DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-35 are currently pending. Claims 2-23 remain withdrawn. Claims 24, 30, and 31 have been amended. Claims 32-35 have been added. Claim 24 has been amended to overcome the objection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 25 March 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rogers et al. ‘445 (US Pub No. 2018/0177445 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a device (Title), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 23C blood sequestration device 2300’ and [0137]) having an inlet (Fig. 23C inlet port 2316 and [0137]) and an outlet (Fig. 23C outlet port 2318 and [0137]), the housing defining each of a containment channel (Fig. 23C sequestration chamber 2320 and [0137]) and a sampling chamber (Fig. 23C main collection channel 2322 and [0137]);
a blood barrier (Fig. 24B blood barrier 2420 and [0142]) disposed in the housing between the containment channel and the outlet (Fig. 24B one or more apertures 2424 and ([0141]), the blood barrier being gas permeable and blood impermeable ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
a movable seal disposed in the housing, the movable seal configured, in a first state, to separate the inlet from at least a portion of the sampling channel such that a suction force introduced at the outlet draws (i) a gas from the containment channel, through the blood barrier, to the outlet and (ii) a volume of blood from the inlet into the containment channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”),
the movable seal configured, in a second state, such that the suction force introduced at the outlet draws a subsequent volume of blood from the inlet, through the sampling channel, to the outlet, the movable seal configured to transition from the first state to the second state in response to an increase in a portion of the suction force in the sampling channel, which is caused, at least in part, by the volume of blood in the containment channel limiting gas flow through the blood barrier ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 25, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein each of the containment channel and the sampling channel is fluidically disposed between the inlet and the outlet (see Fig. 23C).
Regarding claim 26, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the inlet is configured to receive a flow of blood from patient ([0137]; “inlet port 2316 to connect with a patient needle”).
Regarding claim 27, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the outlet is configured to be fluidically coupled to a fluid collection device ([0137]; “outlet port 2318 to connect with a blood sample collection device”).
Regarding claim 28, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein fluidically coupling the outlet to the fluid collection device introduces the suction force at the outlet ([0137]; “…an outlet port 2318 to connect with a blood sample collection device, such as a Vacutainer, a syringe, or the like.” Both a Vacutainer and syringe have a suction force.).
Regarding claim 29, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the blood barrier (blood barrier 2420) defines a portion of the containment channel (sequestration chamber 2320).
Regarding claim 30, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal comprises an elastomeric material (Fig. 25C seal 2508 and [0145]; “elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 31, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal is configured, in the second state, such that the subsequent volume of blood is drawn from the inlet, through the sampling channel, to the outlet while at least a portion of the volume of blood is contained in the containment channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 32, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the portion of the suction force in the sampling channel moves at least a portion of the movable seal from a first position to a second position, thereby transitioning the movable seal from the first state to the second state ([0142]; “Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”).
Regarding claim 33, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a lock configured to engage the movable seal to at least temporarily maintain the movable seal in the second position ([0142]; “locking mechanism”).
Regarding claim 34, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal is configured to move relative to the selectively permeable blood barrier ([0141]-[0142]; “The blood sequestration chamber 2418…[that includes an air permeable blood barrier 2420]…is movable from a first position to receive and sequester a first aliquot of blood, to a second position to expose one or more apertures 2424 at a proximal end of the inner chamber housing 2419 to allow blood to bypass and/or flow around the inner chamber housing 2419 and through a blood sample channel 2422.”).
Regarding claim 35, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the housing has an inner surface that defines each of the containment channel and the sampling channel (Blood sequestration device 2300’ has an inner surface that defines the sequestration chamber 2320 and main collection channel 2322, as seen in Fig. 23C in by the tubing.), and
the movable seal in the first state forms a seal with a portion of the inner surface to prevent the volume of blood from flowing through the sampling channel ([0137]; “A valve 2324 closes off and opens the collection chamber 2322, and the device 2300’ can be used…”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has indicated the amendments to claim 24 would aid in advancing prosecution as Rogers et al. ‘445 does not teach “each and every limitation set forth in the claim.” Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Applicant has failed to indicate which limitations Rogers et al. ‘445 does not teach. Regarding the moveable seal limitation in claim 24, Examiner respectfully disagrees as the one or more apertures 2424 of Rogers et al. ‘445 can be opened and closed, as mentioned in [0142], indicating that there is a seal that can be “moved,” or as interpreted by the Examiner, “opened and closed.” As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791