DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-37 are currently pending. Claims 23-31 remain withdrawn. Claims 32-37 have been added. Claim 16 has been amended to overcome the objection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 25 September 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-22 and 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rogers et al. ‘445 (US Pub No. 2018/0177445 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a device (Title), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 23C blood sequestration device 2300’ and [0137]) having an inlet (Fig. 23C inlet port 2316 and [0137]) configured to be fluidically coupled to a fluid collection device ([0137]; “…connected with a blood sample collection device”), the housing defining each of a containment channel (Fig. 23C sequestration chamber 2320 and [0137]) and a sampling chamber (Fig. 23C main collection channel 2322 and [0137]);
a moveable seal disposed in the housing, the moveable seal configured, in a first state, to substantially obstruct fluid flow into at least a portion of the sampling portion ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
a selectively permeable blood barrier (Fig. 24B blood barrier 2420 and [0142]) disposed in the housing and fluidically coupled between the containment channel and the outlet (Fig. 24B one or more apertures 2424 and ([0141]), the selectively permeable blood barrier configured such that a pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet causes a gas to flow from the containment channel through the selectively permeable blood barrier and a volume of blood to flow into the containment channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
the selectively permeable blood barrier further configured to facilitate, based on the volume of blood in the containment channel, an increase in a portion of the pressure differential across the moveable seal that transitions the moveable seal from the first state to a second state ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 3, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein fluidically coupling the outlet to the fluid collection device ([0137]) generates the pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet ([0137]; The use of the Vacutainer, syringe, or the like generates a pressure differential.).
Regarding claim 4, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the housing defines a flow path between an end portion of the containment channel and the outlet, at least a portion of the flow path is configured to modulate the pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet as the gas flows from the containment channel, through the selectively permeable blood barrier, to the outlet ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 5, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the selectively permeable blood barrier comprises a material that is gas permeable ([0141]; “air permeable blood barrier 2420”) and blood impermeable ([0060]; “”air permeable blood barrier” means an air permeably but substantially blood impermeable substance, material, or structure”).
Regarding claim 6, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal comprises an elastomeric material ([0145]; “elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 7, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal is configured, in the second state, such that the sampling channel defines a portion of a flow path between the inlet and the outlet that receives a subsequent volume of blood ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 8, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the housing is configured such that the containment channel contains the volume of blood to limit contamination of the subsequent volume of blood that flows through the flow path ([0135]), which reduces false results in culture testing of the subsequent volume of blood (Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a device (Title), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 23C blood sequestration device 2300’ and [0137]) having an inlet (Fig. 23C inlet port 2316 and [0137]) and an outlet (Fig. 23C outlet port 2318 and [0137]), the housing defining each of a containment channel (Fig. 23C sequestration chamber 2320 and [0137]) and a sampling chamber (Fig. 23C main collection channel 2322 and [0137]);
a moveable seal disposed in the housing, the moveable seal configured, in a first state, to substantially obstruct fluid flow into at least a portion of the sampling portion ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
a selectively permeable blood barrier (Fig. 24B blood barrier 2420 and [0142]) disposed in the housing and fluidically coupled between the containment channel and the outlet (Fig. 24B one or more apertures 2424 and ([0141]), the selectively permeable blood barrier configured such that a pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet causes a gas to flow from the containment channel through the selectively permeable blood barrier and a volume of blood to flow into the containment channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
the selectively permeable blood barrier further configured to facilitate, based on the volume of blood in the containment channel, an increase in a portion of the pressure differential across the moveable seal that transitions the moveable seal from the first state to a second state ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 10, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the inlet is configured to be fluidically coupled to a patient ([0137]; “an inlet port 2316 to connect with a patient needle”).
Regarding claim 11, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the outlet is configured to be fluidically coupled to a fluid collection device ([0137]; “an outlet port 2318 to connect with a blood sample collection device”).
Regarding claim 12, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the selectively permeable blood barrier is disposed at an end portion of the containment channel (Blood barrier 2420 is at an end of the blood sequestration device 2320/2408).
Regarding claim 13, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal comprises an elastomeric material ([0145]; “elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 14, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal is configured, in the first state, to obstruct an end portion of the sampling channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle.”).
Regarding claim 15, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal is configured, in the second state, such that the sampling channel defines a portion of a flow path between the inlet and the outlet that receives a subsequent volume of blood ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 16, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a device (Title), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 23C blood sequestration device 2300’ and [0137]) having an inlet (Fig. 23C inlet port 2316 and [0137]) and an outlet (Fig. 23C outlet port 2318 and [0137]), the housing defining each of a containment channel (Fig. 23C sequestration chamber 2320 and [0137]) and a sampling chamber (Fig. 23C main collection channel 2322 and [0137]);
a moveable seal disposed in the housing, the moveable seal configured, in a first state, to substantially obstruct fluid flow into at least a portion of the sampling portion ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
a selectively permeable blood barrier (Fig. 24B blood barrier 2420 and [0142]) disposed at an end portion of the containment channel, the selectively permeable blood barrier configured such that a pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet draws a gas from the containment channel, through the selectively permeable blood barrier, to the outlet ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420…”); and
the selectively permeable blood barrier further configured to facilitate, based on a volume of blood in the containment channel, an increase in a portion of the pressure differential across the moveable seal that transitions the moveable seal from the first state to a second state ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 17, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the inlet is configured to receive a flow of blood from a patient ([0137]; “an inlet port 2316 to connect with a patient needle”).
Regarding claim 18, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the outlet is configured to be fluidically coupled to a fluid collection device ([0137]; “an outlet port 2318 to connect with a blood sample collection device”) to generate the pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet ([0142]).
Regarding claim 19, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the housing defines a flow path between the end portion of the containment channel and the outlet, at least a portion of the flow path is configured to modulate the pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet as the gas is drawn through the selectively permeable blood barrier ([0113]).
Regarding claim 20, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the moveable seal comprises an elastomeric material ([0145]; “elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 21, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the gas flowing from the containment channel, through the selectively permeable blood barrier, to the outlet ceases when the volume of blood is in the containment channel ([0142]).
Regarding claim 22, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the containment channel is configured to sequester the volume of blood in the containment channel ([0141]),
and the moveable seal is configured, in the second state, such that a subsequent volume of blood is drawn from the inlet, through the sampling channel, to the outlet while bypassing at least a portion of the volume of blood sequestered in the containment channel ([0142]; “In operation, the inner chamber housing 2419 is in the first position toward the inlet port 2412, such that the one or more apertures 2424 are closed, and the blood sequestration chamber 2418 is in a direct path from the patient needle. Upon venipuncture of a patient, and drawing of blood by way of a syringe or Vacutainer, or other blood collection device 2404, the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber 2418. As the initial aliquot of blood flows into the blood sequestration chamber, it displaces air therein and eventually the blood contacts the blood barrier 2420, forcing the inner chamber housing to the second position.”).
Regarding claim 32, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal transitioning from the first state to the second state includes the movable seal being moved relative to the selectively permeable blood barrier from a first position to a second position ([0141]-[0142]; “The blood sequestration chamber 2418…[that includes an air permeable blood barrier 2420]…is movable from a first position to receive and sequester a first aliquot of blood, to a second position to expose one or more apertures 2424 at a proximal end of the inner chamber housing 2419 to allow blood to bypass and/or flow around the inner chamber housing 2419 and through a blood sample channel 2422.”).
Regarding claim 33, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a lock configured to engage the movable seal to at least temporarily maintain the movable seal in the second position ([0142]; “locking mechanism”).
Regarding claim 34, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal transitioning from the first state to the second state includes the movable seal being moved relative to the selectively permeable blood barrier from a first position to a second position ([0141]-[0142]; “The blood sequestration chamber 2418…[that includes an air permeable blood barrier 2420]…is movable from a first position to receive and sequester a first aliquot of blood, to a second position to expose one or more apertures 2424 at a proximal end of the inner chamber housing 2419 to allow blood to bypass and/or flow around the inner chamber housing 2419 and through a blood sample channel 2422.”).
Regarding claim 35, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a lock configured to engage the movable seal to at least temporarily maintain the movable seal in the second position ([0142]; “locking mechanism”).
Regarding claim 36, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches wherein the movable seal transitioning from the first state to the second state includes the movable seal being moved relative to the selectively permeable blood barrier from a first position to a second position ([0141]-[0142]; “The blood sequestration chamber 2418…[that includes an air permeable blood barrier 2420]…is movable from a first position to receive and sequester a first aliquot of blood, to a second position to expose one or more apertures 2424 at a proximal end of the inner chamber housing 2419 to allow blood to bypass and/or flow around the inner chamber housing 2419 and through a blood sample channel 2422.”).
Regarding claim 37, Rogers et al. ‘445 teaches a lock configured to engage the movable seal to at least temporarily maintain the movable seal in the second position ([0142]; “locking mechanism”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has indicated the amendments to claims 2, 9, and 16 would aid in advancing prosecution as Rogers et al. ‘445 does not teach “each and every limitation set forth in the claim.” Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Applicant has failed to indicate which limitations Rogers et al. ‘445 does not teach. Regarding the moveable seal limitation in claim 24, Examiner respectfully disagrees as the one or more apertures 2424 of Rogers et al. ‘445 can be opened and closed, as mentioned in [0142], indicating that there is a seal that can be “moved,” or as interpreted by the Examiner, “opened and closed.” As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791