DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on May 31, 2024, and to the preliminary amendment filed on December 30,2024, which is acknowledged and entered. By the preliminary amendment, claims 2, 5, 6, and 13-16, were cancelled; and claims 21-27 were newly added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 4, 7-12 and 17-27 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 31, 2024 and on November 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 8, line 5 “An uplink slot or symbol is a lot” should read “An uplink slot or symbol is a slot.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation "the wireless access node” in line 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is read as “a wireless access node.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20223/0284210).
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses a method for wireless communication (Fig. 17, ¶[0168]), the method comprising:
determining, with a wireless access node (See, e.g., Fig.1, #102 and ¶[0037], “base station (BS)), a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (The first frequency range is being equated to the UL BWP size. See, e.g., Fig. 17, #1710, ¶s[0168]-[0169], “the BS transmitting scheduling information…[that] indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) ….and at least one RB offset;” See, also, ¶[0069]-[0071], Table 1 and Equation (1) requiring the UL BWP size in order to ascertain the RB offset(s). Thus, it is a prerequisite, in order for the BS to be able to determine the RB offset, that the BS must first determine the starting RB and the size of the UL BWP.) and a second frequency range for a[n] UL sub-band (The second frequency range is being equated to the size of the UL subband. See, e.g., Figs. 8A-8B depicting a full-duplex (FD) slot, for which there could be a situation where the PUSCH may be schedule in the downlink sub-band. In order to avoid such situation, for the FD slots, utilizing a different method of determining the frequency hopping offset, “based on the size of the uplink subband within a BWP rather than the size of the BWP itself.” See, e.g., ¶[0078], ¶s[0090]-[0093], Tables 2-3 and Equation (2). The BS thus, in order to determine the frequency hopping offset(s) for the FD slots, must first determine the size of the FD subband, i.e., the frequency range of the subband.);
determining, with the wireless access node, a frequency hopping offset value (See, e.g., Equations (1) or (2)) or a frequency resource for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See, e.g., ¶[0169], “starting resource block (RB)”) based on at least one of the first frequency range or the second frequency range (See, e.g., ¶[0069]-[0071], Table 1, Equation (1), ¶s[0090]-[0093], Table 2 and Equation (2). As discussed above, the BS determines the frequency hopping offset based on the size of either the UL BWP or the FD subband); and
receiving, with the wireless access node, the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) on the UL BWP or on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 6A, #610 and ¶[0075]; and Fig. 17, #1720 and ¶[0170]).
Regarding claim 3, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses determining, with the wireless access node, a first configuration for the first frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 8A and ¶[0085]-[0087], discussing the case of BWP size based frequency hopping, i.e., according to Table 1 and Equation (1)) and a second configuration for the second frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 8B and ¶[0090]-[0094]), discussing the case of subband size based frequency hopping, i.e., according to Tables 2-3 and Equation (2)), wherein the first configuration and the second configuration each comprise at least one of: a frequency hopping method (Compare, e.g., Fig 8a and 8B, i.e., with different frequency hopping offset values. See, also, e.g., Title, “Inter-slot and Intra-slot Frequency Hopping,”), a resource block group (RBG) size (See, e.g., ¶s[0085] and [0088], discussing RBG size dependent offset configurations. See, also, Tables 1 and 2), or a plurality of frequency hopping offset values (See, e.g., Tables 1 and 2, and ¶[0088], “increasing the number of configurable RB offsets (e.g., to greater than two) [i.e., would be the case for the BWP size based offset] may increase the probability that an adequate RB offset may be configured.”).
Regarding claim 4, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that the frequency hopping method comprises: no hopping, intra-slot hopping, or inter-slot hopping (See, e.g., Title and ¶[0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that determining the frequency hopping offset value or the frequency resource for the PUSCH comprises at least one of:
determining, with the wireless access node, the hopping offset value from among a plurality of first hopping offset values for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, e.g., ¶[0069]-[0071], Table 1 and Equation (1)); or
determining, with the wireless access node, the hopping offset value from among a plurality of second hopping offset values for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., ¶[0078], ¶s[0090]-[0093], Tables 2-3 and Equation (2)).
Regarding claim 8, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that determining the frequency hopping offset value or the frequency resource for the PUSCH comprises at least one of:
determining, with the wireless access node, a first frequency resource for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP based on the first frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 8A, #804; and ¶[0085]-[0087]); or
determining, with the wireless access node, a second frequency resource for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band based on the second frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 8B, #804; and ¶[0090]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that a downlink control information (DCI) comprises a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field that indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH (See, e.g., ¶s[0057]-[0058], “transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE that includes a dynamic grant (DG)….[that includes] …. an indication of one or more time and frequency resources for transmitting an uplink transmission on the PUSCH”).
Regarding claim 20, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that a downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the wireless access node indicates a resource type of a scheduled channel transmission (See, e.g., Figs. 3A and 3C, and ¶[0303], i.e., the DCI indicates whether a subband is a DL or UL subband.).
Regarding claim 21, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that the scheduled channel transmission comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or the PUSCH (See, e.g., Figs. 3B and 3D; and ¶s[0311] and [0310]).
Regarding claim 22, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that the resource type includes the UL BWP, wherein the scheduled channel transmission is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, e.g., ¶s[0066]-[0068], “the frequency offsets for PUSCH repetitions may be provided in the parameter frequencyHoppingOffsetLists;” As discussed above, when PUSCH is to be received on the UL BWP, the set of BWP size based offset would be indicated, thus indicating UL BWP resource type), or the resource type includes the UL sub-band, wherein the scheduled channel transmission is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., ¶s[0066]-[0068] as discussed above, for UL subband reception, a UL subband size based offsets would be provided).
Regarding claim 23, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses that the frequency resource for the PUSCH is scaled based on the first frequency range for the UL BWP and the second frequency range for the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 6A, #s 610 and 614; and ¶[0075], “an uplink subband 610 that spans the entire BWP 606,” “an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606”).
Regarding claim 24, Abdelghaffar et al. discloses a wireless communications apparatus (See, e.g., Fig. 20, #2000 and ¶[0204]) comprising:
a memory (Fig. 20, #2030, “Computer-Readable Medium/Memory) storing a plurality of instructions (See, e.g., ¶[0206]); and
at least one processor (Fig. 20, #2020) configured to execute the plurality of instructions, wherein upon execution of the plurality of instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless communications apparatus (See, e.g., ¶[0206]) to:
determine a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (See, e.g., Fig. 17, #1710, ¶s[0168]-[0169] ,¶[0069]-[0071], Table 1, and Equation (1), as discussed above in connection to claim 1, the size of the BWP must first be ascertained in order to determine the BWP size based frequency hopping offset.), and a second frequency range for an UL sub-band (See, e.g., Figs. 8A-8B; See, also., ¶[0078], ¶s[0090]-[0093], Tables 2-3 and Equation (2). the size of the UL subband must first be ascertained in order to determine the subband size based frequency hopping offset.);
determine a frequency hopping offset value (See, e.g., Equations (1) or (2)) or a frequency resource for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (See, e.g., ¶[0169], “starting resource block (RB)”) based on at least one of the first frequency range or the second frequency range (See, e.g., ¶[0069]-[0071], Table 1, Equation (1), ¶s[0090]-[0093], Table 2 and Equation (2). As discussed above, the frequency hopping offset is determined based on the size of either the UL BWP or of the FD subband); and
receive the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) on the UL BWP or on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 6A, #610 and ¶[0075]; and Fig. 17, #1720 and ¶[0170]).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0235496).
Regarding claim 25, Park discloses a method for wireless communication (See, e.g., Fig. 10 and ¶[0127]), the method comprising:
determining, with a user device (See, e.g., Fig.1 and ¶[0048], “user equipment (UE)), a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (See, e.g., Fig. 10, S1010, and ¶s[0136] and [0138], “the UE may receive downlink control information including uplink scheduling information,” “the uplink scheduling information may include only bandwidth part-based frequency domain resource allocation information.”) and a second frequency range for an UL sub-band (See, e.g., ¶[0137], “the uplink scheduling information may further include subband allocation information… subband-based frequency domain resource allocation information”);
determining, with the user device, a frequency hopping offset value (“RBoffset value;” See, e.g., ¶s[0260][0261], [0266], [Equation 1] and [Equation 2]), or a frequency resource for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (“RBstart,” See, e.g., [Equation 1] and [Equation 2]) based on at least one of the first frequency range (See, e.g., ¶[0272], et seq., “Embodiment 6. BWP-Based Frequency Hopping,” using [Equation 1]) or the second frequency range (See, e.g., ¶[0258], et seq., “Embodiment 5: Subband-Based Frequency Hopping,” using [Equation 2] and {Equation 3]); and
transmitting, with the user device, the PUSCH on the UL BWP or on the UL sub- band (See, e.g., Fig. 10, S1030) and ¶s[0139]and [0140]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. in view of 3GPP38.212R171.
Regarding claim 10, Abdelghaffar et al. teaches a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above, but fails to explicitly teach that a length of the FDRA field depends on a first number of frequency resources of the UL BWP, on a second number of frequency resources of the UL sub-band, or on a larger of the first number of frequency resources and the second number of frequency resources.
3GPP38.212R17 teaches that the length of a FDRA field depends on a first number of frequency resources of the UL BWP (See. e.g., Page 114, line 18 and Page 117, lines 6-8. For DCI format 0_0,
bits, where
is the size of the active UL bandwidth part (See. e.g., Page 114, line 18 and Page 117, lines 6-8), on a second number of frequency resources of the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Page 148, the bottom two lines – Page 149, line 6. For DCI format 0_2,
N
R
B
G
bits (allocation type 0) or
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
bits (allocation type 1), where
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
=
N
R
B
U
L
,
B
W
P
+
N
U
L
,
B
W
P
s
t
a
r
t
mod
K
1
/
K
1
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar et al. (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP38.212R17 further teaches at least one of: a first or last L1-number of bits of the FDRA field (
bits, See Page 117, line 14-15) indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See Page 117, lines 9-13], for DCI Format 0_0, allocation type 1) or a first or last L2-number of bits of the FDRA field (
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
-
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
bits, See Page 149, lines 19-20) indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See Page 149, lines 16-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar et al. (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP38.212R17 further teaches the FDRA field further indicates the frequency hopping offset value from among a plurality of first hopping offset values (See, e.g., Page 117 at lines 11-12, “
if the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffsetLists contains two offset values”) or from among a plurality of second hopping offset values (See, e.g., Page 117, lines 12-13,
if the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffsetLists contains four offset values”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar et al. (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP38.212R17 further teaches that at least one of: a first L1-number of bits (
bits) of the FDRA field, after one or two bits that indicates the frequency hopping offset value (“
MSB bits”), indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, e.g., Page 117, lines 9-15); or a first L2-number of bits (
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
-
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
bits) of the FDRA field, after the one or two bits that indicates the frequency hopping offset value (
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
MSB bits), indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g.,. Page 149, lines 14-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar et al. (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 19, 3GPP38.212R17 further teaches that the frequency hopping offset value comprises a first frequency hopping offset value for transmission on the UL BWP (those offset values set forth in “infrequencyHoppingOffsetLists” See, Page 117, lines 9-13) and a second hopping offset value for transmission on the UL sub-band (those offset values set forth “frequencyHoppingOffsetListsDCI-0-2” See, Page 149, lines 14-18) and that the FDRA field comprises a code point (“
MSB bits” ) that indicates the first frequency hopping offset value from the among a plurality of first hopping offset values and the second frequency hopping offset value from among a plurality of second hopping offset values (See, e.g., Page 117, lines 9-13 and Page 149, lines 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar et al. (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. in view of 3GPP38.212R17 in further view of 3GPP38.213R172 and 3GPP38.214R173.
Regarding claim 17, Abdelghaffar et al. in view of 3GPP38.212R17 a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above, but fails to explicitly teach that the FDRA field indicates no frequency hopping offset value, and a predetermined frequency hopping offset value is used in response to the FDRA field indicating no frequency hopping offset value.
3GPP38.213R17 further teaches the FDRA field indicates no frequency hopping offset value (See Page 195, lines 18-22, the PUSCH hopping is performed by a UE “if the frequency hopping field in a corresponding detected DCI format or in a random access response UL grant is set to 1, or if for a Type 1 PUSCH transmission with a configured grant the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffset is provided, Emphasis Added).
3GPP38.214R17 further teaches that a predetermined frequency hopping offset value is used in response to the FDRA field indicating no frequency hopping offset value (See Page 60 at lines 20-21; “[f]or a PUSCH transmission with frequency hopping scheduled by RAR UL grant… the frequency offset for the second hop…is given in Table 8.3-1 [reproduced below]).
Table 8.3-1: Frequency offset for second hop of PUSCH transmission with frequency hopping scheduled by RAR UL grant or of Msg3 PUSCH retransmission
Number of PRBs in initial UL BWP
Value of
N
U
L
,
h
o
p
Hopping Bits
Frequency offset for 2nd hop
N
BWP
size
<
50
0
N
BWP
size
/
2
1
N
BWP
size
/
4
N
BWP
size
≥
50
00
N
BWP
size
/
2
01
N
BWP
size
/
4
10
-
N
BWP
size
/
4
11
Reserved
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar et al. to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17, 3GPP38.213R17 and 3GPP38.214R17 as doing so would allow the base station, which is contemplated as a 5G NR base station (See, e.g., ¶s[0049] and [0066]), to be compliant to the 5G NR specifications.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Abdelghaffar et al.
Regarding claim 26, Park teaches a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 25 as discussed above, and further teaches that the PUSCH comprises a configured grant PUSCH or a plurality of PUSCH repetitions (See, e.g., ¶[0176], “PUSCH transmission is performed may also be set semi-statically via RRC signaling”), and recognize the possibility of dropping, with the user device, the configured grant PUSCH or a PUSCH repetition of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions (See, e.g., ¶s[0275] and [0279]), but fails to explicitly teach such dropping is in response to the frequency resource of the configured grant PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition being out of the UL BWP or the UL sub-band.
Abdelghaffar et al. also teaches that the PUSCH comprises a configured grant PUSCH (See, e.g., ¶[0057]) or a plurality of PUSCH repetitions (See, e.g., Fig. 5A and ¶[0062]); and also recognize the possibility of the UE having to drop the configured grant PUSCH or a PUSCH repetition of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions, and that such dropping is in response to the frequency resource of the configured grant PUSCH or the PUSCH repetition being out of the UL BWP or the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 7, #730, ¶s[0095] and[0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, in so far as Park also contemplates the implementation of frequency hopping utilizing BWP size based offset(s) (See, e.g., Park ¶[0273]), would have recognize the necessity of having to drop PUSCH would also exist when BWP size based offset is used as taught by Abdelghaffar et al.(See, e.g., ¶[0095]).
Regarding claim 27, Abdelghaffar et al. further teaches the step of
determining, with the user device, not to count the dropped PUSCH repetition in a number of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions configured by the wireless access node (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar et al. ¶[0077], “these PUSCH repetitions and interfered downlink transmissions to have to be retransmitted”).
Conclusion
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 March 5, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 3GPP TS 38.212 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Multiplexing and Channel Coding” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 116-189, §7.3.1.
2 3GPP TS 38.213 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical Layer Procedures For Control” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 59-61, §8.3.
3 3GPP TS 38.214 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical Layer Procedures for Data” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 138-174 and 194-197, §§6.1.2 and 6.3.