DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 5-9, 12 and 14-18 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nardi et al. (US PGPUB No. 2020/0401534) [hereinafter “Nardi”] in view of Lin et al. (US PGPUB No. 2008/0062802) [hereinafter “Lin”] in further view of Gupta et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0291541) [hereinafter “Gupta”].
As per claim 1, Nardi teaches a system for configuring a data structure in a nonvolatile memory module, comprising: a non-transitory memory having instructions stored thereon; a processor configured to execute the instructions to perform an operation on a nonvolatile memory (NVM) module, wherein the NVM module includes at least one memory cell comprising two transistors coupled to each other such that a logic value is stored in a complementary manner ([0040], logical values stored in bits which may be implemented as transistors see [0079]), the operation including: encrypting the at least one memory cell by generating a cipher text (CT) by performing an XOR operation on plain text (PT) stored in the at least one memory cell ([0038], XOR operation performed on plaintext and key), and performing the XOR operation on a corresponding key ([0038], XOR operation performed on plaintext and key); or (Examiner Note: “and/or” is interpreted as “or” thus the following “decrypting” feature is optional) decrypting cipher text (CT) of the at least one memory cell by applying a read voltage pattern to the two transistors, the read voltage pattern being based on a key (Examiner Note: to expedite prosecution, this optional feature if included as a required feature, i.e. changing “and/or” to “and”, could overcome the current rejection).
Nardi does not explicitly teach two transistors so as to form complementary threshold voltage states. Lin teaches two transistors so as to form complementary threshold voltage states (Fig. 1 and [0002], describing conventionally how SRAM uses transistors to form complimentary voltage states on two bit lines).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Nardi with the teachings of Lin, two transistors so as to form complementary threshold voltage states, to implement the properties required of a memory cell.
The combination of Nardi and Lin does not explicitly teach the operation as an in-situ operation of encrypting and decrypting (Examiner Note: Examiner’s understanding based on the specification, see [0057], is that “in-situ” means encrypting/decrypting at the memory cell directly – without sending to an external module). Gupta teaches the operation as an in-situ operation of encrypting and decrypting ([0023], client is equipped with an accelerator to perform in-memory operations that include encrypting/decrypting data and encoding/decoding data – also described as “in-situ” see Abstract and [0009]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Nardi with the teachings of Lin, the operation as an in-situ operation of encrypting and decrypting, to improve performance be reducing latency associated with external encryption and encoding.
As per claim 3, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the two transistors are field-effect-transistors (Nardi; FETs) ([0105], MOS field-effect transistors).
As per claim 5, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the NVM module includes at least one memory block comprising plural memory cells (Nardi; [0034], memory array in NVM comprising plural memory cells see [0003]).
As per claim 6, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 5, wherein: the NVM module includes plural memory blocks, and each memory cell within an individual memory block is associated with a key (Nardi; [0091], associated key for an associated NVM memory module where the associated key is stored in a single or multiple cells – stored interpreted to be a type of association [0092]).
As per claim 7, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 5, wherein: the plural memory cells is arranged in an array (Nardi; [0034], arranging NVM as a memory cell array).
As per claim 8, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 7, wherein: the plural memory cells is arranged as an AND array, a NAND array, or a NOR array (Nardi; [0034], memory array as NAND OR NOR memory cores each with plural memory cells see [0003]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: after the CT, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the PT by sensing current when a signal representative of the key is applied to the at least one memory cell (Nardi; [0045], receiving signal which triggers key retrieval and XOR operation to generate plaintext).
As per claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 9. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi, Lin and Gupta in view of Tanikawa et al. (US PGPUB No. 2012/0163075) [hereinafter “Tanikawa”].
As per claim 2, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 1.
The combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein: the two transistors coupled to each other are two consecutively situated transistors. Tanikawa teaches wherein: the two transistors coupled to each other are two consecutively situated transistors ([0032], implementing serial transistors in memory storage).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Nardi, Lin and Gupta with the teachings of Tanikawa, wherein: the two transistors coupled to each other are two consecutively situated transistors, to provide a efficient way to store logical values on a NVM memory for other processing including encryption/decryption.
As per claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 10, 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi, Lin and Gupta in view of Weingarten (US PGPUB No. 2011/0246792).
As per claim 4, the combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta teaches the system of claim 3.
The combination of Nardi, Lin and Gupta does not explicitly teach decrypting cipher text (CT) of the at least one memory cell by applying a read voltage pattern to the two transistors, the read voltage pattern being based on a key. Weingarten teaches decrypting cipher text (CT) of the at least one memory cell by applying a read voltage pattern to the two transistors, the read voltage pattern being based on a key (Fig. 1 and [0030], decrypting information from a memory cell using a stream generated from a key that have a voltage pattern).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Nardi, Lin and Gupta with the teachings of Weingarten, decrypting cipher text (CT) of the at least one memory cell by applying a read voltage pattern to the two transistors, the read voltage pattern being based on a key, to provide a secure and efficient way to store logical values on a NVM memory for other processing including encryption/decryption.
As per claim 10, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the objection to claims 1, 4, 10, 13, 19 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive and in light of the new amendments, Examiner has introduced a new prior art reference, Gupta, to teach the new aspect of the claimed invention.
To further expedite prosecution, Examiner is open to conducting an interview to discuss other claim amendments to overcome this rejection and/or place this application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chou et al. (US Patent No. 12,504,895), Huang et al. (CN-115630406-A), Huang et al. (CN-120316790-A), Zhao et al. ("In-Situ Encrypted NAND FeFET Array for Secure Storage and Compute-in-Memory," 2023 International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2023, pp. 1-4, doi: 10.1109/IEDM45741.2023.10413774), Duan et al. ("Securing 3D NAND Without Density Loss via In-Situ Encryption Using a Single Transistor XOR Cell," 2025 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2025, pp. 1-4, doi: 10.1109/IEDM50572.2025.11353898) and Luo et al. ("Novel Ferroelectric Tunnel Fet-Based Computing-In-Memory with In-Situ XOR Cipher-Encrypted and-Type Multiply-Accumulate for Secure Edge AI," 2025 9th IEEE Electron Devices Technology & Manufacturing Conference (EDTM), Hong Kong, Hong Kong, 2025, pp. 1-3, doi: 10.1109/EDTM61175.2025.11041150) all disclose various aspects of the claimed invention including encryption/decryption using FET transistor read patterns.
/PETER C SHAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 April 2, 2026