CTNF 18/680,022 CTNF 89587 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 32-40, the dependent claims state: “the method of claim 31”, however claim 31 is an apparatus claim for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 21-28 and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2020/0037354, hereinafter Li, claiming priority date of all provisional applications up to 62/731,485, as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Salem et al (US 2019/0253200, hereinafter Salem, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/631,273, as disclosed in the IDS) and in view of Babaei et al (US 2020/0275485, hereinafter Babaei, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/714,923) . Regarding claim 21 , Li discloses a method, implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to manage a plurality of downlink (DL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) including a default DL BWP, the method comprising: receiving information related to a first channel occupancy time (COT) ( preamble can carry information such as COT duration, Para [0190] ); determining one or more active DL BWPs for the WTRU among the plurality of DL BWPs for the first COT based on the received information ( gNB can indicate the active DL BWP by transmitting the preamble, Para [0480], multiple active BWPs Fig. 37a. Also see page 21, 26, Fig. 11 from provisional application 62/731,485. ); but does not disclose receiving first downlink control information (DCI) on the one or more active DL BWPs during the first COT. Salem discloses a BS transmits DCI to UE in the unlicensed band, Para [0072], UE receives DL transmission in a COT, Para [0192] ; nor receiving information indicating an inactivity timer associated with the one or more active DL BWPs. Salem discloses the UE can be configured with larger inactivity timer when operating on unlicensed spectrum, Para [0120]; nor discloses on condition that the inactivity timer has expired, deactivating the one or more active DL BWPs and activating the default DL BWP. Salem discloses if the timer expires the current active BWP is deactivated and switches to the default BWP, Para [0119] ; nor a condition that the default DL BWP is active, receiving second DCI on the default BWP. Salem discloses if the inactivity timer expires, UE switches back to the default BWP and communicates on the default BWP, in this case receiving DCI, Para [0119]. Also see page 35 and 36 from provisional application 62/631,273. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Salem in the system of Li in order to more effectively communicate on unlicensed spectrum by modifying the inactivity timer; and does not disclose triggering the inactivity timer when the first COT begins, pausing the inactivity timer when the first COT ends and on condition that that the inactivity timer is paused, re- starting the inactivity timer when a second COT begins. Babaei discloses the wireless device can start the inactivity timer for the BWP on the unlicensed cell in response to the LBT procedure indicating clear channel and can restart the timer for the next successful LBT, Para [0488], meaning the timer is started when LBT is successful and the COT begins, and will not restart the timer if the LBT procedure indicates a busy channel, Para [0488]. Also see Para [0336] from the provisional application . Salem discloses the UE pauses its inactivity timer on a BWP over the time duration for which uplink LBT fails, Para [0122], obvious variation to one of ordinary skill to pause the timer when the COT ends and not to restart until the next COT begins from the next successful LBT . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Babaei in the system of Li in view of Salem in order to the BWP inactivity timer synchronized for both UE and BS on the unlicensed band. Regarding claims 22 and 32 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, further comprising: receiving information related to the second COT prior to the restarting of the inactivity timer (Li discloses preamble can carry information such as COT duration, Para [0190] and view of Salem and Babaei, the inactivity timer is paused and restarted after this ). Regarding claims 23 and 33 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the information related to the first COT is received in any of: a Random Access Channel (RACH) preamble, a System Information Block (SIB), a Master Information Block (MIB), or DCI ( preamble can carry information such as COT duration, Para [0190] ). Regarding claims 24 and 34 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the one or more active DL BWPs are associated with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs). ( gNB configures the UE with one or more CORESETs for PDCCH receptions, Para [0103] and the BWPs having a PDDCH monitoring locations, Fig. 37b ). Regarding claims 25 and 35 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the one or more active DL BWPs are associated with a set of Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) and/or a set of Listen Before Talk (LBT) sub-bands. ( BWP is associated with sub-band 0 and 1, Fig. 38 ). Regarding claims 26 and 36 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the information related to the first COT includes information indicating a duration of the first COT. (preamble can carry information such as COT duration, Para [0190] ). Regarding claims 27 and 37 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the duration of the first COT is an integer number of any of seconds, slots or orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDM) symbols. ( COT duration is a number of slots, Para [0353] ). Regarding claims 28 and 38 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, wherein the one or more active DL BWPs among the plurality of DL BWPs include DL BWPs other than the default DL BWP. ( multiple BWPs 0-3, obvious 3 BWPs are non-default BWP, Fig. 37b ). Regarding claim 31 , Li discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit ( WTRU, Fig. 3 ) comprising: a processor and a transceiver ( processing and RF transceiver, Fig. 3 ) configured to manage a plurality of downlink (DL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) including a default DL BWP, wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to: receive information related to a first channel occupancy time (COT) ( preamble can carry information such as COT duration, Para [0190] ), determine one or more active DL BWPs for the WTRU among the plurality of DL BWPs for the first COT based on the received information ( gNB can indicate the active DL BWP by transmitting the preamble, Para [0480], multiple active BWPs Fig. 37a. Also see page 21, 26, Fig. 11 from provisional application 62/731,485. ); but does not disclose receive first downlink control information (DCI) on the one or more active DL BWPs during the first COT, Salem discloses a BS transmits DCI to UE in the unlicensed band, Para [0072], UE receives DL transmission in a COT, Para [0192] ; nor receive information indicating an inactivity timer associated with the one or more active DL BWPs, Salem discloses the UE can be configured with larger inactivity timer when operating on unlicensed spectrum, Para [0120]; nor on condition that the inactivity timer has expired, deactivate the one or more active DL BWPs and activate the default DL BWP. Salem discloses if the timer expires the current active BWP is deactivated and switches to the default BWP, Para [0119] ; nor a condition that the default DL BWP is active, receiving second DCI on the default BWP. Salem discloses if the inactivity timer expires, UE switches back to the default BWP and communicates on the default BWP, in this case receiving DCI, Para [0119]. Also see page 35 and 36 from provisional application 62/631,273. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Salem in the system of Li in order to more effectively communicate on unlicensed spectrum by modifying the inactivity timer; and does not disclose trigger the inactivity timer when the first COT begins, pausing the inactivity timer when the first COT ends, on condition that that the inactivity timer is paused, re-start the inactivity timer when a second COT begins. Babaei discloses the wireless device can start the inactivity timer for the BWP on the unlicensed cell in response to the LBT procedure indicating clear channel and can restart the timer for the next successful LBT, Para [0488], meaning the timer is started when LBT is successful and the COT begins, and will not restart the timer if the LBT procedure indicates a busy channel, Para [0488]. Also see Para [0336] from the provisional application . Salem discloses the UE pauses its inactivity timer on a BWP over the time duration for which uplink LBT fails, Para [0122], obvious variation to one of ordinary skill to pause the timer when the COT ends and not to restart until the next COT begins from the next successful LBT . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Babaei in the system of Li in view of Salem in order to the BWP inactivity timer synchronized for both UE and BS on the unlicensed band . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 29, 30, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Salem, in view of Babaei and in view of Awadin et al (US 2022/0039158, hereinafter Awadin, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/737,380) . Regarding claims 29 and 39 , Li discloses the method of claim 21/31, but not further comprising: determining one or more sub-bands of the one or more active DL BWPs based on a resource used to receive the information related to the first COT; and monitoring the determined one or more sub-bands for the first DCI during the first COT. Awadin discloses a BWP can be divided into multiple sub-bands, Para [0040] that can be acquired by the gNB or UE, Para [0080], UE monitors the sub-bands based on the LBT outcome at the gNB, Para [0081], UE may assume the available sub-bands that carry first DL transmission signal, is the sub-bands the UE has to monitor during the COT. Also see Para [0040-41] of the provisional application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Awadin in in the system of Li in view of Salem and Babaei in order to increase the chance that the UE can access the channel and mitigate effects of channel unavailability due to LBT failure. Regarding claims 30 and 40 , Li discloses the method of claim 29/39, wherein the one or more sub-bands of the one or more active DL BWPs are determined based on a mapping of the resource used to receive the information related to the first COT and sub-bands of the one or more active DL BWPs. Awadin discloses remapping time and frequency resource of old CORESET to new CORESET, where CORESET remapping is based on outcome of the sub-band LBT, Para [0175] and UE can be configured with CORESET remapping, Para [0176]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEVIN CUNNINGHAM whose telephone number is (571) 272-1765. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 7:30-18:00 (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached on (571) 272-3155. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 2 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 3 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 4 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 5 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 6 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 7 Art Unit: 2461 Application/Control Number: 18/680,022 Page 8 Art Unit: 2461