DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 5, 2026 has been entered. Prior to the Amendment, claims 1, 3, 4, 7-12, and 17-27 were pending in the application. By the Amendment, claims 1, 3, and 24- 27 are amended, no claims are newly added or canceled. Accordingly, claims 1, 3, 4, 7-12, and 17-27 remain pending and ready for examination.
Withdrawal of objections to claim and specification
The amendments to the Specification and to claim 27 made by the Amendment are acknowledged and entered. In view of such amendments, the objections to the Specification and to claim 27 made in the previous Office Action are now each withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-12, and 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 as amended recites the limitation, inter alia, “transmit, with a wireless access node to a user device, a first configuration for a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP), and a second configuration for a second frequency range for an UL sub-band,” emphasis added.
Claim 24 as amended recites the limitation, inter alia, “transmit, to a user device, a first configuration for a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP), and a second configuration for a second frequency range for an UL sub-band,” emphasis added.
Claim 25 as amended recites the limitation, , inter alia, “receiving, with a user device, a first configuration for a first frequency range for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP), and a second configuration for a second frequency range for an UL sub-band,” emphasis added.
The Applicant cites, on p.9 of the Amendment, “the second paragraph on p. 8 and the last paragraph on page 8/first paragraph on page 9 of Applicant's specification;” and the claim 3 as originally presented, as providing the purported support for the above claim language, which cited portions are reproduced below1:
[0025] In addition or alternatively, in some embodiments, the wireless access node 104 may configure an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP). The UL BWP may comprise a first plurality of frequency resources (e.g., a first number of frequency resources). The UL BWP may be on or occupy one or more uplink symbols, uplink slots, flexible symbols, or flexible slots. In addition, the wireless access node 104 may configure a downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP). The DL BWP may be on or occupy one or more downlink symbols, downlink slots, flexible symbols, or flexible slots. In addition, the wireless access node 104 may configure an uplink (UL) sub-band. The UL sub-band may comprise a second plurality of frequency resources (e.g., a second number of frequency resources). The UL sub-band may be on or occupy one or more downlink symbols, downlink slot, flexible symbols or flexible slots. Alternatively, the UL sub-band may be within the DL BWP. Also, in any of various embodiments, a frequency resource may include one or more resource elements (e.g., one or more sub-carriers), one or more resource block (RBs), and/or one or more resource block groups (RBGs).
[0026] Also, in at least some embodiments, the wireless access node may configure a first hopping method for a PUSCH transmission on the UL sub-band and a second hopping method for the PUSCH transmission on the UL BWP. For at least some embodiments, each of the first hopping method and the second hopping method may include no hopping, intra-slot hopping or inter-slot hopping. For example, the wireless access node 104 may configure no hopping for the PUSCH transmission on the UL sub-band, and may configure inter-slot hopping for the PUSCH transmission on the UL BWP. Correspondingly, in this example, the user device 102 may not perform frequency hopping for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band, and may perform inter-slot hopping for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, with the wireless access node, a first configuration for the first frequency range and a second configuration for the second frequency range, wherein the first configuration and the second configuration each comprise at least one of:
a frequency hopping method, a resource block group (RBG) size, or a plurality of frequency hopping offset values.
Upon a careful review of the above portions relied by the Applicant, and of the other remining portions of the Applicant’s disclosure, the Examiner respectfully disagree that the Applicant’s disclosure provides sufficient written description support that reasonably conveys to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The portions relied by the Applicant, and elsewhere in Applicant’s disclosure, plainly do not describe any transmission from the network to a UE, or a reception by a UE from the network, of any “configuration.” Accordingly, claims 1, 24 and 25 as amended are rejected for including newly added subject matter without sufficient support in the specification. Claims 2-4, 7-12, 17-23, 26 and 27, because due to their dependency also include those recitations deemed to constitute new matter, are thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)for at least the same reason the independent claims are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites, on line 1, the limitation “the frequency resource.”
There is not sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is construed to mean “a frequency resource.”
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 recites, on line 20, an extraneous “for.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 26 recites, on line 6, the limitation, “the second user device.”
There is not sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is construed to mean “the user device.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8 and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2023/0284210)(Hereinafter, “Abdelghaffar”).
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication (See, e.g., Fig. 9), the method comprising:
Transmitting (See, Fig. 9, #910, transmission of a “Scheduling information” from a BS to a UE; and ¶[0057], “A base station (BS) may schedule uplink transmissions on the PUSCH by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE that includes a dynamic grant (DG) or may transmit or radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE that includes a configured grant (CG)”), with a wireless access node (Fig. 9, #902. “Network Entity;” and ¶[0102], “ the network entity 902 may be an example of the BS 102 depicted and described with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2”) to a user device (Fig. 9, #904, “UE”), a first configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the network entity transmitting various configuration parameter/information to the UE. See, e.g., [0303], “UEs may be configured with the slot format through a received slot format indicator (SFI) (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling);” ¶[0071] “DCI may include an SLIV that indicates a starting symbol and length of a PUSCH transmission/repetition;” ¶¶[0065]-[0072], “frequency hopping scheme may include inter-slot frequency hopping and/or intra-slot frequency hopping. Inter-slot frequency hopping;” “the frequency hopping scheme may be indicated to a UE by a base station using the radio resource control (RRC) parameter;” “frequency offsets (e.g., resource block (RB) offsets for the second hop) for PUSCH repetitions may be provided by one or more higher layer parameters;” “Table 12, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” “Tables 1 illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” and “ In Equation 1, … RBstart is the starting RB within the UL BWP as calculated from resource block assignment information of resource allocation type 1.” See, also, Table 1 and Equation 1) for a first frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1006; and ¶[0111], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 spans an entire BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #610) for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (See. Fig. 10, #1020, ¶[0111], “BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #606), and a second configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the second configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmission over SBFD band) differs from the first configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmissions over the BWP) at least in the following aspects. See, e.g., ¶[0073], “In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources;” “SBFD may result, in some cases, in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” ¶[0078], “increasing the number of frequency offsets that may be configured, defining different frequency offsets for SBFD slots, and/or determining starting RBs based on the size of the uplink subband within a BWP rather than the size of the BWP itself;” ¶[0081], “the scheduling information schedules transmission at least one uplink channel transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, etc.) in a full duplex (FD) slot according to a frequency hopping scheme that configures frequency hops between different portions of the at least one uplink channel transmission in the FD slot (e.g., an SBFD slot, such as SBFD slot 612 illustrated in FIGS. 6A and 6B);” ¶[0088], the number of configurable RB offsets for when the number of RBs of the uplink subband of the FD slot is less than the second threshold (or when the number of RBs of the BWP is less than the first threshold) may be increased to greater than two configurable RB offsets;” ¶[0089], “the set of RB offsets (e.g., from which the at least one RB offset indicated in the scheduling information is selected from for the FD slot) may be different from another set of RB offsets for a non-FD slot;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., N.sub.UL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots).” See, Tables 2 and 3, showing different respective number of frequency hopping offset values for transmission over BWP verses over SBFD, compare Table 1. See, also, ¶[0093], “when determining the starting RB for a “second hop” transmission (e.g., second portion of the at least one uplink channel transmission), …rather than applying a modulo operation involving the entire size of the active BWP, in some cases, a modulo operation involving only the size of the uplink subband may be performed, as shown in Equation 2.” See, Equation 2, compare Equation 1.) for a second frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #612; and ¶[0075], “a portion of the BWP 606”) for an UL sub-band (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “an uplink subband 1007 of the first FD slot 1008 and the second FD slot 1010 only span a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Fig. 6A, #614; and ¶[0075], “each SBFD slot 612 includes an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606.”), wherein the UL sub-band is on a second symbol (See, Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1”) that is a downlink (DL) symbol or a flexible symbol (See, ¶[0063], “The symbols shown in FIG. 5B may be either configured for downlink (labeled “D”), configured for uplink (labeled “U”), or configured as a special or flexible symbol (labeled “X”) which can be either designated as downlink or uplink,” emphasis added; Fig. 6A, #614; and ¶[0075], “the slot format 600 of FIG. 6A includes an uplink slot 608 that may be used by the UE to transmit uplink information to the BS. As shown, the uplink slot 608 includes an uplink subband 610 that spans the entire BWP 606. Further, as shown, the slot format 600 includes a plurality of SBFD slots 612 that may be used by the BS for transmitting downlink information to the UE as well as receiving uplink information from the UE. As shown, each SBFD slot 612 includes an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606” i.e., according to Abdelghaffar, the UL sub-band may be full-duplex (SBFD), and thus may include a flexible symbol, whereas in the case PUSCH transmission is based the BWP, only uplink symbols are possible.);
Determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0089], “allowing the network entity 702 to more accurately select an RB offset;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)”), a first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, Table 1, providing frequency hopping offset values determined based on the size of the BWP; and ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information.”) and a second frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from the 4 values for SBFD transmission listed in Table 2, i.e., one selected from FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4. See, Table 2; and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”), wherein a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to be transmitted by the user device is segmented into a first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added; and ¶[0090], “As shown in Table 2, an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)….when the slot type is a non-SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of two configurable non-SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_1 or FH_RBOffset_2 using bit values 00 and 01.”) and a second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], “in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”), wherein the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, above.) is in a first symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5A, symbols for the “Rep. 0” or “Rep. 1”) that is an UL symbol or a flexible symbol (See, e.g., ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added) and the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, above.) is in the second symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1.”), wherein the first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, above.) is determined from a plurality of first hopping offset values (The frequency hopping offset values listed in Table 1. See, above.) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, above. See, also, ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes”) and the second frequency hopping offset value (a frequency hopping offset value selected from those offsets applicable to SBFD listed in Table 2, i.e., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4) is determined from a plurality of second hopping offset values (E.g., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots.);
determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0084], “the scheduling information indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) for the at least one uplink channel transmission, and at least one RB offset”) at least one of a first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014; and ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006”) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots, i.e., a non-FD slot) based on the first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values, determined on the basis of the BWP size, listed in Table 1. See, Fig. 10, “RBoffset” applied in scheduling the PUSCH 1014) and the first frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1020; and ¶[0114], “the first non-FD uplink slot 1004 and the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020)” See, also, Fig. 6A, #610; ¶[0075], “spans the entire BWP 606”) or a second frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #804) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots, i.e., a FD slot.) based on the second frequency hopping offset value (See, ¶[0090], “the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively”) and the second frequency range (See, Fig. 8, #806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800, shown with a range smaller that the BWP); and
receiving, with the wireless access node (See, ¶[0104], “at block 920, the UE 904 takes one or more actions related to transmitting, according to the frequency hopping scheme, the plurality of uplink data channel repetitions in the plurality of slots based on the scheduling information.”), at least one of the first PUSCH repetition on the first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, , #1014) or the second PUSCH repetition on the second frequency resource (See, Fig. 8B, , #804).
Regarding claim 3/1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that the method further comprising:
wherein the first configuration (i.e., the configuration applicable to non-FD slots as discussed above) and the second configuration (i.e., the configuration applicable to FD slots as discussed above) each comprise at least one of: a frequency hopping method (See, ¶[0065], “a frequency hopping scheme may be used when transmitting PUSCH;” and ¶[0066], “the frequency hopping scheme may be indicated to a UE by a base station using the radio resource control (RRC) parameter”), or a plurality of frequency hopping offset values (See, e.g., Tables 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4/3, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that the frequency hopping method comprises: no hopping, intra-slot hopping, or inter-slot hopping (See, ¶[0065], “this frequency hopping scheme may include inter-slot frequency hopping and/or intra-slot frequency hopping.”).
Regarding claim 7/1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that determining the frequency hopping offset value or the frequency resource for the PUSCH comprises at least one of:
determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0089], “allowing the network entity 702 to more accurately select an RB offset;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)”), the hopping offset value from among a plurality of first hopping offset values (See, Table 1, providing a plurality of frequency hopping offset values) for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, Table 1, providing a plurality of frequency hopping offset values determined on the basis of the BWP size; and ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes.” See, also, Fig. 10, #1014; ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006;” and ¶[0114], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020)”); or
determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0089], “allowing the network entity 702 to more accurately select an RB offset;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)”), the hopping offset value from among a plurality of second hopping offset values (E.g., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 listed in Tables 2 and 3) for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #s 804 and 806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800”).
Regarding claim 8/1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that determining the frequency hopping offset value or the frequency resource for the PUSCH comprises at least one of:
determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0084], “the scheduling information indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) for the at least one uplink channel transmission, and at least one RB offset”), a first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014) for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP based on the first frequency range (See, ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006;” and ¶[0114], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020); or
determining, with the wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0084], “the scheduling information indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) for the at least one uplink channel transmission, and at least one RB offset”), a second frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #804) for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band based on the second frequency range (See, Fig. 8, #806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800, shown with a range smaller that the BWP).
Regarding claim 20/1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that a downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by the wireless access node indicates a resource type (i.e., downlink, uplink or flexible) of a scheduled channel transmission (See, ¶[0303], “In FIGS. 3A and 3C, the wireless communication frame structure is TDD where D is DL, U is UL, and X is flexible for use between DL/UL. UEs may be configured with the slot format through a received slot format indicator (SFI) (dynamically through DL control information (DCI)”).
Regarding claim 21/20, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 20 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that the scheduled channel transmission comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (See, Fig. 3B, “PDSCH”), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (See, Fig. 3D, “PUCCH”), or the PUSCH (See, Fig. 3D, “PUSCH”).
Regarding claim 22/20, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 20 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that the resource type includes the UL BWP (See, Fig. 10, #1006, and ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006;” and ¶[0114], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020), wherein the scheduled channel transmission is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014), or the resource type includes the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #s 804 and 806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800”), wherein the scheduled channel transmission is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #804).
Regarding claim 23/1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses that the frequency resource for the PUSCH is scaled based on the first frequency range for the UL BWP (See, ¶[0093], “when determining the starting RB for a “second hop” transmission (e.g., second portion of the at least one uplink channel transmission), Equation 1 may be used. As can be seen, Equation 1 applies a modulo operation involving the size of an active BWP (e.g., in which the portions of the at least one uplink channel transmission are to be transmitted);” and Fig. 8A) and the second frequency range for the UL sub-band (See, ¶[0093], “rather than applying a modulo operation involving the entire size of the active BWP, in some cases, a modulo operation involving only the size of the uplink subband may be performed, as shown in Equation 2;” and Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 24, Abdelghaffar discloses a wireless communications apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2, #192; Fig. 20, #2000; and ¶[0204], “communications device 2000 is a network entity, such as BS 102 described above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2) comprising:
a memory (Fig. 20, #2030, “Computer-Readable Medium/Memory) storing a plurality of instructions (See, ¶[0206], “the computer-readable medium/memory 2030 is configured to store instructions (e.g., computer-executable code)”); and
at least one processor (Fig. 20, #2020) configured to execute the plurality of instructions, wherein upon execution of the plurality of instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless communications apparatus to (See, ¶[0206], “instructions (e.g., computer-executable code) that when executed by the one or more processors 2020, cause the one or more processors 2020 to perform the method”):
transmit, to a user device (See, Fig. 9, #910, transmission of a “Scheduling information” from a BS to a UE; and ¶[0057], “A base station (BS) may schedule uplink transmissions on the PUSCH by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE that includes a dynamic grant (DG) or may transmit or radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE that includes a configured grant (CG)”), a first configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the network entity transmitting various configuration parameter/information to the UE. See, e.g., [0303], “UEs may be configured with the slot format through a received slot format indicator (SFI) (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling);” ¶[0071] “DCI may include an SLIV that indicates a starting symbol and length of a PUSCH transmission/repetition;” ¶¶[0065]-[0072], “frequency hopping scheme may include inter-slot frequency hopping and/or intra-slot frequency hopping. Inter-slot frequency hopping;” “the frequency hopping scheme may be indicated to a UE by a base station using the radio resource control (RRC) parameter;” “frequency offsets (e.g., resource block (RB) offsets for the second hop) for PUSCH repetitions may be provided by one or more higher layer parameters;” “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” “Tables 1 illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” and “ In Equation 1, … RBstart is the starting RB within the UL BWP as calculated from resource block assignment information of resource allocation type 1.” See, also, Table 1 and Equation 1) for a first frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1006; and ¶[0111], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 spans an entire BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #610) for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (See. Fig. 10, #1020, ¶[0111], “BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #606), and a second configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the second configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmission over SBFD band) differs from the first configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmissions over the BWP) at least in the following aspects. See, e.g., ¶[0073], “In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources;” “SBFD may result, in some cases, in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” ¶[0078], “increasing the number of frequency offsets that may be configured, defining different frequency offsets for SBFD slots, and/or determining starting RBs based on the size of the uplink subband within a BWP rather than the size of the BWP itself;” ¶[0081], “the scheduling information schedules transmission at least one uplink channel transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, etc.) in a full duplex (FD) slot according to a frequency hopping scheme that configures frequency hops between different portions of the at least one uplink channel transmission in the FD slot (e.g., an SBFD slot, such as SBFD slot 612 illustrated in FIGS. 6A and 6B);” ¶[0088], the number of configurable RB offsets for when the number of RBs of the uplink subband of the FD slot is less than the second threshold (or when the number of RBs of the BWP is less than the first threshold) may be increased to greater than two configurable RB offsets;” ¶[0089], “the set of RB offsets (e.g., from which the at least one RB offset indicated in the scheduling information is selected from for the FD slot) may be different from another set of RB offsets for a non-FD slot;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., N.sub.UL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots).” See, Tables 2 and 3, showing different respective number of frequency hopping offset values for transmission over BWP verses over SBFD, compare Table 1. See, also, ¶[0093], “when determining the starting RB for a “second hop” transmission (e.g., second portion of the at least one uplink channel transmission), …rather than applying a modulo operation involving the entire size of the active BWP, in some cases, a modulo operation involving only the size of the uplink subband may be performed, as shown in Equation 2.” See, Equation 2, compare Equation 1.) for a second frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #612; and ¶[0075], “a portion of the BWP 606”) for an UL sub-band (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “an uplink subband 1007 of the first FD slot 1008 and the second FD slot 1010 only span a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Fig. 6A, #614; and ¶[0075], “each SBFD slot 612 includes an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606.”), wherein the UL sub-band is on a second symbol (See, Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1”) that is a downlink (DL) symbol or a flexible symbol (See, ¶[0063], “The symbols shown in FIG. 5B may be either configured for downlink (labeled “D”), configured for uplink (labeled “U”), or configured as a special or flexible symbol (labeled “X”) which can be either designated as downlink or uplink,” emphasis added; Fig. 6A, #614; and ¶[0075], “the slot format 600 of FIG. 6A includes an uplink slot 608 that may be used by the UE to transmit uplink information to the BS. As shown, the uplink slot 608 includes an uplink subband 610 that spans the entire BWP 606. Further, as shown, the slot format 600 includes a plurality of SBFD slots 612 that may be used by the BS for transmitting downlink information to the UE as well as receiving uplink information from the UE. As shown, each SBFD slot 612 includes an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606” i.e., according to Abdelghaffar, the UL sub-band may be full-duplex (SBFD), and thus may include a flexible symbol, whereas in the case PUSCH transmission is based the BWP, only uplink symbols are possible.);
determine (See, e.g., ¶[0089], “allowing the network entity 702 to more accurately select an RB offset;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)”) a first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, Table 1, providing frequency hopping offset values determined based on the size of the BWP; and ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information.”) and a second frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from the 4 values for SBFD transmission listed in Table 2, i.e., one selected from FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4. See, Table 2; and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”), wherein a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to be transmitted by the user device is segmented into a first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added; and ¶[0090], “As shown in Table 2, an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)….when the slot type is a non-SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of two configurable non-SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_1 or FH_RBOffset_2 using bit values 00 and 01.”) and a second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], “in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”), wherein the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, above.) is in a first symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5A, symbols for the “Rep. 0” or “Rep. 1”) that is an UL symbol or a flexible symbol (See, e.g., ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added) and the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, above.) is in the second symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1.”), wherein the first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, above.) is determined from a plurality of first hopping offset values (The frequency hopping offset values listed in Table 1. See, above.) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, above. See, also, ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes”) and the second frequency hopping offset value (a frequency hopping offset value selected from those offsets applicable to SBFD listed in Table 2, i.e., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4) is determined from a plurality of second hopping offset values (E.g., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots.);
determine (See, e.g., ¶[0084], “the scheduling information indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) for the at least one uplink channel transmission, and at least one RB offset”) at least one of a first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014; and ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006”) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots, i.e., a non-FD slot) based on the first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values, determined on the basis of the BWP size, listed in Table 1. See, Fig. 10, “RBoffset” applied in scheduling the PUSCH 1014) and the first frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1020; and ¶[0114], “the first non-FD uplink slot 1004 and the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020)” See, also, Fig. 6A, #610; ¶[0075], “spans the entire BWP 606”) or a second frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #804) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots, i.e., a FD slot.) based on the second frequency hopping offset value (See, ¶[0090], “the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively”) and the second frequency range (See, Fig. 8, #806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800, shown with a range smaller that the BWP); and
receive (See, ¶[0104], “at block 920, the UE 904 takes one or more actions related to transmitting, according to the frequency hopping scheme, the plurality of uplink data channel repetitions in the plurality of slots based on the scheduling information.”) at least one of the first PUSCH repetition on the first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014) or the second PUSCH repetition on the second frequency resource (See, Fig. 8B, #804).
Regarding claim 25, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication (See, Figs. 9 and 16), the method comprising:
receiving, with a user device (See, Fig. 9, #910, transmission of a “Scheduling information” from a BS to a UE; and ¶[0057], “A base station (BS) may schedule uplink transmissions on the PUSCH by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE that includes a dynamic grant (DG) or may transmit or radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE that includes a configured grant (CG)”), a first configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the network entity transmitting various configuration parameter/information to the UE. See, e.g., [0303], “UEs may be configured with the slot format through a received slot format indicator (SFI) (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling);” ¶[0071] “DCI may include an SLIV that indicates a starting symbol and length of a PUSCH transmission/repetition;” ¶¶[0065]-[0072], “frequency hopping scheme may include inter-slot frequency hopping and/or intra-slot frequency hopping. Inter-slot frequency hopping;” “the frequency hopping scheme may be indicated to a UE by a base station using the radio resource control (RRC) parameter;” “frequency offsets (e.g., resource block (RB) offsets for the second hop) for PUSCH repetitions may be provided by one or more higher layer parameters;” “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” “Tables 1 illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information;” and “ In Equation 1, … RBstart is the starting RB within the UL BWP as calculated from resource block assignment information of resource allocation type 1.” See, also, Table 1 and Equation 1) for a first frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1006; and ¶[0111], “the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 spans an entire BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #610) for an uplink (UL) bandwidth part (BWP) (See. Fig. 10, #1020, ¶[0111], “BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #606), and a second configuration (Abdelghaffar discloses the second configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmission over SBFD band) differs from the first configuration (i.e., applicable to PUSCH transmissions over the BWP) at least in the following aspects. See, e.g., ¶[0073], “In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources;” “SBFD may result, in some cases, in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” ¶[0078], “increasing the number of frequency offsets that may be configured, defining different frequency offsets for SBFD slots, and/or determining starting RBs based on the size of the uplink subband within a BWP rather than the size of the BWP itself;” ¶[0081], “the scheduling information schedules transmission at least one uplink channel transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, etc.) in a full duplex (FD) slot according to a frequency hopping scheme that configures frequency hops between different portions of the at least one uplink channel transmission in the FD slot (e.g., an SBFD slot, such as SBFD slot 612 illustrated in FIGS. 6A and 6B);” ¶[0088], the number of configurable RB offsets for when the number of RBs of the uplink subband of the FD slot is less than the second threshold (or when the number of RBs of the BWP is less than the first threshold) may be increased to greater than two configurable RB offsets;” ¶[0089], “the set of RB offsets (e.g., from which the at least one RB offset indicated in the scheduling information is selected from for the FD slot) may be different from another set of RB offsets for a non-FD slot;” and ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., N.sub.UL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots).” See, Tables 2 and 3, showing different respective number of frequency hopping offset values for transmission over BWP verses over SBFD, compare Table 1. See, also, ¶[0093], “when determining the starting RB for a “second hop” transmission (e.g., second portion of the at least one uplink channel transmission), …rather than applying a modulo operation involving the entire size of the active BWP, in some cases, a modulo operation involving only the size of the uplink subband may be performed, as shown in Equation 2.” See, Equation 2, compare Equation 1.) for a second frequency range (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Figs. 6A and 6B, #612; and ¶[0075], “a portion of the BWP 606”) for an UL sub-band (See, Fig. 10, #1007; and ¶[0111], “an uplink subband 1007 of the first FD slot 1008 and the second FD slot 1010 only span a limited portion of the BWP 1020.” See, also, Fig. 6A, #614; and ¶[0075], “each SBFD slot 612 includes an uplink subband 614 that spans only a portion of the BWP 606.”), wherein the UL sub-band is on a second symbol that is a downlink (DL) symbol or a flexible symbol (See, Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1;” and ¶[0063], “The symbols shown in FIG. 5B may be either configured for downlink (labeled “D”), configured for uplink (labeled “U”), or configured as a special or flexible symbol (labeled “X”) which can be either designated as downlink or uplink,” emphasis added.);
segmenting, with the user device, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) into a first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added; and ¶[0090], “As shown in Table 2, an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)….when the slot type is a non-SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of two configurable non-SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_1 or FH_RBOffset_2 using bit values 00 and 01.”) and a second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, ¶[0073], “in symbols of a slot, in which PUSCH repetitions are to be transmitted, having frequency resources (e.g., uplink subbands) allocated for uplink transmissions as well as frequency resources (e.g., downlink subbands) allocated for downlink transmissions;” and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”), wherein the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots. See, above.) is in a first symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5A, symbols for the “Rep. 0” or “Rep. 1”) that is an UL symbol or a flexible symbol (See, e.g., ¶[0073], In legacy systems, transmitting PUSCH within uplink resources was not an issue since frequency resources and symbols within a slot allocated for transmission of PUSCH repetitions included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband),” emphasis added) and the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, above.) is in the second symbol (See, e.g., Fig. 5B, any of the 4 shaded “X” symbols for “Rep. 1” in “Slot n+1.”);
determining, by the user device (See, e.g., ¶[0090], “an explicit indication via two bits may be included the scheduling information (e.g., NUL_hop = 2 bits) and may be used to indicate different RB offsets for different types of slots (e.g., non-SBFD and SBFD slots)”), a first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, above.) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots.) from a plurality of first hopping offset values (an offset value selected from values listed in Table 1. See, Table 1, providing frequency hopping offset values determined based on the size of the BWP; and ¶[0069], “Table 1, below, illustrates frequency offsets PUSCH repetitions for different UL bandwidth part (BWP) sizes (e.g., in a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)) and the manner in which these frequency offsets may be indicated in configuration information.”) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots.), and
a second frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from the 4 values for SBFD transmission listed in Table 2, i.e., one selected from FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4. See, Table 2; and ¶[0090], “when the slot type comprises an SBFD slot, the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively.”) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots. See, above.) from a plurality of second hopping offset values (E.g., FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, and FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4); and
determining, with the user device (See, e.g., ¶[0084], “the scheduling information indicates at least one starting resource block (RB) for the at least one uplink channel transmission, and at least one RB offset”) at least one of a first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014; and ¶[0111], “a second non-FD uplink slot 1006”) for the first PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using non-SBFD slots, i.e., a non-FD slot) based on the first frequency hopping offset value (an offset value selected from values, determined on the basis of the BWP size, listed in Table 1. See, Fig. 10, “RBoffset” applied in scheduling the PUSCH 1014) and the first frequency range (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1020; and ¶[0114], “the first non-FD uplink slot 1004 and the second non-FD uplink slot 1006 (e.g., since the uplink subband 1005 span the entire BWP 1020)” See, also, Fig. 6A, #610; ¶[0075], “spans the entire BWP 606”) or a second frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 8, #804) for the second PUSCH repetition (those PUSCH repetition scheduled for transmission using SBFD slots, i.e., a FD slot.) based on the second frequency hopping offset value (See, ¶[0090], “the scheduling information may indicate one of four configurable SBFD RB offsets, such as FH_RBOffset_SBFD_1, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_2, FH_RBOffset_SBFD_3, or FH_RBOffset_SBFD_4 using bit values 00, 01, 10, or 11, respectively”) and the second frequency range (See, Fig. 8, #806; and ¶[0087], “an uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800, shown with a range smaller that the BWP); and
transmitting, with the user device, (See, ¶[0104], “at block 920, the UE 904 takes one or more actions related to transmitting, according to the frequency hopping scheme, the plurality of uplink data channel repetitions in the plurality of slots based on the scheduling information.”) at least one of the first PUSCH repetition on the first frequency resource (See, e.g., Fig. 10, #1014) or the second PUSCH repetition on the second frequency resource (See, Fig. 8B, #804).
Regarding claim 26/25, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 25 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses the method further comprising:
dropping, with the user device, the second PUSCH repetition in response to the second frequency resource being out of the UL sub-band (See, ¶[0077], “the UE may decide to drop the PUSCH repetition that does not coincide with the frequency resources for uplink transmissions in the SBFD slot;” Fig. 8A; and ¶[0087], “when at least one portion of the at least one uplink channel transmission within the FD slot 800 falls outside the uplink subband 806 of the FD slot 800), both the first portion 802 and the second portion 804 must be dropped from transmission within the FD slot 800”).
Regarding claim 27/26, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 26 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, with the user device, not to count the dropped second PUSCH repetition in a number of the plurality of PUSCH repetitions configured by a wireless access node (See, e.g., ¶[0032], “in some cases, the frequency resources for transmitting these PUSCH transmissions may occur within frequency resources allocated to downlink transmissions. If the UE were to proceed with transmitting these PUSCH transmissions, the PUSCH transmissions may cause interference to these downlink transmissions. This interference may lead to both the PUSCH transmissions and downlink transmissions having to be retransmitted.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R173.
Regarding claim 9/1, Abdelghaffar teaches a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar further teaches the transmission by the network entity to a UE a downlink control information (DCI) (See, e.g., ¶[0057] “A base station (BS) may schedule uplink transmissions on the PUSCH by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE that includes a dynamic grant (DG)”).
Abdelghaffar, however, fails to teach explicitly that the downlink control information (DCI) comprises a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field that indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH.
3GPP38.212R17 teaches that the downlink control information (DCI) (See, e.g., p. 117, line 1, “The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 0_0”) comprises a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field (See. e.g., p. 117, line 5, “Frequency domain resource assignment – number of bits determined by the following:”) that indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH (See, e.g., p. 117, line 13, “
bits provide the frequency domain resource allocation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 10/9, Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
3GPP38.212R17 further teaches that the length of a FDRA field depends on a first number of frequency resources of the UL BWP (See. e.g., p. 114, line 18 and p. 117, lines 6-8, “For DCI format 0_0,
bits, where
is the size of the active UL bandwidth part.”), on a second number of frequency resources of the UL sub-band (See, e.g., p. 148, the bottom two lines – p. 149, line 6, “For DCI format 0_2,
N
R
B
G
bits (allocation type 0) or
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
bits (allocation type 1), where
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
=
N
R
B
U
L
,
B
W
P
+
N
U
L
,
B
W
P
s
t
a
r
t
mod
K
1
/
K
1
”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 11/9, Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
3GPP38.212R17 further teaches at least one of: a first or last L1-number of bits of the FDRA field (
bits, See, p. 117, line 14-15) indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, p. 117, lines 9-13, “for DCI Format 0_0, allocation type 1”) or a first or last L2-number of bits of the FDRA field (“
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
-
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
bits,” see, p. 149, lines 19-20) indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH for when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See p. 149, lines 16-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 12/9, Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
3GPP38.212R17 further teaches the FDRA field further indicates the frequency hopping offset value from among a plurality of first hopping offset values (See, e.g., p. 117 at lines 11-12, “
if the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffsetLists contains two offset values”) or from among a plurality of second hopping offset values (See, e.g., p. 117, lines 12-13, “
if the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffsetLists contains four offset values”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 18/9, Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
3GPP38.212R17 further teaches that at least one of: a first L1-number of bits (“
bits”) of the FDRA field, after one or two bits that indicates the frequency hopping offset value (“
MSB bits” See, p. 117, line 10, “
MSB bits are used to indicate the frequency offset”), indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL BWP (See, e.g., p. 117, lines 9-15); or a first L2-number of bits (
log
2
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
N
R
B
G
,
K
1
+
1
/
2
-
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
bits) of the FDRA field, after the one or two bits that indicates the frequency hopping offset value (
N
U
L
_
h
o
p
MSB bits), indicates the frequency resource for the PUSCH when the PUSCH is transmitted on the UL sub-band (See, e.g.,. p. 149, lines 14-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Regarding claim 19/9, Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
3GPP38.212R17 further teaches that the frequency hopping offset value comprises a first frequency hopping offset value for transmission on the UL BWP (those offset values set forth in “infrequencyHoppingOffsetLists” See, p. 117, lines 9-13) and a second hopping offset value for transmission on the UL sub-band (those offset values set forth “frequencyHoppingOffsetListsDCI-0-2” See, p. 149, lines 14-18) and that the FDRA field comprises a code point (“
MSB bits” ) that indicates the first frequency hopping offset value from the among a plurality of first hopping offset values and the second frequency hopping offset value from among a plurality of second hopping offset values (See, e.g., p. 117, lines 9-13 and p. 149, lines 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the base station taught by Abdelghaffar to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.212R17 in order for the base station to be compliant to the 5G NR specification, which compliance is also contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 in further view of 3GPP38.213R174 and 3GPP38.214R175.
Regarding claim 17/9, Abdelghaffar et al. in view of 3GPP38.212R17 teach a method for wireless communication comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Abdelghaffar et al. in view of 3GPP38.212R17, however, fails to explicitly teach that the FDRA field indicates no frequency hopping offset value, and a predetermined frequency hopping offset value is used in response to the FDRA field indicating no frequency hopping offset value.
3GPP38.213R17 teaches the FDRA field indicates no frequency hopping offset value (See p. 195, lines 18-22, the PUSCH hopping is performed by a UE “if the frequency hopping field in a corresponding detected DCI format or in a random access response UL grant is set to 1, or if for a Type 1 PUSCH transmission with a configured grant the higher layer parameter frequencyHoppingOffset is provided, Emphasis Added).
3GPP38.214R17 teaches that a predetermined frequency hopping offset value is used in response to the FDRA field indicating no frequency hopping offset value (See, p. 60 at lines 20-21; “[f]or a PUSCH transmission with frequency hopping scheduled by RAR UL grant… the frequency offset for the second hop…is given in Table 8.3-1,” reproduced below).
Table 8.3-1: Frequency offset for second hop of PUSCH transmission with frequency hopping scheduled by RAR UL grant or of Msg3 PUSCH retransmission
Number of PRBs in initial UL BWP
Value of
N
U
L
,
h
o
p
Hopping Bits
Frequency offset for 2nd hop
N
BWP
size
<
50
0
N
BWP
size
/
2
1
N
BWP
size
/
4
N
BWP
size
≥
50
00
N
BWP
size
/
2
01
N
BWP
size
/
4
10
-
N
BWP
size
/
4
11
Reserved
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it would be necessary to modify the communication method taught by Abdelghaffar in view of 3GPP38.212R17 to incorporate the above teaching of 3GPP38.213R17 and 3GPP38.214R17 as doing so would allow the communication to be compliant to the 5G NR specifications, which compliance is contemplated by Abdelghaffar (See, e.g., Abdelghaffar, ¶s[0049] and [0066]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues, in a nutshell, that none of the prior art references relied in support of the rejections in the previous Office Action, namely, Abdelghaffar, Park, 3GPP38.212R17, 3GPP38.213R17 and 3GPP38.214R17, either alone or in combination, disclose or teach the newly added limitations of each of the independent claims 1, 24 and 25 as amended, namely, "…a second symbol [that] is a downlink (DL) symbol or a flexible symbol…..wherein a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to be transmitted by the user device is segmented into a first PUSCH repetition and a second PUSCH repetition, wherein the first PUSCH repetition is in a first symbol that is an UL symbol or a flexible symbol and the second PUSCH repetition is in the second symbol…." See, Amendment at Pp. 10-12.
In particular, in support of the above argument, the Applicant asserts: 1) The term "segment" as used by Abdelghaffar in connection with its FIGs. 5A, 5B and ¶[0062] merely refer to grouping of symbols within a slot, and thus is different from the segment as recited in the claims, i.e., “a PUSCH would be segmented if the two slots have two different types-i.e., one including a first symbol that is an UL or flexible symbol and the other including a second symbol that is a DL or flexible symbol that an UL sub-band is on.” Amendment at Pp. 10-11.; 2) “as shown in Figs. 5A and 5B of Abdelghaffar, neither slot n nor slot n+1 has symbols occupying an UL sub-band.” Id. at P. 10; 3) “Abdelghaffar's segmentation of PUSCH based on slot boundary, rather than symbol type, does not offer these advantages” of the instant invention, i.e., the “flexibility (e.g., different frequency resources and/or different power control parameters),” id. at p. 11.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with each of the above Applicant’s assertions.
As an initial matter, the claim term “segmented” needs to be properly interpreted according to the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard. See, MPEP §2111. In order to ascertain the plain meaning (see, MPEP §2111.01), an on-line dictionary6 was consulted. Based on the definitions provided (see, below), the plain meaning of “segmented” may be “separated into separate pieces of something.” Applying this definition, the claim limitation, “a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) to be transmitted by the user device is segmented into a first PUSCH repetition and a second PUSCH repetition,” has the plain meaning that “a PUSCH to be transmitted by the user device is separated into a first PUSCH repetition and a second PUSCH.”
The above plain meaning would encompass the PUSCH segmentation example of Abdelghaffar FIG. 5B, where the intended PUSCH is transmitted repeatedly according to the ‘SLIV’ indicated by the received DCI. Abdelghaffar at ¶[0064]. Specifically, in this ‘Repetition Type B’ example, SLIV indicates that: the PUSCH is to be repeated twice (K = 2), i.e., as ‘repetition 1’ and ‘repetition 2,’ id.; each repetition being 4 symbols long (L = 4), id.; the repetitions are transmitted “back-to-back” starting from the symbol location (S = 10) in slot n. See, Abdelghaffar Fig. 5B. Accordingly, the intended PUSCH is separated into two separate pieces, i.e., the repetition 0 and repetition 1.
The above interpretation is consistent with the description provided in Applicant’s specification. See, MPEP §2111.01 (i). For example, ¶[0046] of the specification provides: “a PUSCH repetition may cross a boundary of the UL sub-band or the UL BWP in the time domain. The PUSCH repetition may be segmented into one or more actual PUSCH repetitions….the UL sub-band may occupy the first 5 symbols (e.g., symbol 0-4) and the UL BWP may occupy the last 9 symbols (e.g., symbol 5-14). Then, the PUSCH repetition may be segmented to two actual PUSCH repetitions. The first actual PUSCH repetition may occupy the first 5 symbols (e.g., symbol 0-4) and the second PUSCH repetition may occupy the last 9 symbols (e.g., symbol 5-14).” The above passage and the example given describes the PUSCH being “segmented” or separated into two ‘actual’ PUSCH repetitions, i.e., one corresponding to the UL BWP, and the other corresponding to the UL Sub-band, each being scheduled for transmission in appropriate symbols where available. Nothing, however, in the above portion is inconsistent with the entire intended PUSCH is separated into at least two separate PUSCH repetitions.
Accordingly, the above discussed plain meaning interpretation is proper.
Now, as for Applicant’s assertion 1) above, Applicant’s criticism of the use of the term “segment” by Abdelghaffar is misplaced, and overlooks what is actually described in those portions of Abdelghaffar, e.g., in ¶¶[0063]-[0064] and Fig. 5B. As discussed above, Abdelghaffar describes the intended PUSCH being separated into two separate pieces, i.e., the repetition 0 and repetition 1. See, Abdelghaffar at Fig. 5B and ¶¶[0063]-[0064]. In addition, Abdelghaffar provides that “[t]he symbols shown in FIG. 5B may be either configured for downlink (labeled “D”), configured for uplink (labeled “U”), or configured as a special or flexible symbol (labeled “X”) which can be either designated as downlink or uplink.” Id., ¶[0063]. Abdelghaffar further provides the repetition 0 (i.e., the first of the two segments of the entire PUSCH) being scheduled or transmitted in those symbols labeled ‘U,’ i.e., an uplink symbol corresponding to the claimed “first symbol,” while repetition 1 is scheduled/transmitted in symbols labeled ‘X,’ i.e., a flexible symbol corresponding to the claimed “second symbol.” See, id., Fig. 5B. Accordingly, contrary to the Applicant’s assertion, Abdelghaffar does provide a specific example of a PUSCH being segmented into two repetitions, one of which is transmitted in a first symbol while the other being transmitted in a second symbol.
Applicant places much emphasis on the segmenting into ‘two different types” of PUSCH repetitions (see, e.g., Amendment at p. 11). The claims also recite aspects of the “two different types.” That is, the first PUSCH repetition is of the first type associated with a first frequency range (i.e., that of the UL BWP), a first frequency hopping offset and a first symbol, while the second type, the second PUSCH repetition being associated with a second frequency range (i.e., that of the UL sub-band), a second frequency hopping offset and a second symbol.
Indeed, this difference between the two frequency domain resource ‘types,’ i.e., between the active UL BWP and the UL sub-band, is the very same problem Abdelghaffar attempts to address. According to Abdelghaffar, the problem stems from the introduction of sub-band that is full-duplex capable. That is, unlike in the legacy system, in which “the symbols within a slot allocated for PUSCH transmission included only uplink frequency resources (e.g., only an uplink subband), Abdelghaffar at ¶[0031], due to its full-duplex nature, i.e., “in which frequency resources in a slot may be split among frequency resources for uplink transmissions and frequency resources for downlink transmissions,” id., the newly introduced full-duplex “SBFD slots may cause issues when transmitting PUSCH with frequency hopping.… the frequency resources for transmitting these PUSCH transmissions may occur within frequency resources allocated to downlink transmissions,” and that such PUSCH may need to be dropped, id. at ¶[0031]. This is depicted, e.g., in Fig. 8A. The problem may be exacerbated by the fact that a full-duplex sub-band has a narrower frequency range than the entire active UL BWP, depicted, e.g., in Fig. 6A. Compare, Fig. 6A, #606 and #614, and see, id. at ¶¶[0075]-[0077].
In addressing the above problem, Abdelghaffar offers a number of solutions, including “defining different frequency offsets for SBFD slots, and/or determining starting RBs based on the size of the uplink subband within a BWP rather than the size of the BWP itself.” Id. at ¶[0078].
The SBFD specific frequency hopping offsets are depicted, e.g., in Tables 2 and 3. The starting RB for SBFD slots/symbols is determined according to Equation 2, as compared to Equation 1 used for legacy uplink only UL BWP slots/symbols. See, e.g., id., ¶¶[0093]-[0094]. The result of the application of the solution(s) is depicted, e.g., in Fig. 8B.
Accordingly, Abdelghaffar discloses segmenting into ‘two different types” of PUSCH repetitions, each having a different frequency resource allocation configuration form the other.
Applicant’s assertion 2), that neither slot n nor slot n+1 (shown in Figs. 5A and 5B of Abdelghaffar) has symbols occupying an UL sub-band, is incorrect. While Figs. 5A and 5B depicts slots in time domain, when read as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Abdelghaffar does describe that the symbols labeled ‘X’ shown in Figs. 5A and 5B correspond to a UL sub-band in the frequency domain.
As discussed above, Abdelghaffar describes three types of frequency resources, namely uplink only (i.e., the legacy non-duplex or half-duplex), downlink only (i.e., the legacy non-duplex or half-duplex), and the so-called ‘flexible,’ i.e., newly introduced SBFD, “in which frequency resources in a slot may be split among frequency resources for uplink transmissions and frequency resources for downlink transmissions,” Abdelghaffar at ¶[0030].
One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that the “flexible” symbols labeled ‘X’ depicted in Fig. 5B (see, id., ¶[0063]) are SBFD symbols, i.e., UL sub-band symbols.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion 3), the purported advantage relating to the “different power control parameters” is not addressed as such advantage/feature is not recited in any of the claims of the present application. As explained above, Abdelghaffar offers solutions for improving the use of the subband full-duplex (SBFD) resources, and thus does offer the advantages, i.e., the “flexibility (e.g., different frequency resources.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
1) Nogami et al. US 20210329693 teaches DCI indication of the BWP size (See, e.g., ¶[0224]); and
2) Cozzo et al. US 20230328706 teaches various aspects of DCI/FDRA length variation relating to the frequency resource sizes.
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 July 6, 202
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 As there appear to be some discrepancy in the citations by the Applicant, and for convenience, the paragraph references are to the published application (i.e., US 2024/0334413).
2 Abdelghaffar includes two (2) Table 1s. Table 1, as referred to herein and hereinafter, appears in the portion straddling ¶[0069] and ¶[0070].
3 3GPP TS 38.212 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Multiplexing and Channel Coding” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 116-189, §7.3.1. Previously made of the record.
4 3GPP TS 38.213 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical Layer Procedures For Control” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 59-61, §8.3. Previously made of record.
5 3GPP TS 38.214 V17.2.0, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Physical Layer Procedures for Data” (Release 17), published by 3GPP Organizational Partners, June 2022, Pp. 138-174 and 194-197, §§6.1.2 and 6.3. Previously made of record.
6 “Segment.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/segment. Accessed 5 Jul. 2026.