DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
In response to applicant’s amendment received on 07/08/2026, all requested changes to the claims and specification have been entered.
Claim(s) 1-20 were previously pending.
No claim(s) have been added.
No Claim(s) have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims(s) 1, 8 & 15 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Specification Objections
Applicant has amended ¶0018 of the specification to correct the previously indicated minor informality. The objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1 & 8
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Remarks, pg. 7-9, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim 15
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant Remarks, pg. 9-10, filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or fail to suggest, “generating a spatial identity of a previous frame by encoding an embedding of the object depicted in the previous frame into respective spatial regions defined by a mask of the previous frame”. Applicant states that neither of the previously cited references, Heo, or Oh, disclose generating a spatial identity by encoding an object embedding into respective spatial regions defined by a mask. Applicant argues that Oh merely generates an embedding using a frame and a mask, and that neither Oh nor Heo disclose encoding an object embedding into mask-defined spatial regions to create a spatial identity representation. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
When looking at Fig. 3 of Oh, previous frames with a masked object are used to encode memory embeddings (i.e., a spatial identity) in the forms of keys and values via the memory encoder EncM. These memory embeddings inherently encode the masked object of the previous frame to convey the spatial regions defined by the mask. Prior art mappings have been updated to reflect the amended claim scope in 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections below. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al (“VITA: Video Instance Segmentation via Object Token Association”, 2022, NeurIPS) in view of Oh et al (“Space-Time Memory Networks for Video Object Segmentation with User Guidance”, 2022, IEEE).
Regarding claim 15, Heo teach A system (Heo: the video instance segmentation (VIS) system “VITA” of Fig. 1(c), further outlined in Fig. 2) comprising:
a memory component (Heo: the system is implemented via 4 NVIDIA A100 GPUs with 40 GB of memory [Sec A.1 – Implementation - ¶01]); and
a processing device coupled to the memory component (Heo: 4 NVIDIA A100 GPUs with 40 GB of memory [Sec A.1 – Implementation - ¶01]), the processing device to perform operations comprising:
obtaining a frame of a video sequence (Heo: frames are input into the frame-level detector (Mask2Former) [Sec. 3.1 – Frame-level Detector - ¶01], further depicted as input frames of Fig. 2), wherein the frame depicts an object (Heo: the frame-level detector parses object queries, later referred to as frame queries [Sec. 3.1 – Frame-level Detector - ¶01]);
determining frame features using the frame (Heo: the backbone extracts frame features from input frames [Sec. 3.1 – Frame-level Detector - ¶01; Fig. 2]);
and
generating a masked frame using a pixel embedding and an embedding of the object depicted in the frame (masks are generated in VITA using pixel embeddings (pink parallelograms) and object tokens [Fig. 2; Sec. 3.2 – Object Decoder and Output Heads - ¶03]), wherein the pixel embedding is based on the … frame features (the frame-level detector generates pixel embeddings from spatially-encoded features of the backbone [Sec 3.1 – Frame-level Detector - ¶01; Fig 2.]), but do not teach that the pixel embedding is based on an augmented spatial identity, nor do they teach generating a spatial identity using the object embedding or encoding the background of a previous frame.
Oh, on the other hand, teach generating a spatial identity of a previous frame by encoding an embedding of the object depicted in the previous frame into respective spatial regions defined by a mask of the previous frame (Oh: the memory encoder encodes memory embeddings (i.e., a spatial identity) in the form of keys and values (feature tensors with an associated key [Sec 3.1.2 – Memory Encoder - ¶02]) which provide spatial feature representations for respective regions of masks of previous frames [Sec 3 – Space-Time Memory Networks - ¶01-02; Fig. 3]); and
generating an augmented spatial identity using the spatial identity and encoding a background of the previous frame; (Oh: the space-time memory read operation uses keys and values (that provide spatial feature representations) from previous frames, that also encode visual semantics regarding whether a feature pixel belongs to a foreground and background [Sec 3 – Space-Time Memory Networks - ¶03], and concatenates them with the current frame keys and values to form an aligned feature vector y / y-I that conveys a spatial identity of an object [Sec. 3.2 – Space-Time Memory Read - ¶01-02; Fig. 4; Eq. 1]). Oh further disclose that their method performs memory-driven object detection through offline training, which frees it from propagation driven problems [Sec. 1 – Introduction - ¶07-08].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the spatial identity generation provided by Oh that represent an object spatial context to further define the pixel embeddings generated in Heo to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to provide both temporally and spatially enriched context of objects for improved segmentation and temporal consistency.
Regarding claim 16, Heo in view of Oh teach The system of claim 15 (as described above), wherein the processing device performs further operations comprising:
determining the embedding of the object depicted in the frame using the object depicted in the previous frame and the pixel embedding (Heo: the frame-level detector, outputs pixel embeddings via the pixel decoder, which are then utilized by the transformer decoder to inform the object token generation performed by VITA [Sec. 3.1 – Frame-level Detector; Fig. 2, with particular attention to the parallelograms of the pixel encoder, representing pixel embeddings], the object encoder of VITA, employs self-attention along the temporal axis, where object tokens (embeddings of objects) from different frames (i.e., a past frame), can exchange object-wise information [Sec. 3.2 – VITA – Object Encoder - ¶01]).
Regarding claim 17, Heo in view of Oh teach The system of claim 15 (as described previously), wherein the masked frame includes a masked object corresponding to the object (Heo: the object detector predicts masks of objects in videos [Sec. 3.2 – VITA - ¶01]).
Regarding claim 19, Heo in view of Oh teach The system of claim 15 (as described previously), wherein generating the masked frame using the pixel embedding and the embedding of the object depicted in the frame (Heo: masks are generated in VITA using pixel embeddings (pink parallelograms) and object tokens [Fig. 2; Sec. 3.2 – Object Decoder and Output Heads - ¶03]) includes the processing device performing further operations comprising:
convolving the embedding of the object depicted in the frame with the pixel embedding to generate a probability distribution, wherein the probability distribution indicates a likelihood of each pixel of the frame belonging to a masked object of the masked frame (Heo: the frame-level detector generates a 1 × 1 convolutional weight from frame / object queries (token representations) and per-pixel embeddings, then applying a dot product between the two embeddings to segment objects [Sec 3.1 – Frame-level Detector], this segmentation process further defines a probability for a frame containing a segmented object [Sec. 4.4 – Ablation Studies: Pruning Tokens - ¶01]).
Regarding claim 20, Heo in view of Oh teach The system of claim 15 (as described previously), wherein the masked frame comprises (due to the use of the disjunctive “or”, only of either of these limitations is required to be mapped to) or more masked objects (Heo: the object detector predicts masks of objects in videos [Sec. 3.2 – VITA - ¶01]).
Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al (“VITA: Video Instance Segmentation via Object Token Association”, 2022, NeurIPS) in view of Oh et al (“Space-Time Memory Networks for Video Object Segmentation with User Guidance”, 2022, IEEE), further in view of Kirillov et al (“Panoptic Feature Pyramid Networks”, IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, 2019).
Regarding claim 18, Heo in view of Oh teach The system of claim 15 (as described previously), however, they do not teach that the background of a past frame is learned through end-to-end supervised learning.
Kirillov, however, teach wherein encoding the background of the previous frame is learned during end-to-end supervised learning (Kirillov: the semantic segmentation branch of the panoptic feature pyramid network generates per-pixel class labels “stuff” for non-object pixels [Sec 3.1 – Model Architecture: Semantic Segmentation Branch - ¶01], note that Kirillov et al splits classification into object “thing” and non-object “stuff” classes [ Sec 1 – Introduction - ¶01], further illustrated in Fig. 2, wherein “thing” classes are highlighted with blue or red overlays, while “stuff” classes, relating to the background of the scene, are highlighted in green). Kirillov further states that their approach allows for facile incorporation of semantic segmentation with known instance segmentation methods to a yield lightweight and effective method for frame classification [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the semantic segmentation of Kirillov to isolate background features and incorporate that in parallel with the instance segmentation outlined by Heo in view of Oh to arrive at the invention of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 14 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, the primary reason for allowance is that the prior art does not teach or fails to suggest “determining an object token for the frame by inputting a past object token associated with the past frame and the pixel embedding to a decoder”.
The closest cited prior art, Heo disclose object tokens informed by past object tokens via a self-attention layer, and that these object tokens are generated using pixel embeddings input into a transformer decoder, but this decoder does not take previous object tokens in as inputs for determining current object tokens .
The closest prior art of record, Liu (Liu et al, “InstMove: Instance Motion for Object-centric Video Segmentation”, 2023, IEEE/CVF) describe an object-centric video segmentation method levering pixel-wise motion for accurate object tracking. Liu teach using feature maps generated by upscaling low-level image features (which the examiner interprets to be a form of pixel embedding in accordance with the disclosure of the current application [¶0079, 97]) and input them into a decoder along with the previous motion feature or motion pattern for a respective pattern. These motion features / patterns could be construed as a form of object token, however, Liu fails to describe inputting these feature maps and past motion features to determine current motion features, and thus fails to read on the language of the claim.
Girdhar (Girdhar et al, US 2023/0386203 A1), prior art also made of record, describe a video transformer model leveraging a spatial-attention encoder and temporal-attention decoder to predict future features and anticipate future actions. Girdhar disclose inputting past frame features (which the examiner construes as a past object token) along with temporal position embeddings into a casual transformer decoder to predict future frame features, however, these temporal position embeddings fail to describe embedding any particular pixel or image patches and simply provide temporal context for associated past frame features.
Claims 2-7, which depend on claim 1, are also allowed given their dependence on a claim already indicated as allowable.
Regarding claim 8, a similar analysis to that performed for claim 1 can also be applied as they recite substantially identical subject matter.
Accordingly, claims 9-14, which depend on claim 8, are also all allowed given their dependence on a claim already indicated as allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M SOFRONIOU/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661