DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
2. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are currently amended.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,019,773 B2 (patent 773) in view of Nussbaum et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0258463 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are similar.
6. The following table shows correspondence between the claims of the present application and claims of patent 773 in view of Nussbaum.
Claims of present application
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
9
10
Claims of patent 773 in view of Nussbaum
1
1
1
2
3
4
5
7
7
11
12
13
14
15
17
18
19
7
8
9
10
11
13
13
15
7. The following table shows correspondence between the limitations of claim 1 of present application and claims 1 of patent 773 in view of Nussbaum.
Claim 1 of present application
Claim 1 of patent 773 in view of Nussbaum
1. A server having a processor configured to perform an interactive augmented reality method, the processor configured to:
1. A server having a processor configured to perform an interactive augmented reality method, the processor configured to:
provide users with access to a collaborative object;
provide users with access to a collaborative object;
associate virtual content received from the users with the collaborative object during a collaboration period to produce a generated collaborative object;
associate virtual content received from the users with the collaborative object during a collaboration period;
associate a timestamp with each received virtual content;
provide the users with a timelapse of the collaborative object as a function of the timestamps;
and provide the users with a timelapse of the generated collaborative object when the collaboration period ends,
and allow the users to see the timelapse of the collaborative object when the collaboration period ends,
wherein the timelapse is a series of images including the virtual content received from the users and associated with the collaborative object during the collaboration period,
Nussbaum at paragraph [0024] reciting “
A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.”
Therefore, the system can store the collaborative object, which is a virtual object, at various points in time. The collaborative object can be rendered at various points in time to show a time lapse image of the collaborative object.
wherein the users cannot access the associated virtual content received from other users until the collaboration period ends.
wherein the users cannot access the associated virtual content received from other users until the collaboration period ends.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/12/2026 has not been approved at the time of this Office Action. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaptsan et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0186064 A1) in view of Srinivasan et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0355181 A1).and further in view of Nussbaum et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0258463 A1).
11. Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Kaptsan discloses A server having a processor (paragraph [0005] reciting “In an embodiment, a method includes, by a server with a processor, providing, at a user device via a network, a user interface displaying a three-dimensional (3D) model of a consumer product selected by a user. …”) configured to
the processor configured to: (paragraph [0059] reciting “In one embodiment, the processor routines 92A, programs 92B, and data 94 are a computer program product (generally referenced 92), including a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g., a removable storage medium such as one or more DVD-ROM's, CD-ROM's, diskettes, tapes, etc.) that provides at least a portion of the software instructions for the invention system. …”) provide users with access to a collaborative object; (paragraph [0054] reciting “… A server can provide the user interface at a user device of a user or multiple user devices of multiple users. Then, the process allows customization of the 3D model of the consumer product based on selections and manipulations of the consumer product received at the provided user interface from at least two users of the plurality of users (704). This customization can occur after an initial user has sent invitations to other users to also customize the product. The method further includes, responsive to finalization of the customized 3D model by at least one of the plurality of users, submitting the customized 3D model for 3D printing (706).”) associate virtual content received from the users with the collaborative object during a collaboration period to produce a generated collaborative object; (paragraph [0036] reciting “Upon each user 102 and subsequent users 106 a-c beginning customization of an element of the model of 3D product 103 by selecting the element for editing, the system locks all other users from customizing that element of the object. This prevents conflicts with multiple users editing the same element at the same time. Such simultaneous editing of the same element can cause problems, such as user's attempting to change the same element to different shapes, colors, or materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize, however, that each user can modify separate/different elements of the model of the 3D product 103
simultaneously.” The different elements that are modified corresponds to associated virtual content to generate the final collaborative object.)
While not explicitly disclosed by Kaptsan, Srinivasan discloses perform an interactive augmented reality method, (paragraph [0005] reciting “In various implementations described herein, the editing occurs while multiple users are concurrently viewing a scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment. Thus, the users can visually see updates to the scene in real-time and in a dynamic manner. Stated another way, while a first user is providing edits to content in the scene, the first user and other users can visually see the response to the content in the scene being edited by the first user. …”;
paragraph [0006] reciting “To avoid problems and user frustrations that may occur when multiple users have the ability to edit a scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment, the techniques described herein use region locking so that content being edited by one user viewing and editing the scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment cannot be edited by another user concurrently viewing and editing the same scene in the three-dimensional immersive environment. …”)
wherein the users cannot access the associated virtual content received from other users until the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Thus, a predetermined time period can be used during which time no editing of already selected content by any user can be edited and only after time period expiration can those selected for editing content be selected by others for further editing.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan with Srinivasan so that users cannot access already selected elements for editing during a set time period. This is an obviously beneficial modification so that conflicts do not arise. It is further beneficial to set a predetermined time period such that its expiration allows all elements of the virtual product to be selected by the other users for more editing. Furthermore, Srinivasan discloses having users all view and edit objects in the same scene while wearing augmented reality (AR) headsets. This is also beneficial since the immersion of wearing a headset makes the editing task more intuitive and realistic.
While the combination of Kaptsan and Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose, Nussbaum discloses and provide the users with a timelapse of the generated collaborative object when the collaboration period ends, wherein the timelapse is a series of images including the virtual content received from the users and associated with the collaborative object during the collaboration period, (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.”
Therefore, each component or element of the 3D model in Kaptsan can be stored with its own timestamp initially and when the element is modified a timestamp can also be assigned to the modified element. This allows the timelapse rendering of the virtual product along the changing elements using the models at various timestamps.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan and Srinivasan with Nussbaum so that a timestamp for the virtual elements is tallied and later used to timelapse display the modified/edited product. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it allows the users to see the progress of changes to the product so they users can visually compare and decide if further changes need to be made to the product.
12. Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to associate a timestamp with the received associated virtual content. (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” Each virtual model (or element) of Kaptsan can be tagged with timestamp for subsequent timelapse rendering.)
13. Regarding Claim 3 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The server of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to provide the users with the timelapse of the generated collaborative object as a function of the timestamps. (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” Each virtual model (or element) of Kaptsan can be tagged with timestamp for subsequent timelapse rendering.)
14. Regarding Claim 4 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The server of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to record a position of the generated collaborative object for each of the timestamps. (paragraph [0065] reciting “… According to aspects, the imaging vehicle 940 embeds the captured image data with metadata such as a time stamp and/or location data.”;
paragraph [0067] reciting “… To this end, the server 920 may determine that embedded location data of a virtual model generated based on the image data captured by the imaging vehicle 940 is located at a same or similar location as a virtual model already stored in the model database 936. Accordingly, the server 920 may determine that the newly generated virtual model is an updated version of the currently stored virtual model.”)
15. Regarding Claim 5 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to allow the users to see the generated collaborative object from different angles of view. (paragraph [0040] reciting “… Once accepted, all users 254 and 264 a-c can customize various aspects of the 3D product. In addition, all users 254 and 264 a-c are enabled to see the product from a customized viewpoint, which includes a customized rotation viewpoint and a customized zoom level. Each user, therefore, may see the 3D product from a different viewpoint in the 3D domain.” While collaboratively customizing the virtual elements, each user can rotate the 3D product from their respective editing interfaces.)
16. Regarding Claim 6 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to allow users access to the collaborative object using respective physically remote devices. (see FIG. 8 wherein user interface modules (2) are remote physical devices that are allowed to make updates 3D-model.)
17. Regarding Claim 7 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The server of claim 6, wherein the processor is configured to serve the collaborative object to the physically remote devices. (paragraph [0055] reciting “… Then, all invited users, via their corresponding user interface module 802, can send customizations 812 to a customization module 806. The customizations 812 are to different elements of the 3D model, but each separate element can be customized simultaneously. However, as described above, two users cannot customize the same element at the same time. In response to receiving the customizations 812, the customization module 806 provides updates 814 to 3D model to each of the user interface modules 802. Then, when the users finalize the 3D model, one or more of the user interface modules 802 send the final 3D model 816 to a 3D printing module 808 for printing. Then, the customized 3D printed product can be shipped to the customer.” The remote user interface modules 802 has the collaborative object which it can send to some 3D printer.)
18. Regarding Claim 8 (Original), Srinivasan further discloses A server of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to maintain a timer including a countdown indicative of when the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the server in Kaptsan to have time period countdown to expiration of the collaborative period.)
19. Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended), Kaptsan discloses performed by a processor, (paragraph [0005] reciting “In an embodiment, a method includes, by a server with a processor, providing, at a user device via a network, a user interface displaying a three-dimensional (3D) model of a consumer product selected by a user. …”) comprising: providing users with access to a collaborative object; (paragraph [0054] reciting “… A server can provide the user interface at a user device of a user or multiple user devices of multiple users. Then, the process allows customization of the 3D model of the consumer product based on selections and manipulations of the consumer product received at the provided user interface from at least two users of the plurality of users (704). This customization can occur after an initial user has sent invitations to other users to also customize the product. The method further includes, responsive to finalization of the customized 3D model by at least one of the plurality of users, submitting the customized 3D model for 3D printing (706).”)
associating virtual content received from the users with the collaborative object during a collaboration period to produce a generated collaborative object; (paragraph [0036] reciting “Upon each user 102 and subsequent users 106 a-c beginning customization of an element of the model of 3D product 103 by selecting the element for editing, the system locks all other users from customizing that element of the object. This prevents conflicts with multiple users editing the same element at the same time. Such simultaneous editing of the same element can cause problems, such as user's attempting to change the same element to different shapes, colors, or materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize, however, that each user can modify separate/different elements of the model of the 3D product 103
simultaneously.” The different elements that are modified corresponds to associated virtual content to generate the final collaborative object.)
While not explicitly disclosed by Kaptsan, Srinivasan discloses An interactive augmented reality method (paragraph [0005] reciting “In various implementations described herein, the editing occurs while multiple users are concurrently viewing a scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment. Thus, the users can visually see updates to the scene in real-time and in a dynamic manner. Stated another way, while a first user is providing edits to content in the scene, the first user and other users can visually see the response to the content in the scene being edited by the first user. …”;
paragraph [0006] reciting “To avoid problems and user frustrations that may occur when multiple users have the ability to edit a scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment, the techniques described herein use region locking so that content being edited by one user viewing and editing the scene in a three-dimensional immersive environment cannot be edited by another user concurrently viewing and editing the same scene in the three-dimensional immersive environment. …”)
wherein the users cannot access the associated virtual content received from other users until the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Thus, a predetermined time period can be used during which time no editing of already selected content by any user can be edited and only after time period expiration can those selected for editing content be selected by others for further editing.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan with Srinivasan so that users cannot access already selected elements for editing during a set time period. This is an obviously beneficial modification so that conflicts do not arise. It is further beneficial to set a predetermined time period such that its expiration allows all elements of the virtual product to be selected by the other users for more editing. Furthermore, Srinivasan discloses having users all view and edit objects in the same scene while wearing augmented reality (AR) headsets. This is also beneficial since the immersion of wearing a headset makes the editing task more intuitive and realistic.
While the combination of Kaptsan and Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose, Nussbaum discloses and providing the users with a timelapse of the generated collaborative object when the collaboration period ends, wherein the timelapse is a series of images including the virtual content received from the users and associated with the collaborative object during the collaboration period, (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.”
Therefore, each component or element of the 3D model in Kaptsan can be stored with its own timestamp initially and when the element is modified a timestamp can also be assigned to the modified element. This allows the timelapse rendering of the virtual product along the changing elements using the models at various timestamps.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan and Srinivasan with Nussbaum so that a timestamp for the virtual elements is tallied and later used to timelapse display the modified/edited product. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it allows the users to see the progress of changes to the product so they users can visually compare and decide if further changes need to be made to the product.
20. Regarding Claim 10 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the method associates a timestamp with the received associated virtual content. (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” Each virtual model (or element) of Kaptsan can be tagged with timestamp for subsequent timelapse rendering.)
21. Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The method of claim 10, providing the users with the timelapse of the generated collaborative object as a function of the timestamps. (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” Each virtual model (or element) of Kaptsan can be tagged with timestamp for subsequent timelapse rendering.)
22. Regarding Claim 12 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The method of claim 10, further comprising recording a position of the generated collaborative object for each of the timestamps. (paragraph [0065] reciting “… According to aspects, the imaging vehicle 940 embeds the captured image data with metadata such as a time stamp and/or location data.”;
paragraph [0067] reciting “… To this end, the server 920 may determine that embedded location data of a virtual model generated based on the image data captured by the imaging vehicle 940 is located at a same or similar location as a virtual model already stored in the model database 936. Accordingly, the server 920 may determine that the newly generated virtual model is an updated version of the currently stored virtual model.”)
23. Regarding Claim 13 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The method of claim 9, wherein a processor allows the users to see the generated collaborative object from different angles of view. (paragraph [0040] reciting “… Once accepted, all users 254 and 264 a-c can customize various aspects of the 3D product. In addition, all users 254 and 264 a-c are enabled to see the product from a customized viewpoint, which includes a customized rotation viewpoint and a customized zoom level. Each user, therefore, may see the 3D product from a different viewpoint in the 3D domain.” While collaboratively customizing the virtual elements, each user can rotate the 3D product from their respective editing interfaces.)
24. Regarding Claim 14 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The method of claim 9, wherein a processor allows users access to the collaborative object using respective physically remote devices. (see FIG. 8 wherein user interface modules (2) are remote physical devices that are allowed to make updates 3D-model.)
25. Regarding Claim 15 (Original), Kaptsan further discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the processor serves the collaborative object to the physically remote devices. (paragraph [0055] reciting “… Then, all invited users, via their corresponding user interface module 802, can send customizations 812 to a customization module 806. The customizations 812 are to different elements of the 3D model, but each separate element can be customized simultaneously. However, as described above, two users cannot customize the same element at the same time. In response to receiving the customizations 812, the customization module 806 provides updates 814 to 3D model to each of the user interface modules 802. Then, when the users finalize the 3D model, one or more of the user interface modules 802 send the final 3D model 816 to a 3D printing module 808 for printing. Then, the customized 3D printed product can be shipped to the customer.” The remote user interface modules 802 has the collaborative object which it can send to some 3D printer.)
26. Regarding Claim 16 (Original), Srinivasan further discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the processor maintains a timer including a countdown indicative of when the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the server in Kaptsan to have time period countdown to expiration of the collaborative period.)
27. Regarding Claim 17 (Currently Amended), Kaptsan discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program code that, when executed by an electronic processor of an electronic device (paragraph [0058] reciting “FIG. 10 is a diagram of an example internal structure of a computer (e.g., client computer/device 50 or server computers 60) in the computer system of FIG. 9. … 9). Memory 90 provides volatile storage for computer software instructions or routines 92A and data 94 used to implement an embodiment of the present invention (e.g., user interface module, invitation module, customization module code detailed above). Disk storage 95 provides non-volatile storage for computer software instructions or operating system (OS) programs 92B and data 94 used to implement an embodiment of the present invention. A central processor unit 84 is also attached to the system bus 79 and provides for the execution of computer instructions.”) having a display, (paragraph [0031] reciting “FIG. 1 is a diagram 100 illustrating an example embodiment of the present invention. A user 102 can collaborate with subsequent users 106 a-c on a model of a 3D product 103 displayed on a user device 104. The user device 104 is operatively connected to a retail server 114 and one or more social media platforms 112, and other user devices 108 via a cloud 110. …”) configures the electronic device to:
provide users with access to a collaborative object; (paragraph [0054] reciting “… A server can provide the user interface at a user device of a user or multiple user devices of multiple users. Then, the process allows customization of the 3D model of the consumer product based on selections and manipulations of the consumer product received at the provided user interface from at least two users of the plurality of users (704). This customization can occur after an initial user has sent invitations to other users to also customize the product. The method further includes, responsive to finalization of the customized 3D model by at least one of the plurality of users, submitting the customized 3D model for 3D printing (706).”)
associate virtual content received from the users with the collaborative object during a collaboration period to produce a generated collaborative object; (paragraph [0036] reciting “Upon each user 102 and subsequent users 106 a-c beginning customization of an element of the model of 3D product 103 by selecting the element for editing, the system locks all other users from customizing that element of the object. This prevents conflicts with multiple users editing the same element at the same time. Such simultaneous editing of the same element can cause problems, such as user's attempting to change the same element to different shapes, colors, or materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize, however, that each user can modify separate/different elements of the model of the 3D product 103
simultaneously.” The different elements that are modified corresponds to associated virtual content to generate the final collaborative object.)
While not explicitly disclosed by Kaptsan, Srinivasan discloses wherein the users cannot access the associated virtual content received from other users until the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Thus, a predetermined time period can be used during which time no editing of already selected content by any user can be edited and only after time period expiration can those selected for editing content be selected by others for further editing.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan with Srinivasan so that users cannot access already selected elements for editing during a set time period. This is an obviously beneficial modification so that conflicts do not arise. It is further beneficial to set a predetermined time period such that its expiration allows all elements of the virtual product to be selected by the other users for more editing. Furthermore, Srinivasan discloses having users all view and edit objects in the same scene while wearing augmented reality (AR) headsets. This is also beneficial since the immersion of wearing a headset makes the editing task more intuitive and realistic.
While the combination of Kaptsan and Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose, Nussbaum discloses and provide the users with a timelapse of the generated collaborative object, wherein the timelapse is a series of images including the virtual content received from the users and associated with the collaborative object during the collaboration period, (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.”
Therefore, each component or element of the 3D model in Kaptsan can be stored with its own timestamp initially and when the element is modified a timestamp can also be assigned to the modified element. This allows the timelapse rendering of the virtual product along the changing elements using the models at various timestamps.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaptsan and Srinivasan with Nussbaum so that a timestamp for the virtual elements is tallied and later used to timelapse display the modified/edited product. This is an obviously beneficial modification as it allows the users to see the progress of changes to the product so they users can visually compare and decide if further changes need to be made to the product.
28. Regarding Claim 18 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 storing program code that, when executed by the electronic processor, associates a timestamp with each received associated virtual content. (paragraph [0024] reciting “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” Each virtual model (or element) of Kaptsan can be tagged with timestamp for subsequent timelapse rendering.)
29. Regarding Claim 19 (Original), Nussbaum further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18 storing program code that, when executed by the electronic processor, further configures the electronic device to record a position of the generated collaborative object for each of the timestamps. (paragraph [0065] reciting “… According to aspects, the imaging vehicle 940 embeds the captured image data with metadata such as a time stamp and/or location data.”;
paragraph [0067] reciting “… To this end, the server 920 may determine that embedded location data of a virtual model generated based on the image data captured by the imaging vehicle 940 is located at a same or similar location as a virtual model already stored in the model database 936. Accordingly, the server 920 may determine that the newly generated virtual model is an updated version of the currently stored virtual model.”)
30. Regarding Claim 20 (Original), Srinivasan further discloses The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 storing program code that, when executed by the electronic processor, configures the electronic device to maintain a timer including a countdown indicative of when the collaboration period ends. (paragraph [0103] reciting “Example Clause O, the system of any one of Example Clauses H through N, wherein the operations further comprise unlocking the region so that the users other than the first user are able to edit the content in the region, wherein the region is unlocked based at least in part on one of (i) user input indicating the first user is no longer editing the content in the region or (ii) a predetermined time period expiring.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the server in Kaptsan to have time period countdown to expiration of the collaborative period.)
Response to Arguments
31. Applicant's arguments filed on in Remarks on 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue 7-9 of the remarks that the limitation of claim 1 are not disclosed by the cited references, especially by Nussbaum. In particular claim 1 has been amended with wherein the timelapse is a series of images including the virtual content received from the users and associated with the collaborative object during the collaboration period which overcomes the cited references, especially with respect to Nussbaum. Examiner disagrees.
32. Nussbaum at paragraph [0024] recites “A server obtains the captured set of image data to generate a virtual model of the overall region using virtual modeling techniques described below. The server may then store the generated virtual models in a model database. In some embodiments, the model database may store multiple versions of a particular virtual model. For example, one version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured prior to damage occurring and a second version of the virtual model may be based on image data captured after damage has occurred. Accordingly, the server may associate each virtual model with a timestamp to enable the rendering of a virtual environment that depicts the overall region at various points in time.” This means the multiple versions of a virtual model can be stored and each virtual model has a timestamp associated with it. Using the timestamps. The virtual model can be rendered in a timelapse manner.
33. Kaptsan at FIG. 3-6 discloses various changes to various components of a 3D product. For example, the connecting structure in FIG. 3-4 is changed and the drop pendent is change from FIG. 5-6. Therefore, each of the 3D connecting structure and drop pendent can be captured with timestamps and replayed back in timelapse manner as disclosed in Nussbaum at paragraph [0024]. Since each selection is locked, there can be only 1 set of timestamps for that selected 3D component of the overall 3D product. During timelapse playback, each components of the 3D products can be rendered back accordingly to its set of timestamps without conflicting with any other components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Cited Unused References
35. Seibert et al. (US Patent 11,422,530 B2) discloses a time-lapse rendering of a pre-build virtual object (VO) before sending off the object for 3D printing. While it discloses time-lapse rendering of a VO, it fails to disclose a series of images received from users for collaboration.
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611