DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: [ 213 in Fig. 2; 310, 320 in Fig. 3; 404, 411 in Fig. 4; 531 in Fig. 5; 611 in Fig. 6; 720, 730, 750 in Fig. 7; 802, 810 in Fig. 8; 910, 920 in Fig. 9]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: [ an electromotive force generator; an electromotive force; a preset capacity; a type; a contact state].
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 1, “sense a surge” ---, should be corrected to ---, “sense the surge” ---.
In claim 1 line 5, “of a surge” ---, should be corrected to ---, “of the surge” ---.
In claim 1 line 8, “of a surge on” ---, should be corrected to ---, “of the surge on” ---.
In claim 2 line 8, “when a surge” ---, should be corrected to ---, “when the surge” ---.
In claim 6 line 3, “a contact state” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the contact state”.
In claim 6 line 3, “an O-shaped hole” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the O-shaped hole”.
In claim 8 line 1, “sense a surge” ---, should be corrected to ---, “sense the surge” ---.
In claim 8 line 5, “of a surge” ---, should be corrected to ---, “of the surge” ---.
In claim 8 line 8, “a surge by” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the surge by” ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cook (US Patent No. 5517165).
Regarding claim 1, Cook discloses a device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) for checking a surge (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) to sense a surge (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) of a target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+), the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) comprising: an electromotive force generator (i.e., such as a differential toroidal transformer 15; such as the magnetic mutual inductance energy/EMF generated is to trip bottom 10 in a case of a surge event and vice versa to simulate the fault event via bottom 14; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) that is formed to surround (i.e., such as the core 15 surrounds/360-degrees the entire conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 17, Col. 4 lines 31+) at least a portion (i.e., such as the core 15 surrounds/360-degrees the entire conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 17, Col. 4 lines 31+) of the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) at a predetermined distance (i.e., such as central distance with respect to the core 15; such as differential toroidal transformer 15 has mains active and neutral conductors 16 and 17 passing centrally through a core over which is wound a secondary winding 18 of high inductance. The conductors are effectively anti-phased primary windings such that normal load currents cancel each other resulting in zero output voltage from the secondary winding. An output voltage is developed when a small residual current from the load active flows back to line neutral indirectly, usually via earth, from a faulty appliance or cable connected in the load; see for example fig. 17, Col. 4 lines 31+) from the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) and generates an electromotive force (i.e., such as the electromotive force is the magnetic mutual inductance energy created by the target conducting wire/conductors 16, 17 as a primary coil in the electromotive force generator/core-transformer 15 and the conductor 18 as a secondary coil; the power generated by transformer 15 is to trip bottom 10 in the surge/fault event and vice versa to simulate the surge/fault event via bottom 14; such as one end of coil 18 is connected to IC 20 at pin 3 which is a common amplifier reference point. Capacitor 19 filters high frequency noise from the secondary voltage, while capacitor 22 provides noise bypassing from the bulk of the coil to IC 20 at ground pin 4. The active end of coil 18 is connected to an amplifier summing junction at pin 1 through capacitor 25 and resistor 26. Resistors 27 and 26 determine the amplifier gain while capacitor 25 series resonate with the coil inductance and is designed to extract mains frequency signal components from loads which use half wave power control. Otherwise, the core would saturate from the resulting DC and produce very little output to trip the switch. Capacitor 28 provides amplifier high frequency roll off; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) on the basis of a surge current (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) generated (i.e., such as the electromotive force is the magnetic mutual inductance energy created by the target conducting wire/conductors 16, 17 as a primary coil in the electromotive force generator/core-transformer 15 and the conductor 18 as a secondary coil; the power generated by transformer 15 is to trip bottom 10 in the surge/fault event and vice versa to simulate the surge/fault event via bottom 14; such as one end of coil 18 is connected to IC 20 at pin 3 which is a common amplifier reference point. Capacitor 19 filters high frequency noise from the secondary voltage, while capacitor 22 provides noise bypassing from the bulk of the coil to IC 20 at ground pin 4. The active end of coil 18 is connected to an amplifier summing junction at pin 1 through capacitor 25 and resistor 26. Resistors 27 and 26 determine the amplifier gain while capacitor 25 series resonate with the coil inductance and is designed to extract mains frequency signal components from loads which use half wave power control. Otherwise, the core would saturate from the resulting DC and produce very little output to trip the switch. Capacitor 28 provides amplifier high frequency roll off; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) in the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+); and a notification unit (i.e., such as Flag 12 is to indicate a fault/surge event; such as FIGS. 7 and 8 show a means which indicates whether power is being supplied to the load. An arm 11 is mounted on lever or carrier 3 and carries a flag 12 which is visible in opening 13 when contacts 1 and 2 are closed. On a fault condition the lever or carrier 3 pivots to open the contacts and moves the flag 12 to a less visible position, making it apparent that the fault condition has occurred; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) that includes a solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) and a core (i.e., such as plunger 7; In the second embodiment the plunger assembly is normally held in with the plunger 7a operating within the solenoid to extend or push out a pin 7b in the known manner. The plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) formed at a center (i.e., such as the central axis of the plunger 7 of the solenoid 6; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) in the solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) and notifies (i.e., such as indicates via the flag 12; see for example fig. 15, Col. 4 lines 31+) of generation (i.e., such as the generation of a surge/fault event; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) of a surge (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) on the basis of movement (i.e., such as referring to FIG. 2, initial movement of the mechanism is shown on occurrence of a fault condition. The voltage across solenoid 6 has changed and plunger 7 is ejected to deflect swing arm 5. This disengages fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 35+) of the core (i.e., such as plunger 7; In the second embodiment the plunger assembly is normally held in with the plunger 7a operating within the solenoid to extend or push out a pin 7b in the known manner. The plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) when power (i.e., the voltage of the secondary winding 18; see for example fig. 9, Col. 4 lines 31+) is supplied to (i.e., such as the power supplied via the secondary winding 18 of the transformer 15 to energize solenoid 6 thereby actuating plunger/core 7; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) the solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) with generation of the electromotive force (i.e., such as the electromotive force is the magnetic mutual inductance energy created by the target conducting wire/conductors 16, 17 as a primary coil in the electromotive force generator/core-transformer 15 and the conductor 18 as a secondary coil; the power generated by transformer 15 is to trip bottom 10 in the surge/fault event and vice versa to simulate the surge/fault event via bottom 14; such as one end of coil 18 is connected to IC 20 at pin 3 which is a common amplifier reference point. Capacitor 19 filters high frequency noise from the secondary voltage, while capacitor 22 provides noise bypassing from the bulk of the coil to IC 20 at ground pin 4. The active end of coil 18 is connected to an amplifier summing junction at pin 1 through capacitor 25 and resistor 26. Resistors 27 and 26 determine the amplifier gain while capacitor 25 series resonate with the coil inductance and is designed to extract mains frequency signal components from loads which use half wave power control. Otherwise, the core would saturate from the resulting DC and produce very little output to trip the switch. Capacitor 28 provides amplifier high frequency roll off; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+).
Regarding claim 3, Cook discloses the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+); further comprising a main body housing (i.e., such as housing 51 and 52; such as FIGS. 10 to 17 show a first preferred switch mechanism using the principles outlined with respect to FIGS. 1 to 8, incorporated in an RCD. Most of the circuit components outlined with respect to FIG. 9 have been omitted for clarity. The RCD structure is built around a printed circuit board 50 and plastics casing elements 51, 52 clipped together at 53, 54, 55; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) that accommodates (i.e., such as covers; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) the electromotive force generator (i.e., such as a differential toroidal transformer 15; such as the magnetic mutual inductance energy/EMF generated is to trip bottom 10 in a case of a surge event and vice versa to simulate the fault event via bottom 14; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) and the notification unit (i.e., such as Flag 12 is to indicate a fault/surge event; such as FIGS. 7 and 8 show a means which indicates whether power is being supplied to the load. An arm 11 is mounted on lever or carrier 3 and carries a flag 12 which is visible in opening 13 when contacts 1 and 2 are closed. On a fault condition the lever or carrier 3 pivots to open the contacts and moves the flag 12 to a less visible position, making it apparent that the fault condition has occurred; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+), wherein the notification unit (i.e., such as Flag 12 is to indicate a fault/surge event; such as FIGS. 7 and 8 show a means which indicates whether power is being supplied to the load. An arm 11 is mounted on lever or carrier 3 and carries a flag 12 which is visible in opening 13 when contacts 1 and 2 are closed. On a fault condition the lever or carrier 3 pivots to open the contacts and moves the flag 12 to a less visible position, making it apparent that the fault condition has occurred; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) includes a button member (i.e., such as button 10; such as button 10 reciprocates, shaft 101 pushes lever or carrier 3 away from fulcrum 8 against spring 9. Arm 42 is separated from arm 43 and plunger 7 is released under spring action from solenoid 6 deflecting swing arm 5 so that fulcrum 4 cannot engage the lever or carrier 3. This simply returns the mechanism to the state of FIG. 4 on releasing the button; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 31+) that is operated with the core (i.e., such as plunger 7; In the second embodiment the plunger assembly is normally held in with the plunger 7a operating within the solenoid to extend or push out a pin 7b in the known manner. The plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) formed at the center (i.e., such as the central axis of the plunger 7 of the solenoid 6; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) in the solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) in contact with an end (i.e., pin 7b; such as the plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) of the core (i.e., such as plunger 7; In the second embodiment the plunger assembly is normally held in with the plunger 7a operating within the solenoid to extend or push out a pin 7b in the known manner. The plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+), and when power (i.e., the voltage of the secondary winding 18; see for example fig. 9, Col. 4 lines 31+) is supplied to (i.e., such as the power supplied via the secondary winding 18 of the transformer 15 to energize solenoid 6 thereby actuating plunger/core 7; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) the solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+), the core (i.e., such as plunger 7; In the second embodiment the plunger assembly is normally held in with the plunger 7a operating within the solenoid to extend or push out a pin 7b in the known manner. The plunger 7a and the pin 7b are held in a retracted position by a spring 7c. A fault condition causes the solenoid 6 to move the plunger 7a and pin 7b against the spring 7c so that the pin 7b engages the arm 5 with the same effect as in the first embodiment; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) formed at the center (i.e., such as the central axis of the plunger 7 of the solenoid 6; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) in the solenoid (i.e., such as solenoid 6; As shown in FIGS. 1 to 6, in the first embodiment a sufficient voltage applied to solenoid 6 holds plunger 7 against a bias spring from acting on arm 5. Under a fault condition the plunger is released and the biasing force of the spring extends the plunger to engage lever 5 and disengage fulcrum 4 from lever or carrier 3 which then pivots about fulcrum 8 under action of spring 9; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) protrudes (i.e., such as plunger 7 protrudes in a tip 7b via the actuation of solenoid 6; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) and pushes (i.e., such as tip 7b pushes arm 5 thereby pushing button 10 via shaft 101; When the RCD is being set, rod 101 from button 10, also in FIGS. 11 and 13, is pushed down so that two branches (not shown) engage dimples 83, 84. This depresses the entire lever against spring 9 and allows end 80 to engage fulcrum 4 provided the solenoid is energized; see for Col. 4 lines 31+) the button member (i.e., such as button 10; such as button 10 reciprocates, shaft 101 pushes lever or carrier 3 away from fulcrum 8 against spring 9. Arm 42 is separated from arm 43 and plunger 7 is released under spring action from solenoid 6 deflecting swing arm 5 so that fulcrum 4 cannot engage the lever or carrier 3. This simply returns the mechanism to the state of FIG. 4 on releasing the button; see for example fig. 5, Col. 4 lines 31+) out of the main body housing (i.e., such as housing 51 and 52; such as FIGS. 10 to 17 show a first preferred switch mechanism using the principles outlined with respect to FIGS. 1 to 8, incorporated in an RCD. Most of the circuit components outlined with respect to FIG. 9 have been omitted for clarity. The RCD structure is built around a printed circuit board 50 and plastics casing elements 51, 52 clipped together at 53, 54, 55; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US Patent No. 5517165) in view of Lockwood (US Patent No. 0472623).
Regarding claim 2, Cook discloses the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+).
Cook does not explicitly disclose further comprising a switch unit that includes an additional power supplier and controls the additional power supplier to supply power of a preset capacity to the solenoid when a surge current is generated in the target conducting wire and an electromotive force is correspondingly generated.
Lockwood discloses an electric lighting system (i.e., see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+); wherein further comprising a switch unit (i.e., such as switch board A; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) that includes an additional power supplier (i.e., such as the power supply in line conductor L; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) and controls (i.e., such as to the upper end of the bar b is secured by a plate b' which oversets the wheel G, and by coming into contact with the same arrests the gearing of the device when the proper signal has been given; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) the additional power supplier (i.e., such as the power supply in line conductor L; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) to supply power (i.e., such as to supply power via line conductor K; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) of a preset capacity (i.e., the solenoid rated voltage to be actuated; such as the power supply in line conductor L provides a sufficient voltage via line conductor K in order to preset the solenoid A' back to its core the soft-iron bar B; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) to the solenoid (i.e., such as the solenoid A' and the terminals I and J of which may be placed in the main line of an ordinary electric circuit; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) when a surge current (i.e., such as electrical disturbances/surges in the electric-light circuits; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) is generated (i.e., such as electrical disturbances/surges events in the electric-light circuits; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) in the target conducting wire (i.e., such as the terminals I and J of the solenoid A' and of which may be placed in the main line of an ordinary electric circuit; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) when a surge current (i.e., such as electrical disturbances/surges in the electric-light circuits; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) and an electromotive force (i.e., such as the EMF generated moves the brush h to be in the path of the travel of disc c4 in such manner that the teeth of said disk, when same is rotated, will come successively in contact with the brush, in order to give step-by-step signal at the main station in case of any disturbance; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+) is correspondingly generated (i.e., such as any surge event in lines I and J can be read by lines L and K due to the mechanism of the brush in the switch unit board A; The bush has connected to it a conductor L, and the frame A2 a conductor K, which may be placed in a circuit leading to the source of generation of current of the main line; see for example fig. 1, Col. 1 lines 13+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switch and power source devices in Cook, as taught by Lockwood, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards ensuring the specific, stable voltage and high instantaneous current needed to actuate the plunger without overloading microcontrollers.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US Patent No. 5517165) in view of Russell et al (US Patent No. 3720872).
Regarding claim 4, Cook discloses the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+).
Cook does not explicitly disclose wherein the electromotive force generator is configured in a type in which a pair of U-shaped structures is fixed in a contact state to form an O-shaped hole at a center.
Russell discloses a fault indicator device (i.e., see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+); wherein the electromotive force generator (i.e., such as the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) is configured (i.e., such as The core 11 for inductively coupling the coil 12 or 46 with the power transmission line 10 may be in the form of a pair of C-shaped magnetically permeable members 11a and 11b which are suitably joined together so as to extend through bore 72 after being draped or engaged over line 10; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) in a type (i.e. such as the type of a two piece core 11a and 11b; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) in which a pair (i.e., such as the pair permeable members 11a and 11b; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) of U-shaped structures (i.e., such as the C-shape/U-shape members; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) is fixed (i.e., such as 11a and 11b are fixed and secured via the socket of 11b; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) in a contact state (i.e., such as the permeable members 11a and 11b which are suitably joined together so as to extend through bore 72 after being draped or engaged over line 10; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) to form an O-shaped hole (i.e. such as to form an O-shaped hole; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) at a center (i.e., such as the center of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the U-shape core in Cook, as taught by Russell, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards simplifying manufacturing and assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Cook in view of Russell and the teachings of Cook as modified by Russell have been discussed above.
Russell further discloses the fault indicator device (i.e., see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+); wherein the electromotive force generator (i.e., such as the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) is composed of an upper part (i.e., such as the upper member 11a of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) that is a structure (i.e., such as the structure of the upper member 11a in a C-shape or U-shape; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) positioned at an upper end (i.e., such as the letter-U of 11a is upside down; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) and a lower part (i.e., such as the lower part member 11b of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) that is a structure (i.e., such as the structure of the lower member 11b in a C-shape or U-shape; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) positioned at a lower end (i.e., such as the letter-U of 11b is not upside down; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) in a contact state (i.e., such as the permeable members 11a and 11b which are suitably joined together so as to extend through bore 72 after being draped or engaged over line 10; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) for forming an O-shaped hole (i.e. such as to form an O-shaped hole; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+), and the upper part (i.e., such as the upper member 11a of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) and the lower part (i.e., such as the lower part member 11b of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) are connected through a hinge (i.e., such as the socket assembly secured by screw 11d. As shown, members 11a and 11b of core 11 may be joined together by a stud 11c extending from an end of member 11a and retained in a socket of member 11b, as by a set screw 11d; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+), and an opening/closing state (i.e., such as the screw 11d indicates whether the assembly of the members 11a and 11b of the core 11 is secured or not; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) is determined in correspondence to movement (i.e., such as moving the socket assembly to open the two halves 11a and 11b of the core 11; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+) of the hinge (i.e., such as the socket assembly secured by screw 11d. As shown, members 11a and 11b of core 11 may be joined together by a stud 11c extending from an end of member 11a and retained in a socket of member 11b, as by a set screw 11d; see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US Patent No. 5517165) in view of Russell et al (US Patent No. 3720872) and further in view of Ikriannikov et al (US Publication No. 20180053596).
Regarding claim 5, Cook in view of Russell and the teachings of Cook as modified by Russell have been discussed above.
Cook further discloses the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+).
Russell furthermore discloses the fault indicator device (i.e., see for example fig. 5, Col. 7 lines 41+).
Neither Cook nor Russell explicitly discloses wherein the U-shaped structures are ferrite cores.
Ikriannikov discloses a coupled inductor device (i.e., coupled inductor 800; see for example fig. 8, para. [0061]); wherein the U-shaped structures (i.e., such as the U-shaped structures. Second rail 818 has a u-shape when viewed cross-sectionally in the lengthwise 602 direction; see for example fig. 8, para. [0061]) are ferrite cores (i.e., such as ferrite cores, such as a ferrite material, to promote strong magnetic coupling of windings; see for example para. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the ferrite material in Cook, as taught by Ikriannikov, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards suppressing electromagnetic interference (EMI) and radio frequency interference (RFI) in electronic devices.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US Patent No. 5517165) in view of Spencer et al (US Patent No. 5875087).
Regarding claim 7, Cook discloses the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+).
Cook does not explicitly disclose wherein further comprising a communication unit that transmits information of generation of a surge to an external server when a circuit is connected to a power source, wherein when power is supplied to the solenoid with generation of the electromotive force and the core is moved, the notification unit connects the circuit of the communication unit in correspondence to movement of the core.
Spencer discloses a digitally controlled circuit breaker (i.e., see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+); wherein further comprising a communication unit (i.e., 50, 52; such as illustrated in FIG. 4, all of the circuit breakers 10 could be connected through a plurality of serial cables 48 to a transmit/receive block 50, which would allow wireless or wired communication between serial control modules 22 and a remote receiver/transmitter 52. The type of command information that is transmitted to the breaker can be data for use in defining the operation of the breaker or, alternatively, it can be a trip command. One application of the digitally enhanced breaker of the present invention is to allow a fire alarm to be connected thereto which, when activated, can result in the generation of a trip command that can be sent to and cause the breaker to automatically trip in response thereto; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 51+) that transmits information (i.e., such as Tx/Rx of transmitting the circuit breaker info; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 51+) of generation of a surge (i.e., such as a surge. Even after the motor has successfully reached a startup condition without tripping the breaker, there is still the consideration of the motor load current surging during usage. These surge currents may range from low operating currents to maximum startup currents; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 51+) to an external server (i.e., profile table block 26; The digital control module 22 has associated therewith a profile table 26 which is operable to contain predetermined load profiles and a current associated therewith, as will be described in more detail hereinbelow. In addition, a display 30 is provided for displaying information about the operation of the system; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) when a circuit (i.e., such as the digital circuit breaker 20; The intelligent overlay is represented by a digital processing section 20 illustrated in phantom. Part of the digital processing section 20 is a digital control module 22, which is operable to generate the control signal on the control line 18 and receive as inputs, the voltage on the main lines 12, the voltage on the load terminal 14, and also, a current value received from a current sensor 24 disposed in series with the output of the circuit breaker 10; see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+) is connected to a power source (i.e., power supply 12; such as a conventional standard thermal circuit breaker 10 is provided having an input connected to a main terminal 12 and an output connected to a load terminal 14; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+), wherein when power (i.e., power supply 12; such as a conventional standard thermal circuit breaker 10 is provided having an input connected to a main terminal 12 and an output connected to a load terminal 14; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) is supplied to the solenoid (i.e., solenoid 16; such as solenoid 16 which is designed to be activated by a control signal on a line 18, which control signal on line 18 triggers the solenoid 16, thus bypassing the thermal aspects of the circuit breaker 10 and tripping the circuit breaker 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) the with generation of the electromotive force (i.e., such as the EMF generated by the toroidal core 76; see for example fig. 5, Col. 6 lines 5+) and the core (i.e., such as the core of solenoid 16 to move contacts 64; see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+) is moved (i.e., such as moved as been activated to move contacts 64; see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+), the notification unit (i.e., such as display screen 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) connects (i.e., such as connects. In addition, a display 30 is provided for displaying information about the operation of the system. The digital control module is operable to utilize the sensor inputs thereto in the form of voltage and current and effect generation of the control signal on line 18 in order to perform the trip. The criteria utilized for this tripping operation will be described in more detail hereinbelow; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) the circuit (i.e., such as the digital circuit breaker 20; The intelligent overlay is represented by a digital processing section 20 illustrated in phantom. Part of the digital processing section 20 is a digital control module 22, which is operable to generate the control signal on the control line 18 and receive as inputs, the voltage on the main lines 12, the voltage on the load terminal 14, and also, a current value received from a current sensor 24 disposed in series with the output of the circuit breaker 10; see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+) of the communication unit (i.e., 50, 52; such as illustrated in FIG. 4, all of the circuit breakers 10 could be connected through a plurality of serial cables 48 to a transmit/receive block 50, which would allow wireless or wired communication between serial control modules 22 and a remote receiver/transmitter 52. The type of command information that is transmitted to the breaker can be data for use in defining the operation of the breaker or, alternatively, it can be a trip command. One application of the digitally enhanced breaker of the present invention is to allow a fire alarm to be connected thereto which, when activated, can result in the generation of a trip command that can be sent to and cause the breaker to automatically trip in response thereto; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 51+) in correspondence to movement (i.e., such as the actuation of the solenoid 16. The circuit breaker 10 is what is referred to as a Ground Fault Controlled Interrupter (GFCI) circuit breaker, which has associated therewith a solenoid 16 which is designed to be activated by a control signal on a line 18, which control signal on line 18 triggers the solenoid 16, thus bypassing the thermal aspects of the circuit breaker 10 and tripping the circuit breaker 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 51+) of the core (i.e., such as the core of solenoid 16 to move contacts 64; see for example fig. 7, Col. 7 lines 50+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the communication device in Cook, as taught by Spencer, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the efficiency of the surge sensor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US Patent No. 5517165) in view of Schweitzer, Jr. (US Patent No. 3676740).
Regarding claim 8, Cook discloses a device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) for checking a surge (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) to sense a surge (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) of a target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+), the device (i.e., a residual current device/RCD; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) comprising: an electromotive force generator (i.e., such as a differential toroidal transformer 15; such as the magnetic mutual inductance energy/EMF generated is to trip bottom 10 in a case of a surge event and vice versa to simulate the fault event via bottom 14; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) that is formed to surround at least a portion (i.e., such as the core 15 surrounds/360-degrees the entire conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 17, Col. 4 lines 31+) of the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) at a predetermined distance (i.e., such as central distance with respect to the core 15; such as differential toroidal transformer 15 has mains active and neutral conductors 16 and 17 passing centrally through a core over which is wound a secondary winding 18 of high inductance. The conductors are effectively anti-phased primary windings such that normal load currents cancel each other resulting in zero output voltage from the secondary winding. An output voltage is developed when a small residual current from the load active flows back to line neutral indirectly, usually via earth, from a faulty appliance or cable connected in the load; see for example fig. 17, Col. 4 lines 31+) from the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+) and generates an electromotive force (i.e., such as the electromotive force is the magnetic mutual inductance energy created by the target conducting wire/conductors 16, 17 as a primary coil in the electromotive force generator/core-transformer 15 and the conductor 18 as a secondary coil; the power generated by transformer 15 is to trip bottom 10 in the surge/fault event and vice versa to simulate the surge/fault event via bottom 14; such as one end of coil 18 is connected to IC 20 at pin 3 which is a common amplifier reference point. Capacitor 19 filters high frequency noise from the secondary voltage, while capacitor 22 provides noise bypassing from the bulk of the coil to IC 20 at ground pin 4. The active end of coil 18 is connected to an amplifier summing junction at pin 1 through capacitor 25 and resistor 26. Resistors 27 and 26 determine the amplifier gain while capacitor 25 series resonate with the coil inductance and is designed to extract mains frequency signal components from loads which use half wave power control. Otherwise, the core would saturate from the resulting DC and produce very little output to trip the switch. Capacitor 28 provides amplifier high frequency roll off; see for example fig. 18, Col. 4 lines 31+) on the basis of a surge current (i.e., a current surge; such as FIGS. 12 and 17 also show a third fulcrum means 150 as a protrusion on one end of lever or carrier 3 opposite the moveable contacts 2. Contacts 1 and 2 are occasionally tack welded together by a current surge and may be forced apart by the manual reset button 10; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+) generated in the target conducting wire (i.e., such as conductors 16, 17; see for example fig. 19, Col. 4 lines 31+); and a notification unit (i.e., such as Flag 12 is to indicate a fault/surge event; such as FIGS. 7 and 8 show a means which indicates whether power is being supplied to the load. An arm 11 is mounted on lever or carrier 3 and carries a flag 12 which is visible in opening 13 when contacts 1 and 2 are closed. On a fault condition the lever or carrier 3 pivots to open the contacts and moves the flag 12 to a less visible position, making it apparent that the fault condition has occurred; see for example Col. 4 lines 31+).
Cook does not explicitly disclose a notification unit that includes at least one light emission element and notifies of generation of a surge by driving the light emission element on the basis of the generated electromotive force.
Schweitzer, Jr. discloses an automatically resettable fault indicator (i.e., see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+); wherein a notification unit (i.e., such as 26, 20, 21, 22; The windings 18 and 19 may be connected in parallel circuit relation and for energization to a capacitor 20 through an SCR that is indicated, generally, at 21 and includes an anode 21a, a cathode 21c and a gate 21g. For triggering a glow discharge device 22 is employed which may be in the form of a neon lamp. A leakage resistor 23 is connected between the cathode 21c and the gate 21g; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) that includes at least one light emission element (i.e., such as 22; For triggering a glow discharge device 22 is employed which may be in the form of a neon lamp; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) and notifies (i.e., such as indicates; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) of generation (i.e., such as the generation of a fault event; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) of a surge (i.e., such as a fault event; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) by driving (i.e., such as driving 22 via 21. The windings 18 and 19 may be connected in parallel circuit relation and for energization to a capacitor 20 through an SCR that is indicated, generally, at 21 and includes an anode 21a, a cathode 21c and a gate 21g. For triggering a glow discharge device 22 is employed which may be in the form of a neon lamp. A leakage resistor 23 is connected between the cathode 21c and the gate 21g; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) the light emission element (i.e., such as 22; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) the on the basis of (i.e., such as the glowing of lamp 22 depends upon the magnitude of the surge generated; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+) the generated electromotive force (i.e., such as the EMF generated between 18 and 19. The windings 18 and 19 may be connected in parallel circuit relation and for energization to a capacitor 20 through an SCR that is indicated, generally, at 21 and includes an anode 21a, a cathode 21c and a gate 21g. For triggering a glow discharge device 22 is employed which may be in the form of a neon lamp. A leakage resistor 23 is connected between the cathode 21c and the gate 21g; see for example fig. 7, Col. 3 lines 61+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the light device in Cook, as taught by Schweitzer, Jr., as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficient indication to any surge event.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838