DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on 05/31/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashworth (US 2020/0106514 A1).
Regarding Claim 9 Ashworth teaches the limitations "An electronic device, comprising: a mobile wireless device with expansion function, comprising: (see abstract and fig. 1 (110, phone);
a plurality of first antennas; a wireless communication module connected to the first antennas; (see fig. 1 (110) and par. 0017 and 0028 (showing the phone is a 5G phone with inherent plurality of antennas and wireless communication module);
and at least one connecting port connected to the wireless communication module; and
a wireless expansion device detachably connected to the mobile wireless device with expansion function and comprising at least one second antenna; (see fig. 1 and par. 0018-0019 (repeater 120 or signal booster with antennas 124 and 126);
wherein the at least one connecting port of the mobile wireless device with expansion function is configured to be detachably connected to the at least one second antenna of the wireless expansion device, so that the wireless communication module performs wireless transmission through at least a part of the first antennas and the at least one second antenna" (see par. 0018 where the repeater 120 can be attached to…wireless device 110) and par. 0023 “the repeater 120 used to amplify the uplink and/or a downlink signal is a handheld booster. The handheld booster can be implemented in a sleeve of the wireless device 110. The wireless device sleeve can be attached to the wireless device 110, but can be removed as needed.”).
Claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 10 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the mobile wireless device with expansion function is a mobile wireless fidelity (mobile WiFi (MiFi)) device, and the electronic device is a consumer premise equipment (CPE)" (see par. 0017 “the wireless device 110 may be one or more smart phones, one or more tablets, one or more laptops, one or more desktop computers, one or more multimedia devices such as a televisions and gaming systems, one or more cellular internet of things (CIoT) devices, or other types of computing devices.” Also see par. 0048 “the repeater 400 can be configured to amplify one or more RF communication signals. The repeater 400 can, for example, amplify various types of RF signals, such as cellular telephone, WiFi, or AM/FM radio signals.” Here, the wireless device 110 is 5G and wi-fi capable and mobile and is equated to the “CPE”).
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 11 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the mobile wireless device with expansion function further comprises: a WiFi module connected to the wireless communication module; (see par. 0048, where wireless device 110 is a wifi device);
wherein the first antennas comprise: a plurality of first cellular antennas signally connected to the wireless communication module, wherein the wireless communication module is compliant with a fifth generation (5G) mobile communication technology, and the first cellular antennas operate in a 5G frequency band; (see par. 0028-0029, where wireless device is 5G compliant)
and a plurality of first WiFi antennas signally connected to the WiFi module and operating in a WiFi frequency band" (see par. 0048, where wireless device is wifi compliant and therefore includes Wifi antennas).
Claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 12 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the at least one second antenna operates in at least one of the 5G frequency band and the WiFi frequency band" (see par. 0028 “ the repeater 120 can boost signals from the 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 38.104 (Release 16 Jul. 2019) bands or 5G frequency bands.” Also see par. 0048 “the repeater 400 can be configured to amplify one or more RF communication signals. The repeater 400 can, for example, amplify various types of RF signals, such as cellular telephone, WiFi, or AM/FM radio signals.”).
Claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashworth as applied to claims, 4 and 11, respectfully above, and further in view of Wu (US 2017/0201009 A1).
Regarding Claim 13 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 11, wherein a number of the at least one connecting port is plural, and the connecting ports comprise: a plurality of first connecting ports using coaxial contact and corresponding to a part of the at least one second antenna; (see fig. 3 and par. 0040-0041, showing plural ports to second antenna 240 and 310 and operating in 5G communication).
However, Ashworth does not explicitly disclose “a second connecting port being a universal serial bus type-C (USB-C) connecting port and corresponding to another part of the at least one second antenna.”
In the same field of endeavor Wu discloses a mobile terminal and an external antenna. The mobile terminal comprises: a USB port which comprises at least two connection terminals and enables, when a connector of an external device is plugged into the said USB port, that any one of idle contacts of the said USB port and the said external device remains electrically connected, wherein the said external device serves as a Wi-Fi antenna in accordance with an antenna solution of Multiple-Input and Multiple-Output (see abstract, fig. 1, 3, and par. 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a USB-C connecting port to a wi-fi antenna as taught by Wu in the system of Ashworth, in order to improve quality of communication (see e.g. par. 0009 of Wu).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashworth as applied to claims 3 and 11, respectfully above, in view of Crow et al. (US 2021/0321027 A1).
Regarding Claim 15 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the mobile wireless device with expansion function further comprises: a cooling module, comprising: a first heatsink disposed on one side of the WiFi module and the wireless communication module to dissipate heat generated by the WiFi module and the wireless communication module; and a second heatsink disposed on another side of the WiFi module to dissipate heat generated by the WiFi module.”
In the same field of endeavor Crow discloses a heatsink for a capture device where for mitigating electromagnetic signals that are provided or emitted by the component 710, the heatsink 712 divides or separates the component 710 and a portion of the circuit 706 so that part of the heatsink 712 is positioned between the portion of the circuit 706 and the component 710. Further, the blocking or mitigating of electromagnetic signals by the heatsink 712 from the component 710 prevents the circuit 706 from acting as an antenna for amplifying electromagnetic signals and, thus, interfering with other components or functionalities in the image camera device, such as WiFi reception or GPS signaling. The component 710 is proximate to, contacting, adjacent to, or spaced apart from the front surface 743 at the recess 742 so that the heatsink 712 separates the portion of the circuit 706 that is proximate to the rear surface at the recess 742 and the component 710 that is proximate to the front surface 743 at the recess 742. In some examples, the recess 742, the base 734, or portions of both may be positioned directly or indirectly between the component 710 and the portion of the circuit 706 or any other component. (See abstract, fig. 7a and par. 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include heatsinks on each side of a wi-fi module as suggested by Crow in the system of Ashworth, in order to reduce interference and functionalities of the other components of the electronic device (see e.g. par. 0082).
Claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashworth as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectfully above, in view of Zhan et al. (US 2020/0403688 A1).
Regarding Claim 20 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 9, wherein, in response to determining that the at least one connecting port is separated from the wireless expansion device, the wireless communication module performs wireless transmission through the first antennas; and in response to determining that the at least one connecting port is connected to the wireless expansion device, the wireless communication module performs wireless transmission through the first antennas and the at least one second antenna (see fig. 1 and par. 0018-0020, and 0023 “the repeater 120 used to amplify the uplink and/or a downlink signal is a handheld booster. The handheld booster can be implemented in a sleeve of the wireless device 110. The wireless device sleeve can be attached to the wireless device 110, but can be removed as needed. In this configuration, the repeater 120 can automatically power down or cease amplification when the wireless device 110 approaches a particular base station. In other words, the repeater 120 can determine to stop performing signal amplification when the quality of uplink and/or downlink signals is above a defined threshold based on a location of the wireless device 110 in relation to the base station 130” where the signal booster can be attached and not attached to mobile device thereby utilizing repeater antennas or using only mobile device antenna if not attached).
However, Ashworth does not explicitly disclose that the repeater/signal booster secondary antennas are used “to provide a beamforming technique.”
In the same field of endeavor Zhan discloses radio frequency signal boosters for high frequency cellular communications, where the booster antennas provide beamforming for mobile devices (see fig. 1, abstract and par. 0066-0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize booster antennas for beamforming as taught by Zhan in the system of Ashworth, in order to improve communication quality (see e.g. par. 0067 of Zhan).
Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashworth as applied to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8 Ashworth teaches the limitations "The mobile wireless device with expansion function of claim 1, further comprising:
a shell having an accommodating space and comprising a first housing and a second housing, the first antennas, the wireless communication module and the at least one connecting port are disposed in the accommodating space (see par. 0023 “In one configuration, the repeater 120 used to amplify the uplink and/or a downlink signal is a handheld booster. The handheld booster can be implemented in a sleeve of the wireless device 110. The wireless device sleeve can be attached to the wireless device 110, but can be removed as needed.” Here, the shell is equated to the device housing which includes antennas ports and wireless module.
However, Ashworth does not explicitly disclose “the first antennas are connected to an inner side of the first housing; and a battery connected to the second housing; wherein in response to determining that the second housing together with the battery is detached from the first housing, the at least one connecting port is exposed to connect the wireless expansion device.” As shown above the signal booster can be in a sleeve handheld form factor where disconnecting or connecting exposes connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first antennas are connected to an inner side of the first housing; and a battery connected to the second housing; wherein in response to determining that the second housing together with the battery is detached from the first housing, the at least one connecting port is exposed to connect the wireless expansion device as suggested by Ashworth, in order to protect port exposure to the outside elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: A search was conducted with regard to applicant's claims defining “The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the wireless expansion device further comprises: another WiFi module connected to the wireless communication module through the at least one connecting port; and an expansion cooling module, comprising: a third heatsink disposed on one side of the another WiFi module to dissipate heat generated by the another WiFi module; and a fourth heatsink disposed on another side of the another WiFi module to dissipate heat generated by the another WiFi module.”
Examiner has found prior art in the same field of endeavor in Ashworth and Wu as described above in claims 9 and 15.
The system of Ashworth and Wu do not teach the combination of claims 9, 11, 15 and 16 requiring wherein the wireless expansion device further comprises: another WiFi module connected to the wireless communication module through the at least one connecting port; and an expansion cooling module, comprising: a third heatsink disposed on one side of the another WiFi module to dissipate heat generated by the another WiFi module; and a fourth heatsink disposed on another side of the another WiFi module to dissipate heat generated by the another WiFi module.
Furthermore, claim 16 would not be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art considering the prior art on record and therefore involve an inventive step. When incorporating all the limitations in combination, none of the prior art discloses the features as claimed. Claims 17 and 18 are objected to due to their dependence on objected claim 16.
In addition a search was conducted regarding claim 19. Here, Ashworth teaches the limitations "The electronic device of claim 9, wherein, the mobile wireless device with expansion function further comprises:
a shell having an accommodating space and comprising a first housing and a second housing, wherein the first housing is detachably connected to the second housing, the first antennas, the wireless communication module and the at least one connecting port are disposed in the accommodating space,
and the first antennas are connected to an inner side of the first housing;
and a battery connected to the second housing;
and the wireless expansion device further comprises another shell, the another shell has at least one first opening and at least one second opening, the at least one first opening is located at one end of the another shell, and the at least one second opening is located at another end of the another shell;
wherein in response to determining that the second housing together with the battery is detached from the first housing, the at least one connecting port is exposed to connect the wireless expansion device; wherein in response to determining that the at least one connecting port is connected to the wireless expansion device, the first housing of the shell is engaged with the another shell, and a cooling path is formed between the at least one first opening and the at least one second opening to dissipate heat generated by the mobile wireless device with expansion function and the wireless expansion device." Ashworth teaches (see par. 0023 “In one configuration, the repeater 120 used to amplify the uplink and/or a downlink signal is a handheld booster. The handheld booster can be implemented in a sleeve of the wireless device 110. The wireless device sleeve can be attached to the wireless device 110, but can be removed as needed.” Here, the shell is equated to the device housing); and teaches (see par. 0024 “ The battery can also power the wireless device 110 (e.g., phone or tablet). Alternatively, the repeater 120 can receive power from the wireless device 110.”).”
However, the prior art do not disclose the specific configuration of combination of claims 1 and 19. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID BILODEAU whose telephone number is (571)270-3192. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:00am-4:00pm Eastern Standard Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/David Bilodeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648