Detailed Action
Response to Restriction
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 11 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Application
The instant application was filed 31 May 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 August 2026. Claims 1-14 are examined on the merits within.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0230413) in view of Joshi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0368220), hereinafter Joshi ‘220, and Dodd et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,344,218).
Joshi teaches a wipe comprising a first chemical element or compound and second chemical element or compound carried by a first substrate. The first and second chemical element or compound are selected from chemically reactive couples structured such that fluid applied to the first substrate is effective to cause a chemical reaction to produce a treatment agent. A workable fluid includes water. The first chemical element or compound and the second chemical element or compound can be Hydrogen Peroxide and Silver Nitrate. See paragraph [0014]. The invention is directed to deodorizing methods. See paragraph [0002]. Hydrogen peroxide is present in amounts of about 2% to about 30%. See paragraph [0133].
Joshi does not teach amounts of silver nitrate, water, fragrance or surfactant.
Joshi ‘220 teaches a combination of about 5 to 50% hydrogen peroxide and about 0.05 to 5% silver nitrate. See paragraph [0008]. The invention relates to methods of deodorizing. See paragraph [0002].
Dodd et al. teach aqueous compositions comprising an odor controlling agent and select sanitizing agents. See abstract. Sanitizing actives include antimicrobials, antiseptics, and mixtures thereof. See column 7, lines 40-54. Antimicrobial agents include silver nitrate, hydrogen peroxide, and combinations thereof. See column 8, lines 8-27. The composition comprises about 5 to 70% water. See column 10, lines 31-37. The composition includes 0 to 0.5% perfumes. See column 14, lines 6-14. Surfactants provide a low surface tension to permit the composition to spread readily and uniformly on skin surfaces and other surfaces to improve cleaning. See column 16, lines 55-64. Surfactants are present in amounts of 0 to 20%. See column 19, lines 46-49.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amounts of hydrogen peroxide, silver ions, and water to achieve the desired deodorizing and sanitizing effects because Joshi teaches an effective amount of hydrogen peroxide as 2 to 30% and Joshi ‘220 teaches 5 to 50% hydrogen peroxide and about 0.05 to 5% silver nitrate resulting in a ratio of about 1:1. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a product with the desired amount of both deodorizing and disinfecting properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add up to 0.5% perfumes and/or 0 to 3% surfactant because Dodd et al. teach addition of both of these components in the claimed amounts to formulations that provide both odor control and sanitization. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectations of success, to provide a pleasant smell, as well as lower the surface tension of the composition to improve cleaning. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the pH of the composition dependent on the surface to be treated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one type of perfume/fragrance for another to yield predictable results, i.e., bioidentical.
Conclusion
5. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615