Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 15, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2009/0065736 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (US 2011/0136704 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 15; Johnson et al. discloses corrosion inhibitors formulations [0002] and methods (Examples 1-19) that include the use algal-produced oils [0042], comprising:
providing a corrosion inhibitor composition comprising an amidation reaction [0011] product of a serotonin [0066] and a triglyceride [0045];
contacting a metal surface [0002] with the corrosion inhibitor composition;
allowing the corrosion inhibitor composition [0002] to interact with the metal surface so as to inhibit
corrosion of the metal surface;
providing a serotonin [0066] and a triglyceride [0045];
interacting the serotonin [0066] with the triglyceride [0045] at a set of reaction conditions [0094-0097];
wherein a molar ratio of the serotonin to the triglyceride [0165-0167] is about 1:4 to about 4:1 [0144-0145];
obtaining an amidation reaction product [0094-0097]; and
an amidation reaction product of a serotonin [0066] and a triglyceride [0045].
Johnson et al. appears silent to disclose the use of dopamine.
Sharma et al. discloses a corrosion inhibitor that includes dopamine [0008 and 0037-0038] in order to increase the efficacy of the corrosion inhibitor in the treatment of well bores [0038]. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add Sharma et al. dopamine to Johnson et al. composition/method in order to increase the efficacy of the corrosion inhibitor in the treatment of well bores.
Regarding claims 5-6, Johnson et al. discloses that the at least a portion of the triglyceride is derived from a vegetable oil [0043] that comprises a palm oil.
Regarding claim 9, Johnson et al. discloses that the set of reaction conditions comprises a reaction temperature of about 75°C to about 150°C [0094 and 0160] and a residence time of about 1 hour to about 5 hours.
Regarding claim 18, Johnson et al. discloses that the at least a portion of the triglyceride is derived from a vegetable oil [0043] that comprises a palm oil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claims 2-4, 7-8, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are the inclusions of the following: that dopamine is derived from a macroalga, Chlorophyta, and Ulvaria obscura; and that the amidation reactions product formulas. The closest prior art of record (Johnson et al. and Sharma et al.), and upon additional searches do not teach or fairly suggest including that the dopamine is derived from a macroalga, Chlorophyta, and Ulvaria obscura; and that the amidation reactions product formulas in the method and the compositions of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799