Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bleyer et al. (2020/0334824).
Regarding claim 1, Bleyer discloses eyewear (100), comprising: a frame (100); a plurality of cameras (130, 135) coupled to the frame and configured to generate images; and a pipeline including an image signal processor (ISP) configurable to process the images for augmented reality (AR) (note the real-world environment 1100 images captured and processed by the passive stereo cameras as described in par. 48, 58, 62) and for computer vision (CV) (note sparse spatial mapping 1105 images generated from the real-world environment image captured from passive stereo cameras as described in par. 62); wherein each of the plurality of cameras are configured to operate in a first mode (passive stereo camera capturing operation) and provide the images having a first resolution operable in AR (real-world image captured), and wherein each of the plurality of cameras are configured to operate in a second mode (note par. 62) and provide the images having a second resolution operable in CV (par. 38, 60, 61), wherein the first resolution is higher than the second resolution (note par. 68, 69); wherein the cameras are configured to capture the images in the first resolution (passive stereo camera image capturing mode), and to downscale (note par. 61, 63, 65, 68, 69) the images to the second resolution (note the sparse point cloud 1000 image generated by the images captured by the passive stereo camera system as described in par. 61 and Fig. 10); and
wherein the ISP is configured to stitch and synchronize the images from each of the plurality of cameras in the second mode in CV (note sparse spatial mapping data from multiple HMDs is aggregated/fused together as stated in par. 70).
Regarding claim 2, Bleyer discloses the pipeline has a first portion configured to process the images in the first mode, and a second portion configured to process the images in the second mode (par. 69, 116, 118).
Regarding claim 3, Bleyer discloses the ISP is configured to generate stitched, synchronized images (note par. 69, 70, 116, 118).
Regarding claim 4, Bleyer discloses the ISP is configured to match the frames from the plurality of cameras and put them in a buffer (note the object recognition in par 58).
Regarding claim 5, Bleyer inherently includes that the ISP has CPU/DDR (central processing unit/double data read) rails, wherein the ISP is configured to scale up frequencies and voltages of the CPU/DDR rails in the first mode (note par. 128-131).
Regarding claim 6, Bleyer discloses the ISP is configured to process the images and operate at a first power in the first mode and at a second power in the second mode, wherein the second power is lower than the first power (par. 68, 69).
Regarding claims 9-14, and 17-20, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleyer et al. (2020/0334824).
Regarding claim 7, Bleyer does not disclose that the ISP is configured to selectively turn a first of the plurality of cameras off in the second mode as claimed. However, Bleyer teaches lowering the power consumption of the cameras during lower power modes (note par. 68, 69). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to turn off one of the cameras so that the lower power modes could be achieved.
Regarding claim 8, in addition of rejection to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configured the ISP to selectively turn the first camera back on and synchronize the plurality of cameras when the system is out of the critical event or trigger zone as described in par. 69.
Regarding claims 15-16, see similar rejections as set forth above.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422