Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim 3 is cancelled, and claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11 remain pending in the application in response to the applicant’s amendments to the rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 11/17/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/24/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Gong is being relied upon to teach dependent claims 2 and 6 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Kristoffersen is being relied upon to teach dependent claim 5 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Given the amendments to claim 1, reference to Chen is being relied upon to teach dependent claim 9 more-consistently with the instant claim language, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 20130083628 A1, published April 4, 2013) in view of Yano (US 4664122 A, published May 12, 1987) and Chen et al. (CN 114533127 A, published May 27, 2022), hereinafter referred to as Qiao, Yano, and Chen, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Qiao teaches a device comprising:
a linear array divided into a plurality of sub-arrays, each of the plurality of sub-arrays transmitting a transmission ultrasonic signal to an object along a line corresponding to each of the plurality of sub-arrays (Fig. 2, transmission sub-arrays 1-3 of probe 2 when transmitting 2' as a linear array divided into a plurality of sub-arrays); and
a phased array receiving a reception ultrasonic signal obtained by reflecting the transmission ultrasonic signal from the object (Fig. 2, probe 2 when receiving 2" as a phased array; see para. 0021 – "In an embodiment, the signal generated by each transducer element 20 corresponding to its received ultrasound signal receives an appropriate beamforming delay from delay unit 21 [phased array] and the delayed received signals are summed in summing unit 22.").
Qiao teaches a phased array and a linear array, and generating an ultrasound image based on the reception ultrasonic signal (Fig. 2; see para. 0041 "The coherency factor weighted received signals 31 from each of the plurality of sub-aperture transmissions are then synthesized in synthesis unit 25 to provide the final image."), and Doppler flow ultrasound imaging is well known in the art, but does not explicitly teach calculating an energy for a doppler signal in a blood vessel region, and where the linear array and the phased array is disposed in a first direction or in a second direction that is a direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the linear array.
Whereas, Yano, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
a processor configured to calculate an energy for a doppler signal in a blood vessel region included in the object based on the reception ultrasonic signal (Fig. 3; see col. 6, lines 13-16 "As a result, the blood flow information [energy of Doppler signal] at the measuring point on the blood vessel in the tomogram is displayed together with the tomogram on display 19."),
wherein the phased array is disposed in a first direction or in a second direction that is a direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the linear array (Fig. 2, phased array B1 and B2 disposed next to linear array A; see col. 6, lines 60-64 "With this property of the transducer array the central subarray A of array 1 may be adapted for the linear scan of the object, and the peripheral subarrays B1 and B2 may be adapted for the sector scan.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the linear array and phased array generating an ultrasound image, as disclosed in Qiao, by having the linear array and phased array next to each other to generate a Doppler image, as disclosed in Yano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to acquire flow rate information of the blood of the object with high precision, as taught in Yano (see col. 1, lines 63-66).
Qiao in view of Yano teaches sub-arrays transmitting ultrasound waves to a blood vessel, but does not explicitly teach selecting a sub-array corresponding to the line crossing the blood vessel region.
Whereas, Chen, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
the plurality of sub-arrays transmit the transmission ultrasonic signals to the object along the lines corresponding to the plurality of sub-arrays, respectively, at a first time (see pg. 11, para. 5 – “Step S102: controlling each array element in the ultrasonic probe to emit ultrasonic wave and receiving echo, and processing the received echo signal.”); and
after the first time, a selected sub-array corresponding to the line crossing the blood vessel region among the plurality of sub-arrays transmits the transmission ultrasonic signal to the object at every predetermined time interval (see pg. 11, para. 7 – “Step S104: selecting the array element combination to transmit and receive ultrasonic to the position of the ultrasonic beam located at the centre of the blood vessel to be detected”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sub-arrays transmitting ultrasound waves to a blood vessel, as disclosed in Qiao in view of Yano, by also selecting a sub-array corresponding to the line crossing the blood vessel region, as disclosed in Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain the best Doppler blood flow information with high measuring precision, as taught in Chen (see Abstract).
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Qiao further teaches wherein when the energy for the doppler signal calculated from the processor configured to calculate is smaller than a predetermined reference energy, the plurality of sub-arrays simultaneously transmits the respective transmission ultrasonic signals to the object (see para. 0025- "FIG. 3illustrates that the signal 26 from each transducer element 20 is delayed in unit 27 to produce beamformed, steered focused transmitting beams 28 which enter a test object 3 with a required scan steering angle and focusing depth." Inherent and known in the art to adjust the ultrasound array after receiving a signal smaller than a predetermined reference energy (desired ROI not in view) in order to transmit and receive a signal of desired ROI (above a predetermined reference energy)).
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Qiao further teaches wherein the transmission ultrasonic signal is a broad beam generated using all or some of elements included in the linear array (Fig. 2, transmitting ultrasound signal from all transducer elements 20).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Yano and Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Gong et al. (US 20190261948 A1, published August 29, 2019), hereinafter referred to as Gong.
Regarding claim 2, over Qiao in view of Yano and Chen teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above.
Qiao in view of Yano and Chen teaches a plurality of sub-arrays transmitting ultrasound waves at a first time, but does not explicitly teach the plurality of sub-arrays simultaneously transmitting ultrasound waves.
Whereas, Gong, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of sub-arrays simultaneously transmit the transmission ultrasonic signals to the object along the lines corresponding to the plurality of sub-arrays, respectively, at a first time (see para. 0027 – “In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the ultrasound system excites the transducer array 18 by simultaneously firing the Ns virtual sources 16 at lateral locations of l1, l2, . . . , lN s .” inherent and known in the art to transmit ultrasound waves from all transducer elements).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a plurality of sub-arrays transmitting ultrasound waves at a first time, as disclosed in Qiao in view of Yano and Chen, by having the plurality of sub-arrays simultaneously transmitting ultrasound waves, as disclosed in Gong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance the signal to noise ratio (SNR) compared to single element transmission, as taught in Gong (see para. 0021).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Yano and Chen, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Kristoffersen et al. (US 20090005684 A1, published January 1, 2009), hereinafter referred to as Kristoffersen.
Regarding claim 5, Qiao in view of Yano and Chen teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 4 above.
Qiao in view of Yano and Chen teaches sub-arrays, but does not explicitly teach dividing the sub-arrays into partial arrays.
Whereas, Kristoffersen, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches a processor configured to control for dividing the selected sub-array into a plurality of partial arrays and controlling the plurality of partial arrays (see para. 0061 – “Referring again to FIG. 4, the transmit sub-aperture 180 is divided into the first and second element groups 198 and 200…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sub-arrays, as disclosed in Qiao in view of Yano and Chen, by dividing the sub-arrays into partial arrays, as disclosed in Kristoffersen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce delay errors, as taught in Kristoffersen (see para. 0065).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, and Kristoffersen, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Gong.
Regarding claim 6, Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, and Kristoffersen teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 5 above.
Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, and Kristoffersen a plurality of partial arrays transmitting ultrasound waves, but does not explicitly teach a plurality of partial arrays simultaneously transmitting ultrasound waves
Whereas, Gong, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor configured to control simultaneously transmits the transmission ultrasonic signals to the blood vessel region along partial lines corresponding to the partial arrays at a second time after the first time (see para. 0027 – “In the example illustrated in FIG. 3, the ultrasound system excites the transducer array 18 by simultaneously firing the Ns virtual sources 16 at lateral locations of l1, l2, . . . , lN s .” inherent and known in the art to transmit ultrasound waves from all transducer elements).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a plurality of partial arrays transmitting ultrasound waves, as disclosed in Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, and Kristoffersen, by having a plurality of partial arrays simultaneously transmitting ultrasound waves, as disclosed in Gong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enhance the signal to noise ratio (SNR) compared to single element transmission, as taught in Gong (see para. 0021).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under35 U.S.C. 103asbeingunpatentableover Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, Kristoffersen, and Gong, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Colombo et al. (US 20240180522 A1, published June 6, 2024with a priority date of December 2, 2022), hereinafter referred to as Colombo.
Regarding claim 7, Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, Kristoffersen, and Gong teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 6 above.
Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, Kristoffersen, and Gong teaches receiving signals corresponding to transmission partial arrays, but does not explicitly teach selecting a partial array corresponding to the highest energy of the received signals.
Whereas, Colombo, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor configured to calculate selects a selected partial array, which is a partial array corresponding to a selected partial line corresponding to the highest energy among the energies for the doppler signals corresponding to the respective partial lines (Fig. 11C; see para. 0131 "In some embodiments, as shown at procedure 1242, the ultrasonic transducer of the array of ultrasonic transducers selected as exhibiting alignment with the target exhibits the largest signal amplitude differential for each sub-array.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified receiving signals corresponding to transmission partial arrays, as disclosed in Qiao in view of Yano, Chen, Kristoffersen, and Gong, by selecting a partial array corresponding to the highest energy of the received signals, as disclosed in Colombo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to indicate the widest portion of target blood vessel, which is the location of the ultrasonic sensor exhibiting best alignment with target blood vessel, as taught in Colombo (see para. 0114).
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Colombo further teaches wherein the processor configured to control drives the selected partial array at every predetermined time interval after the second time to transmit the transmission ultrasonic signal to the blood vessel region (Fig. 4; see para. 0080 - "Periodically, activation timer 450 can activate the componentry of processing unit 400 and an ultrasonic sensing module (e.g, ultrasonic sensing module 110) for performing further cardiovascular monitoring.").
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Qiao further teaches wherein the linear array transmits an image ultrasonic transmission signal to the object and receives an image ultrasonic reception signal reflected from the object (Fig. 2, probe 2 as linear array; see para. 0041 "The coherency factor weighted received signals 31 from each of the plurality of sub-aperture transmissions are then synthesized in synthesis unit 25 to provide the final image."),
Yano further teaches the blood vessel region is identified according to an ultrasonic image generated from a processor configured to provide imaging based on the image ultrasonic reception signal (Fig. 3; see col. 6, lines 13- 16 "As a result, the blood flow information [energy of Doppler signal] at the measuring point on the blood vessel in the tomogram is displayed together with the tomogram on display 19 [blood vessel identified in image]."), and
Chen further teaches the processor configured to control selects the selected sub-array among the plurality of sub-arrays corresponding to the blood vessel region to transmit the transmission ultrasonic signal (see pg. 11, para. 7 – “Step S104: selecting the array element combination to transmit and receive ultrasonic to the position of the ultrasonic beam located at the centre of the blood vessel to be detected”).
The motivation for claims 8-9 was shown previously in claims 1 and 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maresca et al. (US 20190314001 A1, published October 17, 2019) discloses simultaneously activating both sets of transducer elements.
Nair et al. (US 20150086098 A1, published March 26, 2015) discloses selecting a sub-set of the transducers to be used to acquire one, some, or all types of data from a Sub-region of the inner vascular circumference.
Shurtliff et al. (US 20210169443 A1, published June 10, 2021) discloses select a particular subset of transmitter elements within the transducer array through which ultrasound energy is transmitted.
Lemmerhirt et al. (US 20130096433 A1, published April 18, 2013) discloses adjusting an acoustic aperture by selecting a portion of the array of receiver elements to be activated receiver elements functions to maximize signal contribution from a particular region of interest while minimizing signal contribution from regions not of interest, thereby enhancing accuracy and precision of blood flow monitoring.
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798