DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third sliding groove” and “fourth sliding groove” of claims 1, 10, and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
There are only two “sliding groove”s recited in the present specification, neither recited sliding grooves are the third and fourth sliding grooves added in amendment and beyond element(s) 124/134 itself there are no sub-elements of 124/134 discussed in the specification or pointed out in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HSU et al. (US 2024/0160252).
Regarding claim 1 HSU discloses:
A connection structure, comprising:
a body (e.g. 1 FIG.3);
a first movement assembly (e.g. left 5 FIG.3) movable relative to the body in a first rotation direction; and
a second movement assembly (e.g. right 5 FIG.3) movable relative to the body in a second rotation direction, the second rotational direction being different from the first rotational direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6); wherein
during a first synchronous movement of the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly, a distance between a connection end of the first movement assembly and a free end of the first movement assembly increases (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16), and a distance between a connection end of the second movement assembly and a free end of the second movement assembly increases (e.g. mirrored FIG.12-FIG.16), wherein the first movement assembly includes a first torque member (e.g. 4 FIG.4) and a first connection rod (e.g. 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a third sliding groove (e.g. hole in 53 FIG.4), the second end of the first connection rod being slidably connected to the first torque member through a first rivet (e.g. 43 FIG.4) disposed through the third sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the first connection rod being rotatable relative to the first rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17), and wherein the second movement assembly includes a second torque member (e.g. other 4 FIG.4) and a second connection rod (e.g. other 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a fourth sliding groove (e.g. hole in other 53 FIG.4), the second end of the second connection rod being slidably connected to the second torque member through a second rivet (e.g. other 43 FIG.4) disposed through the fourth sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the second connection rod being rotatable relative to the second rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17).
Regarding claim 2 HSU discloses:
during the first synchronous movement of the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly, the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly move from a first relative position to a second relative position (e.g. shown FIG.5-FIG.6);
the first movement assembly, the second movement assembly, and the body together form an accommodation space (e.g. shown FIG.6); and
the distance between the connection end of the first movement assembly and the free end of the first movement assembly reaches its maximum (e.g. indicated FIG.17), and the distance between the connection end of the second movement assembly and the free end of the second movement assembly reaches its maximum (e.g. indicated FIG.17).
Regarding claim 3 HSU discloses:
the first movement assembly includes a first rotation component (e.g. 2 FIG.4) and a first track member (e.g. 511 FIG.4);
a first side of the first rotation component moves in the first rotation direction relative to a first side of the body (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and a second side of the first rotation component is connected to the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
the second movement assembly includes a second rotation component (e.g. 2 FIG.4) and a second track member (e.g. 511 FIG.4);
a first side of the second rotation component moves in the second rotation direction relative to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and a second side of the second rotation component is connected to the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.3); and
during a first synchronous rotation of the first rotation component and the second rotation component, the first rotation component drives the first track member to rotate while also lifting the first track member along a rotational radial direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and the second rotation component drives the second track member to rotate while also lifting the second track member along the rotational radial direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6).
Regarding claim 4 HSU discloses:
the first rotation component includes a first rotation member (e.g. 3 FIG.3) and the first torque member;
a first side of the first rotation member rotates around a first rotation center relative to the first side of the body (e.g. indicated by dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the first rotation member is rotationally connected to the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
a first side of the first torque member is rotationally connected to the first side of the body (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the first torque member is slidingly connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted line FIG.4), wherein the first rotation center is higher than a rotation center of the first side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
the second rotation component includes:
a second rotation member (e.g. 3 FIG.3) and the second torque member; and
a first side of the second rotation member rotates around a second rotation center relative to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated by dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the second rotation member is rotationally connected to the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
a first side of the second torque member is rotationally connected to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the second torque member is slidingly connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4); wherein
the second rotation center is higher than a rotation center of the first side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6).
Regarding claim 5 HSU discloses:
the first side of the first rotation member includes a first semi-circular track (e.g. track shown FIG.4), the second side of the first rotation member includes a first circular track (e.g. also shown FIG.4), the first track member includes a first circular groove (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the first circular track fits and rotates relative to the first circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
a second side of the first torque member includes a first sliding track (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first track member includes a first sliding groove to couple with the first sliding track (e.g. shown FIG.4); and
the first side of the second rotation member includes a second semi-circular track (e.g. shown FIG.4), the second side of the second rotation member includes a second circular track (e.g. shown FIG.4), the second track member includes a second circular groove (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the second circular track fits and rotates relative to the second circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
a second side of the second torque member includes a second sliding track (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the second track member includes a second sliding groove to couple with the second sliding track (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4).
Regarding claim 6 HSU discloses:
the first side of the body includes a first semi-circular groove (e.g. 11 FIG.4), and the first semi-circular track is installed in the first semi-circular groove (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4) and rotates around the first rotation center (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
the second side of the body includes a second semi-circular groove (e.g. 11 FIG.4), and the second semi-circular track is installed in the second semi-circular groove and rotates around the second rotation center (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
in the first relative position, the first semi-circular track is in the extended state and is accommodated in the first semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the second semi-circular track is in the extended state and is accommodated in the second semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the first sliding track is accommodated in the first sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and the second sliding track is accommodated in the second sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6); and
in the second relative position, the first semi-circular track is in an exposed state and is partially exposed to the first semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the second semi-circular track is also in the exposed state and is partially exposed to the second semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), a portion of the first sliding groove slides out of the first sliding track, and a portion of the second sliding groove slides out of the second sliding track (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6).
Regarding claim 7 HSU discloses:
a first end of the first connection rod is movably connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), the second end of the first connection rod is movably connected to a second side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first end of the first connection rod slides relative to the second side of the first torque member along the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16); and
a first end of the second connection rod is movably connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), the second end of the second connection rod is movably connected to the second side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first end of the second connecting rod slides relative to the second side of the second torque member along the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16).
Regarding claim 8 HSU discloses:
the first end of the first connection rod is rotatably connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the second end of the first connection rod is slidingly connected to the second side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4); wherein
the second end of the first connection rod slides in a direction consistent with the rotational radial direction of the first end of the first connection rod (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16); and
the first end of the second connection rod is rotatably connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the second end of the second connection rod is slidingly connected to the second side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), wherein the second end of the second connection rod slides in a direction consistent with the rotational radial direction of the first end of the second connection rod (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16).
Regarding claim 9 HSU discloses:
the first connection rod is arranged in parallel between the first sliding groove of the first track member and the first sliding track of the first torque member (e.g. shown/indicated via dotted lines FIG.11); and/or the second connection rod is arranged in parallel between the second sliding groove of the second track member and the second sliding track of the second torque member.
Regarding claim 10 HSU discloses:
An electronic device, comprising:
a first body (e.g. left 200 FIG.5);
a second body (e.g. right 200 FIG.5); and
a connection structure (e.g. 100 FIG.2); wherein
the connection structure includes:
a body (e.g. 1 FIG.3);
a first movement assembly (e.g. left 5 FIG.3) movable relative to the body in a first rotation direction; and
a second movement assembly (e.g. right 5 FIG.3) movable relative to the body in a second rotation direction, the second rotational direction being different from the first rotational direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6); wherein
during a first synchronous movement of the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly, a distance between a connection end of the first movement assembly and a free end of the first movement assembly increases (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16), and a distance between a connection end of the second movement assembly and a free end of the second movement assembly increases (e.g. mirrored FIG.12-FIG.16), wherein the first movement assembly includes a first torque member (e.g. 4 FIG.4) and a first connection rod (e.g. 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a third sliding groove (e.g. hole in 53 FIG.4), the second end of the first connection rod being slidably connected to the first torque member through a first rivet (e.g. 43 FIG.4) disposed through the third sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the first connection rod being rotatable relative to the first rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17), and wherein the second movement assembly includes a second torque member (e.g. other 4 FIG.4) and a second connection rod (e.g. other 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a fourth sliding groove (e.g. hole in other 53 FIG.4), the second end of the second connection rod being slidably connected to the second torque member through a second rivet (e.g. other 43 FIG.4) disposed through the fourth sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the second connection rod being rotatable relative to the second rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17).
Regarding claim 11 HSU discloses:
during the first synchronous movement of the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly, the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly move from a first relative position to a second relative position (e.g. shown FIG.5-FIG.6);
the first movement assembly, the second movement assembly, and the body together form an accommodation space (e.g. shown FIG.6); and
the distance between the connection end of the first movement assembly and the free end of the first movement assembly reaches its maximum (e.g. indicated FIG.17), and the distance between the connection end of the second movement assembly and the free end of the second movement assembly reaches its maximum (e.g. indicated FIG.17).
Regarding claim 12 HSU discloses:
the first movement assembly includes a first rotation component (e.g. 2 FIG.4) and a first track member (e.g. 511 FIG.4);
a first side of the first rotation component moves in the first rotation direction relative to a first side of the body (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and a second side of the first rotation component is connected to the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
the second movement assembly includes a second rotation component (e.g. 2 FIG.4) and a second track member (e.g. 511 FIG.4);
a first side of the second rotation component moves in the second rotation direction relative to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and a second side of the second rotation component is connected to the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.3); and
during a first synchronous rotation of the first rotation component and the second rotation component, the first rotation component drives the first track member to rotate while also lifting the first track member along a rotational radial direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and the second rotation component drives the second track member to rotate while also lifting the second track member along the rotational radial direction (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6).
Regarding claim 13 HSU discloses:
the first rotation component includes a first rotation member (e.g. 3 FIG.3) and the first torque member;
a first side of the first rotation member rotates around a first rotation center relative to the first side of the body (e.g. indicated by dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the first rotation member is rotationally connected to the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
a first side of the first torque member is rotationally connected to the first side of the body (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the first torque member is slidingly connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted line FIG.4), wherein the first rotation center is higher than a rotation center of the first side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
the second rotation component includes:
a second rotation member (e.g. 3 FIG.3) and the second torque member; and
a first side of the second rotation member rotates around a second rotation center relative to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated by dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the second rotation member is rotationally connected to the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.3);
a first side of the second torque member is rotationally connected to the second side of the body (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and a second side of the second torque member is slidingly connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4); wherein
the second rotation center is higher than a rotation center of the first side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.6)
Regarding claim 14 HSU discloses:
the first side of the first rotation member includes a first semi-circular track (e.g. track shown FIG.4), the second side of the first rotation member includes a first circular track (e.g. also shown FIG.4), the first track member includes a first circular groove (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the first circular track fits and rotates relative to the first circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
a second side of the first torque member includes a first sliding track (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first track member includes a first sliding groove to couple with the first sliding track (e.g. shown FIG.4); and
the first side of the second rotation member includes a second semi-circular track (e.g. shown FIG.4), the second side of the second rotation member includes a second circular track (e.g. shown FIG.4), the second track member includes a second circular groove (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the second circular track fits and rotates relative to the second circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
a second side of the second torque member includes a second sliding track (e.g. shown FIG.4), and the second track member includes a second sliding groove to couple with the second sliding track (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4).
Regarding claim 15 HSU discloses:
the first side of the body includes a first semi-circular groove (e.g. 11 FIG.4), and the first semi-circular track is installed in the first semi-circular groove (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4) and rotates around the first rotation center (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
the second side of the body includes a second semi-circular groove (e.g. 11 FIG.4), and the second semi-circular track is installed in the second semi-circular groove and rotates around the second rotation center (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6);
in the first relative position, the first semi-circular track is in the extended state and is accommodated in the first semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the second semi-circular track is in the extended state and is accommodated in the second semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the first sliding track is accommodated in the first sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), and the second sliding track is accommodated in the second sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6); and
in the second relative position, the first semi-circular track is in an exposed state and is partially exposed to the first semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), the second semi-circular track is also in the exposed state and is partially exposed to the second semi-circular groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6), a portion of the first sliding groove slides out of the first sliding track, and a portion of the second sliding groove slides out of the second sliding track (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.5-FIG.6).
Regarding claim 16 HSU discloses:
a first end of the first connection rod is movably connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), the second end of the first connection rod is movably connected to the second side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first end of the first connection rod slides relative to the second side of the first torque member along the first track member (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16); and
a first end of the second connection rod is movably connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), the second end of the second connection rod is movably connected to the second side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the first end of the second connecting rod slides relative to the second side of the second torque member along the second track member (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16).
Regarding claim 17 HSU discloses:
the first end of the first connection rod is rotatably connected to the first track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the second end of the first connection rod is slidingly connected to the second side of the first torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4); wherein
the second end of the first connection rod slides in a direction consistent with the rotational radial direction of the first end of the first connection rod (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16); and
the first end of the second connection rod is rotatably connected to the second track member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), and the second end of the second connection rod is slidingly connected to the second side of the second torque member (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.4), wherein the second end of the second connection rod slides in a direction consistent with the rotational radial direction of the first end of the second connection rod (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16).
Regarding claim 18 HSU discloses:
the first connection rod is arranged in parallel between the first sliding groove of the first track member and the first sliding track of the first torque member (e.g. shown/indicated via dotted lines FIG.11); and/or the second connection rod is arranged in parallel between the second sliding groove of the second track member and the second sliding track of the second torque member.
Regarding claim 19 HSU discloses:
An electronic device, comprising:
a first body (e.g. left 200 FIG.5);
a second body (e.g. right 200 FIG.5); and
a connection structure (e.g. 100 FIG.2) including a first movement assembly (e.g. left 5 FIG.3) and a second movement assembly (e.g. right 5 FIG.3);
wherein:
the first body is fixedly connected to a free end of the first movement assembly (e.g. described paragraph [0026]), the second body is fixedly connected to a free end of the second movement assembly (e.g. described paragraph [0026]), and the first body rotates relative to the second body through the connection structure (e.g. described paragraph [0022]);
during a first synchronous movement of the first movement assembly and the second movement assembly, a distance between a connection end of the first movement assembly and the free end of the first movement assembly increases (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.16), and a distance between a connection end of the second movement assembly and the free end of the second movement assembly increases to form an accommodation space for accommodating a flexible screen when the first body and the second body are in a closed state (e.g. indicated FIG.5-FIG.7);
the first movement assembly includes a first torque member (e.g. 4 FIG.4) and a first connection rod (e.g. 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a third sliding groove (e.g. hole in 53 FIG.4), the second end of the first connection rod being slidably connected to the first torque member through a first rivet (e.g. 43 FIG.4) disposed through the third sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the first connection rod being rotatable relative to the first rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17); and
the second movement assembly includes a second torque member (e.g. other 4 FIG.4) and a second connection rod (e.g. other 53 FIG.4) having a second end including a fourth sliding groove (e.g. hole in other 53 FIG.4), the second end of the second connection rod being slidably connected to the second torque member through a second rivet (e.g. other 43 FIG.4) disposed through the fourth sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9), and the second end of the second connection rod being rotatable relative to the second rivet (e.g. shown FIG.10-FIG.17).
Regarding claim 20 HSU discloses:
the first movement assembly includes a first linear sliding track (e.g. 422 FIG.3) and a first linear sliding groove (e.g. in which 422 is shown placed FIG.3) slidably coupled to each other (e.g. indicated FIG.10-FIG.17), and the second movement assembly includes a second linear sliding track (e.g. other 422 FIG.3) and a second linear sliding groove (e.g. in which other 422 is shown placed FIG.3) slidably coupled to each other (e.g. indicated FIG.10-FIG.17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2026-02-05 with respect to the objection to the drawings, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the objection with respect to the specifically argued elements have been withdrawn, however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amended limitations third and fourth sliding grooves with are neither discussed in the specification nor have such elements pointed out in the specification.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 filed 2026-02-05 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection above points out where the prior art of record discloses the argued elements. All remaining arguments repeat those already addressed above and so will not be repeated here.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841