DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “800o C.” should be amended as “800_oC[[.]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “Recovering metal” on line 1 of claim 1, and the claim also recites “obtaining ruthenium” on line 9 of claim 1, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Since claim 2-10 depend on claim 1, Claims 2-10 are also rejected.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case, The term “from a spent catalyst of claim” on line 1 in claims 2-10; should be amended as “from [[a]]the spent catalyst of claim” in order to avoid the issue of lack of antecedent for this limitation in the claims since “a spent catalyst” has been mentioned in the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al (US-PG-pub 2014/0373682 A1, thereafter PG’682).
Regarding claim 1, PG’682 teaches a manufacturing process for recovering ruthenium from a spent ruthenium-based catalyst (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’682), which reads on the process for recovering metal from a spent catalyst as claimed in the instant claim. PG’682 specify the process including generating RuO4 gas by heating the black powder in a mixed atmosphere of oxygen and ozone with a sufficient amount of hydrochloric acid to obtain a H3RuCl6 solution (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’682), which reads on the process step (a) and (b) as recited in the instant claim 1, PG’682 specify adding an excess oxidant to the H3RuCl6 solution to oxidize the H3RuCl6 into H2RuCl6, which reads on the step (c) as claimed in the instant claim. PG’682 specify adding excess NH4Cl to the H2RuCl6 and then filtering, and washing the filter cake to obtain solid (NH4)2RuCl6; and reducing the solid (NH4)2RuCl6 to obtain ruthenium metal at temperature range of 450-800oC in a mixed atmosphere of hydrogen and nitrogen. (Abstract, examples, par.[0015], and claims of PG’682), which reads on the claimed steps (d) and (e) as claimed in the instant claim. Since PG’682 teaches all of the essential process steps as claimed in the instant claim, claim1 is anticipated by PG’682.
Regarding claim 2, PG’682 provides example that the spent catalyst was heated in a mixed atmosphere of oxygen and ozone containing ozone at a volume fraction of 10% (par.[0042], which reads on the limitation of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 3, PG’682 teaches absorbing the RuO4 gas with a sufficient amount of 3-8 mol/L hydrochloric acid to obtain a H3RuCl6 solution.
Regarding claim 5, PG’682 teaches that PG’682 teaches that the oxidant is one or more of the following chlorates: ammonium chlorate, potassium chlorate, sodium chlorate, and magnesium chlorate. (par.[0020] of PG’682)
Regarding claim 6, PG’682 teaches adding excess NH4Cl to the H2RuCl6 solution, stirring the H2RuCl6 solution at 60-90oC for 1-3 hours (par.[0014] of PG’682).
Regarding claim 7, PG’682 indicates that the volume fraction of the hydrogen in the mixed atmosphere of hydrogen and nitrogen is 1-15% (par.[0015] of PG’682).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’682 alone or further in view of Chen et al (CN109161698 A, with on-line translation, thereafter CN’698).
Regarding the temperature range in step (b) as claimed in the instant claim 4, PG’682 does not specify heating in the process of introduce RuO4 gas into sufficient amount of hydrochloric acid to obtain a H3RuCl6 solution (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’682). difference in specific gravity heat melting.” (par.[0002] of JP’369). Which overlap/be close to the claimed temperature range, which creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to operate the process at ambient temperature from the disclosure of PG’934 for the step (b) operation since PG’682 teaches the same process of recovering metal from spent catalyst as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
In alternately, CN’698 teaches a method in a process for enriching platinum group metals and gold preferentially absorb ruthenium (Abstract and claims of CN’698). CN’698 teaches a reaction process is represented by the formula:
RuO4+4H++6Cl-=[RuO2Cl4]2+Cl2+2H2O(1)
CN’698 teaches the tail gas absorption of the hydrochloric acid solution is 0.5-3mol/L, the temperature is 0-5oC (par.[0037]-[0038] of CN’698), which is within the claimed temperature range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to operate the process at the temperature from the disclosure of CN’698 in the process of PG’682 since both CN’698 and PG’682 teach the same reaction of RuO4 with hydrochloric acid and provides the gas absorption completely. (par.[0037]-[0038] of CN’698)
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’682 in view of De Bruyne et al (US-PG-pub 2024/0050934 A1, thereafter PG’934).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, PG’682 does not specify apply organic solvent to treat spent catalyst as claimed in the instant claim. PG’934 teaches a method for recovering a spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst using a solid adsorbent selected from bleaching agents (Abstract, examples, and claims of PG’934). PG’934 teaches providing a solution containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst, said solution containing at least one solvent selected from water and an organic solvent (par.[0013] of PG’934). PG’934 applying appropriate stirring in the operation at ambient temperature (par.[0090] and [0096]-[0097] of PG’934). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply organic solvent treating spent catalyst as disclosed in PG’934 in the process of PG’682 since both of PG’034 and PG’682 teaches the same recover metal process from spent catalyst as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Regarding claim 9, PG’934 specify the organic solvents include any organic solvent used for catalyst recovering, for example aromatic hydrocarbons solvents such as toluene, ketones such as acetone, heterocyclic ether solvents such as tetrahydrofuran, nitrile solvents such as acetonitrile, alcohols such as isopropanol, acetate solvents. (par.[0083] of PG’934), which including the claimed solvent in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734