DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-7 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted May 31, 2024, and April 28, 2026, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morikawa et al. (US 2013/0323566 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Morikawa et al. disclose in Figures 1 and 3, a battery cell, called a thin secondary battery (20), comprising: an electrode body, called a power-generating element (10), including a plurality of layered structures layered one on another, each including positive electrode sheets (12), negative electrode sheets (14), and a separator (5) disposed between the positive electrode sheets (12) and the negative electrode sheets (14) (paragraph 0030); and a battery cell case, including a first resin layer (6a) and a second resin layer (6b), that hermetically encloses the electrode body (10) inside the battery cell case (6a, 6b) (paragraphs 0033, 0035), wherein: each of the positive electrode sheets (12) and the negative electrode sheets (14) includes a current collector (2, 4) and a mix that includes an active material (1, 3) and that is coated on a surface of the current collector (2, 4), respectively, at least one of the current collector (2) in the positive electrode sheets (12) or the current collector (4) in the negative electrode sheets (14) has, on a peripheral portion of a surface thereof, an uncoated portion, called terminals (7, 8) at which the mix is not coated (paragraphs 0032, 0047), and a current collector (2, 4) of which a distance from a surface of the battery cell case (6a, 6b) is greatest among current collectors (2, 4) each having an uncoated portion (7, 8) has a first uncoated portion (7, 8), and the first uncoated portion (7, 8) extends to outside of the battery cell case (6a, 6b), thereby forming a first exposed portion (paragraph 0047; See Figure 3).
With regard to Claim 2, Morikawa et al. disclose in Figures 1 and 3-6, wherein a shape of an electrode face of the electrode body (10) is rectangular, and the first exposed portion (7, 8) is disposed at a side along a long side of the rectangular shape (paragraph 0047; See Figures).
With regard to Claim 3, Morikawa et al. disclose in Figures 1 and 3-6, wherein a shape of an electrode face of the electrode body (10) is rectangular, and the first exposed portion (7, 8) is provided at either a positive electrode sheets (12) or a negative electrode sheets (14) of which a length of a long side of a rectangular shape thereof is greater (paragraph 0047; See Figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. (US 2013/0323566 A1), as applied to Claims 1-3 above.
With regard to Claim 4, Morikawa et al. disclose the battery cell in paragraph 7 above of claim 1, including wherein a current collector (2) has a first uncoated portion (7) and a current collector (4) has a second uncoated portion (8), and the second uncoated portion (8) extends to outside of the battery cell case (6a, 6b), thereby forming a second exposed portion (8) (paragraph 0047; See Figures 3-4). Morikawa et al. do not specifically disclose a current collector wherein the distance from the surface of the battery cell case is smaller than a distance of the current collector. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture a current collector to have a distance from the surface of the battery cell case to be smaller than a distance of the current collector, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
With regard to Claim 5, Morikawa et al. disclose the battery cell in paragraph 7 above, including wherein the battery cell (20) has, inside the battery cell case (6a, 6b), a site at which the first uncoated portion (7, 8) and the second uncoated portion (7, 8) are joined, called outer peripheral portions (9) of the resin layers (6a, 6b) (paragraph 0047).
With regard to Claim 6, Morikawa et al. disclose the battery cell in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the first uncoated portion is greater than a thickness of the second uncoated portion. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to manufacture a thickness of the first uncoated portion to be greater than a thickness of the second uncoated portion, since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
12. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. (US 2013/0323566 A1), as applied to Claims 1-3 above, and in further view of Kato (US 2022/0320688 A1).
With regard to Claim 7, Morikawa et al. disclose the battery cell in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose a battery module, comprising: the battery cell noted in paragraph 7 above; and at least one of a condenser or a battery module case, wherein the first exposed portion is joined to at least one of the condenser or the battery module case in an electrically insulating manner.
Kato discloses a power storage device (1) (considered a battery module), comprising a plurality of battery cells, called power storage cells (30, 31, 32) stacked in a stacking direction and a plurality of connecting members (33, 34) (paragraph 0028). Kato discloses wherein each power storage cell (30, 31, 32) includes an electrode assembly (35) housed in an exterior body (36), the electrode assembly having a positive electrode current collector plate (37), a negative electrode current collector plate (38), a plurality of positive electrode sheets (42) including an aluminum foil (45) and a positive electrode composite layer formed on each of the front and rear surfaces of the aluminum foil, and plurality of negative electrode sheets (44) including a copper foil (46) and a negative electrode composite layer formed on each of the front and rear surfaces of the copper foil, and a separator (43) disposed between the positive electrode sheet (42) and the negative electrode sheet (44) (paragraphs 0030-0035). The power storage device (1) includes an accommodation case (2) having a positive electrode terminal (3) and a negative electrode terminal (4) (paragraph 0025). Kato discloses wherein the positive electrode current collector plate (37) and negative electrode current collector plate (38) of the battery cells (30, 31, 32) are joined to the electrode terminals (3, 4) of the power storage device (1) through connecting plates 65, 75) (paragraphs 0070-0073). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery cell of Morikawa et al. to include a battery module, comprising: the battery cell of Morikawa et al. above; and at least one of a condenser or a battery module case, wherein the first exposed portion is joined to at least one of the condenser or the battery module case in an electrically insulating manner, because Kato teaches that this configuration allows for a degree of freedom in its design (paragraph 0091).
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725