DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This communication is in response to the reply received on 09/19/2025.
The reply amended claim 13.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection are well taken. The rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s traversal of the 35 USC 112 rejection is not persuasive. The rejection is maintained.
The Office Action erroneously indicated that the 10/31/2024 IDS (10 pages), the 01/29/2024 IDS (8 pages), and the 05/02/2025 IDS (5 pages) were not considered. This is corrected below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 (10 pages), 01/29/2024 (8 pages), and 05/02/2025 (5 pages) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Office Action on 06/20/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed 05/31/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." See MPEP 2181.I.A.
Such claim limitation(s) in the instant application is/are:
“an attachment system, configured to removably couple the removable portion to the mounted portion” in claim 7.
The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not apply to a claim limitation that does not use the term "means" is overcome when "the claim term fails to 'recite sufficiently definite structure' or else recites 'function without reciting sufficient structure for performing that function.' The following three prong analysis is used:
a) Does the claim limitation use the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function?
Yes. The term “system” is considered a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning = generic placeholder.
b) Is the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"?
Yes. The generic placeholder is modified by functional language “removably couple the removable portion to the mounted portion”.
c) Is the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function?
No. Claim 7 does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The “an attachment system, configured to removably couple the removable portion to the mounted portion” in claim 7 is interpreted per the specification as a common threaded fastener.
[0031] The seal assembly 140 can be configured for sealing a power input shaft 108 of a progressive cavity pump 112. The seal assembly 140 can include a seal housing 404, which can include a mounted portion 406 and a removable portion 408, and an attachment system 414.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claims 11 and 18, the seal lacks antecedent basis. See the rejection of claims 1 and 17.
Claim 12 is rejected via dependency.
NOTE: any prior art rejection provided below is made as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 19 and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019154571 A1, hereinafter D1, in view of US 2010/0243233, hereinafter D2.
As to claim 1.
D1 discloses a seal assembly (seal 13 in the figures) for sealing a power input shaft (drive output shaft 8, fig. 4) of a progressive cavity pump (in its basic structure a stator 1, a rotor 2 rotating in the stator 1 and a drive 3 for the rotor 2), the seal assembly (seal 13) comprising:
a seal housing (seal housing 18) arranged around the power input shaft, the seal housing (seal housing 18) including:
a mounted portion (18a), mounted to the progressive cavity pump (in its basic a housing 4 with a stator 1, a rotor 2 rotating in the stator 1 and a drive 3 for the rotor 2 with 18a mounted to 4);
a removable portion (18b), removably coupled (compare figs. 3 and 4) to the mounted portion (18a), configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114) apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly (all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly is an inherent characteristic of the prior art seal arrangement because it shares the same structure; note: the recitation of a seal is not a positive recitation. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. MPEP 2115); and
a sealing element (sealing ring 25), configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114; all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of seal an interface is an inherent characteristic of the prior art sealing ring 25 because it shares the same structure) seal an interface (referring to the interface between 18b and 20);
wherein the seal housing (seal housing 18) is configured so that a portion of the mounted portion (18a) is in direct contact (fig. 2) with a portion of the removable portion (18b).
D1 does not disclose the sealing element seals an interface between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) but instead provides a seal between the removable portion (18b) and a counter ring (20).
D2 is in a related field of sealing around a rotating rod and teaches a removable portion (seal support 64) configures to seal an interface (via seal 65) compressed between the removable portion and a mounted portion (housing 24).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined D2 (directed to shaft sealing) and D1 (directed to a progressive cavity pump rotor seal) and arrived at a seal including a removable portion, removably coupled to the mounted portion, configured to apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. selecting a removable portion including a seal [0016]) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. improved sealing between the fixed and removable portions [0016]).
As to claim 2.
D1 discloses a first radial alignment feature (hole for fastener, shown but not numbered) on the mounted portion (18a); and a second radial alignment feature (a corresponding hole for fastener) on the removable portion (18b), wherein the first radial alignment feature (hole for fastener, shown but not numbered) corresponds to the second radial alignment feature (fig. 3), wherein the radial alignment features are configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114; all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of providing radial alignment is an inherent characteristic of the prior art arrangement because alignment of the holes, i.e. radial alignment, is necessary for fastener installation) radially align (as in fig. 3) the removable portion (18b) with the mounted portion (18a).
As to claim 3.
D1 discloses one of the first radial alignment feature or the second radial alignment feature (holes) includes a radially outward facing surface (surfaces of 18a, 18b defining holes);
another one of the first radial alignment feature or the second radial alignment feature includes a radially inward facing surface (surfaces of 18a, 18b defining holes); and
the radially inward facing surface is configured to bear on the radially outward facing surface (when assembled as in fig. 2) to radially align the removable portion (18b) with the mounted portion (18a).
As to claim 4.
D1 discloses the radially outward facing surface is included on a raised lip; and the radially inward facing surface is included on a channel (see annotated figure 3).
As to claim 5.
D1 discloses the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) are in direct contact on both sides of the channel (fig. 2).
As to claim 6.
D1 discloses an O-ring (sealing ring 25), positioned in the channel (fig. 4), wherein the sealing element includes the O-ring (fig. 4).
As to claim 7.
D1 discloses an attachment system (fig. 4 shown but not numbered), configured to removably couple the removable portion (18b) to the mounted portion (18a), wherein the direct contact between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) controls a longitudinal position and an angular axial alignment of the removable portion (18b) to the mounted portion (18a).
As to claim 8.
D1 discloses wherein the direct contact between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) controls the compression of the sealing element (as in fig. 2 where an assembled state is shown).
As to claim 9.
D1 discloses wherein the mounted portion (18a) is mounted to an intake chamber (intake 6 to “chamber” defined by 4) of the progressive cavity pump ( in its basic structure a stator 1, a rotor 2 rotating in the stator 1 and a drive 3 for the rotor 2).
As to claim 10.
D1 discloses wherein the seal is configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114. All functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference) prevent a material within the intake chamber from flowing out of the intake chamber along the power input shaft (the claimed function of is an inherent characteristic of the prior art seal because seals prevent undesired flow).
As to claim 11.
D1 discloses further comprising the seal (see 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection supra), wherein the seal includes a single spring mechanical seal (seal 19 has a single spring element 21).
As to claim 12.
D1 discloses wherein the removable portion (18b) is configured to interface with a static portion of the seal, wherein the removable portion (18b) is configured to apply a compression force to the single spring mechanical seal through the static portion, wherein the direct contact between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) controls the compression force on the single spring mechanical seal (seal 19 has a single spring element 21).
As to claim 17.
D1 discloses a progressive cavity pump system, comprising:
a prime mover including a prime mover shaft (drive output shaft 8);
a progressive cavity pump, including a power input shaft (connecting shaft 9); and
a seal assembly for sealing the power input shaft (connecting shaft 9) of a progressive cavity pump, the seal assembly comprising:
a seal housing (seal housing 18) arranged around the power input shaft (connecting shaft 9), the seal housing (seal housing 18) including:
a mounted portion (18a), mounted to the progressive cavity pump (in its basic a housing 4 with a stator 1, a rotor 2 rotating in the stator 1 and a drive 3 for the rotor 2 with 18a mounted to 4);
a removable portion (18b), removably coupled (compare figs. 3 and 4) to the mounted portion (18a), configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114) apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly (all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly is an inherent characteristic of the prior art seal arrangement because it shares the same structure; note: the recitation of a seal is not a positive recitation. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. MPEP 2115); and
a sealing element (sealing ring 25), configured to (referring to note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114; all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of seal an interface is an inherent characteristic of the prior art sealing ring 25 because it shares the same structure) seal an interface (referring to the interface between 18b and 20);
wherein the seal housing (seal housing 18) is configured so that a portion of the mounted portion (18a) is in direct contact with a portion of the removable portion (18b).
D1 does not disclose the sealing element seals an interface between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) but instead provides a seal between the removable portion (18b) and a counter ring (20).
D2 is in a related field of sealing around a rotating rod and teaches a removable portion (seal support 64) configures to seal an interface (via seal 65) compressed between the removable portion and a mounted portion (housing 24).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have combined D2 (directed to shaft sealing) and D1 (directed to a progressive cavity pump rotor seal) and arrived at a seal including a removable portion, removably coupled to the mounted portion, configured to apply a compression force to a seal within the seal assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. selecting a removable portion including a seal [0016]) with a reasonable expectation of success and with no change in their respective functions and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (e.g. improved sealing between the fixed and removable portions [0016]).
As to claim 19.
D1 discloses a first radial alignment feature (hole for fastener, shown but not numbered) on the mounted portion (18a); and a second radial alignment feature (a corresponding hole for fastener) on the removable portion (18b), wherein the first radial alignment feature (hole for fastener, shown but not numbered) corresponds to the second radial alignment feature (fig. 3), wherein the radial alignment features are configured to (note the phrase “configured to” is typically used to connect structure to a function, similar to the word “for.” “Configured to” (for) usually means the structure can perform the function with no additional modification therefore this recitation is interpreted as a functional recitation. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally; apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. MPEP 2114; all functional implications have been carefully considered but are deemed not to impose any patentably distinguishing structure over that disclosed by the prior art reference. The function of providing radial alignment is an inherent characteristic of the prior art arrangement because alignment of the holes, i.e. radial alignment, is necessary for fastener installation) radially align the removable portion (18b) with the mounted portion (18a).
As to claim 20.
D1 discloses direct contact between the mounted portion (18a) and the removable portion (18b) controls the compression of the sealing element (as in fig. 2 where an assembled state is shown).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-16 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the attached PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as each further discloses a state of the art.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or pointed out by the examiner.
Inquiry
/J. T. Newton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673 12/30/2025
* * * * *