large number of steel sheets 4, 4 into one body.” The Examiner notes that steel encompasses various materials including stainless steel which are non-magnetic).
Nagate does not teach “a battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack.”
Kouda teaches a battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack (fig. 1, battery pack 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with battery pack of Kouda in order to power the motor which in turn allows use of the motor.
With respect to claim 2, Nagate teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal”
Kouda teaches the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal (col. 20 ln. 40-42 “The permanent magnets 33 are neodymium-iron-boron magnets in the present embodiment.” Examiner notes that neodymium-iron-boron magnets are a type of rare earth magnet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with rare earth magnets of Kouda in order to increase the magnetic flux within the motor thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor due to the increase in magnetic attraction.
With respect to claim 3, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches the rotor includes a lamination stack including an inner lamination portion and an outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked above), wherein an air gap is located between the inner lamination portion and the outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked above).
With respect to claim 4, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches the consequent pole is constructed from the lamination stack (fig. 2, pole 5B/D is made from sheets 4).
With respect to claim 5, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches the inner lamination portion includes a first axial support portion (see figure 25 marked below), and the outer lamination portion includes a second axial support portion (see figure 25 marked below).
With respect to claim 6, Nagate teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the rotor includes an outer diameter of approximately 22 millimeters.”
Kouda teaches the rotor includes an outer diameter of approximately 22 millimeters. (col. 12, ln 65-67 “The distance R1 and the distance R2 are, for example, 15 to 20 mm inclusive. In the present embodiment, the distance R1 and the distance R2 are 18 mm.” The Examiner is interpreting the 30 mm diameter of Kouda as being approximately 22 mm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with 30 mm diameter rotor of Kouda in order to house the rotor within a hand tool.
With respect to claim 5, Nagate teaches the rotor further includes: a lamination stack; a first slot including a first magnet housing portion configured to receive the first permanent magnet (fig. 2, slot 6 top of page); a second slot including a second magnet housing portion configured to receive the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, slot 6 bottom of page); and a plurality of air gaps (col 8, ln. 64-67 “Furthermore, either side of the slot has the bridge 10 to connect the base and the leading end of the magnetic pole, and there is a space between the bridge 10 and the permanent magnets for the field, so that a base 10a of the bridge 10 can be made thick, resulting in increasing a strength of the bridge 10,”).
Nagate does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of air gaps includes an injection molded material.”
Kouda teaches wherein each of the plurality of air gaps includes an injection molded material (The first space 71 receives a first resin portion 73. The Examiner is interpreting the resin portion as being injectable into the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with resin portions of Kouda in order to increase the secure the magnets within the rotor thereby increasing the rigidity of the rotor which in turn reduces the damages due to vibrations within the rotor core.
With respect to claim 5, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches one of the plurality of air gaps is enclosed by an outer rib of the lamination stack (fig. 2-3, bridge 10).
With respect to claim 9, Nagate teaches a consequent pole motor including: a stator (fig. 26, stator 26) including a plurality of stator teeth configured to receive a plurality of stator windings (col. 16, ln 60-62 “stator magnetic poles 27 are excited by coils not shown.”), and a rotor configured to rotate with respect to the stator (fig. 2, rotor), the rotor including: a first permanent magnet within a first slot of the rotor (fig. 2, magnet 3 top of page), a second permanent magnet within a second slot of the rotor (fig. 2, magnet 3 bottom of page), a first consequent pole between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, pole 5B), the first consequent pole having a first length and a first width (see figure 2, pole 5B has a length and width on the rotor), and a second consequent pole between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, poles 5D), the second consequent pole having a second length and a second width (see figure 2, pole 5D has a length and width on the rotor).
Nagate does not teach “a battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack.”
Kouda teaches a battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack (fig. 1, battery pack 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with battery pack of Kouda in order to power the motor which in turn allows use of the motor.
With respect to claim 10, Nagate teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal”
Kouda teaches the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal (col. 20 ln. 40-42 “The permanent magnets 33 are neodymium-iron-boron magnets in the present embodiment.” Examiner notes that neodymium-iron-boron magnets are a type of rare earth magnet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with rare earth magnets of Kouda in order to increase the magnetic flux within the motor thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor due to the increase in magnetic attraction.
With respect to claim 11, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches the rotor includes a lamination stack including an inner lamination portion and an outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked above), wherein an air gap is located between the inner lamination portion and the outer lamination portion (see figure 2 marked above).
With respect to claim 12, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further the first consequent pole and the second consequent pole are constructed from the lamination stack (fig. 2, pole 5B/D is made from sheets 4).
With respect to claim 13, Nagate in view of Kouda teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Nagate further teaches the inner lamination portion includes a first axial support portion (see figure 25 marked above), and the outer lamination portion includes a second axial support portion (see figure 25 marked above).
With respect to claim 14, Nagate teaches the rotor further includes: a lamination stack; a first slot including a first magnet housing portion configured to receive the first permanent magnet (fig. 2, slot 6 top of page); a second slot including a second magnet housing portion configured to receive the second permanent magnet (fig. 2, slot 6 bottom of page); and a plurality of air gaps (col 8, ln. 64-67 “Furthermore, either side of the slot has the bridge 10 to connect the base and the leading end of the magnetic pole, and there is a space between the bridge 10 and the permanent magnets for the field, so that a base 10a of the bridge 10 can be made thick, resulting in increasing a strength of the bridge 10,”).
Nagate does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of air gaps includes an injection molded material.”
Kouda teaches wherein each of the plurality of air gaps includes an injection molded material (The first space 71 receives a first resin portion 73. The Examiner is interpreting the resin portion as being injectable into the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with resin portions of Kouda in order to increase the secure the magnets within the rotor thereby increasing the rigidity of the rotor which in turn reduces the damages due to vibrations within the rotor core.
With respect to claim 17, Nagate teaches the first consequent pole and the second consequent pole are constructed from a non-magnetic material (figs. 1-2 and col. 7 ln. 38-39 “the yoke 2 is formed by laminating a large number of steel sheets 4, 4 into one body.” The Examiner notes that steel encompasses various materials including stainless steel which are non-magnetic).
Nagate does not teach “the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal”
Kouda teaches the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are composed of a rare earth metal (col. 20 ln. 40-42 “The permanent magnets 33 are neodymium-iron-boron magnets in the present embodiment.” Examiner notes that neodymium-iron-boron magnets are a type of rare earth magnet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with rare earth magnets of Kouda in order to increase the magnetic flux within the motor thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor due to the increase in magnetic attraction.
With respect to claim 19 Nagate teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the air gap is filled with an injection molded material.”
Kouda teaches the air gap is filled with an injection molded material. (The first space 71 receives a first resin portion 73. The Examiner is interpreting the resin portion as being injectable into the rotor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with resin portions of Kouda in order to increase the secure the magnets within the rotor thereby increasing the rigidity of the rotor which in turn reduces the damages due to vibrations within the rotor core.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagate in view of
Nakahara et al (US 20200127539 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Nagate teaches the rotor further includes a first retention portion configured to retain the inner lamination portion (see figure 25 marked above) and a second retention portion configured to retain the outer lamination portion (see figure 25 marked above);
Nagate does not teaches “the first retention portion and the second retention portion are connected via a plate.”
Nakahara teaches he first retention portion and the second retention portion are connected via a plate (fig. 29, second steel plate 42 connects first steel plates 41 together, see at least paragraph 140)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and rotor of Nagate with end plate of Nakahara in order to increase the secure the magnets within the rotor thereby increasing the rigidity of the rotor which in turn reduces the damages due to vibrations within the rotor core.
Conclusion
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834