DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-21, drawn to a water treatment apparatus, classified in C02F 1/686.
II. Claim 22, drawn to a method for treating water within a pool system, classified in B01F 2101/305.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus, i.e. one where the first communications module is not coupled to the pool wall.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have separate classification in the art and would require different search terms/strategies.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Douglas Smith on 8/5/26 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-21. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 22 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pool" in lines 16 and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite “the pool system”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the pool". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite “the pool system”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the pool". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite “the pool system”.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11, 13, 16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin US 2023/0080286.
Claim 1, Martin teaches a water treatment apparatus for a pool system, the pool system including a pool wall configured to retain pool water therein, a circulating pump (209) having an intake and an outlet, an intake line (32) connecting the pool to the intake and a return line (33) connecting the outlet to a return jet at the pool, the treatment apparatus comprising: a chemical introduction unit having a first end coupled to the return jet and a second end in fluid communication with the pool water, wherein the chemical introduction unit is configured to selectively dispense a controlled quantity of an additive to the poor water, a dispensing unit comprising: a first chemical reservoir (28) connected to the chemical introduction unit through a first line, the first chemical reservoir retaining a first chemical therein, and a second chemical reservoir (30) connected to the chemical introduction unit through a second line, the second chemical reservoir containing a second chemical therein, a sensor unit comprising a pH sensor (12) configured to be received within the pool system to sense a pH value of the pool water, an oxidation reduction potential sensor (ORP) (8) configured to be received within the pool system to sense the ORP of the pool water and a first communications module outside of the pool water communicatively coupled to the pH and ORP sensors, an a controller (24) including a control unit operably connected to the dispensing unit and a second communications module communicatively coupled to the first communications module of the sensor unit to receive sensed pH data and sensed ORP data, the controller is configured to regulate an amount of the first chemical dispensed from the first chemical reservoir and passing through the chemical introduction unit, the amount of the first chemical dispensed is based on the sensed pH of the pool water and an amount of the second chemical dispensed from the second chemical reservoir and passing through the chemical introduction unit, the amount of the second chemical dispensed is based on the sensed ORP of the pool water (fig. 1, par 55, 108, 112). Martin does not teach the first communications module configured to be coupled to the pool wall. The recitation of the module coupled to the pool wall is a recitation of the relative location of the module. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950). Where the module is located is not pertinent to the operation or function of the module. The module need only communicate with the sensors and the second communications module and the relative location does not affect its ability to perform those functions.
Claim 6, Martin further teaches the pool system comprises a swimming pool or spa (par 72);
Claims 7-8, Martin further teaches the chemical introduction unit includes a eductor (par 112). Martin does not teach the eductor being a venturi. Claim 7 describes the well-known structure of a venturi. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that an eductor commonly uses the structure of a venturi and therefore, providing a venturi type eductor to add the additive would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art.
Claim 9, Martin further teaches the chemical flow is regulated from the first and second reservoirs but does not specifically teach flow meters. Flow meters are common in the art as a way to determine and regulate the flow of fluid and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11, Martin further teaches the system can be automatically initiated for a planned evening remediation (par 63) but does not teach how the system is automatically set to operate in the evening. Using a photo sensor to automatically detect when the light level decreases and thus evening has arrived would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure the system operates at the proper conditions and/or time.
Claims 13 and 16, Martin further teaches the dispensing unit further comprises a third chemical reservoir (26) connected to the chemical introduction unit through a third line, the third chemical reservoir configured to retain a third chemical therein and the controller is configured to regulate an amount of the third chemical dispensed from the third chemical reservoir and passing through the chemical introduction unit (fig. 1); a fourth chemical reservoir (38) connected to the chemical introduction unit through a fourth line, the fourth chemical reservoir configured to retain a fourth chemical therein and the controller is configured to regulate an amount of the fourth chemical dispensed from the fourth chemical reservoir and passing through the chemical introduction unit (fig. 1).
Claims 19-21 recite an agitator comprising a magnetic stir plate and stir bar and a stir bar securement. Magnetic stir plates/bars are very common as a way to ensure proper mixing of chemicals within a container and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 2-5, 10, 12, 14-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin US 2023/0080286 in view of Kurani et al. US 10,150,680.
Claims 2-3, 14 and 17, Martin teaches as obvious the system of claim 1 but does not teach the dispensing unit having level sensors.
Kurani teaches a water treatment apparatus for a pool system comprising a pool wall retaining pool water therein, a sensor unit to sense pH and ORP with a first communications module coupled to the sensors and a controller configured to regulate the amounts of chemicals added to the system based on the sensor data (col. 1, line 53 – col. 2, line 39; col. 7, line 66 – col. 8, line 7) and the system monitors the chemicals consumed and the system can order the necessary chemicals (col. 30, lines 1-10). The use of a level sensor would have been an obvious way to monitor the chemicals consumed and automatically ordering would also have been obvious as a way to ensure the proper chemicals will be present as the chemicals are consumed.
Claim 4, Kurani further teaches the use of Wi-Fi and Bluetooth within the system for communicating between sensors and controllers and computers (col. 2, lines 15-25). The use of various types of wireless communication is very common in the art and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 5, 15 and 18, Kurani further teaches the system is configured to receive weather data local to the system (col. 1, lines 53 – col. 2, line 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide such a configuration as conditions such as temperature and humidity affect how the pool water needs to be treated (col. 1, lines 53 – col. 2, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to configure the controller to dispense a desired chemical as a function of received weather data.
Claim 10, Martin further teaches the control of chemicals from the reservoirs can include chemical feed pumps (par 95) but does not specifically teach a peristaltic pump.
Kurani teaches a suitable chemical pump being a peristaltic pump (col. 12, lines 1-9). Peristaltic pumps are recognized in the art as a suitable chemical feed pump, as shown by Kurani, and would have been an obvious choice for the type of pump. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 12, the system of Martin will inherently require electricity to operate but does not teach the source of that electricity.
Kurani teaches the system uses a rechargeable battery and solar panel (col. 2, lines 35-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a rechargeable battery and solar panel as the solar panel can power the system during the day and the battery can power the system at night (col. 2, lines 35-39). To recharge the battery a charge controller will inherently be required, otherwise the system could be damaged.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2012/012834 Prause et al.
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779