Claim Status
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 8/12/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kergosien et al. (US20160296455).
Regarding claim 1, Kergosien et al. disclose a cosmetic nail composition example containing (Examiner added highlighting):
[0321]. As can be seen, there is a UV portion comprising a plurality of UV-curable materials in a total amount of at least 19% by weight of the composition including a difunctional acrylate oligomer (isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, PEG-400 urethane dimethacrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl methacrylate, pyromellitic dimethacrylate), isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, photoinitiator and a plurality of solvents (isopropyl alcohol, ethyl acetate and butyl acetate). The presence of the UV curable materials and solvents inherently creates an ultraviolet gel portion.
Regarding claims 1-2, it appears from the example above that the difunctional acrylate oligomer comprises a urethane monomer and the plurality of UV-curable materials consists of the urethane monomer and polymerizable (meth)acrylates.
Regarding claims 3-4, Kergosien et al. disclose in the example above that the urethane monomer is a urethane acrylate monomer (10.5% isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, which is within the claimed range of 8-15%), and the polymerizable (meth)acrylate is 6% pyromellitic dimethacrylate, which is within the claimed range of 2-8%.
Regarding claims 5-6, Kergosien et al. disclose in the example above that the photoinitiator is 4% ethyl trimethylbenzoyl phenylphosphinate.
Regarding claims 9-11, Kergosien et al. disclose in the example above the addition of film forming nitrocellulose in the solvent isopropanol.
Regarding claims 12-14, Kergosien et al. disclose in the example above the addition of MMA/BMA copolymer, a film forming copolymer [0179-0182], which reads on an acrylates copolymer, as well as film forming nitrocellulose in addition to disclosing adding at least one film forming polymer (Claim 10) comprising at least one poly(meth)acrylate (Claim 11) and wherein the film-forming polymer comprises at least one polysaccharide or polysaccharide derivative selected from the group consisting of nitrocellulose, an ether of a polysaccharide and an ester of a polysaccharide (Claim 12) in a total content greater than or equal to 2% by weight (Claim 13).
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/12/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that: “The Examiner's finding that Kergosien's single composition "inherently creates an ultraviolet gel portion" is conclusory and unsupported. Inherency requires that the missing limitation be necessarily present in the prior art, not merely probable or possible.” However, the Examiner has pointed out the express disclosure of Kergosien where both a plurality of UV-curable materials for a UV gel portion and a solvent-based portion can be found together. Thus, Kergosien discloses within the four corners of the document not only all of the limitations claimed but also all of the limitations arranged or combined in the same way as recited in the claim. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO' s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112(V).
Applicant asserts: “original claim 7 each recite "wherein the UV gel portion is present in a total amount of 19-50% by weight of the cosmetic nail composition." Kergosien's example at paragraph [0321] does not disclose this limitation. However, claim 7 is not under rejection.
Respectfully, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kergosien et al. (US20160296455), as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-14 above.
Applicant claims, for example:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a cosmetic nail varnish research scientist working with UV polymerizable polymers (gel systems) and requires specialized knowledge of polymer chemistry, light curing technology, and product application. They understand UV-curable products transform from liquid monomers and oligomers into solid, cross-linked polymer networks through a photo-initiated chain reaction.1 Such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from nail gel technology including conventional energy curable resins, photoinitiators, solvents and application methods— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
It is well settled that “a disclosure that anticipates under § 102 also renders the claim invalid under §103, for anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. See MPEP 1207.03(a)(II) states: “"lack of novelty is the epitome of obviousness." May, 574 F.2d at 1089, 197 USPQ at 607 (citing In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1402, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974))”. Accordingly, the claims rejected under §102 above are also invalid under §103.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Kergosien et al. teach application of a composition to a nail [0315] followed by application of UV radiation to crosslink the composition applied to the nail so as to form a film [0316], thus curing the composition by exposure to UV light, and future removal after a period of time [0319-0320]. See also claims 19-20 and [0282-0284].
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Kergosien et al. claim photo-crosslinkable cosmetic compositions (Claims 1-18) and provide a cosmetic nail composition example containing:
[0321].
As can be seen, there is a UV portion comprising a plurality of UV-curable materials in a total amount of at least 19% by weight of the composition including a difunctional acrylate oligomer (isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, PEG-400 urethane dimethacrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl methacrylate, pyromellitic dimethacrylate), isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, photoinitiator and a plurality of solvents (isopropyl alcohol, ethyl acetate and butyl acetate). The cosmetic nail composition is substantially free of all other materials.
Regarding claims 2 and 22, it appears from the example above that the difunctional acrylate oligomer comprises a urethane monomer and the plurality of UV-curable materials consists of the urethane monomer and polymerizable (meth)acrylates. Alternatively, claim 1 of Kergosien et al. suggests a polyurethane pol(alk)acrylate, which contains urethane monomer and photo-crosslinkable (alk)acrylates, which appears to meet the “consists” of limitation of claim 2.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 22, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above that the urethane monomer is a urethane acrylate monomer (10.5% isophorone urethane dimethacrylate, which is within the claimed range of 8-15%), and the polymerizable (meth)acrylate is 6% pyromellitic dimethacrylate, which is within the claimed range of 2-8%.
Regarding claims 5-6, 8 and 22, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above that the photoinitiator is 4% ethyl trimethylbenzoyl phenylphosphinate, which is within the range of 3-6%.
Regarding claims 9-11, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above the addition of film forming nitrocellulose in the solvent isopropanol.
Regarding claims 12-14, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above the addition of MMA/BMA copolymer, a film forming copolymer [0179-0182], which reads on an acrylates copolymer, as well as teaching adding at least one film forming polymer (Claim 10) comprising at least one poly(meth)acrylate (Claim 11) and wherein the film-forming polymer comprises at least one polysaccharide or polysaccharide derivative selected from the group consisting of nitrocellulose, an ether of a polysaccharide and an ester of a polysaccharide (Claim 12) in a total content greater than or equal to 2% by weight (Claim 13).
Regarding claims 16-17, Kergosien et al. teach adding epoxy resins including tosylamide resins [0193].
Regarding claim 18, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above that the acrylates film forming agent MMA/BMA is present in 6.33%, which is less than nitrocellulose 6.67% and tetrahydrofurfryl methacrylate co-film forming agent at 7%.
Regarding claims 19 and 22, Kergosien et al. teach in the example above the presence of a colorant.
Regarding claims 20-22, Kergosien et al. teach adding various components [0243] including a filler in an amount of from 0.01-50% by weight [0260], which overlaps the claimed range of no more than 5% by weight and no more than 2% by weight and no more than 1% by weight, and names fillers such as calcium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, magnesium hydrogen carbonate [0262], which Applicant also teaches are pH-adjusting agents (Specification [0101-0102]). Kergosien et al. also teach adding metal oxides such as titanium dioxide or inorganic/organic pigments [0256-0257], which can serve as UV-absorbers, which are present from 0.1-5% by weight [0249], which overlaps the claimed range of no more than 1% by weight. In the example above, a first UV-curable material isophorone urethane dimethacrylate is present at 10.5%, which is within 8-15% and a second UV-curable material tetrahydrofurfryl methacrylate is present at 7% (see the example above) which is within 2-8%.
Regarding claim 22, Kergosien et al. teach that the solvent can be present greater than or equal to 10% by weight, where greater than 10% by weight includes values such as 50, 60, 70% or more, and in particular ranging from 20-50% by weight [0064] and the photoinitiator can be present greater than or equal to 0.1% by weight [0239], thus overlapping the claimed range of from 2-8% by weight.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Kergosien et al. is that Kergosien et al. do not expressly teach wherein the UV gel portion is present in a total amount of 19-50% by weight of the cosmetic nail composition or the arrangement of components in claim 22 in a single embodiment. However, Kergosien et al. teach that photocrosslinkable compounds a), b) and c) can be present from greater than or equal to 1% by weight, 10% by weight and 1% by weight, respectively (Claims 1, 5 and 9), and thus it is merely routine optimization to arrive at a cosmetic nail composition where the UV gel portion is present in a total amount of 19-50% by weight of the cosmetic nail composition with a reasonable expectation of success. Similarly, Kergosien et al. teach overlapping ranges for the first and second UV curable materials, photoinitiator, plurality of solvents, plurality of film formers, UV absorbing agent, pH adjusting agent, filler and colorant as discussed above. Consequently, the ordinary artisan would optimize the cosmetic nail composition of Kergosien et al. and arrive at the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
The difference between the instant application and Kergosien et al. is that Kergosien et al. do not expressly teach the claimed method with the composition claimed. However, as discussed above, Kergosien et al. teach the composition claimed as well as applying a composition to a nail, curing by exposure to UV light and after a period of time removing the composition. It is then obvious to apply the composition taught by Kergosien et al. that reads on the claimed subject matter, in the method of Kergosien et al. and produce the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kergosien et al. (US20160296455), as applied to claims 1-14 and 22-25 above, in further view of Burgess et al. (US20130263875) and Xu et al. (US20170119645).
Applicant claims, for example:
The reference of Kergosien et al. is discussed in detail above and that discussion is incorporated by reference.
Kergosien et al. do not expressly teach wherein the acrylate film forming agent includes acrylates copolymer, acrylates/isobornyl acrylate copolymer, and/or tricyclodecanedimenahnol diacrylate and wherein the one or more co-film forming agents includes adipic acid/neopentyl glycol/trimellitic anhydride copolymer and/or hydrogenated acetophenone/oxymethylene copolymer. However, Burgess et al. teach curable nail enhancement where: “The cured composition exhibits good durability and yet can be readily and cleanly removed when desired by soaking briefly in acetone” (Abstract; see also claims 1-33) and Burgess et al. teach that suitable curable resins such as stearyl(meth)acrylate, isobornyl(meth) acrylate and tricyclodecanedimethanol di(meth)acrylates [0044] are known to the artisan. Suitable co-film forming agents are known in the through the teachings of Xu et al. Xu et al. is also directed to nail compositions (Abstract; [0001]; claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 11-13) and teach: “Specific examples of suitable co-film forming agents include, but are not limited to phthalic anhydride/glycerin/glycidyl decanoate copolymer, adipic acid/neopentyl glycol/trimellitic anhydride copolymer, tosylamide/epoxyresin, butyl acetate (and) acrylates copolymer, and hydrogenated acetophenone/oxymethylene copolymer.” [0116]. Thus, it is merely selection of known conventional acrylate film forming and co-filming agents taught in the art for the same purpose. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). Moreover, “Where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious." In re Fout 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982). Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in selecting these conventional components for the nail composition.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ arguments filed 8/12/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that: “claim 1 as amended is not anticipated by Kergosien. Because the Examiner's "epitome of obviousness" rationale is expressly predicated on the anticipation finding, that rationale necessarily falls once anticipation is overcome.” Respectfully, the Examiner has carefully considered that argument above and did not find it persuasive. The anticipation rejection stands and consequently so does the obviousness rejection.
Applicant contends that: “Kergosien's worked example at paragraph [0321] contains a UV gel portion of approximately 57.5% by weight, well above the 50% ceiling recited in claims 7, and thus does not teach or suggest the claimed 19-50% range.” However, the rejection states: “Kergosien et al. teach that photocrosslinkable compounds a), b) and c) can be present from greater than or equal to 1% by weight, 10% by weight and 1% by weight, respectively (Claims 1, 5 and 9), and thus it is merely routine optimization to arrive at a cosmetic nail composition where the UV gel portion is present in a total amount of 19-50% by weight of the cosmetic nail composition with a reasonable expectation of success.” The disclosure of Kergosien is broader in scope than the example cited by the Examiner. It is well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the submitted knowledge in the art, to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Consequently, the claimed range is within the scope of the disclosure of the reference. Respectfully, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that: “neither Burgess nor Xu supplies the limitations of claim 1, including the two-portion architecture comprising an "ultraviolet (UV) gel portion" and a "solvent-based portion," the requirement that the plurality of UV-curable materials be present in a total amount of at least 19% by weight, or the requirement that the difunctional acrylate oligomer comprises a urethane monomer.” However, the references of Burgess and Xu are relied upon as characterized in the rejection and not as characterized by Applicant. It is impermissible to attack references singly when the Examiner relies upon the combined teachings of the references, nor may they attack a reference for not teaching a limitation of the claim when the Examiner has explicitly relied upon another reference as teaching that limitation. See In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
With regard to claim 22, Applicant argues that: “Selecting and combining each of these specific ranges from Kergosien's broad disclosure, while excluding all other materials, would require impermissible hindsight reconstruction rather than routine optimization.” Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. Claim 22 does not exclude other materials but is “substantially free”, thus allowing wiggle room for the presence of other materials. While the specification teaches: “the term "substantially free of (a component)" means that the systems or compositions contain no appreciable amount of the component, for example, no more than about 1 % by weight” [0019], the term is not defined in the claim, and it is left for reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111.01(II): IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION "Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim.” Thus, other materials are not entirely excluded at all. Furthermore, selecting and combining components taught by the combined references within the ranges suggested by the combined references is the basis of the rejection. The test for obviousness is "what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 4I3, 425 (CCPA I98I) (MPEP 2145(III)). The Examiner also notes that, for example, claims 1 and 14-16 of Kergosien are substantially free of other materials. Accordingly, only the disclosures of the applied references were used, and no hindsight was employed to meet the claimed limitations. Respectfully, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after review of all the facts, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts, which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
1 See for example Sree Roy The Science of Gels: How Gel Nail Products Work 2011 [online] retrieved on 5/8/26 from: https://www.nailsmag.com/387143/the-science-of-gels-how-gel-nail-products-work ; 6 pages.