Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Aya et al. (JP2009082207, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Aya discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 5, 6, a microneedle manufacturing method (page 1, lines 12-15), comprising:
applying a raw material (item 16 in Figs. 5(a), (b) and (c) (polymer solution (page 10, lines 578-579))) containing active pharmaceutical ingredients on one or more concave portions formed in a microneedle mold (i.e., page 6, lines 333-335(i.e., drug is dissolved in the polymer solution)); and
pressurizing the raw material at an internal pressure of a pressurizing chamber to fill microstructures of the one or more concave portions with the raw material while loading the microneedle mold, on which the raw material is applied, into a pressurizing chamber (e.g., as shown in Fig. 6, the solution of the polymer resin is pressurized in the pressure vessel by the pressurized fluid at a pressure of 0.01 MPa to 5 MPa (page 2, lines 95-97)),
wherein the pressurizing of the raw material includes: simultaneously performing injection and discharge of air into and from the pressurizing chamber to create an air flow inside the pressurizing chamber (page 7, lines 377-384) and to simultaneously perform a filling of the one or more concave portions with the raw material (page 7, lines 386-387) and a drying of the raw material (page 2, lines 87-88 (i.e., after pressurizing and filling, drying/solidifying)).
Regarding claim 6, Aya discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, the shape of the microneedles (fine projections) 22 formed on the microneedle sheet is as follows: (1) the tip is sufficiently sharp (page 4, lines 213-214). As illustrated in Fig. 3(c), the concave portions 15 of the mold sheet 13 (page 10, line 578) for forming the microneedles are provided independently of each other.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Aya et al. (JP2009082207, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 7, Aya discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 4, 5, 7, a microneedle manufacturing method (page 1, lines 12-15), comprising:
placing a plurality of microneedle molds (item 13 in Fig. 4 (page 10, line 578)) on at least one jig (item 17 in Fig. 4(b) (page 10, line 579));
applying a raw material (item 16 in Figs. 5(a), (b) and (c) (polymer solution (page 10, lines 578-579))) containing active pharmaceutical ingredients on one or more concave portions formed in a microneedle mold (i.e., page 6, lines 333-335(i.e., drug is dissolved in the polymer solution));
fixing the at least one jig to a tray (item 51 in Fig. 7 (page 10, line 581)); and
pressurizing the raw material at an internal pressure of a pressurizing chamber to fill microstructures of the one or more concave portions with the raw material while loading the microneedle mold, on which the raw material is applied, into a pressurizing chamber (e.g., as shown in Fig. 6, the solution of the polymer resin is pressurized in the pressure vessel by the pressurized fluid at a pressure of 0.01 MPa to 5 MPa (page 2, lines 95-97)),
wherein the pressurizing of the raw material includes: simultaneously performing injection and discharge of air into and from the pressurizing chamber to create an air flow inside the pressurizing chamber (page 7, lines 377-384) and to simultaneously perform a filling of the one or more concave portions with the raw material (page 7, lines 386-387) and a drying of the raw material (page 2, lines 87-88 (i.e., after pressurizing and filling, drying/solidifying)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aya et al. (JP2009082207, English translation provided).
Regarding claims 2, 3, Aya discloses that, as shown in Fig. 6, the solution of the polymer resin is pressurized in the pressure vessel by the pressurized fluid at a pressure of 0.01 MPa to 5 MPa (page 2, lines 95-97) (overlapping the claimed ranges in claim 3). The pressure vessel 30 has an inlet 34 for supplying a fluid from an end of the container and a fluid outlet 35 provided with a cock 36 for returning to atmospheric pressure (or 1.0 bar) (page 7, lines 364-365) (overlapping the claimed ranges in claims 2, 3). The fluid used for pressurization may be a gas or a liquid. When the pressurized fluid is a gas, air is generally used (page 7, lines 377-380).
For one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Aya et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aya et al. (JP2009082207, English translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0001516) and Omachi et al. (US 10,668,260).
Regarding claims 4, 5, Aya discloses the process of manufacturing the mold sheet 13 in Figs. 3(a), (b), and (c). However, Aya does not explicitly disclose the microneedle mold is manufactured by injection molding a thermoplastic resin.
In the same field of endeavor, microneedle array, as illustrated in Figs. 6, 7, 8, 9, 14, Chai discloses that, in order to achieve the object, a production method of a mold having a recessed pedestal pattern comprises: preparing an insert mold, preparing a mold including a first mold provided with a protruding pedestal shape and a second mold, a holding step of holding the insert mold and the mold together, a clamping step of performing clamping with the first mold and the second mold to form a cavity; and an injection step of filling the cavity with a resin ([0009]).
In the same field of endeavor, microneedle patch, Omachi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, using this matrix 7, a thermoplastic resin 9 is pressed while being heated to form a resin molding die 10 for the microneedle patch 1. Examples of the usable thermoplastic resin include, …, a polyester-based thermoplastic elastomer, …, a polypropylene resin, …, a vinyl chloride resin, … (col. 10, lines 42-50) (related to claim 5).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Aya to have the process of manufacturing the mold sheet for forming a microneedle array as Chai and Omachi teaches that it is known to have the microneedle mold is manufactured by injection molding a thermoplastic resin, such as a polypropylene resin. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aya et al. (JP2009082207, English translation provided).
Regarding claims 8, 9, Aya discloses that, as shown in Fig. 7, the solution of the polymer resin is pressurized in the pressure vessel by the pressurized fluid at a pressure of 0.01 MPa to 5 MPa (page 2, lines 95-97) (overlapping the claimed ranges in claim 9). The pressure vessel 30 has an inlet 34 for supplying a fluid from an end of the container and a fluid outlet 35 provided with a cock 36 for returning to atmospheric pressure (or 1.0 bar) (page 7, lines 364-365 and lines 405-415) (overlapping the claimed ranges in claims 8, 9). The fluid used for pressurization may be a gas or a liquid. When the pressurized fluid is a gas, air is generally used (page 7, lines 377-380).
For one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Aya et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741