DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim(s) 1 and 20; “a floating contact structure” is unclear; whereas the assertion is made without asserting any origin or force deemed to cause a floating movement, and thus the assertion is deemed to read on more than one plausible claim construction which may constitute different inventive structures; wherein an external or manual force on movable parts between the cover and frame may constitute a floating structure for connection/disconnection prior to operation during install or repair, OR during an operative electrical condition of the chip component then a movable connection between the cover and the frame may cause the cover to float upon being heated OR upon selectively disposing a chip component of different sizes then a movable connection between the chip component may be adjusted to varying float positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-13, and 19-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (English 2007/0210082).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 20; English discloses an electronic device (as constituted by a cellular telephone or wireless electronic device—as set forth by para. 0171)—claim 20; a circuit board assembly, comprising: a first circuit board, a chip component (whereas assembly-100 includes a circuit board-120 mounting a heat generating electronic component 116 defining an integrated circuit—as set forth by para. 0069 or microelectronic device—para. 0061), and at least one heat sink (110), and atleast one first shielding component located on a periphery of the chip component (as depicted by frame-102 is disposed around a periphery of 116-as depicted by Fig.’s 1-5; whereas an EMI shielding and thermal management assembly includes a frame—as set forth by para. 0066), and suggests wherein one side of the chip component is electrically connected to the first circuit board (as depicted by Fig. 1—whereas a bottom side of 116 is mounted to the pcb, and where the integrated circuit package or microelectronic device-116 is mounted on the printed circuit board, suggests operative electrical connection thereto via SMT, as set forth by para. 0061), and the other side of the chip component is in contact with the heat sink (whereas 116 is thermally coupled to the heat sink-110 via thermal interfaces 106—as set forth by para. 0071); and each first shielding component of the at least one first shielding component comprises a shielding frame and a shielding cover (as depicted by Fig.’s 1-5; whereas the EMI shielding and thermal management assembly includes the frame-102 and a cover 104—as set forth by para.’s 0066 and 0068); an end that is of the shielding frame and that is away from the shielding cover is fastened to the first circuit board (as depicted by Fig.’s 1-5—whereas a free end of 102 contacts the pcb via solder, as set forth by para. 0006 and 0061), and at least a part of the shielding cover is located between the chip component and the heat sink (as depicted by Fig.’s 1-5—whereas atleast surface(s) of 104 that corresponds to 106 or 108 is disposed between 116 and 110 OR atleast edges defining a horizontal and perimeter surface of 104 is disposed at a horizontal plane between 116 and 110); and the shielding cover is movably connected to the shielding frame to form a floating contact structure, so that the shielding cover is capable of moving in a vertical direction relative to the shielding frame (as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5 respectively, whereas in atleast one construction the cover is attached to the frame in a first latched position and a second latched position in which the cover constitutes vertical movement relative to the frame by being movable downward —as set forth by para.’s 0002 and 0058; and as further set forth by para. 0067—whereas a relatively small movement of the cover results from thermal contraction in which the cover can generate a force on the thermal interface/phase change material i.e. at 106). Except English does not explicitly disclose the one side of the chip electrically connected to the first circuit board; and the shielding cover is movably connected to the shielding frame to form a floating contact structure. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the suggested one side at a bottom surface of the microelectronic device as electrically connecting the pcb via a surface mount technology soldering process since it was known in the art that the assembly may be automated with reduced inductance and resistance enhancing electronic function. Note: In accordance to a desired float type and origin or force thereon along with associated manual, install and/or operational attributes then other 103 rejection(s) may be applicable when modifying a selected thickness of a thermal interface material based in-part on a height of the cover and the component—as set forth by para.’s 0067(last three lines) and compressible flexibility of the interface material at 0169. Further, Note: para. 0063 discloses varying corresponding i.e. ribs, slots may couple between the cover and the frame.
Regarding Claim 6; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 1, further comprising at least one second shielding component, wherein the second shielding component is located between the shielding cover and the heat sink (whereas 108 constitutes a second shielding component between the cover 104 and the heat sink 110; wherein para. 0071 discloses 108 comprises EMI/RFI absorbing particles).
Regarding Claim 7; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 6, wherein the second shielding component is of an elastic shielding material (wherein para. 0071 discloses 108 comprises elastic materials including silicone elastomer and/or fiberglass mesh and rubber).
Regarding Claim 8; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shielding cover comprises a first portion (as constituted by a top horizontal surface of 104) and a second portion connected to the first portion (as constituted by a vertical side surfaces of 104 connected to the top first portion); and at least a part of the first portion is located between the chip component and the heat sink (whereas the top horizontal portion of 104 is between the chip and the heat sink—as depicted by Fig. 1), and the second portion is movably connected to the shielding frame, so that the shielding cover is capable of moving in the vertical direction relative to the shielding frame (as depicted by Fig.’s 1-3--whereas the vertical side portion of 104 comprises movable fastens to vertical side portions of the frame—as further set forth by para.’s 0063 and 0074, wherein the cover is pressed vertically downward onto the frame and a locking snap engages the frame).
Regarding Claim 9; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 8, wherein the shielding frame comprises a third portion and a fourth portion connected to the third portion; and an end that is of the third portion and that is away from the fourth portion is fastened to the first circuit board, and the fourth portion is parallel to the first portion (as depicted by Fig. 1—whereas an end of a vertical frame portion is soldered to the circuit board, and is disposed away from a horizontal third portion from which 102 extends).
Regarding Claim 10; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 9, wherein the second portion is movably connected to the third portion, so that the shielding cover is capable of moving in the vertical direction relative to the shielding frame (as already set forth by para.’s 0063 and 0074, and depicted by Fig.’s 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 10, wherein the second portion is parallel to the third portion (as already set forth—whereas each portion is vertically disposed).
Regarding Claim 12; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 10, wherein a protruding portion is disposed on one of the second portion and the third portion, and an opening is disposed on one of the second portion and the third portion; and the protruding portion moves back and forth in the opening in the vertical direction (as already set forth by para.’s 0063 and 0074—whereas the second portion of the cover-104 comprises interlocked or snapped the third portion of the frame, and one of the second portion or the third portion may comprise openings e.g., recesses, voids, cavities, slots, grooves, holes, depressions, combinations thereof, etc which constitutes atleast in part extending vertically and the other of the second portion and third portion comprises protrusions which is interlocked or snapped when the cover is pressed vertically downward).
Regarding Claim 13; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 12, except, explicitly wherein a size of the opening in the vertical direction is greater than a size of the protruding portion in the vertical direction. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the size of the opening in the vertical direction so as to readily receive a protrusion of a smaller size in accordance with corresponding shapes and/or to reduce a pressing force to prevent damage thereto, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 19; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the heat sink comprises a heat sink body and a boss connected to the heat sink body; and a surface that is of the boss and that is away from the heat sink body is in contact with the chip component (as depicted by Fig.1 whereas 108 constitutes a base connected to a bottom surface of heat sink 110, wherein 108 is metal or fiberglass meshes in a base of rubber—as set forth by para. 0071).
Claim(s) 2-5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (English 2007/0210082) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of (Xiong 2023/0290743).
Regarding Claim 2; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 1, except explicitly wherein the chip component comprises a chip body and a second circuit board connected to the chip body; and a surface that is of the second circuit board and that is away from the chip body is electrically connected to the first circuit board, and a surface that is of the chip body and that is away from the second circuit board is in contact with the heat sink. However, Xiong the chip component comprises a chip body and a second circuit board connected to the chip body; and a surface that is of the second circuit board and that is away from the chip body is electrically connected to the first circuit board, and a surface that is of the chip body and that is away from the second circuit board is in contact with the heat sink (whereas 2-Fig. 2 constitutes a chip package including a chip-21 and a mechanical part-24, and a first circuit board electrically connected via electrical connection structure-3 to a second circuit board-1), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the first circuit board electrically connected to a second circuit since it was known in the art that that electrical interconnection to another electronic component may be employed so as to enhance design flexibility in accordance with a desired application.
Regarding Claim 3; English discloses the circuit board assembly according to claim 2, further comprising a heat conducting member, wherein the heat conducting member is located between the chip body and the heat sink (as depicted by Fig. 1--whereas 106 constitutes a heat conducting member between the chip body and the heat sink).
Regarding Claim 4; English discloses the already modified circuit board assembly according to claim 2, wherein the chip component further comprises a mechanical part, the mechanical part and the chip body are located on a same surface of the second circuit board, and the mechanical part is located on a periphery of the chip body, and the at least a part of the shielding cover is located between the mechanical part and the heat sink (as already modified by mechanical part 24 disposed at a periphery of the chip body-21, and further wherein a height of a reinforcement structure including a cover portion 72 has a height larger than the chip package structure-2 which includes the mechanical part—as set forth by para. 0023).
Regarding Claim 5; English discloses the already modified circuit board assembly according to claim 2, wherein the second circuit board is electrically connected to the first circuit board through at least one electrical connector (as already set forth); and a projection region of the at least one electrical connector on the first circuit board is located in a projection region of the first shielding component on the first circuit board (whereas Xiong -Fig. 2 depicts the electrical connection structure includes a ball grid array extending from the first second board within a projection region of shield component 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-18, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 14; the circuit board assembly according to claim 10, wherein a first avoidance opening is disposed on the fourth portion; and the second portion passes through the first avoidance opening, and the second portion moves back and forth in an extension direction of the first avoidance opening.
Regarding Claim 17; the circuit board assembly according to claim 10, wherein a second avoidance opening is disposed on an end that is of the third portion and that is close to the first circuit board; the shielding cover further comprises a sixth portion, wherein the sixth portion is connected to an end that is of the second portion and that is away from the first portion; and the sixth portion extends into the second avoidance opening, and the sixth portion moves back and forth in the second avoidance opening in the vertical direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot; whereas modified rejection(s) are herein presented to read on the amended claim language. The office hereby notes that the applicant may consider the tapered construction of 132 in combination with 170 and the relative difference in depths, heights or thicknesses thereof in the vertical direction—as depicted by Fig.’s 15 and 17 so as to present a distinct claim construction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835