DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2007/0142209).
With respect to claim 1, Ito discloses a dielectric composition (see abstract) comprising: dielectric grains including a barium titanate-based compound (see paragraph [0029]); and a secondary phase located between the dielectric grains (see abstract, noting grain boundary phases), wherein the secondary phase includes a first secondary phase including Ga and Si (see paragraphs [0029], the second sub ingredient Si, and [0049], noting the addition of an element “A”, which includes Ga).
With respect to claim 3, Ito discloses that the first secondary phase further includes Al and Mg. See paragraphs [0049] and [0029].
With respect to claim 8, Ito discloses that Ga in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 0.5 wt%. See Table 2, sample 22, where 1.5 mol of Ga is .45 wt%, when taken in conjunction with 100 mol of BaTiO3.
With respect to claim 9, Ito discloses a multilayered capacitor (see FIG. 1) comprising: a capacitor body including a dielectric layer and an internal electrode (see FIG. 1, elements 10 and 12, and paragraph [0024]); and an external electrode disposed outside the capacitor body (see FIG. 1, elements 6 and 8, and paragraph [0024]), wherein the dielectric layer includes dielectric grains including a barium titanate-based compound (see paragraph [0029]), and a secondary phase located between the dielectric grains (see abstract, noting grain boundary phases), and the secondary phase includes a first secondary phase including Ga and Si (see paragraphs [0029], the second sub ingredient Si, and [0049], noting the addition of an element “A”, which includes Ga).
With respect to claim 11, Ito discloses that the first secondary phase further includes Al and Mg. See paragraphs [0049] and [0029].
With respect to claim 16, Ito discloses that Ga in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 0.5 wt%. See Table 2, sample 22, where 1.5 mol of Ga is .45 wt%, when taken in conjunction with 100 mol of BaTiO3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2007/0142209) in view of Sasabayashi (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0310279).
With respect to claim 2, Ito fails to teach that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, and the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric composition, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric composition.
Sasabayashi, on the other hand, teaches that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, and the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric composition, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric composition. See paragraph [0018]. Such an arrangement results in good AC voltage characteristics. See paragraph [0018].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ito, as taught by Sasabayashi, in order to provide a capacitor with good AC voltage characteristics.
With respect to claim 10, Ito fails to teach that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, and the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric composition, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric composition.
Sasabayashi, on the other hand, teaches that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, and the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric composition, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric composition. See paragraph [0018]. Such an arrangement results in good AC voltage characteristics. See paragraph [0018].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ito, as taught by Sasabayashi, in order to provide a capacitor with good AC voltage characteristics.
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2007/0142209) in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0080684).
With respect to claim 5, Ito fails to teach that an average area (%) occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to a total area of the secondary phase is 50% to 95%.
Kim, on the other hand, teaches that that an average area (%) occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to a total area of the secondary phase is 50% to 95%. See paragraph [0065]. Such an arrangement results in an improvement in the reliability of the dielectric. See paragraph [0067].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ito, as taught by Kim, in order to improve the reliability of the dielectric.
With respect to claim 6, the combined teachings of Ito and Kim teach that the secondary phase further includes a second secondary phase which includes Si and is free of Ga, and an average area (%) occupied by the second secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase is 5% to 50%. See Kim, paragraph [0065], noting that Kim teaches that the second secondary phase differs in composition from the first secondary phase and the difference in composition includes being free of one of the elements found in the first secondary phase; when taken in conjunction with Ito, would be Ga.
With respect to claim 7, the combined teachings of Ito and Kim teach that: a ratio of the average area occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase to the average area occupied by the second secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase is 1.5 to 2.5. See Kim, paragraph [0065].
With respect to claim 13, Ito fails to teach that an average area (%) occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to a total area of the secondary phase is 50% to 95%.
Kim, on the other hand, teaches that that an average area (%) occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to a total area of the secondary phase is 50% to 95%. See paragraph [0065]. Such an arrangement results in an improvement in the reliability of the dielectric. See paragraph [0067].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ito, as taught by Kim, in order to improve the reliability of the dielectric.
With respect to claim 14, the combined teachings of Ito and Kim teach that the secondary phase further includes a second secondary phase which includes Si and is free of Ga, and an average area (%) occupied by the second secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase is 5% to 50%. See Kim, paragraph [0065], noting that Kim teaches that the second secondary phase differs in composition from the first secondary phase and the difference in composition includes being free of one of the elements found in the first secondary phase; when taken in conjunction with Ito, would be Ga.
With respect to claim 15, the combined teachings of Ito and Kim teach that: a ratio of the average area occupied by the first secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase to the average area occupied by the second secondary phase with respect to the total area of the secondary phase is 1.5 to 2.5. See Kim, paragraph [0065].
Claims 19-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0080684) in view of Ito et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2007/0142209).
With respect to claim 19, Kim teaches a dielectric composition (see the abstract) comprising: dielectric grains including a barium titanate-based compound (see paragraph [0070]); and a secondary phase located between the dielectric grains (see FIG. 5), the secondary phase including a first secondary phase including Si (see paragraph [0039], citing Si), and a second secondary phase which includes Si and is free of Ga (see paragraph [0065]).
Kim fails to teach that the first secondary phase includes Ga.
Ito, on the other hand, teaches that a first secondary phase Ga. See paragraph [0049]. Such an arrangement results in an improvement of the IR temperature dependency. See paragraph [0050].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim, as taught by Ito, in order to improve the IR temperature dependency.
With respect to claim 20, the combined teachings of Kim and Ito teach that the dielectric composition is free of rare-earth elements. See Kim, which makes no indication of the inclusion of a rare-earth element.
With respect to claim 21, the combined teachings of Kim and Ito teach that: the first secondary phase further includes Al and Mg. See paragraph [0039].
With respect to claim 24, Kim teaches a multilayered capacitor (see the abstract) comprising: a capacitor body including a dielectric layer and an internal electrode (see FIG. 2, elements 111 and 121/122, and paragraph [0039]); and an external electrode disposed outside the capacitor body (see FIG. 2, elements 131/132 and paragraph [0039]), wherein the dielectric layer includes dielectric grains including a barium titanate-based compound (see paragraph [0070]), and a secondary phase located between the dielectric grains (see FIG. 5), and the secondary phase including a first secondary phase including Si (see paragraph [0039], citing Si), and a second secondary phase which includes Si and is free of Ga (see paragraph [0065]).
Kim fails to teach that the first secondary phase includes Ga.
Ito, on the other hand, teaches that a first secondary phase Ga. See paragraph [0049]. Such an arrangement results in an improvement of the IR temperature dependency. See paragraph [0050].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim, as taught by Ito, in order to improve the IR temperature dependency.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0080684) in view of Ito et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2007/0142209), and further, in view of Sasabayashi (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0310279).
With respect to claim 25, the combined teachings of Kim and Ito teach that the dielectric layer is free of rare-earth elements (See Kim, which makes no indication of the inclusion of a rare-earth element), but fail to teach that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric layer, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric layer.
Sasabayashi, on the other hand, teaches that the dielectric grains including the barium titanate-based compound are a primary phase, and the primary phase has an average area of 85% or more of a total area of the dielectric composition, and the secondary phase has an average area of 15% or less of the total area of the dielectric composition. See paragraph [0018]. Such an arrangement results in good AC voltage characteristics. See paragraph [0018].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combined teachings of Kim and Ito, as taught by Sasabayashi, in order to provide a capacitor with good AC voltage characteristics.
With respect to claim 26, the combined teachings of Kim, Ito, and Sasabayashi teach that the first secondary phase further includes Al and Mg. See Kim, paragraph [0039].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: with respect to claim 17, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the addition of gallium powder having the recited particle diameter, when taken in conjunction with the remaining limitations of claim 17. Claim 18 is allowed by virtue of its dependency from claim 17.
Claims 4, 12, 22, 23, 27, and 28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 4, 12, 22, and 27 the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the combination of elements having the recited molar parts, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of the respective base claims. Claims 23 and 28 are allowed by virtue of their respective dependencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nomura et al. (US 2019/0241476) and Ishii et al. (US 2012/0250216 each disclose gallium as part of a dielectric ceramic composition.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847