DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1, 3, and 5–9 are pending.
Claims 2 and 4 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0405285 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 5–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a molar ratio of the salt to the solidifying agent is between 0.1:1 and 1:5." It is unclear if each mole amount of the recited ratio can be varied independently. For example, does the mole amount of the salt varies from 0.1 to 1 while the mole amount of the solidifying agent varies from 1 to 5 independent of each other, where the upper limit would be 1:1 and the lower limit would be 0.1:5 (i.e., 1:50)? Or the upper limit is 1:5 and the lower limit is 0.1:1 (i.e., 1:10)? Therefore, the numerical range of a molar ratio of the salt to the solidifying agent is unclear.
Claims 3 and 5 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 3 and 5 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the ionically conducting electrolyte of claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7–9 are directly dependent from claim 6 and include all the limitations of claim 6. Therefore, clams 7–9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gabano et al. (EP 0252494 A1, hereinafter Gabano).
Regarding claim 1, Gabano discloses an ionically conducting electrolyte comprising:
a mixture of a liquefied gas solvent, a solidifying agent, and a salt (see composition, [0023]);
wherein the liquefied gas solvent comprises a vapor pressure above 100 kPa at 293.15K (see SO2 liquid, [0024]);
the solidifying agent is a solid, liquid, or a gas at 100 kPa and 293.15K (see dimethylsulfone, [0025]);
the salt is soluble in the ionically conducting electrolyte at 100 kPa and 293.15K, thereby maintaining the ionically conducting electrolyte in a liquid phase (see lithium chloride, [0026]); and
the salt and solidifying agent create a solid material at 100 kPa and 293.15K when the liquified gas solvent is vented from the mixture at 100 kPa and 293.15K (see composition, [0023]);
wherein the solidifying agent is selected from the group consisting of: diphenyl sulfone, bis(4-fluorophenyl) sulfone, dimethyl sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, butadiene sulfone, 1,3-propanesultone, 1-propene-1,3-sultone, 2-bornanone, 2,3-borananedione, 2-norbornanone, or any combination thereof (see dimethylsulfone, [0025]);
a molar ratio of the salt to the solidifying agent is between 0.1:1 and 1:5 (see lithium chloride, [0026]; see dimethylsulfone, [0025]); and
wherein the solidifying agent is coordinated to a cation of the salt in the solid material (see composition, [0023]).
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Gabano discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an ionically conducting electrolyte:
wherein the liquefied gas solvent is selected from a group consisting of: dimethyl ether, methyl ethyl ether, fluoromethane, difluoromethane, trifluoromethane, fluoroethane, tetrafluoroethane, pentafluoroethane, 1,1-difluoroethane, 1,2-difluoroethane, 1,1,1-trifluoroethane, 1,1,2-trifluoroethane, 1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane, 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethane, pentafluoroethane, chloromethane, chloroethane, thionyl fluoride, thionyl chloride fluoride, phosphoryl fluoride, phosphoryl chloride fluoride, sulfuryl fluoride, sulfuryl chloride fluoride, 1-fluoropropane, 2-fluoropropane, 1,1-difluoropropane, 1,2-difluoropropane, 2,2-fluoropropane, 1,1,1-trifluoropropane, 1,1,2-trifluoropropane, 1,2,2-trifluoropropane, fluoroethylene, cis-1,2-fluoroethylene, 1,1-fluoroethylene, 1-fluoropropylene, 2-propylene, chlorine, chloromethane, bromine, iodine, ammonia, methyl amine, dimethyl amine, trimethyl amine, molecular oxygen, molecular nitrogen, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, sulfur dioxide, methyl vinyl ether, difluoro ethylene, nitrous oxide, nitrogen dioxide, nitrogen oxide, carbon disulfide, hydrogen fluoride, hydrogen chloride or any combination thereof (see SO2 liquid, [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Gabano discloses an electrochemical device comprising an ionically conducting electrolyte; a positive first electrode and a negative second electrode in contact with the ionically conducting electrolyte (see elements D, [0023]); and a housing enclosing the ionically conducting electrolyte, the first electrode and second electrode (see elements D, [0023]), the ionically conducting electrolyte comprising:
a mixture of a liquefied gas solvent, a solidifying agent, and a salt (see composition, [0023]);
wherein the liquefied gas solvent comprises a vapor pressure above 100 kPa at 293.15K (see SO2 liquid, [0024]);
the solidifying agent is a solid, liquid, or a gas at 100 kPa and 293.15K (see dimethylsulfone, [0025]);
the salt is soluble in the ionically conducting electrolyte at 100 kPa and 293.15K, thereby maintaining the ionically conducting electrolyte in a liquid phase (see lithium chloride, [0026]); and
the salt and solidifying agent create a solid material at 100 kPa and 293.15K when the liquified gas solvent is vented from the mixture at 100 kPa and 293.15K (see composition, [0023]);
wherein the solidifying agent is selected from the group consisting of: diphenyl sulfone, bis(4-fluorophenyl) sulfone, dimethyl sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, butadiene sulfone, 1,3-propanesultone, 1-propene-1,3-sultone, 2-bornanone, 2,3-borananedione, 2-norbornanone, or any combination thereof (see dimethylsulfone, [0025]);
a molar ratio of the salt to the solidifying agent is between 0.1:1 and 1:5 (see lithium chloride, [0026]; see dimethylsulfone, [0025]); and
wherein the solidifying agent is coordinated to a cation of the salt in the solid material (see composition, [0023]).
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, Gabano discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical device:
wherein one of the electrodes is selected from a group consisting of: graphite, carbon, activated carbon, vanadium oxide, and lithium titanate, titanium disulfide, molybdenum disulfide, lithium iron phosphate, lithium cobalt phosphate, lithium nickel phosphate, lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel manganese oxide, lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide, and lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (see porous carbon cathode, [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Gabano discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical device:
wherein one of the electrodes is selected from a group consisting of: lithium metal, sodium metal, calcium metal, magnesium metal, aluminum metal, and zinc metal (see strip of lithium, [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Gabano discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical device:
wherein the electrochemical device is a lithium battery (see lithium, [0023]).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhamu et al. (US 2018/0375156 A1, hereinafter Zhamu).
Regarding claim 1, Zhamu discloses an ionically conducting electrolyte comprising:
a mixture of a liquefied gas solvent, a solidifying agent, and a salt (TABLE 1, [0154]);
wherein the liquefied gas solvent comprises a vapor pressure above 100 kPa at 293.15K (see fluoropropane, [0154]);
the solidifying agent is a solid, liquid, or a gas at 100 kPa and 293.15K (see 1,3-propane sultone, [0154]);
the salt is soluble in the ionically conducting electrolyte at 100 kPa and 293.15K, thereby maintaining the ionically conducting electrolyte in a liquid phase (see LiBF4, [0154]); and
the salt and solidifying agent create a solid material at 100 kPa and 293.15K when the liquified gas solvent is vented from the mixture at 100 kPa and 293.15K (TABLE 1, [0154]);
wherein the solidifying agent is selected from the group consisting of: diphenyl sulfone, bis(4-fluorophenyl) sulfone, dimethyl sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, butadiene sulfone, 1,3-propanesultone, 1-propene-1,3-sultone, 2-bornanone, 2,3-borananedione, 2-norbornanone, or any combination thereof (see 1,3-propane sultone, [0154]);
a molar ratio of the salt to the solidifying agent is between 0.1:1 and 1:5 (TABLE 1, [0154]); and
wherein the solidifying agent is coordinated to a cation of the salt in the solid material (TABLE 1, [0154]).
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Zhamu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical device:
wherein the salt is selected from a group consisting of: LiTFSI, LiFSI, LiPF6, LiBOB, LiBF4, LiDFOB, LiNO3, or any combination thereof (see LiBF4, [0154]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, and 5–9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725