DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 1-4, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims under Schomer have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jahns et al. (US 20170185818), herein Jahns’17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schomer et al. (DE 102015103439 A1) [IDS dated 05/31/2024], herein Schomer in view of Jahns et al. (US 20170185818 A1), herein Jahns’17.
The Examiner has previously provided a machine translation of (DE 102015103439 A1) with a reproduction of the table on the last page. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
In regards to claims 1, 3-4 and 8, Schomer teaches a method increasing the translucency of a partially sintered zirconia ceramic dental blank for CAD/CAM processing [0001-0003]. The zirconia for dental application is stabilized by 4-6 wt% Y2O3 and by example about 3.6 mol% Y2O3 [0004, Table parts 1.1 and 1.3]. The zirconia is dipped to a solution comprising yttrium acetate dissolved in water solution [0011, 0014-0015, 0018, 0022-0023]. After dipping, the blank is dried [0023]. The blank is then sintered (i.e., heat treated) [0024].
Schomer differs from claim 1 by teaching yttrium acetate in a list of possible yttrium salts, such that it cannot be said that yttrium acetate the species is anticipated.
However, it would have been obvious of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed any of the yttrium salts taught by Schomer, including yttrium acetate. The motivation for doing so is that the “selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [supports] a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07.
Schomer does not teach the range of specific surface area of the zirconia mill blank.
Jahns’17 teaches a treatment for dental ceramics which involves applying a liquid composition to a porous dental zirconia article [Title, Abstract]. Jahn teaches the pre-sintered porous dental zirconia blanks have a specific surface area of from about 3 to about 14 m2/g [0169, 0173]. This overlaps the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have ensured the specific surface area of the blank is within the range of conventionally known zirconia dental blanks taught by Jahns’17 as such one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 2, Schomer further teaches the density of the zirconia blank is 3.09 g/cm3 [0023]. The density of a fully dense 6.093 g/cm3 as set forth in the Instant Spec [0115], thus the relative density is 50%.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schomer et al. (DE 102015103439 A1) [IDS dated 05/31/2024], herein Schomer, in view of Jahns et al. (US 20170185818 A1), herein Jahns’17, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Herrmann et al. (US 20150223917 A1), herein Herrmann.
In regards to claim 5, Schomer fails to teach or suggest that the solution further contains a water-soluble cerium-compound.
Herrmann teaches coloring solutions for zirconia ceramics, such a Y-TZP [Title, Abstract, 0073].
Herrmann expressly teaches that water soluble cerium salt compounds are added to the solutions [0119]. The cerium salt compounds are added to the solution to help mimic the color and transparency of a natural tooth [0008, 0074].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added the water soluble cerium salt compounds of Herrmann to the solution of Schomer. One would have been motivated to do so to help mimic the color and transparency of a natural tooth. Further, as Herrmann teaches that the cerium compounds are conventionally known additions to coloring/translucency solution one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Schomer et al. (DE 102015103439 A1) [IDS dated 05/31/2024], herein Schomer, in view of Jahns et al. (US 20170185818 A1), herein Jahns’17, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masahiro et al. (JP 2019156769 A), herein Masahiro.
The Examiner has previously provided a machine translation of (JP 2019156769 A). The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
In regards to claims 5-6, Schomer further teaches the solution contains an alcohol [0022].
Schomer fails to teach or suggest that the solution further contains a water-soluble cerium-compound and a vegetable oil.
Masahiro teaches a solution for coloring a zirconia ceramic dental blank [lines 14-17, 73-81].
Masahiro expressly teaches that the solution comprises a water-soluble cerium-compound, vegetable oil and a water soluble rare-earth compound [lines 198-208]. Masahiro teaches application of the solution imparts fluorescence to the prosthetic without discoloration [lines 119-122, 171-173].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added the water soluble cerium salt compounds and vegetable oil of Masahiro to the solution of Schomer. One would have been motivated to do so to help mimic the color and transparency of a natural tooth by imparting fluorescence to the blank. Further, as Masahiro teaches that the cerium compounds and vegetable oil are conventionally known additions to a coloring/translucency solution one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schomer et al. (DE 102015103439 A1) [IDS dated 05/31/2024], herein Schomer, in view of Jahns et al. (US 20170185818 A1), herein Jahns’17, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hauptmann et al. (US 20150238291 A1), herein Hauptmann.
In regards to claim 7, Schomer further teaches the zirconia blanks are for CAD/CAM machining and are sintered, but does not expressly teach that the shaped dental articles are sintered [0002, 0024].
Hauptman teaches a process of producing a zirconia dental article comprising the steps of providing a dental mill blank comprising a porous pre-sintered zirconia material, placing the dental mill blank in a machining device, machining the porous zirconia material into a dental article and then sintering the machined porous dental article [Abstract, 0045, 0047, 0259, 0264, 00274, claim 12]. By “machining” is meant milling, grinding, drilling, cutting, carving, or subtractive shaping a material by a machine. Milling is usually faster and more cost effective than grinding [0047]. The cutting is done in dry conditions [0260].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have dry cut the blank of Schomer into a dental article and then firing the dental article as taught by Hauptman. One would have been motivated to do as it would have been the use of known processing steps to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784