DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/19/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/18/2024 has been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 05/31/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. [US 2018/0356674], in view of Zhang et al. [US 2022/0210931].
Regarding claims 1-2, Son et al., disclose a bottom cover system (10, figures 1-14) for a display device (10, figures 1-9) comprising:
a bottom cover system frame (202, figure 2), the bottom cover system frame being configured to extend substantially around a periphery of the display device (figures 1-2); and
a bottom cover component (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component being physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component having a rectangular bottom cover component area (figures 1-2), the rectangular bottom cover area being less than an area of a rectangular area of the display device (figure 2).
Son et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the bottom cover component is physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame via a bottom cover component fastening device, and the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet mounted on the bottom cover system frame, the magnet physically coupling the bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame.
Zhang et al., disclose a display device (figures 1-7) comprising a bottom cover system frame (10, figure 7), wherein the bottom cover system frame is physically coupled to at least one bottom cover component (20, figure 7) via a bottom cover component fastener device, wherein the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet (52, figure 7) mounted on the bottom cover system frame, and the magnet is physically coupled the at least one bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame (51, figure 7).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a bottom cover component fastening device between the bottom cover system frame and the bottom cover component in a display device of Son et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., in order to secure and prevent vibration between a bottom cover component and a bottom cover system frame in a display device.
Regarding claim 4, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame comprises an exterior edge portion (200, figure 2), an optical sheets support portion (204c, figure 2) and a main housing portion (an extension portion includes a coupling element 210, figure 2) positioned between the exterior edge portion and the optical sheets portion.
Regarding claim 5, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the optical sheets support portion is configured to extend along a side of a rectangular display device portion (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame further comprises a bottom cover support portion (an edge portion 204c, figure 2), the bottom cover support portion being configured to extend along a side of the rectangular bottom cover component area (figure 2).
Regarding claims 7-8, Son et al., disclose a display device (10, figures 1-14) comprising:
a display component (320, figures 1-9); and,
a bottom cover system, the bottom cover system comprising a bottom cover system frame (202, figure 2), the bottom cover system frame being configured to extend substantially around a periphery of the display device (figures 1-2); and
a bottom cover component (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component being physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component having a rectangular bottom cover component area (figures 1-2), the rectangular bottom cover area being less than an area of a rectangular area of the display device (figure 2).
Son et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the bottom cover component is physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame via a bottom cover component fastening device, and the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet mounted on the bottom cover system frame, the magnet physically coupling the bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame.
Zhang et al., disclose a display device (figures 1-7) comprising a bottom cover system frame (10, figure 7), wherein the bottom cover system frame is physically coupled to at least one bottom cover component (20, figure 7) via a bottom cover component fastener device, wherein the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet (52, figure 7) mounted on the bottom cover system frame, and the magnet is physically coupled the at least one bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame (51, figure 7).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a bottom cover component fastening device between the bottom cover system frame and the bottom cover component in a display device of Son et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., in order to secure and prevent vibration between a bottom cover component and a bottom cover system frame in a display device.
Regarding claim 10, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame comprises an exterior edge portion (200, figure 2), an optical sheets support portion (204c, figure 2) and a main housing portion (an extension portion includes a coupling element 210, figure 2) positioned between the exterior edge portion and the optical sheets portion.
Regarding claim 11, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the optical sheets support portion is configured to extend along a side of a rectangular display device portion (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame further comprises a bottom cover support portion (an edge portion 204c, figure 2), the bottom cover support portion being configured to extend along a side of the rectangular bottom cover component area (figure 2).
Regarding claims 13-14, Son et al., disclose a computer system (figures 1-14) comprising:
a processor (at least one processor mounted within a notebook 10, figure 1);
a data bus coupled to the processor (a plurality of data bus mounted on a mainboard to connect to the processor within a notebook, figure 1); and
a display device(10, figures 1-2), the display device comprising a display component (320, figure 2); and,
a bottom cover system, the bottom cover system comprising a bottom cover system frame (202, figure 2), the bottom cover system frame being configured to extend substantially around a periphery of the display device (figures 1-2); and
a bottom cover component (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component being physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame (310, figure 2), the bottom cover component having a rectangular bottom cover component area (figures 1-2), the rectangular bottom cover area being less than an area of a rectangular area of the display device (figure 2).
Official notice is taken that it is well-known in the art, a notebook comprises a motherboard, and the motherboard includes at least one processor and a plurality of data buses to connect to the processor which serve as the communication pathways connecting the processor to other components in the notebook.
Son et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the bottom cover component is physically coupled to the bottom cover system frame via a bottom cover component fastening device, and the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet mounted on the bottom cover system frame, the magnet physically coupling the bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame.
Zhang et al., disclose a display device (figures 1-7) comprising a bottom cover system frame (10, figure 7), wherein the bottom cover system frame is physically coupled to at least one bottom cover component (20, figure 7) via a bottom cover component fastener device, wherein the bottom cover component fastening device comprises a magnet (52, figure 7) mounted on the bottom cover system frame, and the magnet is physically coupled the at least one bottom cover component to the bottom cover system frame (51, figure 7).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a bottom cover component fastening device between the bottom cover system frame and the bottom cover component in a display device of Son et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., in order to secure and prevent vibration between a bottom cover component and a bottom cover system frame in a display device.
Regarding claim 16, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame comprises an exterior edge portion (200, figure 2), an optical sheets support portion (204c, figure 2) and a main housing portion (an extension portion includes a coupling element 210, figure 2) positioned between the exterior edge portion and the optical sheets portion.
Regarding claim 17, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the optical sheets support portion is configured to extend along a side of a rectangular display device portion (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Son et al., in view of Zhang et al., disclose wherein the bottom cover system frame further comprises a bottom cover support portion (an edge portion 204c, figure 2), the bottom cover support portion being configured to extend along a side of the rectangular bottom cover component area (figure 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
YOON et al. [US 2023/0009971] disclose display device;
Gu et al. [US 2014/0055976] disclose display device;
Oh et al. [US 2021/0373380] disclose display device;
Kim et al. [US 8,610,842] disclose display apparatus.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/Hung S. Bui/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
03/04/2026