DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by “Stockpile Drying Of Freshly Harvested Almonds” hereinafter referred to as Miyanja (published 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Miyanja teaches of:
An air distribution apparatus (Pg. 46, Fig. 3.3), comprising:
(a) a plenum (see plenum as labeled in the figure) having an open first end (the plenum has an open end connected to the air inlet) and a closed second end (the closed end is opposite the open end), a substantially uniform cross-section between the first end and the second end (description of Figure 3.3, “(b) plenum with uniform longitudinal section”), an inlet port at the first end (see connection between the air inlet and the open first end defining the inlet port), and a plurality of outlet ports between the first end and the second end (outlets 1-12);
(b) a flow divider (see flow divider labeled in the figure) having first (first end is the end of the divider closest to the first end of the plenum) and second ends (second end is the end of the divider closest to the second end of the plenum) and a taper between the first and second ends (flow divider tapers between the first end and the second end) wherein the flow divider first end is smaller than the flow divider second end (the first end of the flow divider is shown to be smaller than the second end);
(c) the flow divider positioned in the plenum with the flow divider first end in proximity to the first end of the plenum (see above, first end of the divider is closest to the first end of the plenum) and the flow divider second end positioned in proximity to the second end of the plenum (see above, second end of the divider is closest to the second of the plenum).
Regarding claim 2, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider divides airflow from the inlet port to maximize distribution of airflow to outlet ports positioned in an area approximately midpoint between the first and second ends of the plenum (Pg. 55, “Due to the almond stockpile shape, it is desired that most of the airflow is delivered to the outlets in the middle section (Rows 2 and 3), as this is the section containing the most almonds”)
Regarding claim 3, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has a compound taper that increases in width and height from the flow divider first end toward the flow divider second end (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapers shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end)
Regarding claim 4, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, and Miyanja further teaches of:
further comprising:
(a) the plenum having four rows of three outlet ports per row (Fig. 3.3(e), see rows 1-4, row 3 is listed twice, the further row is row 4), each row spaced apart at a substantially uniform distance between rows (there is a spacing of 0.6 m between each row);
(b) wherein the flow divider divides airflow between the inlet port and the outlet ports (Fig. 3.3, the flow divider divides airflow from the inlet port on the first end of the plenum to each of the outlets 1-12)
Regarding claim 5, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 4, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider maximizes distribution of airflow to outlet ports positioned in an area approximately midpoint between the first and second ends of the plenum (Pg. 55, “Due to the almond stockpile shape, it is desired that most of the airflow is delivered to the outlets in the middle section (Rows 2 and 3), as this is the section containing the most almonds”)
Regarding claim 6, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 4, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has a compound taper that increases in width and height from the first end toward the second end (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapers shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end)
Regarding claim 7, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 4, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has a triply-compounded taper that increases in width and height from the first end toward the second end, with each taper facing at least one outlet port (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered as shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapered as shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a triply-compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end, further each tapering face of the flow divider faces a set of outlets)
Regarding claim 8, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 7, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein each taper faces toward a group of four outlet ports (Fig. 3.3, each tapering face faces 4 outlets)
Regarding claim 9, Miyanja teaches of:
An air distribution apparatus (Pg. 46, Fig. 3.3), comprising:
(a) a plenum (see plenum labeled in the figure); and
(b) a flow divider (see flow divider labeled in the figure);
(c) the plenum comprising a chamber of substantially uniform cross section (description of Figure 3.3, “(b) plenum with uniform longitudinal section”) with an open first end (the plenum has an open end connected to the air inlet) and a closed second end (the closed end is opposite the open end);
(d) an inlet port coupled to the first end of the plenum (see connection between the air inlet and the open first end defining the inlet port);
(e) the plenum having a plurality of outlet ports (outlets 1-12);
(f) the flow divider having a first end (first end is the end of the divider closest to the first end of the plenum) and a second end (second end is the end of the divider closest to the second end of the plenum);
(g) the flow divider positioned in the plenum (see flow divider in plenum) with the first end of the flow divider in proximity to the first end of the plenum (see above, first end of the divider is closest to the first end of the plenum) and the second of the flow divider positioned in proximity to the second end of the plenum (see above, second end of the divider is closest to the second of the plenum);
(h) the flow divider being tapered between its first and second ends wherein the first end is smaller than the second end (the first end of the flow divider is shown to be smaller than the second end).
Regarding claim 10, Miyanja teaches of:
An air distribution apparatus (Pg. 46, Fig. 3.3), comprising:
(a) a plenum (see plenum labeled in the figure), the plenum comprising a chamber of substantially uniform rectangular cross-section (the plenum is rectangular and uniform; description of Figure 3.3, “(b) plenum with uniform longitudinal section”) with an open first end (the plenum has an open end connected to the air inlet) and a closed second end (the closed end is opposite the open end), an inlet port at the first end (see connection between the air inlet and the open first end defining the inlet port), and a plurality of outlet ports (outlets 1-12);
(b) the plenum having at least three rows of at least three outlet ports per row (Fig. 3.3(e), see rows 1-4, row 3 is listed twice, the further row is row 4), each row spaced apart at substantially a uniform distance between rows (there is a spacing of 0.6 m between each row);
(c) wherein in each row, at least one output port is positioned on a first sidewall of the plenum, at least one output port is positioned on a second sidewall of the plenum, and at least one output port is positioned on a third sidewall of the plenum (each of the outlets of each row are positioned on one of three sidewalls);
(f) a flow divider (see flow divider labeled in the figure) having a first end (first end is the end of the divider closest to the first end of the plenum) and second ends (second end is the end of the divider closest to the second end of the plenum), the flow divider positioned in the plenum with the flow divider first end in proximity to the first end of the plenum (see above, first end of the divider is closest to the first end of the plenum) and the flow divider second end positioned in proximity to the second end of the plenum (see above, second end of the divider is closest to the second of the plenum);
(h) the flow divider being tapered between its first end and second end wherein the first end is smaller than the second end (the first end of the flow divider is shown to be smaller than the second end).
Regarding claim 11, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 10, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider divides airflow from the inlet port to maximize distribution of airflow to outlet ports positioned in an area approximately midpoint between the open first end and closed second end of the plenum (Pg. 55, “Due to the almond stockpile shape, it is desired that most of the airflow is delivered to the outlets in the middle section (Rows 2 and 3), as this is the section containing the most almonds”)
Regarding claim 12, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 10, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has a compound taper that increases in width and height from the flow divider first end toward the flow divider second end (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapers shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end)
Regarding claim 13, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 10, and Miyanja further teaches of:
further comprising:
(a) the plenum having four rows of three outlet ports per row (Fig. 3.3(e), see rows 1-4, row 3 is listed twice, the further row is row 4), each row spaced apart at a substantially uniform distance between rows (there is a spacing of 0.6 m between each row);
(b) wherein the flow divider divides airflow between the inlet port and the outlet ports (Fig. 3.3, the flow divider divides airflow from the inlet port on the first end of the plenum to each of the outlets 1-12).
Regarding claim 14, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 13, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider maximizes distribution of airflow to outlet ports positioned in an area approximately midpoint between the open first end and closed second end of the plenum (Pg. 55, “Due to the almond stockpile shape, it is desired that most of the airflow is delivered to the outlets in the middle section (Rows 2 and 3), as this is the section containing the most almonds”)
Regarding claim 15, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 13, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has a compound taper that increases in width and height from the first end toward the second end (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapers shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end)
Regarding claim 16, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 13, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein the flow divider has three tapers, each of which cause an increase in width and height from the first end toward the second end, with each taper facing at least one outlet port (Pg. 46, Figs. 3.3(d) and (e), the flow divider shown as the dotted outline tapers from three sides, the width is tapered as shown in Fig. 3.3(d) and the height is tapered as shown in Fig. 3.3(e), resulting in a triply-compound taper that increased in width and height from the first end to the second end, further each tapering face of the flow divider faces a set of outlets)
Regarding claim 17, and Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 13, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein each taper faces toward a group of four outlet ports (Fig. 3.3, each tapering face faces 4 outlets)
Regarding claim 18, Miyanja teaches of the apparatus of claim 13, and Miyanja further teaches of:
wherein each taper faces toward one of the sidewalls selected from a group of sidewalls comprising: the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall (each of the three tapering faces is facing a sidewall of the plenum which can be labeled as the first, second and third sidewalls)
Conclusion
/MICHAEL JAMES GIORDANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762