DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendments filed on 5/28/2026 wherein claims 63 and 69 have been amended.
Claims 63-74 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/28/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 63, 64, 69 and 70 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 102(a)(1) over Mitsialis et al. (US 2017/0258840), evidenced by Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 3/26/2026.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/28/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 63 and 64 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 102(a)(1) over Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 3/26/2026.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/28/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 63-66 and 69-72 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Mitsialis et al. (US 2017/0258840), evidenced by Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10) in view of Imbrie et al. (WO 2013/048734) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 3/26/2026.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/28/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 63, 64, 67-70, 73 amd 74 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Mitsialis et al. (US 2017/0258840), evidenced by Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10) in view of Lim (US 2014/0031256) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 3/26/2026.
In regards to the 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections over Mitsialis and Azevedo, Applicant asserts the following:
Mitsialis fails to teach exosomes prepared by any method other than one that includes tangential flow filtration and/or ultracentrifugation. The recited freeze/thaw process operates on a fundamentally different physical principle and therefore produces a different exosome product because the freeze/thaw process yields an exosome that possesses a lipid bilayer whereas the exosomes produced by tangential flow/centrifugation have a damaged structure. Thus, the exosomes have a different structure as a result of the process.
In response to A, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive as it defines a product-by-process limitation which does not appear to provide any distinguishing structural feature. See MPEP 2113. It may be the case that tangential flow/ultracentrifugation results in damage to exosomes but the Examiner is not persuaded that the exosomes purified by the process of Mitsialis are of a different structure than those claimed presently. This is supported by Schroit which states that exosomes isolated by ultracentrifugation produces exosomes having a typical morphology and lipid bilayer (see [0185]). It’s not clear what structural differences, if any, exist for exosomes produced by the prior art and those produced as presently preferred. And so, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, it appears that exosomes produced by the prior art method are no different from exosomes produced by the instantly preferred process.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 63, 64, 69 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitisialis et al. (US 2017/0258840; of record), evidenced by Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10).
Mitisialis discloses compositions comprising isolated exosomes. The exosomes are to be isolated from blood. It is noted that blood contains platelets (see evidence to Azevedo) and so the isolated exosomes of Mitisialis would necessarily include platelet-derived exosomes. The isolated exosomes are to have a diameter of between 30-100 nm (see [0004]) (e.g. not greater than 300 nm) (see instant claim 64) and may be cryopreserved/lyophilized (i.e. cryodesiccated) so as to enable long-term storage (see [0038, 0091]) (see instant claim 69).
It is noted that instant claim 63 requires exosomes be produced by a process which does not include ultracentrifugation or tangential flow filtration. This is a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113(I). As the claim does not define how the purified exosomes are different from the exosomes isolated by the prior art, the exosomes will be presumed equivalent absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 63 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10).
Azevedo discloses isolated platelet-derived exosomes which have a diameter of approximately 100 nm (see page 2). Figure 1 indicates that the isolated exosomes are spherical/spheroid.
It is noted that instant claim 63 requires exosomes be produced by a process which does not include ultracentrifugation or tangential flow filtration. This is a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113(I). As the claim does not define how the purified exosomes are different from the exosomes isolated by the prior art, the exosomes will be presumed equivalent absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63-66 and 69-72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitisialis et al. (US 2017/0258840; of record), evidenced by/in view of Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10), in view of Imbrie et al. (WO 2013/048734).
Mitisialis and Azevedo are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 63, 64, 69 and 70 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Mitisialis’ composition can take a variety of forms such as suspensions, injectable formulations, capsules and so on (see [0089-0091]) wherein the composition is to include a variety of formulatory agents such as suspending, stabilizing and/or dispersing agents (see [0091]).
Mitisialis fails to teach the composition as comprising a biocompatible matrix comprising collagen, thrombin, gelatin, alginate, or another naturally occurring basement membrane product.
Imbrie describes an exosome containing medical formulation. The formulation may be in the form of an oral dosage form, e.g. capsules/tablets, or parenteral dosage forms, e.g. solutions/suspensions (see page 67). Exemplified excipients included in the dosage forms include binders such as alginic acid (alginate) and gelatin (see page 67) (see instant claims 66 and 72). The inclusion of the obvious excipients would necessarily result in a biocompatible matrix. It would have been obvious to modify Mitisialis’ composition to include other known excipients, such as alginate and gelatin, as the said excipients were known to be useful in delivering exosomes for therapeutic benefit. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) which states that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is supportive of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 63, 64, 67-70, 73 and 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitisialis et al. (US 2017/0258840; of record), evidenced by/in view of Azevedo et al. (Critical Care, 2007, 11(6), 1-10), in view of Lim (US 2014/0031256).
Mitisialis and Azevedo are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 63, 64, 69 and 70 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Mitisialis fails to teach 95% of the exosomes that have a diameter that falls within a distribution range of 100 nm.
Lim teaches composition comprising isolated exosomes. Lim teaches that exosomes may be sized by size fractionation and filtration through a membrane with a relevant size cutoff (see [1072]). Exemplified diameter range include between 50 nm to 150 nm (see [0171]) (see instant claim 67).
As it was known that the size of the exosomes in the final composition could be selected for by using physical means, e.g. filtration, the selection of a specific particle size distribution from within the broader known range would have been an obvious manipulation of the prior art. Thus, if one of ordinary skill determined that a 95% particle distribution of 100 nm exosomes resulted in a suitable therapeutic outcome, then such a result would have been the product of ordinary skill and common sense rather than of innovation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611