DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 4, 6, 10-11, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eidelman et al. (US20200020486).
With respect to claim 1, Eidelman discloses a base (see FIG. 1B, element 114) for a capacitor (see FIG. 1B, element 100), comprising an electrical assembly comprising an electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and a conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320) electrically coupled to the electrical connector; a housing (see FIG. 9, element 110) formed around at least a portion of the electrical assembly and comprising a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion on a surface of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions); a first contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 122) mounted to the first recessed portion of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions), wherein the first contact pad is configured to electrically couple to a first lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 132) of a capacitor body (see FIG. 1A, element 100) through a casing (see FIG. 9, element 112) of the capacitor body, and wherein the first contact pad is configured to provide a first terminal for electrically coupling to an electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting the first contact pads 122 comprise negative terminals); and a second contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 124) disposed in the second recessed portion of the housing and formed from an end region of the conductive tab (see FIG. 1B, element 124, paragraph 52, noting 124 is clearly set in recess portions), wherein the second contact pad is configured to electrically couple to a second lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 134) of the capacitor body through the electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and the conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320), and wherein the second contact pad is configured to provide a second terminal for electrically coupling to the electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, elements 124 and 134, paragraph 54, noting the second lead 134 comprises a positive wire and electrically coupled to the second contact pad 124).
With respect to claim 2, Eidelman discloses the first terminal is a negative surface mounted device (SMD) terminal, and wherein the second terminal is a positive SMD terminal (see paragraph 10).
With respect to claim 4, Eidelman discloses the electrical connector (see FIG. 7F, element 622) comprises a pass-through portion (see FIG. 7F, element 702, paragraph 68) defining an aperture through which the second lead wire is arranged to pass through, and wherein the pass-through portion is configured to electrically couple the electrical connector to the second lead wire (see paragraph 67 and 68).
With respect to claim 6, Eidelman discloses the conductive tab comprises notches, and wherein the end region of the conductive tab is bent at the notches in a direction toward the surface of the housing into the second recessed portion of the housing to form the second contact pad (see FIG. 4 and paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 10, Eidelman discloses a capacitor (see FIG. 1B, element 100) comprising: a capacitor body (see FIG. 1B, element 110) comprising a casing (see FIG. 1B, element 112), a first lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 132), and a second lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 134); and a base (see FIG. 1B, element 114) comprising: an electrical assembly comprising an electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and a conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320) electrically coupled to the electrical connector; a housing (see FIG. 1A, element 110) formed around at least a portion of the electrical assembly and comprising a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion on a surface of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions); a first contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 122) mounted to the first recessed portion of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions), wherein the first contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 122) is configured to electrically couple to the first lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 132) of the capacitor body (see FIG. 1A, element 110) through the casing (see FIG. 1B, element 112) of the capacitor body, and wherein the first contact pad is configured to provide a first terminal for electrically coupling the capacitor to an electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting The first contact pads 122 comprise negative terminals); and a second contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 124) disposed in the second recessed portion of the housing and formed from an end region of the conductive tab (see FIG. 1B, element 124, paragraph 52, noting 124 is clearly set in recess portions), wherein the second contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 124) is configured to electrically couple to the second lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 134) of the capacitor body through the electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and the conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320), and wherein the second contact pad is configured to provide a second terminal for electrically coupling the capacitor to the electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, elements 124 and 134, paragraph 54, noting the second lead 134 comprises a positive wire and electrically coupled to the second contact pad 124).
With respect to claim 11, Eidelman discloses the first terminal is a negative surface mounted device (SMD) terminal, and wherein the second terminal is a positive SMD terminal (see paragraph 10).
With respect to claim 13, Eidelman discloses the electrical connector (see FIG. 7F, element 622) comprises a pass-through portion (see FIG. 7F, element 702, paragraph 68) defining an aperture through which the second lead wire is arranged to pass through, and wherein the pass-through portion is configured to electrically couple the electrical connector to the second lead wire (see paragraph 67 and 68).
With respect to claim 17, Eidelman discloses the conductive tab comprises notches, and wherein the end region of the conductive tab is bent at the notches in a direction toward the surface of the housing into the second recessed portion of the housing to form the second contact pad (see FIG. 4 and paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 19, Eidelman discloses a method of forming (see paragraph 12) a base (see FIG. 1B, element 114) for a capacitor (see FIG. 1B, element 100), comprising: forming an electrical assembly comprising an electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and a conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320) electrically coupled to the electrical connector; molding a housing (see FIG. 1A, element 110) around at least a portion of the electrical assembly, wherein the housing comprises a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion on a surface of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions); forming a first contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 122) configured to electrically couple to a first lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 132) of a capacitor body (see FIG. 1A, element 110) through a casing (see FIG. 1B, element 112) of the capacitor body, wherein the first contact pad is configured to provide a first terminal for electrically coupling to an electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting the first contact pads 122 comprise negative terminals); mounting the first contact pad to the first recessed portion of the housing (see FIG. 1B, element 122, paragraph 52, noting 122 is clearly set in recess portions); and forming, from an end region of the conductive tab (see FIG. 11, element 320) and in the second recessed portion of the housing, a second contact pad (see FIG. 1B, element 124) configured to electrically couple to a second lead wire (see FIG. 1B, element 134) of the capacitor body through the electrical connector (see FIG. 11, element 622) and the conductive tab, wherein the second contact pad is configured to provide a second terminal for electrically coupling to the electrical circuit (see FIG. 1B, elements 124 and 134, paragraph 54, noting the second lead 134 comprises a positive wire and electrically coupled to the second contact pad 124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eidelman et al. (US20200020486) in view of Eidelman et al. (US20200075264).
With respect to claim 5, Eidelman 486’ teaches the capacitor of claim 1 (see FIG. 1B, element 100).
Eidelman 486’ does not expressly teach that the end region of the conductive tab comprises a plated portion of the conductive tab.
Eidelman 264’, on the other hand, teaches the end region of the conductive tab comprises a plated portion of the conductive tab (see paragraph 47, noting the anode terminal 132 may be soldered/plated with tin).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Eidelman 486’ and Eidelman 264’ to form the claimed invention in order to improve the reliability of the capacitor.
With respect to claim 16, Eidelman 486’ teaches the capacitor of claim 10 (see FIG. 1B, element 100).
Eidelman 486’ does not expressly teach that the end region of the conductive tab comprises a plated portion of the conductive tab.
Eidelman 264’, on the other hand, teaches the end region of the conductive tab comprises a plated portion of the conductive tab (see paragraph 47, noting the anode terminal 132 may be soldered/plated with tin).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Eidelman 486’ and Eidelman 264’ to form the claimed invention in order to improve the reliability of the capacitor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-9, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 3, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 3, the electrical connector comprises a tantalum disk, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 7, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 7, a cross-section of the second contact pad is a C-shaped cross section, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claim 6.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 8, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 8, the housing further comprises an opening portion on the surface of the housing defining a window exposing an interior portion of the conductive tab, and wherein an end portion of the end region of the conductive tab is welded to the interior portion of the conductive tab through the window defined by the opening portion of the housing to form the second contact pad, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1 and intervening claims 6 and 7.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 9, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 9, the housing comprises a third recessed portion on the surface of the housing, and wherein the base further comprises a shield mounted over the electrical connector in the third recessed portion of the housing, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 12, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 12, the electrical connector comprises a tantalum disk, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 10.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 14, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 14, the pass-through portion of the electrical connector is welded to the second lead wire, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 10 and intervening claim 13.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 15, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 15, the first contact pad is welded to the casing of the capacitor body, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 10.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 18, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 18, the housing further comprises an opening portion on the surface of the housing defining a window exposing an interior portion of the conductive tab, and wherein an end portion of the end region of the conductive tab is welded to the interior portion of the conductive tab through the window defined by the opening portion of the housing to form the second contact pad, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 10 and intervening claim 17.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 20, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the limitations of claim 20, the housing comprises an opening portion on the surface of the housing defining a window exposing an interior portion of the conductive tab, wherein the conductive tab comprises notches, and wherein the forming the second contact pad comprises: bending the end region of the conductive tab at the notches in a direction toward the surface of the housing into the second recessed portion of the housing; and welding an end portion of the conductive tab to the interior portion of the conductive tab through the window defined by the opening portion of the housing, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 10 and intervening claim 19.
Conclusion
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848