DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to Applicant's amendment filed on 12/2/2025.
Claim 1-20 are pending. Claim 1 and 11 are amended. Claim 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 7-9 and 11-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebersol, Geoffrey et al(PGPUB Document No. 20210406326), hereafter referred as to “Ebersol”, in view of Watari, Yasuhiro et al (PGPUB Document No. 20170136367), hereafter, referred to as “Watari”, in further view of Coskun, Mustafa et al (PGPUB Document No. 20240364970), hereafter, referred to as “Coskun”.
Claim 1 (Original), Ebersol teaches A method comprising: receiving, from a device associated with a user profile(Ebersol, Fig. 1 and para 0021 disclose receiving request from user for contents with spoiler prevention “content server(s) 140 may receive requests for content accompanied by spoiler prevention arguments for use by content server(s) 140 to filter (e.g., conceal or otherwise indicate) spoiler content” ; para 0019 further disclose user device (110A-N) and these user devices are associated with user profile or credential for content requesting and receiving “Client computing device(s) 110A-N may comprise, respectively, content browser 112A-N. Content browser 112A-N may comprise, …. a general or specific content browsing application, such as a Web browser application that may be used to display public and/or private content (e.g., based on user credentials) for one or more content providers”), at least a part of a user search query, wherein the user search query relates to non-linear media content(Ebersol, Fig. 1 and para 0021 disclose querying non-linear contents with spoiler prevention “Content server(s) 140 may provide digital media content (e.g. webpage content, advertisements, and so on) upon request to content browser 112A-N. In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”);
performing a search, using at least one database that stores data relevant to the non-linear media content, to generate a plurality of candidate content items(Ebersol, para 0021 discloses searching non-linear contents and generating results “Content server(s) 140 may host content provider websites. Content server(s) 140 may provide digital media content (e.g. webpage content, advertisements, and so on) upon request to content browser 112A-N. In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”),
Using the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (paragraph 002-003) as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, examiner is interpreting the limitation “non-linear media” to mean interactive media that allows users to navigate contents in a non-sequential manner and offers multiple pathways.
But Ebersol does not explicitly teach accessing progress data that identifies progression through the non-linear media content associated with the user profile, wherein the progress data identifies a path through a particular plurality of game locations taken by a game character associated with the user profile; wherein the search uses the progress data associated with the user profile and the at least the part of the user search query; accessing a data structure that defines a plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content; filtering the plurality of candidate content items to generate a filtered set of candidate content items, wherein the filtering is based at least in part on: (a) the progress data associated with the user profile, and (b) the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content, wherein the filtering: excludes candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are not proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile; and generating for output at least one candidate content item of the filtered set of candidate content items.
However in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Watari teaches accessing progress data that identifies progression through the non-linear media content associated with the user profile(Watari, para 0008 discloses accessing/acquiring user game(non-linear) progress data “include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”), wherein the progress data identifies a path through a particular plurality of game locations taken by a game character associated with the user profile(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0050 further disclose accessing data structure to find possible scenes in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example” ); wherein the search uses the progress data associated with the user profile and the at least the part of the user search query(Watari, para 0050 discloses that getting information about user’s progress data of a game “If the setting constitutes the spoiler prevention settings for preventing the outcome of the game from being known, there may be provided a progress information acquiring section (not depicted) that may acquire progress information representing the progress status of the user's play in the game program corresponding to the game video”; Fig. 7 and para 0053 further disclose that user progress data (step S107) is being used in searches for game video “the process flow ranging from the time the user of the present embodiment searches for and acquires a game video to the time the game video starts being viewed”); accessing a data structure that defines a plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0050 further disclose accessing data structure to find possible scenes in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example” ); filtering the plurality of candidate content items to generate a filtered set of candidate content items, wherein the filtering is based at least in part on: (a) the progress data associated with the user profile(Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate video under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ), and (b) the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced” ), wherein the filtering: excludes candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are not proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile (Watari, para 0048 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention such as the last scent (non-proximate) which has not been played yet to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game “the setting may be such as to filter out spoiler scenes such as the last scene of the game that would cause the players playing the game to lose interest therein. The setting may also be such as to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game” ), and generating for output at least one candidate content item of the filtered set of candidate content items(Watari, para 0050 discloses generating filtered or spoiler-free contents “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of considering user progression data for determining spoiler contents of Watari into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol to produce an expected result of filtering spoiler contents based on user’s progress data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive game content videos with higher value for users through game-specific information (Watari, para 0004).
But Ebersol and Watari don’t explicitly teach and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile;
However in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Coskun teaches and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile(Coskun, para 0125 discloses obtaining or including unviewed or unvisited contents related to user’s viewing progress information in response to user’s search query; where “future episodes” can the proximate contents based on user viewing progress “an answer to the query may be determined using previous segments belonging to the content item being watched……The viewer can be identified based on the profile used to consume the content, voice profile when voice search is conducted and/or any other suitable technique. …. In some embodiments, unviewed segments from ‘future’ episodes can be presented if the query is general in nature and not a spoiler”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of including contents from users’ unvisited path of progression of Coskun into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol and Watari to produce an expected result of obtaining contents for unvisited path of progression. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive game/media content from future steps without obtaining the spoiler contents(Coskun, para 0125).
Regarding claim 2(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Watari further teaches wherein the non-linear media content comprises a gaming application; and wherein the plurality of possible paths comprises a plurality of paths through connected levels of the gaming application(Watari, para 0050 discloses paths are being considered based on user’s playing level or stage of a game “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user”).
Regarding claim 3(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Ebersol further teaches wherein the candidate content items comprises a textual item(Ebersol, para 0021 discloses content item type as text “In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”).
Regarding claim 4(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 2 and Ebersol further teaches wherein the filtering the plurality of candidate content items comprises: determining a user profile progression level based on correlating the progress data with a plurality of levels within the gaming application based on the plurality of possible paths (Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced”);
and wherein the filtered set of the plurality of candidate content items is based on the user profile progression level by excluding one or more candidate content items associated with one or more levels of the gaming application determined to be not traversed based on the correlating (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is corelated with stages yet to be played or traversed by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” )
Regarding claim 5(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 2 and Ebersol further teaches wherein the filtering the plurality of candidate content items comprises: determining a user profile progression level based on correlating the progress data with a plurality of levels within the gaming application based on the plurality of possible paths (Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced”);
and determining a subset of candidate content items based on the user profile progression level by excluding candidate content items associated with levels of the gaming application determined not to be proximate to the user profile progression level (Watari, para 0048 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention such as the last scene (non-proximate) which has not been played yet to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game “the setting may be such as to filter out spoiler scenes such as the last scene of the game that would cause the players playing the game to lose interest therein. The setting may also be such as to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game”).
Regarding claim 7(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 2 and Watari further teaches wherein the filtering the plurality of candidate content items comprises: identifying a path through a particular plurality of levels taken by a game character associated with the user profile through the connected levels of the gaming application (Watari, para 0008 discloses accessing/acquiring user game(non-linear) progress data regarding the game program “include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”; para 0069 further discloses that a character is being played in the game by the user);
and determining a subset of candidate content items by excluding candidate content items associated with levels of the gaming application determined not to be proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ).
Regarding claim 8(Previously Presented Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 2 and Watari further teaches wherein accessing the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content is a game structure data, wherein: accessing the data structure further comprises (Watari, Fig. 3-4 and para 0045 disclose accessing plurality of path (scenes) or game data structure data of a non-linear media “the related information acquiring section 202 acquires the game video ID of D1 including the boss battle ID of B1 from the scene-related information related to the game video ID of D 1”):
transmitting a request to a gaming client for the game structure data related to the gaming application (Watari, para 0047 discloses request of game data/scenes by selection from the screen “The selection screen generating section 204 generates selection screen information representing a selection screen that allows the user to select a video desired to be viewed from the game videos acquired by the video acquiring section 203”), wherein the game structure data defines at least a set of the plurality of paths through the connected levels of the gaming application (Watari, Fig. 5 and para 0050 disclose getting game videos related to game data structure corresponding to player’s game level “If the setting constitutes the spoiler prevention settings for preventing the outcome of the game from being known, there may be provided a progress information acquiring section (not depicted) that may acquire progress information representing the progress status of the user's play in the game program corresponding to the game video”); and receiving the game structure data from the gaming client(Watari, para 0047 discloses receiving game structure data/scenes at the terminal “The distributing section 205 distributes the selection screen information to the terminal 120”).
Regarding claim 9(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 2 and Watari further teaches wherein accessing the data structure further comprises (Watari, Fig. 3-4 and para 0045 disclose accessing plurality of path (scenes) or game data structure data of a non-linear media “the related information acquiring section 202 acquires the game video ID of D1 including the boss battle ID of B1 from the scene-related information related to the game video ID of D 1”):
transmitting a request to a gaming client for a plurality of progress data of a plurality of user profiles; receiving the plurality of progress data of the plurality of user profiles from the gaming client (Watari, para 0008 discloses transmitting/ acquiring process to retrieve user progress data “ the game video distribution device described in paragraph (3) above may further include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”; Fig. 1 and para 0035 further teaches that disclosed process can be applicable for plurality of users/terminals “Although the game video distribution system 100 in FIG. 1 has only one terminal 120, a plurality of terminals 120 may be provided instead”; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses user profile is being considered for content’s spoiler prevention ),
and generating the plurality of paths through the connected levels of the gaming application based on the received plurality of progress data of the plurality of user profiles from the gaming client (Watari, para 0050 discloses generation of game vides/scenes or paths based on user level and its associated progress data “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user…”; Fig. 1 and para 0035 further teaches that disclosed process can be applicable for plurality of users/terminals “Although the game video distribution system 100 in FIG. 1 has only one terminal 120, a plurality of terminals 120 may be provided instead”; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses user profile is being considered for content’s spoiler prevention).
Claim 11 (Currently Amended), Ebersol teaches A system comprising(Ebersol, Fig. 5 discloses a system for spoiler content prevention): an input/output circuitry configured to: receive, from a device associated with a user profile (Ebersol, Fig. 1 and para 0021 disclose receiving request from user for contents with spoiler prevention “content server(s) 140 may receive requests for content accompanied by spoiler prevention arguments for use by content server(s) 140 to filter (e.g., conceal or otherwise indicate) spoiler content” ; para 0019 further disclose user device (110A-N) and these user devices are associated with user profile or credential for content requesting and receiving “Client computing device(s) 110A-N may comprise, respectively, content browser 112A-N. Content browser 112A-N may comprise, …. a general or specific content browsing application, such as a Web browser application that may be used to display public and/or private content (e.g., based on user credentials) for one or more content providers”), at least a part of a user search query, wherein the user search query relates to non-linear media content; control circuitry configured to (Ebersol, Fig. 1 and para 0021 disclose querying non-linear contents with spoiler prevention “Content server(s) 140 may provide digital media content (e.g. webpage content, advertisements, and so on) upon request to content browser 112A-N. In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”);
perform a search, using at least one database that stores data relevant to the non- linear media content, to generate a plurality of candidate content items (Ebersol, para 0021 discloses searching non-linear contents and generating results “Content server(s) 140 may host content provider websites. Content server(s) 140 may provide digital media content (e.g. webpage content, advertisements, and so on) upon request to content browser 112A-N. In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”),
Using the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (paragraph 002-003) as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, examiner is interpreting the limitation “non-linear media” to mean interactive media that allows users to navigate contents in a non-sequential manner and offers multiple pathways.
But Ebersol does not explicitly teach access progress data that identifies progression through the non-linear media content associated with the user profile, wherein the progress data identifies a path through a particular plurality of game locations taken by a game character associated with the user profile; wherein the search uses the progress data associated with the user profile and the at least the part of the user search query; access a data structure that defines a plurality of possible paths through the non- linear media content; filter the plurality of candidate content items to generate a filtered set of candidate content items, wherein the filtering is based at least in part on: (a) the progress data associated with the user profile, and (b) the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content, wherein the filter: excludes candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are not proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile; and wherein the input/output circuitry is further configured to: generate for output at least one candidate content item of the filtered set of candidate content items..
However, in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Watari teaches access progress data that identifies progression through the non-linear media content associated with the user profile(Watari, para 0008 discloses accessing/acquiring user game(non-linear) progress data “include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”), wherein the progress data identifies a path through a particular plurality of game locations taken by a game character associated with the user profile(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0050 further disclose accessing data structure to find possible scenes in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example” ); wherein the search uses the progress data associated with the user profile and the at least the part of the user search query(Watari, para 0050 discloses that getting information about user’s progress data of a game “If the setting constitutes the spoiler prevention settings for preventing the outcome of the game from being known, there may be provided a progress information acquiring section (not depicted) that may acquire progress information representing the progress status of the user's play in the game program corresponding to the game video”; Fig. 7 and para 0053 further disclose that user progress data (step S107) is being used in searches for game video “the process flow ranging from the time the user of the present embodiment searches for and acquires a game video to the time the game video starts being viewed”); access a data structure that defines a plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0050 further disclose accessing data structure to find possible scenes in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example” ); filter the plurality of candidate content items to generate a filtered set of candidate content items, wherein the filtering is based at least in part on: (a) the progress data associated with the user profile(Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate video under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ), and (b) the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content(Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced” ), wherein the filter: excludes candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are not proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile(Watari, para 0048 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention such as the last scent (non-proximate) which has not been played yet to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game “the setting may be such as to filter out spoiler scenes such as the last scene of the game that would cause the players playing the game to lose interest therein. The setting may also be such as to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game” ); and wherein the input/output circuitry is further configured to: generate for output at least one candidate content item of the filtered set of candidate content items(Watari, para 0050 discloses generating filtered or spoiler-free contents “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user, for example”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of considering user progression data for determining spoiler contents of Watari into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol to produce an expected result of filtering spoiler contents based on user’s progress data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive game content videos with higher value for users through game-specific information (Watari, para 0004).
But Ebersol and Watari don’t explicitly teach and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile;
However in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Coskun teaches and does not exclude candidate content items associated with game locations that were not visited by the game character and are proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile (Coskun, para 0125 discloses obtaining or including unviewed or unvisited contents related to user’s viewing progress information in response to user’s search query; where “future episodes” can the proximate contents based on user viewing progress “an answer to the query may be determined using previous segments belonging to the content item being watched……The viewer can be identified based on the profile used to consume the content, voice profile when voice search is conducted and/or any other suitable technique. …. In some embodiments, unviewed segments from ‘future’ episodes can be presented if the query is general in nature and not a spoiler”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of including contents from users’ unvisited path of progression of Coskun into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol and Watari to produce an expected result of obtaining contents for unvisited path of progression. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to receive game/media content from future steps without obtaining the spoiler contents(Coskun, para 0125).
Regarding claim 12(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 11 and Watari further teaches wherein the non-linear media content comprises a gaming application; and wherein the plurality of possible paths comprises a plurality of paths through connected levels of the gaming application (Watari, para 0050 discloses paths are being considered based on user’s playing level or stage of a game “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user”).
Regarding claim 13(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 11 and Ebersol further teaches wherein the candidate content items comprises a textual item (Ebersol, para 0021 discloses content item type as text “In examples, search engines may be considered content providers, given that results may comprise text, photos, videos and other content provided in response to user queries”).
Regarding claim 14(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to filter the plurality of candidate content items by: determining a user profile progression level based on correlating the progress data with a plurality of levels within the gaming application based on the plurality of possible paths (Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced”);
and wherein the filtered set of the plurality of candidate content items is based on the user profile progression level by excluding one or more candidate content items associated with one or more levels of the gaming application determined to be not traversed based on the correlating (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is corelated with stages yet to be played or traversed by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” )
Regarding claim 15(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to filter the plurality of candidate content items by: determining a user profile progression level based on correlating the progress data with a plurality of levels within the gaming application based on the plurality of possible paths (Watari, Fig. 4 and para 0043 further disclose data structure to find possible scenes/path in various stages in a game/non-linear media for exclusion of spoilers “as depicted in FIG. 4, the storing section 112 stores scene-related information in which the scene ID of each of different scene types (e.g., boss battle, event, or stage) is related to time information representing the time period during which the scene identified by the scene ID of the scene type is reproduced”);
and determining a subset of candidate content items based on the user profile progression level by excluding candidate content items associated with levels of the gaming application determined not to be proximate to the user profile progression level (Watari, para 0048 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention such as the last scene (non-proximate) which has not been played yet to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game “the setting may be such as to filter out spoiler scenes such as the last scene of the game that would cause the players playing the game to lose interest therein. The setting may also be such as to prevent users from knowing the outcome of the game” ).
Regarding claim 17(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to filter the plurality of candidate content items by: identifying a path through a particular plurality of levels taken by a game character associated with the user profile through the connected levels of the gaming application (Watari, para 0008 discloses accessing/acquiring user game(non-linear) progress data regarding the game program “include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”; para 0069 further discloses that a character is being played in the game by the user);
and determining a subset of candidate content items by excluding candidate content items associated with levels of the gaming application determined not to be proximate to the particular plurality of levels included in the path taken by the game character associated with the user profile (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ).
Regarding claim 18(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to access the data structure that defines the plurality of possible paths through the non-linear media content by a game structure data, by(Watari, Fig. 3-4 and para 0045 disclose accessing plurality of path (scenes) or game data structure data of a non-linear media “the related information acquiring section 202 acquires the game video ID of D1 including the boss battle ID of B1 from the scene-related information related to the game video ID of D 1”):
transmitting a request to a gaming client for the game structure data related to the gaming application (Watari, para 0047 discloses request of game data/scenes by selection from the screen “The selection screen generating section 204 generates selection screen information representing a selection screen that allows the user to select a video desired to be viewed from the game videos acquired by the video acquiring section 203”), wherein the game structure data defines at least a set of the plurality of paths through the connected levels of the gaming application(Watari, Fig. 5 and para 0050 disclose getting game videos related to game data structure corresponding to player’s game level “If the setting constitutes the spoiler prevention settings for preventing the outcome of the game from being known, there may be provided a progress information acquiring section (not depicted) that may acquire progress information representing the progress status of the user's play in the game program corresponding to the game video”); and receiving the game structure data from the gaming client(Watari, para 0047 discloses receiving game structure data/scenes at the terminal “The distributing section 205 distributes the selection screen information to the terminal 120”).
Regarding claim 19(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to access the data structure by(Watari, Fig. 3-4 and para 0045 disclose accessing plurality of path (scenes) or game data structure data of a non-linear media “the related information acquiring section 202 acquires the game video ID of D1 including the boss battle ID of B1 from the scene-related information related to the game video ID of D 1”):
transmitting a request to a gaming client for a plurality of progress data of a plurality of user profiles; receiving the plurality of progress data of the plurality of user profiles from the gaming client (Watari, para 0008 discloses transmitting/ acquiring process to retrieve user progress data “ the game video distribution device described in paragraph (3) above may further include progress information acquiring means that acquires, as the setting information, progress information indicative of progress status of the user regarding a game program corresponding to the game video”; Fig. 1 and para 0035 further teaches that disclosed process can be applicable for plurality of users/terminals “Although the game video distribution system 100 in FIG. 1 has only one terminal 120, a plurality of terminals 120 may be provided instead”; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses user profile is being considered for content’s spoiler prevention ),
and generating the plurality of paths through the connected levels of the gaming application based on the received plurality of progress data of the plurality of user profiles from the gaming client (Watari, para 0050 discloses generation of game vides/scenes or paths based on user level and its associated progress data “the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user…”; Fig. 1 and para 0035 further teaches that disclosed process can be applicable for plurality of users/terminals “Although the game video distribution system 100 in FIG. 1 has only one terminal 120, a plurality of terminals 120 may be provided instead”; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses user profile is being considered for content’s spoiler prevention).
Claim 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebersol, Geoffrey et al(PGPUB Document No. 20210406326), hereafter referred as to “Ebersol”, in view of Watari, Yasuhiro et al (PGPUB Document No. 20170136367), hereafter, referred to as “Watari”, in view of Coskun, Mustafa et al (PGPUB Document No. 20240364970), hereafter, referred to as “Coskun”, in further view of Noss, Landon (PGPUB Document No. 20180290060), hereafter, referred to as “Noss”.
Regarding claim 6(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 5 and Watari further teaches wherein the determining that the candidate content items are associated with levels of the gaming application that are not to be proximate to the user profile progression level comprises (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ):
determining that a particular candidate content item of the candidate content items comprise a game reference(Watari, para 0050 discloses determining candidate scenes/videos by game reference ID ”given the game-related information depicted in FIG. 3, the selection instruction acquiring section 201 may acquire the game ID of G1 and the boss battle ID of B1 as the scene ID, for example. In that case, the game video IDs of D1 to D3 are acquired”);
determining that the game reference is associated with a particular level of the plurality of levels within the gaming application; identifying an in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level (Watari, para 0050 discloses determining candidate scenes/videos and filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user”);
But Ebersol, Watari and Coskun don’t explicitly teach and determining that length of the in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level is smaller than a threshold length.
However, in the same field of endeavor of determining player’s level in a game Noss teaches and determining that length of the in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level is smaller than a threshold length(Noss, abstract discloses determining the difference between player’s progression level and game level for comparing against a threshold “The method includes executing a video game and determining whether a skill level of a user is below a threshold level of play”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of generating an auto-complete list of contents of Noss into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol, Watari and Coskun to produce an expected result of providing help/training content based on player’s skill level. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to get help or training based on his skill level in a game (Noss, para 10-11).
Regarding claim 16(Previously Presented ), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 15 and Watari further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine that the candidate content items are associated with levels of the gaming application that are not to be proximate to the user profile progression level by (Watari, para 0050 discloses filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user” ):
determining that a particular candidate content item of the candidate content items comprise a game reference (Watari, para 0050 discloses determining candidate scenes/videos by game reference ID ”given the game-related information depicted in FIG. 3, the selection instruction acquiring section 201 may acquire the game ID of G1 and the boss battle ID of B1 as the scene ID, for example. In that case, the game video IDs of D1 to D3 are acquired”);
determining that the game reference is associated with a particular level of the plurality of levels within the gaming application; identifying an in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level (Watari, para 0050 discloses determining candidate scenes/videos and filtering candidate videos under spoiler prevention based on users game progression information, where user progress level is not proximate or stages yet to be played by the user “The progress information acquiring section may then be configured to reproduce only part of the game video in keeping with the progress status. Specifically in this case, the progress information acquiring section may generate a game video which only includes the scenes having been already played by the user and which excludes the scenes of the stages yet to be cleared by the user”);
But Ebersol, Watari and Coskun don’t explicitly teach and determining that length of the in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level is smaller than a threshold length.
However, in the same field of endeavor of determining player’s level in a game Noss teaches and determining that length of the in-game path between the user profile progression level and the particular level is smaller than a threshold length (Noss, abstract discloses determining the difference between player’s progression level and game level for comparing against a threshold “The method includes executing a video game and determining whether a skill level of a user is below a threshold level of play”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of generating an auto-complete list of contents of Noss into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol, Watari and Coskun to produce an expected result of providing help/training content based on player’s skill level. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to get help or training based on his skill level in a game (Noss, para 10-11).
Claim 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebersol, Geoffrey et al(PGPUB Document No. 20210406326), hereafter referred as to “Ebersol”, in view of Watari, Yasuhiro et al (PGPUB Document No. 20170136367), hereafter, referred to as “Watari”, in view of Coskun, Mustafa et al (PGPUB Document No. 20240364970), hereafter, referred to as “Coskun”, in further view of Birnbaum, Ori et al (PGPUB Document No. 20160149956), hereafter, referred to as “Birnbaum”.
Regarding claim 10(Original), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 1 but don’t explicitly teach wherein upon receiving part of the user search query, the method further comprises: generating for output one or more autocomplete suggestions based on the received part of the user search query; and receiving selection of one of the one or more autocomplete suggestions from the device associated with the user profile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Birnbaum teaches wherein upon receiving part of the user search query, the method further comprises: generating for output one or more autocomplete suggestions based on the received part of the user search query; and receiving selection of one of the one or more autocomplete suggestions from the device associated with the user profile(Birnbaum, para 0287 teaches in response to receiving part of user query generating an auto-complete suggestion list “Search vs. List. It is more efficient to find a channel or show by starting to type it, and use auto-complete, than find it in a long list” ; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses generation of content list based on your profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of generating an auto-complete list of contents of Birnbaum into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol, Watari and Coskun to produce an expected result of providing result list within auto-complete list. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated select search query from the auto-complete list efficiently (Birnbaum, para 0287).
Regarding claim 20(Previously Presented), Ebersol, Watari and Coskun teach all the limitations of claim 11 but don’t explicitly teach wherein the control circuitry is further configured to receive part of the user search query by: generating for output one or more autocomplete suggestions based on the received part of the user search query; and receiving selection of one of the one or more autocomplete suggestions from the device associated with the user profile.
However, in the same field of endeavor of spoiler prevention for non-linear contents Birnbaum teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to receive part of the user search query by: generating for output one or more autocomplete suggestions based on the received part of the user search query; and receiving selection of one of the one or more autocomplete suggestions from the device associated with the user profile (Birnbaum, para 0287 teaches in response to receiving part of user query generating an auto-complete suggestion list “Search vs. List. It is more efficient to find a channel or show by starting to type it, and use auto-complete, than find it in a long list” ; where Ebersol in para 0019 discloses generation of content list based on your profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of generating an auto-complete list of contents of Birnbaum into preventing spoiler contents of Ebersol, Watari and Coskun to produce an expected result of providing result list within auto-complete list. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated select search query from the auto-complete list efficiently (Birnbaum, para 0287).
Response to Arguments
I. 35 U.S.C §103
Abstract idea rejection to claim 1-20 has been withdrawn in light of claim amendments and applicant argument consideration.
II. 35 U.S.C §103
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/2/2025 have been fully considered but are
moot because the independent claim 1 and 11 have been amended with newly added
features which applicant’s arguments are directed towards. Since claims have been amended with new features, a new ground of rejection is presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH A DAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2164
/AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164