DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 10 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 10 recites the limitation " the one or more Li-ion battery cells " in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " one or more Li-ion battery cells ".
5. Claims 11-19 are rejected as depending from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-11, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicoson (US2014/0079959) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24.
Regarding claim 1, Nicoson discloses a battery management system (BMS) for use in a rechargeable battery([0004], [0013]-[0014]), the BMS comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (electronic circuit board 400, Figs. 1 & 3, [0014], [0017]) having two or more electrically conductive metal plates(copper thermal pads 420, Fig. 3, [0018]), the two or more electrically conductive metal plates located adjacent to and spaced apart from each other on the PCB providing an electrically isolating gap between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates(Fig. 3); and multiple electronic components of the BMS electrically connected between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates(MOSFETs 430, Fig. 4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Nicoson discloses the multiple electronic components bridge the electrically isolating gap between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates(Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 8, Nicoson discloses the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are arranged in electrical series (Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 9, Nicoson discloses the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are made of copper plate([0018]).
Regarding claim 10, Nicoson discloses a rechargeable battery([0013]-[0014]), comprising: one or more battery cells(500, Figs. 1 & 4, [0014]); and a battery management system (BMS) connected with one or more Li-ion battery cells ([0004], [0013]-[0014]), the BMS comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (electronic circuit board 400, Figs. 1 & 3, [0014], [0017]) having two or more electrically conductive metal plates (copper thermal pads 420, Fig. 3, [0018]), the two or more electrically conductive metal plates located adjacent to and spaced apart from each other on the PCB providing an electrically isolating gap between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (Fig. 3), and multiple electronic components of the BMS electrically connected between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (MOSFETs 430, Fig. 4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Nicoson discloses the multiple electronic components bridge the electrically isolating gap between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates(Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 17, Nicoson discloses the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are arranged in electrical series (Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 18, Nicoson discloses the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are made of copper plate([0018]).
Regarding claim 19, Nicoson discloses the rechargeable battery is a Lithium-Ion (Li-ion) battery and the one or more battery cells are Li-ion battery cells([0013], [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoson (US2014/0079959) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shrader et al. (US 2015/0118523) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24.
Regarding claim 3, Nicoson discloses the multiple electronic components include multiple MOSFETS (Fig. 4) that are coupled between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose multiple resistors.
Shrader teaches adaptive current-collector electrochemical system (title). Shrader teaches two coupled elements may be directly connected by way of a metal line, or indirectly connected by way of an intervening circuit element (e.g., a capacitor, resistor, inductor, or by way of the source/drain terminals of a transistor) or by inductance ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the BMS of Nicoson, multiple resistors that are coupled between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 I.
10. Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoson (US2014/0079959) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN208399042U) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, Nicoson does not explicitly disclose the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads of the PCB for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB.
Li teaches a thin-film NTC temperature sensor that can be soldered into a circuit board includes an NTC thermistor sensor located on the same side of the circuit board and two metal connecting pieces ([0010]). Li teaches the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (metal connecting pieces 2 and 2’, Fig. 1, [0034]) are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads (bottom pads of the metal connectors [0036], [0031]) of the PCB (6, Figs 1 & 2, [0033]) for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB (Fig. 1). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are secured: soldered. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the BMS of Nicoson, the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads of the PCB for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB as taught by Li as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 5, modified Nicoson does not explicitly disclose the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that edges of the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the BMS of modified Nicoson with the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that edges of the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nicoson discloses the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect by a lower surface with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB (Li, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nicoson discloses the electrically conductive metal pads connect to one or more of the multiple electronic components (Li, see two electrodes of the NTC thermistor sensor 1 are resistively soldered to the pads at the conductive holes 5 and 5’ in Figs. 1 & 2, [0034]) .
11. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoson (US2014/0079959) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shrader et al. (US 2015/0118523) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24.
Regarding claim 12, Nicoson discloses the multiple electronic components include multiple MOSFETS (Fig. 4) that are coupled between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (Fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose multiple resistors.
Shrader teaches adaptive current-collector electrochemical system (title). Shrader teaches two coupled elements may be directly connected by way of a metal line, or indirectly connected by way of an intervening circuit element (e.g., a capacitor, resistor, inductor, or by way of the source/drain terminals of a transistor) or by inductance ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the BMS of Nicoson, multiple resistors that are coupled between the two or more electrically conductive metal plates as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 I.
12. Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoson (US2014/0079959) as cited in IDS dated 5/31/24 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN208399042U) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, Nicoson does not explicitly disclose the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads of the PCB for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB.
Li teaches a thin-film NTC temperature sensor that can be soldered into a circuit board includes an NTC thermistor sensor located on the same side of the circuit board and two metal connecting pieces ([0010]). Li teaches the two or more electrically conductive metal plates (metal connecting pieces 2 and 2’, Fig. 1, [0034]) are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads (bottom pads of the metal connectors [0036], [0031]) of the PCB (6, Figs 1 & 2,[0033]) for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB (Fig. 1). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are secured: soldered. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the BMS of Nicoson, the two or more electrically conductive metal plates are soldered to electrically conductive metal pads of the PCB for securing the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB as taught by Li as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Nicoson does not explicitly disclose the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that edges of the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the BMS of modified Nicoson with the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that edges of the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nicoson discloses the electrically conductive metal pads are located on the PCB so that the two or more electrically conductive metal plates connect by a lower surface with the electrically conductive metal pads to secure the two or more electrically conductive metal plates to the PCB (Li, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nicoson discloses the electrically conductive metal pads connect to one or more of the multiple electronic components (Li, see two electrodes of the NTC thermistor sensor 1 are resistively soldered to the pads at the conductive holes 5 and 5’ in Figs. 1 & 2, [0034]) .
Double Patenting
14. Claims 10, 12, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,251,507. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 10, 12, and 18 recite a battery management system that is similar in structure to the battery management system recited in claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,251,507.
15. Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,567,607. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a battery management system that is similar in structure to the battery management system recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,567,607. Instant claims 8 and 9 recite the limitations of the arrangement of the two or more electrically conductive metal plates and material similar to claims 10 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,567,607.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724