CTNF 18/679,736 CTNF 89711 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on 07/27/2024. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tie et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220070780) . Regarding claim 8 Tie disclose, a method, wherein the method comprises: sending, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate a terminal device not to receive first downlink transmission in a first time window para. 271, “The network device sends a first message to the terminal device, where the first message is used to indicate the association relationship” , and the first indication information is carried in first medium access control-control element (MAC CE) or first downlink control information (DCI) para. 271, “when the network device sends the first DCI, and the first DCI indicates that the reference signal is not to be sent, the network device does not send the reference signal”; and skipping, sending the first downlink transmission in the first time window, wherein a start moment of the first time window is a start moment of a first time unit para. 265, “skipping sending the first DCI, that the reference signal is not to be sent. Since the network device skips sending the first DCI to indicate the terminal device not to detect the first downlink control channel within the first time period” , the first time unit is an earliest time unit whose start moment is not earlier than a moment T 2 , and the moment T 2 = T 1 + ΔT1 para. 173, “a time interval between a moment at which the communication apparatus sends the first DCI and a moment at which the communication apparatus sends the reference signal is greater than a first value” , wherein T 1 is a transmission moment of a first physical downlink channel, AT1 is a first time length, the first physical downlink channel is a physical downlink channel carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI, and the first time length ΔT1 is preset para. 290, “a start moment of the time window is a moment at which the network device sends the first DCI. Duration of the time window may be configured by the network device. Alternatively, the duration of the time window may be specified by the protocol” , or the first indication information is further usable to indicate the first time length ΔT1. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives. Regarding claim 9 Tie disclose, wherein the carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI includes carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI on a multicast or broadcast physical downlink channel para. 214, “the terminal device in sleep mode enables the radio frequency component, but only performs some monitoring processes, for example, a paging message, a broadcast message” . Regarding claim 10 Tie disclose, wherein the first time length ΔT1 is greater than or equal to a first threshold para. 282, “a time interval between a moment at which the terminal device receives the first DCI and a moment at which the terminal device receives the reference signal may be greater than a first value , and the first threshold is a shortest processing duration that can be supported by the terminal device for the first physical downlink channel para. 282, “in an implementation, the first value may be determined based on a capability of the terminal device”. Regarding claim 11 Tie disclose, wherein a duration of the first time window is preset, or the first indication information further is usable to indicate a duration of the first time window para. 290, “a start moment of the time window is a moment at which the network device sends the first DCI. Duration of the time window may be configured by the network device. Alternatively, the duration of the time window may be specified by the protocol” . Regarding claim 12 Tie disclose, wherein the first downlink transmission includes any one or more of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) para. 290, “the first message may be further used to configure a parameter of the first DCI. For example, the first message may be used to configure a resource, for example, a control resource set (CORESET) used to send the first DCI” , a dynamic scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a semi- persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel (SPS PDSCH), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB); or wherein the first downlink transmission includes any one or more of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a dynamic scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel (SPS PDSCH), and a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), and the first downlink transmission does not include a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB). The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives. Regarding claim 13 Tie disclose, wherein the sending the first indication information includes: sending a first status value of the first indication information that is usable to indicate the terminal device not to receive the first downlink transmission in the first time window para. 252, “The sending result of the first DCI is that when the network device sends the first DCI, the first DCI indicates not to detect the first downlink control channel within the first time period” ; and sending a second status value of the first indication information that is usable to indicate the terminal device to receive the first downlink transmission in the first time window para. 61, “send second DCI to the terminal device, where the second DCI is used to schedule data, and a sending parameter that is of the data and that is indicated by the second DCI meets a preconfigured sending parameter”. Claim 1 recites a method corresponding to the method of claim 8 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 8. Regarding claim 2 the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 9. Regarding claim 3 Tie disclose, wherein the determining the start moment of the first time window includes determining a start moment of a first time unit para. 265, “skipping sending the first DCI, that the reference signal is not to be sent. Since the network device skips sending the first DCI to indicate the terminal device not to detect the first downlink control channel within the first time period” , wherein the first time unit is an earliest time unit whose start moment is not earlier than a moment T2, and the moment T2 = T1 + AT1 para. 173, “a time interval between a moment at which the communication apparatus sends the first DCI and a moment at which the communication apparatus sends the reference signal is greater than a first value” . Regarding claim 4 the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 10. Regarding claim 5-6 the limitations of claim 5-6 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 12-13. Claim 14 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Regarding claims 15-19 the limitations of claims 15-19, respectively , are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-6, respectively . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tie et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220070780) in view of Shen et al. (WIPO. Pub. CN113517955) . Regarding claim 7 Tie does not specifically disclose, wherein the method further comprises: in response to the terminal device failing to decode the first physical downlink channel carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI para.190, “the first data packet is failed to be analyzed”, receiving, by the terminal device, the first downlink transmission in the first time window para.190, “receiving the second data packet, analyzing successfully, and sending the feedback of receiving successfully”; or in response to the terminal device fails failing to decode the first physical downlink channel carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI, skipping, by the terminal device, receiving the first downlink transmission in the first time window; or in response to the terminal device fails failing to decode the first physical downlink channel carrying the first MAC CE or the first DCI, determining, by the terminal device based on radio resource control RRC signaling sent by a network device, whether to receive the first downlink transmission in the first time window. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives. Tie and Shen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shen in the system of Tie so the system continues receiving downlink information if there is no indication of other changes on the configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the terminal maintains quality of the system and keep receiving downlink communications. Regarding claim 20 the limitations of claim 20 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 7 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Dinah et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220201773) which disclose(s) method for facilitating multi-step contention-based random access in wireless device, involves monitoring downlink channel for random access response to first message during first time window, and receiving random access response during first time window . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAUL RIVAS whose telephone number is (571)270–5590. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday, from 8:30am to 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sujoy K. Kundu, can be reached on (571) 272 - 8586. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571–272–8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center to authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the USPTO patent electronic filing system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800–786–9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571–272–1000. /R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471 /SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 2 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 3 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 4 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 5 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 6 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 7 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 8 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/679,736 Page 9 Art Unit: 2471