DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/31/2024, 04/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
To help the reader, examiner notes in this detailed action claim language is in bold, strikethrough limitations are not explicitly taught and language added to explain a reference mapping are isolated from quotations via square brackets.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communication unit” in claim 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13, 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 10, 17 of copending Application No. 18661846 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as set forth in the tables and description below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Claim 1
Application 18661846
1, the cited prior art teaches A wireless communication and sensing method, comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication and sensing node,
an integrated sensing and communication, ISAC, signal comprising a communication signal and a sensing signal,
wherein the sensing signal comprises one or more single-tone signals, and
wherein the number of the single- tone signals being less than 10.
1, the cited prior art teaches A wireless communication and sensing method comprising
generating or sending a message for use in a wireless communication and sensing node,
the wireless communication and sensing method comprising: transmitting an integrated sensing and communication (ISAC) signal,
wherein a sensing signal in the ISAC signal comprises a wideband signal and at least one single-tone signal,
wherein the number of the at least one single-tone signal is less than 10, and wherein a bandwidth of the wideband signal is greater than 1 MHz.
Claims 13 and 20 of the instant application are rejected for a similar reason as shown above because claims 13 and 20 are substantially the same as claim 1 of the instant application and claims 10 and 17 of the reference application are substantially the same as claim 1 of the reference application.
Instant claim x is substantially similar to reference claim y.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 10-11, 13-14, 16-18, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravenscroft et al. (US 20210208237 hereinafter Ravenscroft) in view of Chen (US 20170086202) and further in view of Mazzaro et al. (US 20160282457 hereinafter Mazzaro).
Regarding claim 1, Ravenscroft teaches A wireless communication and sensing method, comprising (Title “POWER-EFFICIENT FORMULATION OF TANDEM-HOPPED RADAR & COMMUNICATIONS”):
sending, by a wireless communication and sensing node, an integrated sensing and communication, ISAC, signal comprising a communication signal and a sensing signal (Abstract “The composite radar and communication waveform may facilitate radar detection and data communication operations and may be generated from a frequency modulated (FM) radar waveform and a communication signal”),
Ravenscroft does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Chen teaches
wherein the sensing signal comprises one or more single-tone signals (0044 “the radar signals 222 may be un-modulated continuous-wave (CW) radar signals (e.g., containing a single frequency or signal tone) that are typically used in detecting object velocity.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Ravenscroft. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Chen 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Chen merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Chen and Ravenscroft disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
The cited prior art does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Mazzaro teaches
and wherein the number of the single-tone signals being less than 10 (0027 “FIG. 7 is a graphical illustration depicting a harmonic radar return where the number of transmitted tones is eight (M=8).”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, wherein the sensing signal consists of one single-tone signal (Mazzaro 0042 “FIGS. 17-20 illustrate four waveforms selected for a preferred embodiment linear/nonlinear transmitter: the single-tone pulse, the multi-tone pulse”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, wherein the one or more single-tone signals have a duty cycle within 0% and 100% (Mazzaro 0216 “For the multitone pulse, the user may choose the number of tones (N), power per tone (P.sub.tone), the frequency at which the tones are centered (f.sub.c), the time interval during which the pulse is active (T.sub.env), and the pulse duty cycle (D.sub.c)”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, wherein the one or more single-tone signals are periodic or non-periodic (Mazzaro 0191 “Linear radar can be implemented in different ways, commonly designated by the transmit waveform, such as continuous-wave (CW), pulsed single-tone, or chirp” [CW wave are periodic]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, wherein the one or more single-tone signals are continuous or discontinuous (Mazzaro 0191 “Linear radar can be implemented in different ways, commonly designated by the transmit waveform, such as continuous-wave (CW), pulsed single-tone, or chirp”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication and sensing node, the sensing signal in the ISAC signal sent by the wireless communication and sensing node, and determining, by the wireless communication and sensing node, sensing information based on the sensing signal (Ravenscroft 0008 “Reflections or echoes of the transmitted final composite radar and communication waveform may be received at a receiver of the radar system and may be utilized by the radar system to perform radar detection operations, such as to detect one or more targets of interest.”).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teaches wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, wherein the one or more single-tone signals in difference periods have difference frequencies (Mazzaro 0192 “This extended dwell time is necessary in order to minimize reflected linear sidelobes from nonlinear reflections, which are usually very weak . . . which has a period T and a duty cycle D.sub.c. The pulse is active during the time interval Tem”; 0245 “Since the multi-tone paradigm enables the instantaneous collection of data at multiple frequencies, a preferred embodiment system is capable of collecting the same frequency data as the stepped frequency system, but in a shorter period of time.”), and wherein the sensing signal in the ISAC signal is sent to another wireless communication and sensing node (Ravenscroft 0069 “This manner of OFDM implementation may also prove useful to achieve communication-only waveforms with PAPR=0 dB, which may facilitate new transmission capability for some technologies, such as base stations (e.g., evolved Node bs (eNBs), next generation Node bs (gNBs), and the like) and other devices operating in OFDM-based communication networks.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 6 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 22, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 13, wherein the one or more single-tone signals in different periods have difference frequencies (Mazzaro 0245 “One advantage of a stepped-frequency design, however, is that its underlying switched-frequency signal source is likely able to dwell on a single frequency for a long period of time. As dwell time increases while transmitting the same average power in a tone or a series of tones, the side lobes caused by interrupting the transmission (e.g. turning the source off or switching to another tone) diminish.”; 0245 “(i.e. “multi-tone” waveforms)”); wherein the sensing signal is received from another wireless communication and sensing node (Ravenscroft 0008 “Reflections or echoes of the transmitted final composite radar and communication waveform may be received at a receiver of the radar system and may be utilized by the radar system to perform radar detection operations, such as to detect one or more targets of interest. Additionally, a device possessing communication signal processing capabilities, such as OFDM signal demodulation, for example, may receive transmitted final composite radar and communication waveforms and extract data associated with the communication signal embedded therein.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Mazzaro with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously detect objects accurately (Mazzaro 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Mazzaro merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular radar features. Since both Mazzaro and the cited prior art disclose similar radar systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravenscroft et al. (US 20210208237 hereinafter Ravenscroft) in view of Chen (US 20170086202) and further in view of Mazzaro et al. (US 20160282457 hereinafter Mazzaro) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Paik et al. (US 20080123758 hereinafter Paik).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teaches .
The cited prior art does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Paik teaches
wherein the time spacing between the first and last time-domain position of the one or more single-tone signals is larger than 90% of a total time duration of the ISAC signal (0056 “In an OFDM system without continual pilots at both ends, channel estimates in the latest symbol where the first and last sub-carriers are used as pilot sub-carriers may be copied and used in their entirety, or may be interpolated in the direction of the time axis and stored in the buffer for use in later symbols.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Paik with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve OFDM techniques (Paik 0038). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Paik merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular pilot symbol features. Since both Paik and the cited prior art disclose similar OFDM systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravenscroft et al. (US 20210208237 hereinafter Ravenscroft) in view of Chen (US 20170086202) and further in view of Mazzaro et al. (US 20160282457 hereinafter Mazzaro) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Heinonen et al. (US PAT 6768714 hereinafter Heinonen).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teaches
The cited prior art does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Heinonen teaches
wherein the ISAC signal comprises one or more guard bands between the one or more single-tone signals and the communication signal, and wherein the ISAC signal is carried on a plurality of sub-carriers, and one of the one or more single-tone signals is carried on one of the sub-carriers with the highest or lowest frequency band (5:22-27 “The amplitude and phase of pilot tones remain relatively constant over time, while the amplitude and phase of traffic tones vary over time. Adjacent pilot tones are separated by a frequency gap fg that is different from a frequency gap fint (i.e., a “guard band”) between adjacent frequency bands. For example, two adjacent pilot tones of lower adjacent frequency band 504 are separated by a frequency gap 510, and lower adjacent frequency band 504 and frequency band of interest 502 are separated by a frequency gap 512. As apparent, fg>fint.”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Heinonen with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve signal quality (Heinonen 5:45-65). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Heinonen merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular signal features. Since both Heinonen and the cited prior art disclose similar OFDM systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7 and therefore is similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 9, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravenscroft et al. (US 20210208237 hereinafter Ravenscroft) in view of Chen (US 20170086202) and further in view of Mazzaro et al. (US 20160282457 hereinafter Mazzaro) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Zou et al. (US 20230246668 hereinafter Zou).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 1, .
The cited prior art does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Zou teaches wherein the sensing signal is used as a reference signal of the communications signal (0092 “a specific radar reference signal (RRS) can be introduced into a mmWave communication system”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Zou with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve co-existence between radar and communication signals (Zou 0098). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Zou merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular reference signal features. Since both Zou and the cited prior art disclose similar radar/communication systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 21, the cited prior art teaches The wireless communication and sensing method of claim 13, further comprising: .
The cited prior art does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Zou teaches using the sensing signal as a reference signal of a communication signal of the ISAC signal (0092 “a specific radar reference signal (RRS) can be introduced into a mmWave communication system”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Zou with the teachings of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve co-existence between radar and communication signals (Zou 0098). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Zou merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular reference signal features. Since both Zou and the cited prior art disclose similar radar/communication systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to application’s disclosure:
DUAN et al. (US 20220095319) discloses “Methods of reducing the interferences of radar signals with uplink or downlink data communication signals in a wireless system for both data communication and radar sensing may include configuring the transmitters of the radar signals and the data communication signals such that the data communication signals and the radar signals are transmitted using different radio frequency resources, and/or configuring the receivers of the data communication signals to receive the data communication signals using a receive beam that does not collide with radar beams. The methods may also include using a reference signal for both downlink data communication and radar sensing and/or determining a Quasi-Colocation (QCL) configuration for downlink data reception based on information regarding a radar beam. (See abstract)”
/ISMAAEEL A. SIDDIQUEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648