DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to Japanese Patent Application No. 2023-092201, filed on 6/5/2023.
Claim Interpretation
Instances in the claims such as ‘an energization signal switching unit’, ‘a prohibition signal switching unit’, ‘a signal determination unit’, ‘a saving calculation unit ‘, ‘a power consumption storage unit’ etc. are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as incorporating a processor and other computer technology in accordance with [0043] of the specification/PGPub.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 3-6, 11-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 3, this claim recites ‘the electric device’ that lacks an antecedent basis. Note that while a number of electric devices were previously recited, no specific electric device was previously indicated.
With regard to claim 4, this claim recites ‘the electric device’ that lacks an antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 5, this claim recites ‘the electric device’ that lacks an antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 6, this claim recites ‘the electric device’ that lacks an antecedent basis.
The dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea (mental/mathematical process) of setting/detecting various parameters and calculating a power saving based on data.
Claim 1 recites a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized, i.e. a machine, which is a statutory category of invention. The claim recites:
an energization signal switching unit for switching an energization signal set for each of the electric devices between an energization required state in which energization of the electric device is required, and an energization non-required state in which energization is not required;
a prohibition signal switching unit for switching an energization prohibition signal set for each of the electric devices between a prohibited state in which energization of the electric device is prohibited, and a permitted state in which energization is permitted;
a signal determination unit that determines whether or not each of the electric devices is in a power saving state in which the energization signal for the electric device is in the energization required state and the energization prohibition signal is in the prohibited state; and
a saving calculation unit that determines a cumulative duration of the power saving state, computes a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices on the basis of the cumulative duration, and calculates a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings that may be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea (mental processes), see MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, i.e. a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and various ‘units’ (applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C) do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Note that machine tools having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized are well-understood, routine and conventional, see for example Mukai U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170155354 [0004], Craft et al. U.S. Patent No. 6671572 [col. 3 lines 14-23] or Kawamura et al. U.S. Patent No. 4684861 [col. 1].
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and various ‘units’ (applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C) are not considered significantly more. Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 recites ‘the signal determination unit determines whether or not the power saving state is established for each of the electric devices by monitoring the energization signal and the energization prohibition signal’ (insignificant extra-solution elements – mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05 I A, MPEP 2106.05(g) MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 3 recites the prohibition signal switching unit sets the energization prohibition signal in the prohibited state in relation to the electric device associated with a predetermined macro program on condition that the predetermined macro program is currently underway (mental process that relates to applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 4 recites a motor that serves as the electric device (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)), wherein the prohibition signal switching unit switches the energization prohibition signal to the prohibited state, in which energization for exciting the motor is prohibited, on condition that the motor is not rotating (mental process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 5 recites the prohibition signal switching unit switches the energization prohibition signal for the electric device to the prohibited state on condition (mental process) that a product discharge operation is currently underway or a tool other than a rotary tool has been selected (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 6 recites a spindle having a chuck for gripping a workpiece, and a spindle motor that serves as the electric device for rotating the spindle (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)), wherein the prohibition signal switching unit switches the energization prohibition signal for the spindle motor to the prohibited state on condition that the spindle is positioned in a predetermined position or the chuck is open (mental process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites a power consumption storage unit that stores, for each of the electric devices, an average power consumption per unit time while the electric device is energized (applying the exception with generic computer technology, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C), wherein the saving calculation unit computes the device-specific power saving by multiplying the average power consumption by the cumulative duration (mental/mathematical process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 8 recites a momentary power saving display instruction unit that displays, as a momentary power saving, a power (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)) obtained by adding together the average power consumptions of the electric devices determined by the signal determination unit to be in the power saving state, among the plurality of electric devices (mental/mathematical process). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 9 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 10 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 11 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 13 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 14 recites a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 15 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 16 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 17 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 19 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 20 recites a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes (insignificant extra-solution activity — see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III A regarding displaying information and MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus this claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim 21 recites a method for calculating a power saving of a machine tool, i.e. a process, which is a statutory category of invention. The claim recites:
an energization signal detection step for detecting, for each of the electric devices, whether an energization signal is in an energization required state in which energization is required, or an energization non-required state in which energization is not required;
a prohibition signal detection step for detecting, for each of the electric devices, whether an energization prohibition signal is in a prohibited state in which energization is prohibited, or a permitted state in which energization is permitted;
a signal determination step for determining whether or not each of the electric devices is in a power saving state in which, in the energization signal detection step and the prohibition signal detection step, the energization signal and the energization prohibition signal for the electric device are respectively in the energization required state and the prohibited state;
a saving calculation step for determining a cumulative duration of the power saving state, computing a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices on the basis of the cumulative duration, and calculating a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings that may be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea (mental/mathematical processes), see MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, i.e. a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)) do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized (generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, see MPEP 2106.05(h)) are not considered significantly more. Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 15-16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140180466 (hereinafter Kato) in view of the English translation of Ikegami et al. Japanese Patent Publication No. 2004053103, published 2/19/2004 (hereinafter Ikegami).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized [0001 — a numerical control (hereinafter referred to as NC) apparatus; 0019-0024, Fig. 1 — FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a configuration of an NC apparatus 100 according to Embodiment 1 of the invention. The NC apparatus 100, which controls the operation of a machine tool (not shown in the figure) and peripheral devices 114… for controlling a peripheral device (coolant, chip conveyor, light, etc.) for which a power amount needs to be calculated… a servo control unit, so that a servo motor is driven and machining is started], the machine tool comprising:
an energization signal switching unit for switching an energization signal set for each of the electric devices between an energization required state in which energization of the electric device is required, and an energization non-required state in which energization is not required [0021 — PLC processing unit 106 has a function of processing a sequence program which controls the machine operation and the peripheral devices 114, and controls the peripheral devices 114 by turning on (energization required) and off the I/O control signal (an input signal 107, an output signal 108) based on the notification on the execution state of the machining program (auxiliary command notification) from the machining program analyzing section 105.];
a prohibition signal switching unit for switching an energization prohibition signal set for each of the electric devices between a prohibited state in which energization of the electric device is prohibited, and a permitted state in which energization is permitted [0025-0027, Fig. 4 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 is operated as shown in FIG. 4. Namely, the state monitoring section 110 in Step 1 monitors I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106, and when the state in an I/O control signal is changed (for example, when Y0A0 is turned on) … When there is a state change in the I/O control signal in Step 4, for example, M101 command (discharge termination (coolant off) command) shown in FIG. 2 is executed, the process proceeds to Step 5, and counting of the operating time is stopped, and the power amount calculating section 111 is notified of the counted operating time… even in a state in which M101 (coolant on) command is stated, but M102 (coolant off) command is not stated (left forgotten to be written), and the coolant is being discharged after machining is completed, the discharge of the coolant is terminated (energization prohibition signal) after the predetermined time elapses.];
a signal determination unit that determines whether or not each of the electric devices is in a power saving state in which the energization signal for the electric device is in the energization required state and the energization prohibition signal is in the prohibited state [0025-0027, Fig. 4 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 is operated as shown in FIG. 4. Namely, the state monitoring section 110 in Step 1 monitors I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106, and when the state in an I/O control signal is changed (for example, when Y0A0 is turned on) … When there is a state change in the I/O control signal in Step 4, for example, M101 command (discharge termination (coolant off) command) shown in FIG. 2 is executed, the process proceeds to Step 5, and counting of the operating time is stopped, and the power amount calculating section 111 is notified of the counted operating time… even in a state in which M101 (coolant on) command is stated, but M102 (coolant off) command is not stated (left forgotten to be written), and the coolant is being discharged after machining is completed, the discharge of the coolant is terminated (energization prohibition signal – power saving state) after the predetermined time elapses]; and
a calculation unit that determines a cumulative duration of the power state, computes a device-specific power for each of the electric devices on the basis of the cumulative duration, and calculates a power by adding together the device-specific power [0022 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of monitoring I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106 which are set in the parameters 103, and calculates the operating time when there are running peripheral devices 114, and also has a function of stopping the peripheral devices 114 through the PLC processing unit 106 if they are running after machining is completed. A power amount calculating section 111 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of calculating power consumptions of the peripheral devices 114 based on the operating time calculated in the state monitoring section 110 and a consumption power (W) set in the parameters 103, and also carries out processing to sum up the calculated power consumptions for each group set in the parameters 103. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumptions obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109, and displays the power consumption amount of the entire machine and the power consumption amount for each group; 0028 — the power amount calculating section 111, which is notified of the counted operating time from the state monitoring section 110 (duration), reads from among the parameters 103 the power consumption (W) corresponding to the device (I/O control signal) for which the operating time is notified, and obtains a power consumption amount for each peripheral device by calculating the power consumption (W) x the operating time, and then stores the result in the storage unit 101. Furthermore, referring to the group numbers stored in the parameters 103, it sums up the power consumption amounts for the same group. In addition, by correlating the calculated power consumption amount of each peripheral device with the sequence number of the machining program, the power amount calculating section 111 can also display how the power consumption amount for each peripheral device changes as the machining program is executed. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumption amount obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109. For example, it can display the power consumption amount for the entire machine or on a group basis].
But Kato fails to clearly specify a saving calculation unit that computes a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices, and calculates a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings.
However, Ikegami teaches a machine tool comprising electric devices [0024, Fig. 1 — The service system 100 is a system that is provided in the factory F and provides an effect-saving type energy-saving service to the user U. This effect-saving energy-saving service means that the user U has the advantage of the energy-saving effect comparing the energy-saving effect before and after the energy-saving improvement to the user U. This means a service that takes measures such as notifying the manufacturers M1 and M2 of a lack of merit when the merit guaranteed in advance cannot be achieved. In the factory F, an air conditioner 1, a machine tool 2] and a saving calculation unit that computes a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices, and calculates a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings [0028 — The energy saving effect confirmation device 6 is a device that confirms and outputs the energy saving effect compared to before the energy saving improvement. As shown in FIG. 2, the energy saving effect confirmation device 6 includes a first detection unit 60, a second detection unit 61, a third detection unit 64, a fourth detection unit 65, a breakdown calculation unit 66, and an output unit 67; 0038 — First, in step S1 shown in FIG. 3, a direct power reduction amount which is a reduction amount of power consumption of the machine tool 2 itself is calculated. Step S1 is composed of step S11 and step S12. In step S11, the power consumption of the machine tool 2 after the energy saving improvement is obtained from the energy management device 4; 0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Kato and Ikegami are analogous art. They relate to machine tool control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kato teaches the signal determination unit determines whether or not the power saving state is established for each of the electric devices by monitoring the energization signal and the energization prohibition signal [0025-0027, Fig. 4 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 is operated as shown in FIG. 4. Namely, the state monitoring section 110 in Step 1 monitors I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106, and when the state in an I/O control signal is changed (for example, when Y0A0 is turned on) … When there is a state change in the I/O control signal in Step 4, for example, M101 command (discharge termination (coolant off) command) shown in FIG. 2 is executed, the process proceeds to Step 5, and counting of the operating time is stopped, and the power amount calculating section 111 is notified of the counted operating time… even in a state in which M101 (coolant on) command is stated, but M102 (coolant off) command is not stated (left forgotten to be written), and the coolant is being discharged after machining is completed, the discharge of the coolant is terminated (energization prohibition signal – power saving state) after the predetermined time elapses].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ikegami teaches a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit [0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ikegami teaches a device-specific power saving display instruction unit that displays, for each of the electric devices, the device-specific power saving computed by the saving calculation unit [0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ikegami teaches a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes [0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ikegami teaches a graph display instruction unit that displays a graph having the power saving calculated by the saving calculation unit and the elapsed time as axes [0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Regarding claim 21, Kato teaches a method for calculating a power saving of a machine tool having a plurality of electric devices that consume power while energized [0001 — a method for calculating power consumption of a numerical control (hereinafter referred to as NC) apparatus; 0019-0024, Fig. 1 — FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a configuration of an NC apparatus 100 according to Embodiment 1 of the invention. The NC apparatus 100, which controls the operation of a machine tool (not shown in the figure) and peripheral devices 114… for controlling a peripheral device (coolant, chip conveyor, light, etc.) for which a power amount needs to be calculated… a servo control unit, so that a servo motor is driven and machining is started], the method comprising:
an energization signal detection step for detecting, for each of the electric devices, whether an energization signal is in an energization required state in which energization is required, or an energization non-required state in which energization is not required [0021 — PLC processing unit 106 has a function of processing a sequence program which controls the machine operation and the peripheral devices 114, and controls the peripheral devices 114 by turning on (energization required) and off the I/O control signal (an input signal 107, an output signal 108) based on the notification on the execution state of the machining program (auxiliary command notification) from the machining program analyzing section 105];
a prohibition signal detection step for detecting, for each of the electric devices, whether an energization prohibition signal is in a prohibited state in which energization is prohibited, or a permitted state in which energization is permitted [0025-0027, Fig. 4 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 is operated as shown in FIG. 4. Namely, the state monitoring section 110 in Step 1 monitors I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106, and when the state in an I/O control signal is changed (for example, when Y0A0 is turned on) … When there is a state change in the I/O control signal in Step 4, for example, M101 command (discharge termination (coolant off) command) shown in FIG. 2 is executed, the process proceeds to Step 5, and counting of the operating time is stopped, and the power amount calculating section 111 is notified of the counted operating time… even in a state in which M101 (coolant on) command is stated, but M102 (coolant off) command is not stated (left forgotten to be written), and the coolant is being discharged after machining is completed, the discharge of the coolant is terminated (energization prohibition signal) after the predetermined time elapses];
a signal determination step for determining whether or not each of the electric devices is in a power saving state in which, in the energization signal detection step and the prohibition signal detection step, the energization signal and the energization prohibition signal for the electric device are respectively in the energization required state and the prohibited state [0025-0027, Fig. 4 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 is operated as shown in FIG. 4. Namely, the state monitoring section 110 in Step 1 monitors I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106, and when the state in an I/O control signal is changed (for example, when Y0A0 is turned on) … When there is a state change in the I/O control signal in Step 4, for example, M101 command (discharge termination (coolant off) command) shown in FIG. 2 is executed, the process proceeds to Step 5, and counting of the operating time is stopped, and the power amount calculating section 111 is notified of the counted operating time… even in a state in which M101 (coolant on) command is stated, but M102 (coolant off) command is not stated (left forgotten to be written), and the coolant is being discharged after machining is completed, the discharge of the coolant is terminated (energization prohibition signal – power saving state) after the predetermined time elapses]; and
a calculation step for determining a cumulative duration of the power state, computing a device-specific power for each of the electric devices on the basis of the cumulative duration, and calculating a power by adding together the device-specific power [0022 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of monitoring I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106 which are set in the parameters 103, and calculates the operating time when there are running peripheral devices 114, and also has a function of stopping the peripheral devices 114 through the PLC processing unit 106 if they are running after machining is completed. A power amount calculating section 111 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of calculating power consumptions of the peripheral devices 114 based on the operating time calculated in the state monitoring section 110 and a consumption power (W) set in the parameters 103, and also carries out processing to sum up the calculated power consumptions for each group set in the parameters 103. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumptions obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109, and displays the power consumption amount of the entire machine and the power consumption amount for each group; 0028 — the power amount calculating section 111, which is notified of the counted operating time from the state monitoring section 110 (duration), reads from among the parameters 103 the power consumption (W) corresponding to the device (I/O control signal) for which the operating time is notified, and obtains a power consumption amount for each peripheral device by calculating the power consumption (W) x the operating time, and then stores the result in the storage unit 101. Furthermore, referring to the group numbers stored in the parameters 103, it sums up the power consumption amounts for the same group. In addition, by correlating the calculated power consumption amount of each peripheral device with the sequence number of the machining program, the power amount calculating section 111 can also display how the power consumption amount for each peripheral device changes as the machining program is executed. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumption amount obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109. For example, it can display the power consumption amount for the entire machine or on a group basis].
But Kato fails to clearly specify a method for calculating a power saving of a machine tool and a saving calculation step for determining a power saving state, computing a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices, and calculating a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings.
However, Ikegami teaches a method for calculating a power saving of a machine tool [0001 — an energy saving effect checking device and an energy saving effect checking method; 0024, Fig. 1 — The service system 100 is a system that is provided in the factory F and provides an effect-saving type energy-saving service to the user U. This effect-saving energy-saving service means that the user U has the advantage of the energy-saving effect comparing the energy-saving effect before and after the energy-saving improvement to the user U. This means a service that takes measures such as notifying the manufacturers M1 and M2 of a lack of merit when the merit guaranteed in advance cannot be achieved. In the factory F, an air conditioner 1, a machine tool 2] and a saving calculation step for determining a power saving state, computing a device-specific power saving for each of the electric devices, and calculating a power saving by adding together the device-specific power savings [0028 — The energy saving effect confirmation device 6 is a device that confirms and outputs the energy saving effect compared to before the energy saving improvement. As shown in FIG. 2, the energy saving effect confirmation device 6 includes a first detection unit 60, a second detection unit 61, a third detection unit 64, a fourth detection unit 65, a breakdown calculation unit 66, and an output unit 67; 0038 — First, in step S1 shown in FIG. 3, a direct power reduction amount which is a reduction amount of power consumption of the machine tool 2 itself is calculated. Step S1 is composed of step S11 and step S12. In step S11, the power consumption of the machine tool 2 after the energy saving improvement is obtained from the energy management device 4; 0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Kato and Ikegami are analogous art. They relate to machine tool control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kato and Ikegami in view of Dittmer et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160061869 (hereinafter Dittmer).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kato and Ikegami teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Kato teaches a power consumption storage unit that stores, for each of the electric devices, a power consumption per unit time while the electric device is energized, wherein the calculation unit computes the device-specific power by multiplying the power consumption by the duration [0022 — state monitoring section 110 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of monitoring I/O control signals of the PLC processing unit 106 which are set in the parameters 103, and calculates the operating time when there are running peripheral devices 114, and also has a function of stopping the peripheral devices 114 through the PLC processing unit 106 if they are running after machining is completed. A power amount calculating section 111 in the power consumption amount processing unit 109 has a function of calculating power consumptions of the peripheral devices 114 based on the operating time calculated in the state monitoring section 110 and a consumption power (W) set in the parameters 103, and also carries out processing to sum up the calculated power consumptions for each group set in the parameters 103. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumptions obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109, and displays the power consumption amount of the entire machine and the power consumption amount for each group; 0028 — the power amount calculating section 111, which is notified of the counted operating time from the state monitoring section 110 (duration), reads from among the parameters 103 the power consumption (W) corresponding to the device (I/O control signal) for which the operating time is notified, and obtains a power consumption amount for each peripheral device by calculating the power consumption (W) x the operating time, and then stores the result in the storage unit 101. Furthermore, referring to the group numbers stored in the parameters 103, it sums up the power consumption amounts for the same group. In addition, by correlating the calculated power consumption amount of each peripheral device with the sequence number of the machining program, the power amount calculating section 111 can also display how the power consumption amount for each peripheral device changes as the machining program is executed. The display unit 115 has a function of displaying the power consumption amount obtained by the power consumption amount processing unit 109. For example, it can display the power consumption amount for the entire machine or on a group basis].
Further, Ikegami teaches the saving calculation unit computes the device-specific power saving [0028 — The energy saving effect confirmation device 6 is a device that confirms and outputs the energy saving effect compared to before the energy saving improvement. As shown in FIG. 2, the energy saving effect confirmation device 6 includes a first detection unit 60, a second detection unit 61, a third detection unit 64, a fourth detection unit 65, a breakdown calculation unit 66, and an output unit 67; 0038 — First, in step S1 shown in FIG. 3, a direct power reduction amount which is a reduction amount of power consumption of the machine tool 2 itself is calculated. Step S1 is composed of step S11 and step S12. In step S11, the power consumption of the machine tool 2 after the energy saving improvement is obtained from the energy management device 4; 0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
But the combination of Kato and Ikegami fails to clearly specify an average power consumption per unit time.
However, Dittmer teaches an average power consumption per unit time while the electric device is energized, wherein the calculation unit computes the device-specific power by multiplying the average power consumption by the duration [0068 — an actual energy consumption E1, that is, the average power PM consumed in that time period multiplied by the duration time T].
Kato, Ikegami and Dittmer are analogous art. Kato and Ikegami relate to machine tool control systems and Kato, Ikegami and Dittmer relate to power management of machines.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known average power consumption of Dittmer for the known power consumption of Kato and Ikegami for the predictable result of a machine tool that calculates power using an average power consumption.
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Kato, Ikegami and Dittmer teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ikegami teaches a momentary power saving display instruction unit that displays, as a momentary power saving, a power obtained by adding together the power consumptions of the electric devices determined by the signal determination unit to be in the power saving state, among the plurality of electric devices [0028 — The energy saving effect confirmation device 6 is a device that confirms and outputs the energy saving effect compared to before the energy saving improvement. As shown in FIG. 2, the energy saving effect confirmation device 6 includes a first detection unit 60, a second detection unit 61, a third detection unit 64, a fourth detection unit 65, a breakdown calculation unit 66, and an output unit 67; 0038 — First, in step S1 shown in FIG. 3, a direct power reduction amount which is a reduction amount of power consumption of the machine tool 2 itself is calculated. Step S1 is composed of step S11 and step S12. In step S11, the power consumption of the machine tool 2 after the energy saving improvement is obtained from the energy management device 4; 0042-0046, Fig. 8 — the breakdown of the energy saving effect is calculated. For example, the effect of energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is obtained… E1 is the effect of energy saving improvement for the machine tool 2, and is obtained by the sum of the direct power reduction amount kW1 and the air conditioner reduction amount (heat generation reduction amount) kW2. That is, the effect of the energy saving improvement on the machine tool 2 is evaluated by combining the direct power consumption reduction by the machine tool and the indirect power consumption reduction by the reduction of the load on the air conditioner… In the graph G1, the vertical axis represents the reduced power consumption as an energy saving effect, the horizontal axis represents time, and the energy saving effect from four hours ago to the present is represented by a bar graph every hour. is there. Further, the bar graph of each time is color-coded according to the breakdown of the energy saving effect. Here, the energy saving effect is directly reduced by the power consumption G10 of the machine tool 2, the reduced amount G11 of the power consumption of the air conditioner 1].
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above machine tool, as taught by Kato, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ikegami.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to accurately check energy savings including providing understanding of the energy savings breakdown, as suggested by Ikegami [0004-0006, 0010, 0060-0066].
Further, Dittmer teaches an average power [0068 — an actual energy consumption E1, that is, the average power PM consumed in that time period multiplied by the duration time T].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito et al. U.S. Patent No. 6526360 that discloses a power consumption display device for a machine tool.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119