DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 5/21/26.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/26 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs (U.S. Pub. No. 20150053025 A1), in view of Kawai (U.S. Pub. 20160039414 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, 9 and 15:
15. Coombs teach an inspection device, comprising: (Coombs [0015] FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary modular inspection system. [0065] As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the sensor 610 is attached to inspection module housing 602, e.g., via support member 660. In one embodiment, the sensor 610 is connected to the distal end 662 of elongated support member 660) a control unit; (Coombs [0064] The handset processor 152 can then provide an articulation control signal communicating the steering mode and joystick position to the inspection module processor 652, which then generates a corresponding motor command to control the articulation drive 622 in the inspection module. [0068] Referring to FIG. 6: the inspection module processor 152 of the handset 100 receives a control signal from the user input interface 140 and automatically controls the light source 624 in response to the received control signal. In one embodiment, the received control signal is an illumination control signal indicating a change in illumination desired by user 2 (e.g., brighter, darker, change wavelength, change pattern). The handset processor 152 is adapted to provide a light source command as the corresponding control signal in response to the received illumination control signal.) an inspection cable, (Coombs [0066] FIG. 6 the articulation drive 622 includes motors and forcing member 623 includes cables adapted to control the orientation of the distal end of the support member 660. In one embodiment, a detachable tip is attached to the distal end of support member 660, and image sensor 610 is located in the detachable tip.) wherein the inspection cable is coupled to the control unit at a proximal end; (Coombs [0066] FIG. 6 Forcing member 623 is connected to articulation drive 622 and adapted to transmit force from articulation drive 622 along support member 660 to control the orientation of the distal end of support member 660, and thus to control the orientation of image sensor 610. The forcing member 623 is represented graphically on FIG. 6 and can include one or more pushrods, belts, chains, bladders, hydraulic or pneumatic lines, or other force-transmitting components. In an example, the articulation drive 622 includes motors and forcing member 623 includes cables adapted to control the orientation of the distal end of the support member 660) and an imaging device coupled to a distal end of the inspection cable, (Coombs [0066] FIG. 6 the articulation drive 622 includes motors and forcing member 623 includes cables adapted to control the orientation of the distal end of the support member 660. In one embodiment, a detachable tip is attached to the distal end of support member 660, and image sensor 610 is located in the detachable tip.)
wherein the control unit includes one or more electronic processors configured to: (Coombs [0068] Referring to FIG. 6: the inspection module processor 152 of the handset 100 receives a control signal from the user input interface 140 and automatically controls the light source 624 in response to the received control signal. In one embodiment, the received control signal is an illumination control signal indicating a change in illumination desired by user 2 (e.g., brighter, darker, change wavelength, change pattern). The handset processor 152 is adapted to provide a light source command as the corresponding control signal in response to the received illumination control signal. Coombs [0070] In another example based on FIG. 2, the sensor 210 can be a temperature sensor. In this example, the handset processor 152 commands the user output interface 130 to provide an audible or tactile alert if the temperature measured by the sensor 210 exceeds a selected threshold. This has various advantages. For example, it is sometimes desirable to inspect jet engines directly after engine shutdown while an aircraft is parked at an airport-terminal gate. Using the temperature sensor permits readily determining whether the engine temperature is still higher than the temperature the inspection module 200 can tolerate)
monitor the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor; (Coombs [0070] In another example based on FIG. 2, the sensor 210 can be a temperature sensor. In this example, the handset processor 152 commands the user output interface 130 to provide an audible or tactile alert if the temperature measured by the sensor 210 exceeds a selected threshold. This has various advantages. For example, it is sometimes desirable to inspect jet engines directly after engine shutdown while an aircraft is parked at an airport-terminal gate. Using the temperature sensor permits readily determining whether the engine temperature is still higher than the temperature the inspection module 200 can tolerate)
generate a warning in response to determining that the temperature exceeds the first predetermined threshold; (Coombs [0070] In another example based on FIG. 2, the sensor 210 can be a temperature sensor. In this example, the handset processor 152 commands the user output interface 130 to provide an audible or tactile alert if the temperature measured by the sensor 210 exceeds a selected threshold)
Coombs [0025] Referring again to FIG. 1, the inspection module 200 includes at least one sensor 210, which is electrically and mechanically connected to the housing of the inspection module 200. The sensor 210 (e.g., an image sensor in a visual inspection system or a receiver coil in an eddy current inspection system) is adapted to provide sensor data relating to the target object 20 when placed in proximity to the target object 20 in a sensing range of the sensor 210. [0054] the inspection module processor 252 is responsive to the corresponding control signal to adjust the operation of the sensor 210. The inspection module processor 252 can turn the sensor on or off or change its operating parameters. Coombs [0070] In another example based on FIG. 2, the sensor 210 can be a temperature sensor. In this example, the handset processor 152 commands the user output interface 130 to provide an audible or tactile alert if the temperature measured by the sensor 210 exceeds a selected threshold. Coombs do not explicitly teach the imaging device including a temperature sensor positioned within the imaging device to sense a temperature of one or more of the image sensors within the imaging device; determine whether the temperature exceeds a first predetermined threshold; determine whether the temperature exceeds a second predetermined threshold; and power down the imaging device in response to the temperature exceeding the second predetermined threshold to prevent damage to the imaging device due to overheating.
However Kawai teach the imaging device including a temperature sensor positioned within the imaging device to sense a temperature of one or more of the image sensors within the imaging device; (Kawai [0014] As shown in FIG. 2, in addition to an image sensor 11 such as a CCD, a CPU 12 and a thermistor 13 are provided inside a casing 10A of the camera unit 10. The CPU 12 executes processes for controlling the image sensor 11. In this embodiment, the CPU 12 performs a plurality of types of image processing on the basis of image signals inputted from the image sensor 11, and obtains information on peripheral objects of the vehicle and status information of the own vehicle. Further, the CPU 12 executes a stop process described below on the basis of a temperature signal of the inside of the casing 10A, the temperature signal inputted from the thermistor 13. The thermistor 13 is provided at a position where the temperature of the inside of the casing 10A, preferably the temperature of the image sensor 11 is detectable.)
determine whether the temperature exceeds a first predetermined threshold; (Kawai [0023] As shown in FIG. 3, when the flow is initiated, at first, the temperature detected by the thermistor 13 is defined as a temperature T in S1 (S means a step: the same is applied below). In the next S2, it is determined whether the temperature T is higher than a temperature T1 predetermined as a temperature where all the controls can be performed stably. In a case of T≦T1 (S2:N), the flow proceeds to S3.) determine whether the temperature exceeds a second predetermined threshold; (Kawai [0025] On the other hand, if the temperature T is higher than the temperature T1 (S2: Y), the flow proceeds to S6, and it is determined whether the temperature T is higher than a temperature T2 which is predetermined to be higher than the T1. In a case of T≦T2 (S6: N), the flow proceeds to S7, only the PCS process among the processes by the CPU 12 is permitted, and the flow proceeds to S4. See claim 1)
and power down the imaging device in response to the temperature exceeding the second predetermined threshold to prevent damage to the imaging device due to overheating. (Kawai [0025] In a case of T>T2 (S6: Y), the flow proceeds to S9, all the PCS, LKA and AHB processes are stopped, and the flow proceeds to S4. In this embodiment, the temperature T2 is set on the basis of the operation guarantee temperature of the image sensor 11. That is, even if the temperature in the CPU12 is within the operation guarantee temperature of the CPU 12, when the operation guarantee temperature of the image sensor 11 is lower than that of the CPU 12, the stopping process [power down, claim 2 and claim 3] is performed.[0026] In this embodiment, if the temperature T detected by the thermistor 13 exceeds the predetermined temperature T1 (S2: Y), of the processes which the CPU 12 executes, at least only the LKA or AHB process (for example, recognition process of white lines) is stopped (S7). This reduces the heat from the CPU 12, which causes the internal temperature of the casing 10A and the temperature of the image sensor 11 to lower. [0027] If the temperature T exceeds the temperature T2 which is set to be higher than the temperature T1 (S6: Y), all processes in the CPU 12 are stopped [power down]. This can reduce the internal temperature T of the casing 10A and the temperature of the image sensor 11 further quickly)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Coombs, further incorporating Kawai in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the imaging device including a temperature sensor positioned within the imaging device to sense a temperature of one or more of the image sensors within the imaging device; determine whether the temperature exceeds a first predetermined threshold; determine whether the temperature exceeds a second predetermined threshold. Kawai teaches sensor shutdown based on temperature thresholds. Same algorithm is obviously applicable for shutting down the camera because this functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results. Ordinary skills knows such substitution was obvious to try.
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein control device includes a display. (Coombs [0055] As mentioned previously and as shown in FIG. 2, for "stand alone" applications where the inspection module 200 is attached or tethered to a standard computer 400, the inspection module is provided with one or more data connectors 214 (e.g., VGA, DVI, HDMI, or DISPLAYPORT connector) and a control connector 216 (e.g., "B" or "Mini-B" USB connector). As also mentioned previously, the inspection module 200 can be connected to a standard computer 400 via the inspection module connector 213. In this "stand alone" configuration, the inspection module 200 can receive control signals from the standard computer 400 and transmit data (e.g., streaming compressed or uncompressed data) to a standard computer 400 for display and storage. A monitor or video-capture device can be connected to the data connector 214. Power can be supplied via the power connector 218. In this way, a user 2 can control the inspection module 200 via a standard computer 400 and receive packaged data in a format for which displays are readily available (e.g., HDMI). This advantageously permits performing inspections using the inspection module 200 both when a handset 100 is available and when a handset 100 is not available.)
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 10-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs (U.S. Pub. No. 20150053025 A1), in view of
Kawai (U.S. Pub. 20160039414 A1), further in view of Shelton (U.S. Pub. No. 20230101750 A1).
Regarding to claim 2 and 10:
2. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 1, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the first predetermined threshold is 75 C.
However Shelton teach wherein the first predetermined threshold is 75 C. (Shelton [0388] in response to the measured external temperature at one of the first and second locations 1560, 1562 reaching a predetermined maximum temperature threshold, the power level is reduced for the associated electrode 1550, 1552. The predetermined maximum temperature threshold is 60° C. in this illustrated embodiment, but another value can be set, such as 41° C., 50° C., 70° C., or other value. Same algorithm can be applicable to set first predetermined threshold is 75 C)
The motivation for combining Coombs and Kawai as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 2. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Coombs, further incorporating Kawai and Shelton in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the first predetermined threshold is 75 C. This functionality will add functionality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 3 and 11:
3. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 1, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the second predetermined threshold is 80 C.
However Shelton teach wherein the second predetermined threshold is 80 C. (Shelton [0388] in response to the measured external temperature at one of the first and second locations 1560, 1562 reaching a predetermined maximum temperature threshold, the power level is reduced for the associated electrode 1550, 1552. The predetermined maximum temperature threshold is 60° C. in this illustrated embodiment, but another value can be set, such as 41° C., 50° C., 70° C., or other value. Same algorithm can be applicable to set second predetermined threshold is 80 C)
Regarding to claim 7, 13 and 18:
7. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 1, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more electronic processors are further configured to: determine whether the temperature is below a third predetermined threshold; and power up the imaging module in response to the temperature being determined to be below the third predetermined threshold.
However Shelton teach wherein the one or more electronic processors are further configured to: determine whether the temperature is below a third predetermined threshold; (Shelton [0388] in response to the measured external temperature at one of the first and second locations 1560, 1562 reaching a predetermined maximum temperature threshold, the power level is reduced for the associated electrode 1550, 1552. The predetermined maximum temperature threshold is 60° C. in this illustrated embodiment, but another value can be set, such as 41° C., 50° C., 70° C., or other value) and power up the imaging module in response to the temperature being determined to be below the third predetermined threshold. (Shelton [0373] For yet another example, the controller can adjust at least one variable parameter to increase or turn on power in response to the measured temperature for an inner, targeted tissue layer intended for ablation being less than a first predetermined minimum threshold so as to indicate that the ablation is not effectively heating for ablation the targeted layer(s) of tissue.)
Regarding to claim 8, 14 and 19:
8. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 7, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the third predetermined threshold is a temperature value less than the second predetermined threshold.
However Shelton teach wherein the third predetermined threshold is a temperature value less than the second predetermined threshold. (Shelton [0388] in response to the measured external temperature at one of the first and second locations 1560, 1562 reaching a predetermined maximum temperature threshold, the power level is reduced for the associated electrode 1550, 1552. The predetermined maximum temperature threshold is 60° C. in this illustrated embodiment, but another value can be set, such as 41° C., 50° C., 70° C., or other value. Any threshold can be set)
Regarding to claim 12 and 17:
12. Coombs teach the method of claim 9, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor is at least one selected from a group consisting of a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor, a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) sensor, and a thermistor.
However Shelton teach wherein the temperature sensor is at least one selected from a group consisting of a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor, a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) sensor, and a thermistor. (Shelton [0376] In some embodiments, instead of or in addition to tissue temperature being measured in some other way, each electrode of an ablation device's plurality of electrodes can be configured to measure tissue temperature. For example, each of the electrodes can include an integrated positive temperature coefficient (PTC) sensor or other temperature sensor)
Claims 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs (U.S. Pub. No. 20150053025 A1), in view of Kawai (U.S. Pub. 20160039414 A1), further in view of Rokach (U.S. Pub. No. 20210018899 A1).
Regarding to claim 5 and 20:
5. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 4, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the warning is generated on the display of the control device.
However Rokach teach wherein the warning is generated on the display of the control device. (Rokach [0029] The electronic processor 204A may then optionally display, on a display (not shown) of the device 200, a warning that a temperature sensed has exceeded a predetermined temperature threshold (block 508). In some embodiments, prior to deactivation, the processor 204B may communicate, to the electronic processor 204A, a temperature sensed by one of the sensors 210B of the second radio communications subsystem 202B.)
The motivation for combining Coombs and Kawai as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Coombs, further incorporating Kawai and Rokach in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the warning is generated on the display of the control device. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs (U.S. Pub. No. 20150053025 A1), in view of Kawai (U.S. Pub. 20160039414 A1), further in view of Houser (U.S. Pub. No. 20120116391 A1).
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Coombs teach the imaging system of claim 1, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor is a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor.
However Houser teach wherein the temperature sensor is a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor. (Houser [0034] FIG. 2 transducer temperature sensor (190) may comprise a thermocouple or a thermistor. In some versions transducer temperature sensor (190) is configured to have a positive temperature coefficient (PTC), while in others, transducer temperature sensor (190) is configured to have a negative temperature coefficient (NTC))
The motivation for combining Coombs and Kawai as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Coombs, further incorporating Kawai and Houser in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the temperature sensor is a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Claims 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coombs (U.S. Pub. No. 20150053025 A1), in view of Kawai (U.S. Pub. 20160039414 A1), further in view of Conneely (U.S. Pub. No. 20150035985 A1).
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Coombs teach the inspection device of claim 15, Coombs do not explicitly teach wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of one or more image sensors within the imaging device.
However Conneely teach wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of one or more image sensors within the imaging device. (Conneely [0041] The camera 3 also includes a temperature sensor 18 capturing the current temperature T of the image sensor 15 and communicating it to the control unit 17. Alternatively, the temperature T can also be computationally determined based on the image data.)
The motivation for combining Coombs and Kawai as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 16. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Coombs, further incorporating Kawai and Conneely in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of one or more image sensors within the imaging device. This functionality will improve compactness with predictable results.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 7408132 B2 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), because it discus temperature sensor. However, is not used because dependent claims are better covered by cited reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896