DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 05/31/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the VLD is configured so that the second path is normal to the first path prior to engaging with the beam guide.”, however, it is unclear and vague what is considered to be a normal path or in other hand to be compared with an abnormal path.
For purposes of office action, these limitations will be interpreted as a sensor, radar, LIDAR or the like taking measurements on multiple directions and angles.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MENZEL et al. (US 20230161017 A1).
In regards to claim 1, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses a sensor (10/60/70/90) including:
a housing (32) extending from a front to a back, where the front has a transparent cover glass (30);
an infrared (IR) beam emitter (i.e. 12) within the housing that emits a first beam (i.e. 14) along a first path (24);
a visible light beam emitter (20) within the housing that emits a second beam (22) along a second path (i.e. 80) that is noncongruent with the first path (24); and
a beam guide (i.e. 18) within the housing that engages the first (14) and second beams (22) so that the first and second beams are coaxial or parallel and exit the front of the housing (32).
In regards to claim 2, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the IR beam emitter is a near infrared laser diode (NIR-LD) that emits the first beam along the first path, wherein the first path is toward the front of the housing; the visible light beam emitter is a visible laser diode (VLD) that emits the second beam along the second path; and the beam guide is a dichroic mirror disposed along the first path and at a first angle to the second path such that the first and second beams are coaxial or parallel and exit the front of the housing (pars. 33-3, 42, 44, i.e. The sensor 10 has a measurement light source 12, for example a laser diode or a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) that emits at least one measurement light beam 14 in the infrared wavelength range. The sensor 10 furthermore has a pilot light source 20, for example a light emitting diode (LED) that emits at least one pilot light beam 22 in the visible wavelength range… The light receiver 44 is preferably formed as a photodiode, APD (avalanche photodiode), or SPAD (single photon avalanche diode), or SPAD matrix (SPAD array).).
In regards to claim 3, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the beam guide is configured to allow transmission of the first beam (14), and reflection of the second beam (22), (see pars. 33-35; 40-46).
In regards to claim 4, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses, wherein the sensor (10/60/70/90) includes: beam emitting components on a first side of the housing (32), the beam emitting components include, from the back of the housing to the front of the housing, the IR beam emitter, a first lens and a beam expander (pars. 3, 8, 10, 33); and beam receiving components on a second side of the housing, the beam receiving components include, from the front of the housing to the back of the housing, a second lens (pars. 14, 18), an optical filter (40), and a detector array (Figs. 1-5, par. 37).
In regards to claim 5, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the beam expander is a diffractive optical element (DOE) or diffuser (implicit as bean, i.e. a first optical metasurface 72 of the optical element 18 for the coaxial superposition of the measurement light beam 14 and of the pilot light beam 22 is configured as a beam combiner of the measurement light beam 14 and the pilot light beam 22).
In regards to claim 6, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the detector array includes a photodiode (pars. 33, 37).
In regards to claim 7, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the photodiode is an avalanche photodiode (APD) or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS), (pars. 33, 37)
In regards to claim 8, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the VLD (i.e. 12/20/44) is located on the first side of the housing (32), adjacent to the beam emitting components (i.e. 12/14/20/22).
In regards to claim 8, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the VLD (i.e. 12/20/44) is configured so that the second path is normal to the first path prior to engaging with the beam guide (see Figs. 3A-3C, 3E, 3G, pars. 62-67).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MENZEL et al. (US 20230161017 A1) in view of Marpu et al. (US 20240140759 A1).
In regards to claim 10, MENZEL does not explicitly disclose or show an elevator system wherein: an elevator car, having a car top and a guardrail mounted to the car top, one or more of the sensors of claim 1 mounted to the guardrail; or one or more of the sensors is affixed to a corner of the car top or another surface near an edge of the car top.
However, Marpu shows (Figs. 1-6) a method of controlling an elevator system (101), wherein: an elevator car (103), having a car top (103T) and a guardrail mounted to the car top, one or more of the sensors (220) of claim 1 mounted to the guardrail; or one or more of the sensors is affixed to a corner of the car top or another surface near an edge of the car top (pars. 47-49, 64).
Hence, given the teaching of Marpu it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of MENZEL in order to employ guiderails or rail system in which the sensors or other elevator peripherals are mounted such as provide support withing the elevator car or shaft, consequently improving the system security and reliability.
In regards to claim 11, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) including a plurality of the sensors mounted (220) to the guardrail and distributed about the car top of the elevator car (103).
In regards to claim 12, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses including an elevator controller (115) that is configured to: receive sensor data from the one or more of the sensors (220); stop the elevator car or run the elevator car in maintenance mode upon determining that the sensor data indicates that an object is detected on the top of the elevator car (see pars. 4, 14, 17, 49, 52, 54-58, 60-67, 77).
In regards to claim 13, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses wherein: the elevator controller (115) is configured to communicate with the one or more of the sensors (220) over a wireless network; or another control module is configured to communicate with the sensors, and place the car in a safe state by opening the safety chain (pars. 78-83).
In regards to claim 14, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses a hoistway (117) that defines a pit; a pit ladder having ladder rungs; and one or more of the sensors (220) of claim 1 mounted within the pit (270) and configured so that an emitted beam from the another one of the sensors extends adjacent to each of the ladder rungs of the pit ladder (310), (see Figs. 3D/3E).
In regards to claim 15, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses including an elevator controller (115) that is configured to: receive sensor data from the one or more of the sensors (220); stop an elevator car of the system or run the elevator car in maintenance mode upon determining that the sensor data indicates that an object is detected on the pit ladder (see pars. 4, 14, 17, 49, 52, 54-58, 60-67, 77).
In regards to claim 16, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses wherein the elevator controller is configured to communicate with the one or more of the sensors over a wireless network (pars. 78-83).
9. Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marpu et al. (US 20240140759 A1) in view of MENZEL et al. (US 20230161017 A1).
In regards to claims 17 and 19, Marpu shows (Figs. 1-6) a method of controlling an elevator system (101), including:
monitoring, by a controller (i.e. 115), for sensor data from one or more sensors (i.e. 220) located on a top of an elevator car (103) OR located in a pit of a hoistway (117) that indicates an object is detected on the top of the elevator car (103) OR on a pit ladder (i.e. 310, Figs. 3D/3E) located within the pit (270)
stopping the elevator car (103) or running the elevator car (103) in maintenance mode upon determining that the sensor data indicates that the object is detected on the top of the elevator car (103) OR that the object is detected on the pit ladder (310), (see pars. 49, 52-65, 67-73, 77-78).
Although, Marpu shows and discloses an infrared (IR) beam emitter (i.e. LIDAR, RADAR, infrared, beam, 220) located within the housing (implicit as box sensor 220) that emits a first beam (i.e. beam 223 path), (i.e. see at strategic locations along the top 103T and bottom 103B of the car 103, OR disposed on an elevator pit ladder 310).
Marpu does not explicitly show an infrared (IR) beam emitter within the housing that emits a first beam along a first path ; a visible light beam emitter within the housing that emits a second beam along a second path that is noncongruent with the first path; and a beam guide (i.e. 18) within the housing that engages the first and second beams so that the first and second beams are coaxial or parallel and exit the front of the housing .
However, MENZEL shows (see Figs. 1-5) and discloses a sensor (10/60/70/90) including:
a housing (32) extending from a front to a back, where the front has a transparent cover glass (30);
an infrared (IR) beam emitter (i.e. 12) within the housing that emits a first beam (i.e. 14) along a first path (24);
a visible light beam emitter (20) within the housing that emits a second beam (22) along a second path (i.e. 80) that is noncongruent with the first path (24); and
a beam guide (i.e. 18) within the housing that engages the first (14) and second beams (22) so that the first and second beams are coaxial or parallel and exit the front of the housing (32).
Hence, given the teaching of MENZEL it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Marpu in order to employ multiple light beam emitters such a RADAR or LIDAR in different location withing the elevator car and hoist to emit multiple beam paths in different and opposite direction or angles, so to determine from the sensor data that the person is in the hoistway; and wherein the elevator car is configured to reduce speed or stop when the processor determines the person is in the hoistway, consequently improving the system security and reliability.
In regards to claim 18, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses including: confirming an alignment of the one or more sensors relative to the top of the elevator car by visually inspecting the second beam emitted from the one or more sensors is over and extends parallel to the top of the elevator car (see Figs. 3A-3C, 3E, 3G, pars. 62-67).
In regards to claim 20, Marpu further shows (Figs. 1-6) and discloses including: confirming an alignment of the one or more sensors relative to the pit ladder (320) by visually inspecting that the second beam emitted (Fig. 3E/3G, see field of view that the sensors 220 have when imaging a pit area 270) the one or more sensors (220) is along the pit ladder and adjacent to rungs of the pit ladder (320), (see Figs. 3A-3G).
Related Prior Arts
10. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
- Takayuki Banba et al. (JP 7308967 B2) discloses The in-pit operation panel 20 includes a human detection sensor 21, a mode changeover switch 22 , and an elevation instruction switch 23. The human detection sensor 21 is a device that operates automatically and does not require operation by maintenance personnel 30. On the other hand, both the mode changeover switch 22 and the lift instruction switch 23 are operated by maintenance personnel 30 in the pit. When the human detection sensor 21 detects the maintenance worker 30 in the pit, it outputs detection information to the in-pit operation reception unit 41 (see FIG. 3 described later) of the elevator control device 12 . As the human detection sensor 21, a pyroelectric infrared sensor that detects heat rays emitted by a person and outputs a signal, an infrared light emitting element or a transmission type photoelectric sensor that detects the presence or absence of a person by combining this infrared light receiving element, a reflection type sensor, or a reflective type sensor. A photoelectric sensor or an ultrasonic sensor that detects the presence or absence of a person using ultrasonic waves may be used. A camera capable of imaging the inside of the pit may be used as the human detection sensor 21 . Note that the human detection sensor 21 may be attached to a location away from the in-pit operation panel 20 . Also, by attaching a plurality of human detection sensors 21 to each wall in the pit, blind spots may be eliminated and maintenance personnel 30 in the pit may be reliably detected
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837