DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Montilla Jimenez (US 2025/0347208) hereinafter Montilla.
With regards to claim 1, Montilla discloses a progressive cavity pump rotor comprising a scroll portion 158 (fig. 5) configured to interface with a stator 118 as is conventional in the art (paragraph [0037]), wherein at least a portion of the scroll portion that is configured to interface with the stator is hollow (paragraph [0039], and a head portion 170 configured to be releasably coupled to a coupling system that accommodates an eccentric motion between the head portion and a power input shaft (paragraph [0039]), wherein the scroll portion is releasably coupled to the head portion with a collinear joint (paragraph [0039] and fig. 5, the head portion may be coupled with mechanical means).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, see figures 2, 5 and 6 with the conical hole/recess forming the first interface.
Regarding claim 8, see figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 9, see cap 174 in figure 5.
Regarding claim 10, the scroll portion includes a two-lead helical shape. Further, cavity pump rotors with a two-lead helical shape are old and well-known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montilla in view of Barr (US Patent 4,558,954).
Montilla does not specifically disclose the shape of the first interface portion relative to the second interface portion wherein the first interface portion includes a hexagonal socket configured to interface with a hexagonal protrusion on the second interface portion. However, hexagonal interfaces are well-known in the art as attested by Barr where a hexagonal interface 18 is shown on a protrusion of a rotor 16 of a positive displacement pump to mate with a corresponding hexagonal socket of a head portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a hexagonal socket in the first interface portion configured to interface with an hexagonal protrusion on the second interface portion in the progressive cavity pump of Montilla, in light of the teachings of Barr, as an obvious matter of design choice since it would have amounted to choosing between well-known assembling arrangements with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 E.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montilla as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ide (US Patent 5,139,400).
Montilla discloses a progressive cavity pump rotor as shown above. Although Montilla does not disclose a support buttress configured to limit a surface angle of a material comprising the scroll portion measured with respect to a radial axis of the scroll portion to above a specified angle, the support buttress being located between the helical portion and the first interface, however Ide teaches a progressive cavity pump rotor comprising a buttress as claimed, see figure 2. Because the support buttress of Ide is similar to the claimed buttress, Applicant should note that it will also function as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a support buttress as claimed with the scroll of Montilla, in light of the teachings of Ide, as is known in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montilla in view of Hashima et al. (US Patent 8,967,948).
Montilla discloses the progressive cavity pump rotor as shown above. Although Ide does not explicitly disclose the scroll portion located towards a fluid output from the head portion and the head portion located towards a fluid intake from the scroll portion, however such an arrangement of the scroll portion and the head portion is well-known in the art as attested by Hashima, see column 4, lines 59-66. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have arranged the scroll portion and the head portion of Montilla as claimed, in light of the teachings of Hashima, as is well-known in the art.
Claim(s) 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montilla in view of Barr and Ide.
With regards to claim 18, Montilla discloses a progressive cavity pump rotor comprising a scroll portion 158 (fig. 5) configured to interface with a stator 118 as is conventional in the art (paragraph [0037]), wherein at least a portion of the scroll portion that is configured to interface with the stator is hollow (paragraph [0039], and a head portion 170 configured to be releasably coupled to a coupling system that accommodates an eccentric motion between the head portion and a power input shaft (paragraph [0039]), wherein the scroll portion is releasably coupled to the head portion with a collinear joint. Montilla does not disclose the scroll portion comprising a polygonal socket and the head portion comprising a polygonal protrusion configured to interface with the polygonal socket, and a support buttress that forms at least a portion of a bridge structure over the polygonal socket, the support buttress configured to limit a surface angle of a material comprising the cavity pump rotor measured with respect to a longitudinal axis of the progressive cavity pump rotor to below a specified angle. However, polygonal interfaces are well-known in the art as attested by Barr where a polygonal interface 18 is shown on a protrusion of a rotor 16 of a positive displacement pump to mate with a polygonal socket. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a hexagonal socket in the first interface portion configured to interface with an hexagonal protrusion on the second interface portion, in light of the teachings of Barr, as an obvious matter of design choice since it would have amounted to choosing between well-known assembling arrangements with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 E. Further, Ide teaches a progressive cavity pump rotor comprising a buttress as claimed, see figure 2. Because the support buttress of Ide is similar to the claimed buttress, Applicant should note that it will also function as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a support buttress as claimed with the scroll of Montilla/Barr, in light of the teachings of Ide, as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 19, se figure 3 of Montilla.
Regarding claim 21, see figure 5 of Montilla and figures 1-3, and 7 of Ide including rod 24 and figure 3 depicting the non-collinear joint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 18, 19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ESSAMA OMGBA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746