CTFR 18/680,383 CTFR 84770 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/12/2026. Response to Amendment Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Claims 5, 12 and 19 have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18 and 20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 11, 13, 15 - 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoury et al. (US 2019/0392842) (“Khoury”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2017/0318013) (“Roy”) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 6,073,094) (“Chang”) . For claim 1, 8 and 15, Khoury discloses a system (Abstract), comprising: a memory (Fig.1, 24; claim 8) that stores at least one historic voiceprint/speaker model for each of a plurality of users (A voiceprint/speaker model is generated and stored for each user who is enrolled or registered with the speaker registration system, [0028 – 0030] [0049] [0051] [0052]), wherein each historic voiceprint/speaker model is a representation of a voice signal associated with a verified voice of respective authorized (user enrolled and registered with the speaker recognition system) user ([0028] [0051] [0052]); a processor communicatively coupled to the memory (claim 8) and configured to: detect that a first voice call is initiated by a first user (The end application requesting a user/caller identify him or herself and send the recognition speech same and the user’s alleged identity implies that the initiation of a first voice call by the user/caller has been detected, Fig.5, S530; [0025] [0031] [0032] [0055]); generate a first processed voice signal associated with the first voice call (A recognition speech sample from a user is processed before being input to a DNN trained to perform speaker recognition, Fig.5, S530; [0023] [0024] [0026] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0055]), wherein the first processed voice signal voice signal is a representation of the first voice signal associated with the first voice call ([0026] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0055]); extract a plurality of features from the first processed voice signal (The processed recognition signal is input to a DNN trained to perform speaker recognition. The output of the DNN is a voice print which represents features in the user’s/caller’s voice, [0023] [0024] [0046] [0047] [0055]), wherein each of the features represents a characteristic of the first user’s voice as indicated by the first voice signal ([0023] [0024] [0046] [0047] [0055]); compare the first processed voice signal with a plurality of the historic voice prints/speech models associated with the plurality of the users, wherein the comparing comprises searching for each of the features extracted from the first processed voice signal in each of the historic voiceprints/speech models (The voiceprint of first processed voice signal is compared to stored voiceprints/ speaker models which are the extracted feature representations for each user who is enrolled or registered with the speaker recognition system, Fig.4, S450 and Fig.5, S550; [0028] [0051] [0056]); determine, based on the comparison, whether one or more of the features extracted from the first processed voice signal are found in one or more of the historic voiceprints/speech models (Fig.5, S555 and S560; [0056] [0057]); verify an identity of the first user based on whether the one or more of the features extracted from the first processed voice signal are found in the one or more of the historic voiceprints/speaker models wherein the verifying comprises: when a first historic voiceprint/speech model comprises the one or more of the features extracted from the first processed voice signal, determine that the identity of the first user is authenticated (Fig.5, S560; [0057]); and when none of the historic voiceprints/speech models comprise the one or more of features extracted from the first processed voice signal, determine that the identity of the first user is not authenticated (Fig.5, S507; [0057]). Yet, Khoury fails to teach the following; the first processed voice signals and historic voiceprints/speech models comprise spectrograms; the extracted features comprise phonetic indicators, wherein each phonetic indication from the spectrogram is represented by a combination of two or more signal attributes associated with the spectrogram, wherein each signal attribute comprises voice modulation, pauses, speech duration, breathing, pitch, frequency or loudness; and each phonetic indicator comprises pronunciation of one or more stop words, pronunciation of vowels, pronunciation of consonants, pronunciation of numerals, time taken to answer designated security questions, or voice modulation. However, Roy discloses a system and method for performing voice-based user authentication and content evaluation (Abstract), comprising the following: a voice signal is processed using one or more speech processing operations to generate a voice print ([0031] [0070]); one of the speech processing operations performed is spectrogram computation ([0031] [0070]); and the voiceprint comprises audio features including pronunciation of consonants (The features include phones and pronunciation, wherein phones are broadly interpreted as including consonant phones, [0026] [0071]). Additionally, Chang discloses a system and method for processing a voice signal (Abstract), comprising the following: phonetic indicators (phonemes) in a voice signal represent the pronunciation of vowels and consonants (The word, is, is pronounced. The phonemes include “ih” and “iz”, column 3 lines 20 – 35); and the phonetic indicators in a voice signal (column 3 lines 20 – 35) are represented by a combination of two or more signal attributes associated with the voice signal, including duration and pitch (Abstract; column 4 lines 12 – 14, 26 – 35, 47 – 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Khoury’s invention in the same way that Roy’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of securing (preventing malicious callers) a call system by proving an efficient and effective means of authenticating callers (Khoury, [0031]) (Roy, [0001] [0029]): the first voice signal is further processed using a plurality of speech processing operations including spectrogram computation to generate a spectrogram (spectrogram computation is broadly interpreted as computing a spectrogram of a voice signal), wherein a voiceprint is generated based on the spectrogram (Khoury, Spectrogram computation is performed before a voiceprint is generated by a DNN., [0038] [0047]); the voice signals associated with the verified voices of the respective authorized users are further processed using a plurality of speech processing operations including spectrogram computation to generate a spectrogram, wherein a voiceprint is generated based on the spectrogram (Khoury, Spectrogram computation is performed before a voiceprint is generated by a DNN, [0038] [0047]); the features extracted from the first processed voice signal (voiceprint) are further extracted from a spectrogram; the stored historic voiceprints/speaker models for each of a plurality of users are features extracted from a spectrogram, such that these voiceprints/speaker models embody spectrograms; and the spectrogram features represented by voiceprints further comprise phonetic indicators (phones and pronunciation) comprising pronunciation of one or more stop words, pronunciation of vowels, pronunciation of consonants, pronunciation of numerals, time taken to answer designated security questions, or voice modulation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Khoury and Roy in the same way that Chang’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of securing (preventing malicious callers) a call system by proving an efficient and effective means of authenticating callers (Khoury, [0031]) (Roy, [0001] [0029]): each phonetic indication from the spectrogram, such as pronunciation of vowels and consonants, is represented by a combination of two or more signal attributes associated with the spectrogram, wherein each signal attribute comprises voice modulation, pauses, speech duration, breathing, pitch, frequency or loudness. For claims 2, 9 and 16, Khoury and Roy further discloses, wherein: the first voice call comprises a voice interaction between the first user and a second user associated with an interaction node that receives the first voice call (Khoury, [0031] [0032] [0055]); and the processor is further configured to generate the first voice spectrogram in real-time or near real-time as the voice interaction is being conducted between the first user and the second user (Khoury, [0031] [0032] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0055]) (Roy, [0031] [0070]). For claims 3, 10 and 17, Khoury and Roy further disclose, wherein the processor is further configured to: input the first voice spectrogram (Khoury, recognition sample for the user/caller which is preprocessed, [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0056] [0079 – 0081) (Roy, [0031] [0070]) and the plurality of historic voice spectrograms (Khoury, enrollment speech samples from the one or more registered users which were preprocessed, [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0052 - 0056] [0079 – 0081]) (Roy, [0031] [0070]) into a machine learning (ML) model (Khoury, DNN which performs speaker recognition, [0023] [0024]) (Khoury, [0035] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0049] [0055]) (Roy, [0031] [0070] [0079 – 0081]), wherein the ML model is configured to identify matching phonetic indicators between voice spectrograms (Khoury, The DNN model is trained to identify a closed set of speakers. The DNN model is trained with voice/speech signals comprising voice/speech features, [0035] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0049] [0055 – 0057]) (Roy, [0026] [0031] [0070] [0071]); and determine using the ML model whether the one or more of the phonetic indicators extracted from the first voice spectrogram are found in the one or more of the historic voice spectrograms (Khoury, The DNN model extracts voice/speech features from an input and determines if the extracted voice/speech features match extracted voice/speech features used to train the DNN model., [0035] [0038] [0039] [0046] [0047] [0049] [0056] [0057] [0079 – 0081]) (Roy, [0026] [0030] [0070] [0071]). For claims 4, 11 and 18, Khoury and Roy further disclose wherein the ML model is trained based on the plurality of historic voice spectrograms and identities of authorized users associated with each of the historic voice spectrograms (Khoury, [0028 – 0030] [0033 – 0035] [0059 – 0076] [0079 – 0081]) (Roy, [0031] [0070]). For claims 6, 13 and 20, Khoury and Roy further disclose wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the identity of the first user is authenticated in response to detecting at least a threshold number of the phonetic indicators in the first historic voice spectrogram (Khoury, The voiceprint matching a speaker model implies that a threshold number of features has been detected, [0056] [0057]) (Roy, [0026] [0030] [0070] [0071]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoury et al. (US 2019/0392842) (“Khoury”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2017/0318013) (“Roy”), and further in view of Chang et al. (US 6,073,094) (“Chang”) and further in view of Khoury et al. (US 2021/0326421) (“Khoury1”) . For claims 7 and 14 , the combination of Khoury, Roy and Chang fails to teach the following: wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, as part of the voice call, a request to perform a data interaction; after the identity of the first user is authenticated: determine whether the first user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction; and in response to determining that the first user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction, process the requested first data interaction. However, Khoury1 discloses a method to authenticate a user (Abstract), comprising the following: a request is received to perform a data interaction (Data interaction includes authorization to access a subscriber account, [0158] [0161] [0206 – 0215]); after the identity of the user is authenticated: determining whether the user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction ([0161] [0215]); and in response to determining that the first user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction, process the requested first data interaction ([0161] [0215]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Khoury, Roy and Chang in the same way that Khoury1’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose securing content in a content delivery system by proving an efficient and effective means of authenticating and authorizing uses (Khoury, [0031]) (Roy, [0001] [0029]) (Khoury1, [0161]): the processor is further configured to: receive, as part of the voice call, a request to perform a data interaction; after the identity of the first user is authenticated: determine whether the first user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction; and in response to determining that the first user is authorized to perform the requested data interaction, process the requested first data interaction . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 11, 13 – 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground (s) of rejection. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chaudhuri (US 2020/0279279) (Discussion about features which correspond to phonetic indicators, [0087] [0140]) . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SONIA L GAY whose telephone number is (571)270-1951. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9-5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Washburn can be reached at 571-272-5551. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SONIA L GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 2 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 3 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 4 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 5 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 6 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 7 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 8 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 9 Art Unit: 2657 Application/Control Number: 18/680,383 Page 10 Art Unit: 2657