DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on March 31, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending with, Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 14-15, and 18 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed March 31, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 31, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-20 under Kuwabara, in view of Chemali, Oetiker, Browning, Sisbot, and Crucs, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, Oetiker, Browning, Sisbot, Chemali, and Crucs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0371983 A1, to Ronning, et al (hereinafter referred to as Ronning; newly of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0142400 A1, to Kuwabara, et al (hereinafter referred to as Kuwabara; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Ronning discloses the features of a method (e.g. Paragraph [0005]; where a method is provided for assisting a user in parking a vehicle) comprising:
initiating, at a first time, parking configuration mode for a vehicle parked in a first position in a parking area (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0005], [0167]; where the system assist the user in parking a vehicle in a first parking location; and where a parking assist mode is entered when within a predetermined distance of the parking location; and where, if the memory does not have any recorded images stored and the location of the vehicle is determined to be the parking location, the user may be prompted to set up the parking assist feature);
generating for display, on a user interface of a device, at least one representation of a physical environment of the parking area, based on sensor data captured by at least one sensor (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0110]-[0111]; Figures 11B, 12; where the system can display a virtual representation of the proximity of the vehicle to the parking location by displaying a real time video captured by a camera);
receiving, via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area to be used as parking reference points for future parking of the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0071], [0156]-[0157], [0161]; where the navigation device may allow a user to store images of specific locations captured by the camera, which can include frequently visited locations such as a parking sport or garage space, and may be initiated by the user; and where the user may select a master image to be used by default for comparison; and where transient features may be deselected by the user), wherein
the one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment are representations of real-world objects (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0110]-[0111]; Figures 11B, 12; where the system can display a virtual representation of the proximity of the vehicle to the parking location by displaying a real time video captured by a camera);
determining and causing to be stored (a) first distance data based on a first set of distances and (b) location data associated with the parking area, wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location; and where the reference image is stored in memory);
initiating, at a second time, parking assist mode for assisting in parking the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0167], [0173]; where the system assist the user in parking a vehicle in a first parking location; and where a parking assist mode is entered when within a predetermined distance of the parking location; and where, if the memory does not have any recorded images stored and the location of the vehicle is determined to be the parking location, the user may be prompted to set up the parking assist feature; and where if the time of day in the images is significantly different than existing reference images, the camera may capture additional reference images to improve accuracy (i.e., detects, at a second time, the parking conditions and compares it to previous records)), wherein
the parking mode is initiated based at least in part on determining, based on the location data, that the vehicle is within a proximity of the parking area (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location; and where the reference image is stored in memory);
determining second distance data based on a second set of distances, wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraph [0175]; where the proximity detection may be performed by detecting features in the reference image and the comparison image, and matching the detected features to a set of coherent points, and filtering mismatched features and measuring an average distance between each pair or coherent points to determine a relative proximity and the trajectory may be calculated to determine the vehicle is angled to one side, or that the vehicle is too far to the right (i.e. second distance data for a different position)); and
based at least in part on comparing (a) the second distance data determined in the parking assist mode at the second time and (b) the stored first distance data generated in the parking configuration mode at the first time (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location):
generating for output, guidance information for parking the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0158], [0160]; where the reference image is stored in memory; and where, upon returning to the known location, the reference image may be compared to the live video feed or periodic images captured by the camera to determine the vehicle’s position relative to the ideal parking position, and guidance may be given to guide the driver in navigating to the parking spot), wherein
the guidance information comprises a suggested parking trajectory (e.g. Paragraphs [0111], [0166], [0175]-[0176]; Figures 11B, 12; where the guidance information can include a trajectory).
Kuwabara more explicitly teaches the features of receiving, via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area to be used as parking reference points for future parking of the vehicle in the first position.
Kuwabara, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a parking control method, where the operation terminal (5) includes a display, and an input interface, which receives an operation command from a user; and the operation terminal (5) requests the operator to input selection information of the target parking space for the vehicle, and requests operator inputting confirming the existence of a detected obstacle (e.g. Paragraphs [0028], [0032], [0056]; Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of receiving a user selection of an object in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to accurately of determination made by the operator (see at least Paragraph [0072] of Kuwabara).
Ronning does not disclose wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area; and wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
However, Kuwabara, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the information server (3) includes a storage device (32), which includes map information (33), parking lot information (34), and obstacle information (35); and obstacles including structures such as walls and pillars can be detected based on information acquired from the storage device (32), and ranging devices can detect the position, size, and distance to the object (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of determining distances to objects in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to avoid a detected obstacle (see at least Paragraph [0070] of Kuwabara).
Kuwabara further teaches the features of wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the information server (3) includes a storage device (32), which includes map information (33), parking lot information (34), and obstacle information (35); and obstacles including structures such as walls and pillars can be detected based on information acquired from the storage device (32), and ranging devices can detect the position, size, and distance to the object; and where the parking route trajectory/ control information is updated when a detection result of an obstacle is changed (i.e. second distance data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0044]; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of determining distances to objects in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to avoid a detected obstacle (see at least Paragraph [0070] of Kuwabara).
As per Claim 14, Ronning discloses the features of a system (e.g. Paragraph [0004]; where a system is provided for assisting a user in parking a vehicle) comprising:
control circuitry (e.g. Paragraph [0039], [0103]; where the navigation device has one or more processors; and the user interface may determine if the recording is controlled automatically) configured to:
initiate, at a first time, parking configuration mode for a vehicle parked in a first position in a parking area (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0005], [0167]; where the system assist the user in parking a vehicle in a first parking location; and where a parking assist mode is entered when within a predetermined distance of the parking location; and where, if the memory does not have any recorded images stored and the location of the vehicle is determined to be the parking location, the user may be prompted to set up the parking assist feature);
generate for display, on a user interface of a device, at least one representation of a physical environment of the parking area, based on sensor data captured by at least one sensor (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0110]-[0111]; Figures 11B, 12; where the system can display a virtual representation of the proximity of the vehicle to the parking location by displaying a real time video captured by a camera);
input/output circuitry (e.g. Paragraphs; [0042]-[0043]; where the user interface may be configured to facilitate user interaction with navigation device and/or to provide feedback to a user; and a user may interact with user interface to change various modes of operation, to initiate certain functions, to modify settings, set options, etc., and may include a user-input device such as an interactive portion of display; and the user interface may cause visual alerts to be displayed via display and/or audible alerts to be sounded) configured to:
receive, via the user interface, a selection of-a one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area to be used as parking reference points for future parking of the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0071], [0156]-[0157], [0161]; where the navigation device may allow a user to store images of specific locations captured by the camera, which can include frequently visited locations such as a parking sport or garage space, and may be initiated by the user; and where the user may select a master image to be used by default for comparison; and where transient features may be deselected by the user), wherein
the one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment are representations of real-world objects (e.g. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0110]-[0111]; Figures 11B, 12; where the system can display a virtual representation of the proximity of the vehicle to the parking location by displaying a real time video captured by a camera); wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
determine and cause to be stored (a) first distance data based on a first set of distances and (b) location data associated with the parking area, wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location; and where the reference image is stored in memory);
initiate, at a second time, parking assist mode for assisting in parking the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0167], [0173]; where the system assist the user in parking a vehicle in a first parking location; and where a parking assist mode is entered when within a predetermined distance of the parking location; and where, if the memory does not have any recorded images stored and the location of the vehicle is determined to be the parking location, the user may be prompted to set up the parking assist feature; and where if the time of day in the images is significantly different than existing reference images, the camera may capture additional reference images to improve accuracy (i.e., detects, at a second time, the parking conditions and compares it to previous records)), wherein the control circuitry is configured to
initiate parking mode based at least in part on determining, based on the location data, that the vehicle is within a proximity of the parking area (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location; and where the reference image is stored in memory);
determine second distance data based on a second set of distances, wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraph [0175]; where the proximity detection may be performed by detecting features in the reference image and the comparison image, and matching the detected features to a set of coherent points, and filtering mismatched features and measuring an average distance between each pair or coherent points to determine a relative proximity and the trajectory may be calculated to determine the vehicle is angled to one side, or that the vehicle is too far to the right (i.e. second distance data for a different position)); and
based at least in part on comparing (a) the second distance data determined in the parking assist mode at the second time and (b) the stored first distance data generated in the parking configuration mode at the first time: (e.g. Paragraphs [0165], [0174]-[0176]; where the proximity to the desired parking location is determined based on the average distance between matched features (1102) and their corresponding features (1104), and comparing the comparison image to the reference image to determine the relative proximity to the determined parking location):
generate for output, guidance information for parking the vehicle in the first position (e.g. Paragraphs [0158], [0160]; where the reference image is stored in memory; and where, upon returning to the known location, the reference image may be compared to the live video feed or periodic images captured by the camera to determine the vehicle’s position relative to the ideal parking position, and guidance may be given to guide the driver in navigating to the parking spot), wherein
the guidance information comprises a suggested parking trajectory (e.g. Paragraphs [0111], [0166], [0175]-[0176]; Figures 11B, 12; where the guidance information can include a trajectory).
Kuwabara more explicitly teaches the features of control circuitry; and receive, via the user interface, a selection of one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area to be used as parking reference points for future parking of the vehicle in the first position.
Kuwabara, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a parking control method, where the operation terminal (5) includes a display, and an input interface, which receives an operation command from a user; and the operation terminal (5) requests the operator to input selection information of the target parking space for the vehicle, and requests operator inputting confirming the existence of a detected obstacle; and the parking control apparatus may include a vehicle controller (70) (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0028], [0032], [0056]; Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of receiving a user selection of an object in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to accurately of determination made by the operator (see at least Paragraph [0072] of Kuwabara).
Ronning fails to disclose every feature of wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area; and wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
However, Kuwabara, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of wherein each respective distance of the first set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in the first position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the information server (3) includes a storage device (32), which includes map information (33), parking lot information (34), and obstacle information (35); and obstacles including structures such as walls and pillars can be detected based on information acquired from the storage device (32), and ranging devices can detect the position, size, and distance to the object (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of determining distances to objects in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to avoid a detected obstacle (see at least Paragraph [0070] of Kuwabara).
Kuwabara further teaches the features of wherein each respective distance of the second set of distances corresponds to a distance from the vehicle in a second position to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the information server (3) includes a storage device (32), which includes map information (33), parking lot information (34), and obstacle information (35); and obstacles including structures such as walls and pillars can be detected based on information acquired from the storage device (32), and ranging devices can detect the position, size, and distance to the object; and where the parking route trajectory/ control information is updated when a detection result of an obstacle is changed (i.e. second distance data) (e.g. Paragraphs [0029], [0044]; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of determining distances to objects in the parking area in the system of Kuwabara, in order to avoid a detected obstacle (see at least Paragraph [0070] of Kuwabara).
As per Claim 2, and similarly for Claim 15, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, and Ronning further discloses the features of wherein: the location data is based on geographical coordinates of the parking area (e.g. Paragraph [0170]; where the latitude and longitude of the desired parking location is used to determine a relative lighting time for the reference image).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claim 16, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, and Kuwabara further teaches the features of wherein the guidance information comprises recommended driving directions for repositioning the vehicle from the second position to the first position within the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the parking route/ trajectory control information is updated when a detection result of an obstacle is changed and the system determines if the position for turning or shifting is reached (e.g. Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of modifying the parking trajectory in the system of Kuwabara, in order to execute parking operations (see at least Paragraph [0026] of Kuwabara).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 17, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 16, respectively, and Kuwabara further teaches the features of wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the autonomous vehicle is configured to automatically follow the recommended driving directions to reposition the vehicle from the second position to the first position within the parking area.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where the parking control apparatus may be of an autonomous (automated) control type, where the vehicle may move in an autonomous manner to perform parking; and where the target parking space may be automatically selected, and remote control of the vehicle is started to move the vehicle to the target parking space, and if an obstacle is detected, the system updates the parking route/control instructions to navigate to the parking space (e.g. Paragraphs [0034], [0052], [0056]- [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of autonomously parking in the system of Kuwabara, in order to execute parking operations when the operator is remote from the vehicle (see at least Paragraphs [0056]-[0057] of Kuwabara).
Claims 5-6, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0082613 A1, to Oetiker, et al (hereinafter referred to as Oetiker; previously of record).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 18, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, but the combination of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, fails to teach every feature of wherein the comparing (a) the second distance data determined in the parking assist mode at the second time and (b) the stored first distance data generated in the parking configuration mode at the first time comprises: comparing a front distance stored at the first time with a front distance determined at the second time, wherein each of the front distances corresponds to a distance from a front sensor of the vehicle to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area; comparing a back distance stored at the first time with a back distance determined at the second time, wherein each of the back distances corresponds to a distance from a back sensor of the vehicle to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area; comparing a side distance stored at the first time does not with a side distance determined at the second time, wherein each of the side distances corresponds to a distance from a side sensor of the vehicle to a respective object of the one or more objects in the parking area.
However, Oetiker, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches semi-automatic parking method, where the sensor device measures the distances from objects and people in the environment of the vehicle; and where detection areas (11, 12, 13, and 14) comprise a detection center in the front, rear, and sides of the vehicle; and where the sensor systems supplies the respective current values for the distances from obstacles in the front area of the vehicle, from obstacles in the rear area of the vehicle, and from obstacles at the right and left of the vehicle; and where the position and orientation of the vehicle is compared to the target position, orientation, and distance to update the trajectory (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0042]; Figures 2, 11A-B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, with the feature of using parking coordinates in the system of Oetiker, in order to accurately measure the parking space (see at least Paragraph [0039] of Oetiker).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 19, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Oetiker, teaches the features of Claims 5 and 18, respectively, and Kuwabara further teaches the features of determining based on the comparing that the vehicle is positioned with an angular displacement that is different from an angular displacement at the first time; and generating for output the guidance information for changing the angular displacement of the vehicle.
Kuwabara teaches a parking control method, where several transfer points are defined, and any deviation from the original transfer point requires determining a displacement relating to the deviation of the vehicle from the target orientation by adjusting the steering angle at each transfer point; and where the parking path guidance device generates a steering control signal which takes into account the deviation of the vehicle from the target orientation and sends a correction signal to the steering control apparatus (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0050], [0055], [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the parking assist method of Ronning, with the feature of determining angular displacement of the vehicle in the system of Kuwabara, in order to respond to a change in the situation and recalculate the control instruction (see at least Paragraph [0079] of Kuwabara).
Claims 7-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0005053 A1, to Browning, et al (hereinafter referred to as Browning; previously of record).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 20, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 14, respectively, and Ronning further teaches the features of further comprising: detecting the one or more objects in the physical environment of the parking area (e.g. Paragraph [0051]; Figures 11B, 12; where the camera may capture live video and generate live video data of the road and/or objects in front of the vehicle) ‘…’.
Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, fails to teach every feature of determining that the one or more objects are static objects; wherein the generating for display on the user interface of the device at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area comprises: generating a respective AR overlay over at least a portion of each respective object of the one or more objects to indicate that the one or more objects are static objects that are candidates for being used as parking reference points.
However, Browning, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a perception system for an autonomous vehicle, where the system can determine a set of objects, to determine if objects are dynamic or static; and where the current image data can overlay the image of the object or feature (e.g. Paragraphs [0045], [0105], [0154], [0167]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, with the feature of overlaying the display in the system of Browning, in order to improve accuracy and situational awareness (see at least Paragraph [0161] of Browning).
As per Claim 8, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, teaches the features of Claim 7, and Browning further teaches the features of wherein the detecting the one or more objects in the physical environment of the parking area and determining that the one or more objects are static objects is performed based on: comparing the locations of the one or more objects in the physical environment of the parking at various times using historical image data.
Browning teaches a perception system for an autonomous vehicle, where the system can determine a set of objects, to determine if objects are dynamic or static; and where the perception component may determine a perception output using the current sensor state and prior sensor state; and where the AV control system may compare current and past sensor information to determine location of the vehicle and compare previously captured data sets which are deemed to depict static objects to current image data to identify portions of the current image data which reflect the presence of static objects (e.g. Paragraphs [0045], [0156]-[0157], [0173]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, with the feature of comparing locations of detected objects with previous data in the system of Browning, in order to improve accuracy and situational awareness, and better determine the presence of an obstacle (see at least Paragraph [0161] of Browning).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0059779 A1, to Sisbot, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sisbot; previously of record).
As per Claim 9, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, teaches the features of Claim 7, but the combination of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, fails to teach every feature of wherein the receiving, via the user interface, the selection of the one or more objects from the at least one representation of the physical environment of the parking area further comprises: receiving a request, via the user interface, to reduce the respective AR overlay over a particular object, wherein reducing the respective AR overlay causes the parking reference point for the particular object to change to a part of the particular object covered by the reduced AR overlay.
However, Sisbot, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in- vehicle augmented reality systems, where the driver may provide input that affects the assignment of importance values of different types of objects; and where the occlusion application may determine at least a portion of the interested object is occluded by an occluding object, and may turn off the first graphic so that the first graphic is not displayed on the 3D HUD based on the received importance values from the driver (i.e. reduce an overlay over an object); and where the system changes the overlay of a particular object (e.g. Paragraphs [0014]-[0015], [0100], [0167]; Figures 1C-E).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, with the feature of reducing the overlay of an object in the system of Sisbot, in order allow the driver to be aware of the presence of an important object behind an occluding object (see at least Paragraph [0173] of Sisbot).
As per Claim 10, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, teaches the features of Claim 7, but the combination of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, fails to teach every feature of further comprising: determining that a particular object of the one or more objects determined to be a static object is obstructed; and generating the respective AR overlay over an unobstructed portion of the particular object.
However, Sisbot, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in- vehicle augmented reality systems, where an object is determined to be occluded; and where an unobstructed portion of the object is generated for display (e.g. Figures 1C-D).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, with the feature of reducing the overlay of an object in the system of Sisbot, in order allow the driver to be aware of the presence of an important object behind an occluding object (see at least Paragraph [0173] of Sisbot).
As per Claim 11, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, Browning, and Sisbot, teaches the features of Claim 10, and Kuwabara further teaches the features of wherein a distance between the particular object and the vehicle is determined based on the unobstructed portion of the particular object.
Sisbot teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in- vehicle augmented reality systems, where the location of an interested object behind an occluding object may be communicated to the driver to include one or more distances of the interested object relative to the occluding object and the vehicle; and where the system determines that the interested object is not occluded by the occluded object, and may determine a distance or range separating the vehicle from the interested object, a distance or range separating the vehicle from the occluding object, and a distance or range separating the interested object from the occluding object (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0021], [0057], [0082]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, with the feature of determining a distance based on an unobstructed view in the system of Kuwabara, in order to respond to a change in the situation and recalculate the control instruction (see at least Paragraph [0079] of Kuwabara).
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0059779 A1, to Sisbot, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sisbot; previously of record).
As per Claim 12, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, teaches the features of Claim 1, but the combination of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, fails to teach every feature of further comprising: determining, at the second time, that a reference point of a particular object which was unobstructed during the parking configuration mode is now obstructed during the parking assist mode; detecting an unobstructed portion of the particular object as an alternative reference point; based on the first distance data, calculating a distance between the unobstructed portion of the particular object and the vehicle when parked at the first position; and adding the calculated distance to the first distance data.
However, Sisbot, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of determining, at the second time, that a reference point of a particular object which was unobstructed during the parking configuration mode is now obstructed during the parking assist mode.
Sisbot teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in- vehicle augmented reality systems, where the external sensors may generate sensor data regarding the position of one or more occluding objects at one or more points in time; and where the occlusion application may continue to monitor and track the location of the interested object in the environment over time, and may relocate the first graphic so that the position of the first graphic tracks the position of the interested object; and the system may determine the interested object is not occluded at a point in time, and determine that the object is later occluded (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0057], [0059], [0082]; Figures 3A-B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, with the feature of determining the distances to an object in the system of Sisbot, with the feature of determining if an object is or is not obstructed in the system of Sisbot, in order to allow the driver to be aware of the presence of an important object behind an occluding object (see at least Paragraph [0173] of Sisbot).
Sisbot further teaches the features of detecting an unobstructed portion of the particular object as an alternative reference point.
Sisbot teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in-vehicle augmented reality systems, where an unobstructed portion of the object is displayed with a first or second graphic (e.g. Figures 1B-C, 1E).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Browning, with the feature of determining an unobstructed portion of an object in the system of Sisbot, in order to allow the driver to be aware of the presence of an important object behind an occluding object and provide an accurate display to the user (see at least Paragraph [0173] of Sisbot).
Sisbot further teaches the features of based on the first distance data, calculating a distance between the unobstructed portion of the particular object and the vehicle when parked at the first position; and adding the calculated distance to the first distance data.
Sisbot teaches a system for occlusion adjustment for in-vehicle augmented reality systems, where the location of an interested object behind an occluding object may be communicated to the driver to include one or more distances of the interested object relative to the occluding object and the vehicle; and where the sensor data may describe a distance or range separating the vehicle form the interested object, a distance or range separating the vehicle from the occluding object, and a distance or range separating the interested object from the occluding object (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0021], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, and Browning, with the feature of determining the distances to an object in the system of Sisbot, in order to allow the driver with an ability to react faster and more accurately to objects or conditions in the environment (see at least Paragraphs [0017], [0173] of Sisbot).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0258934 A1, to Chemali (hereinafter referred to as Chemali; previously of record); and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0139701 A1, to Crucs (hereinafter referred to as Crucs; previously of record).
As per Claim 13, Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Ronning further teaches the features of wherein the vehicle is a first vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [[0158]; where a vehicle’s relative position to the ideal parking spot is determined) ‘…’.
The combination of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, fails to teach every feature of storing third distance data corresponding to a third position; wherein the third distance data is stored in association with a second vehicle, wherein the first position is accessible through a first garage door and the third position is accessible through a second garage door, the method further comprising: based on determining that the first vehicle is in a proximity of the first position, causing the first garage door to open; based on determining that the second vehicle is in a proximity of the third position, causing the second garage door to open.
However, Chemali, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of storing third distance data corresponding to a third position; wherein the third distance data is stored in association with a second vehicle.
Chemali teaches a method for automated parking assistance, where first vehicle (100) and second vehicle (105) include transponders (120, 125), which measures the distances between stationary sensor devices, and the memory stores predefined parking spots, including distances corresponding to and of each vehicle to guide the second vehicle (105) a pre-defined parking spot (115), and if the current position of the vehicle (100) is not equal to the pre-defined parking position, the system determines one or more directions in which the current position of the vehicle must be adjusted to reduce the distance between the current and predefined positions (e.g. Paragraphs [0021], [0025], [0029]; Figures 1, 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara, with the feature of storing second vehicle information in the system of Chemali, in order to park the vehicle in an appropriate parking spot (see at least Paragraph [0029] of Chemali).
Crucs further teaches the features of wherein the first position is accessible through a first garage door and the third position is accessible through a second garage door, the method further comprising: based on determining that the first vehicle is in a proximity of the first position, causing the first garage door to open; based on determining that the second vehicle is in a proximity of the third position, causing the second garage door to open.
Crucs teaches a method for automatically activating a garage door, where a driver may pull up in front of any one of the first, second, third, etc., garage doors (720, 750, 760); and where a first signal is sent from the sensor to a transponder of the automobile, and upon verifying the access code, activating the first garage door; and where a second signal is sent from a second receiver (755) to a transponder of the automobile, and upon verifying the access code, activating the second garage door, and the system automatically opens the correct garage door (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0044]; Figures 2, 6-7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the parking assist method of Ronning, in view of Kuwabara and Chemali, with the feature of opening a first or second garage door in the system of Crucs, in order to correctly open the correct garage door (see at least Paragraphs [0043]-[0044] of Crucs).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ando, et al (U.S. 2020/0133297 A1), which teaches a method for storing a parking position of a vehicle and navigating the vehicle based on the stored position.
Franz, et al (U.S. 2016/0207526 A1), which teaches a method for detecting and displaying parking spaces for a vehicle.
Gao, et al (U.S. 2018/0157267 A1), which teaches a method for storing a previous vehicle position, comparing it to the current position, and aligning the vehicle with the stored or current parking position.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663