Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 3, 4, 9, and 10 – 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2 – 3, “comprising” should be comprises.
In claim 4, “wherein, further comprising” is repetitive and redundant.
In claim 5, line 2, the claim states that “all” of the output connector and cable body partially extend into the first housing. The use of the term “all” is confusing, because it appears this is requiring that each of the members extend through the body and “all” is either incorrectly used or unnecessary. For purposes of examination the word “all” will be deemed as requiring each of the connector and cable to extend partially into the housing.
In claim 9, “housing unit” refers to two structure and should be pluralized. The same objection applies to claims 18 – 20.
In claims 10 – 17, the term “Apple Lightning Dock” appears. This appears to be a trademark, which is improper if used to identify a product, see MPEP 2173.05(u). This will be interpreted as requiring a lightning style standardized connector.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 11, and 14 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209658936 U (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,160,118 (“Tuchrelo”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a charging cable (200), comprising a longitudinal cable body (11), an input end (13) and an output end (12) electrically connected to two opposite ends of the cable body respectively, wherein the output end comprises a first housing (housing near 12, Fig. 3), a first circuitry (30), an indicating device (40) for indicating a quick-charging state or a slow-charging state (see paragraph 3 of page 5 of the translation), and at least one output connector (connector at 12);
the indicating device and each output connector are respectively connected to the first circuitry (30); the first circuitry is electrically connected to the cable body (11); and the first housing surrounds the first circuitry, the indicating device, and a portion of each output connector (the circuitry and indication unit can be combined within 12 which also includes the connector structure, see paragraphs 1 – 2 of page 5 of the translation and Figs. 3-4).
Zhang discloses circuitry within the housing, but does not disclose the circuitry on a circuit board. However, Tuchrelo teaches a connector with a housing 28/30, light 18, cable 38, and furthermore with a circuit board 14 supporting the light and being located within the housing. It would have been obvious to utilize a circuit board to contain the circuitry and to mount the other components upon because this allows the components to be mounted upon and unified within a single assembly within the housing.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses the indicating device (40) comprising an indicator light unit (40 is a light, “different colors” can be displayed to indicate the different states, see paragraph 3 of page 5), and the indicator light unit is used to indicate a quick-charging state or a slow-charging state (see paragraph 3 of page 5).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the housing integrated with the cable body but does not disclose the first housing is provided with at least one through hole, and each of the output connector and the cable body respectively partially extend into the first housing through the through hole.
However, Tuchrelo teaches the first housing (28/30) is provided with at least one through hole (the continuous space through the housing which is occupied by the cable, board, and connector, see at least Fig. 5), and each output connector and the cable body respectively partially extend into the first housing through the through hole; Fig. 5 and Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to form the housing, cable, and connector as taught by Tuchrelo because this integrates the parts into the housing which helps strengthen the assembly and protect the parts.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the first housing is provided with a light-transmitting portion (see portion 40 at the top of the housing).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Zhang discloses indicator light 40 as being integrated with the housing, but does not clearly disclose wherein the light-transmitting portion is a light-transmitting hole, and Zhang does not clearly disclose wherein the charging cable further comprises a decorative member capable of transmitting light; and the decorative member is partially arranged in the light-transmitting hole.
However, Tuchrelo teaches the housing 28/30 wherein the light-transmitting portion is a light-transmitting hole 64, and a decorative member capable of transmitting light (68); and the decorative member is partially arranged in the light-transmitting hole (see Figs. 1, 2, and 4). It would have been obvious to make the transmitting portion a hole and decorative member as taught by Tuchrelo, because the situates the light at a location and in a manner which is easily and readily visible to a user.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Tuchrelo further teaches the first housing comprising at least two connected housing units (28 and 30). It would have been obvious to make the housing two units, because this housing structure is simple to manufacture while still providing protection and encapsulation for the electronic components within the housing.
Regarding claims 10 – 11 and 14 – 17, Zhang discloses the output connector comprises at least one of a Micro-USB connector, a type-c connector and an Apple Lightning Dock connector (see Figs. 3 – 4 and paragraph 1 of page 5 of the translation).
Claims 3 – 4, 12 – 13, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209658936 U (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,160,118 (“Tuchrelo”) and further in view of CN 105891736 A (“Huang”).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zhang discloses wherein the indicator light unit (40) comprising a first indicator lighting state and a second indicator light state (40 uses different lighting colors indicated different charging states) respectively connected to the first circuit board (circuit and light are on a board as discussed above); and the indicator (40) uses the different lighting states to indicate the quick-charging state and slow-charging state (paragraph 3 of page 5). Zhang further discloses a light turning circuit and a current-voltage detection circuit electrically connected to the light turning circuit (current and voltage are detected and the lighting is controlled, see paragraph 3 of page 5 and the circuitry in Fig. 1).
Zhang does not disclose first and second indicator lights, and in the quick-charging state, the first indicator light is turned on, and the second indicator light is turned off; in the slow-charging state, the second indicator light is turned on, and the first indicator light is turned off. Zhang also does not disclose that the light turning circuit comprises a first light-emitting module and a second light-emitting module, the first light-emitting module comprises the first indicator light, and the second light-emitting module comprises the second indicator light; the current-voltage detection circuit comprises a control chip, and the control chip is respectively connected with the first light-emitting module and the second light-emitting module.
However, Huang teaches a fast charging detecting circuit, where the circuit has first and second lights (see the different light emitting diodes in Fig. 6) and the circuitry tests fast charging status and utilizes a red or green light to indicate test states (see paragraph 4 of page 3 of the translation). Huang also teaches a light turning circuit (Fig. 6 comprises a first light-emitting module and a second light-emitting module (Fig. 6), the first light-emitting module comprises the first indicator light, and the second light-emitting module comprises the second indicator light (the lights of the light circuit are indicator lights, see paragraph 4 of page 3 of the translation); and a detection circuit comprises a control chip (MCU, see paragraph 3 of page 3 of the translation), and the control chip is respectively connected with the first light-emitting module and the second light-emitting module (paragraph 3 of page 3 of the translation).
It would have been obvious to modify the different lighting states of Zhang in view of Huang to utilize first and second lights of different colors, and to control the lighting based on the detection circuit with a chip as taught by Zhang, because the use of distinct light modules provides a clear differentiation between the two states by utilizing two clearly different light members, and the use of a control chip provides a user programmable and mass produceable control member that accurately controls the indication lighting as required by a user.
Regarding claims 12 – 13, Zhang discloses wherein the output connector comprises at least one of a Micro-USB connector, a type-c connector and an Apple Lightning Dock connector (see Figs. 3 – 4 and paragraph 1 of page 5 of the translation).
Regarding claims 19 – 20, Tuchrelo further teaches wherein the first housing comprises at least two connected housing unit (28 and 30). It would have been obvious to make the housing two units, because this housing structure is simple to manufacture while still providing protection and encapsulation for the electronic components within the housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cote discloses a connector with a light.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831