DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on June 21st, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 15, and 17 have been amended. Objections to the claims filed on March 20th, 2026 have been overcome. The 35 USC § 112(b) rejections filed on March 20th, 2026 have been overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new ground of rejection is made in view of Filthaut (F.R. Patent No. 2,691,448 A1) and in further view of Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1)
The applicant has amended claim 1 to incorporate the specific limitation that the “plurality of windows, each of the plurality of windows providing an opening from a region radially within the core to a region radially external to the core”. It is understood that the prior art reference of Kaml et al. fails to disclose the hole 126 to extend from an inside of the core to an outside. For this reason the prior art reference of Filthaut is introduced which provides the disclosure of the missing limitation demonstrated by element 16.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Furthermore, arguments with respect to claim 17 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the applicant argues that Kaml et al. fails to disclose an annular channel in which the core is connected. Applicant further agues that opening 115 does not constitute an annular channel and does not receive the core. However, it should be noted that an annular channel is understood to one skilled in the art as an element which has a ring-shaped passage or opening. With this understanding, the opening 115 of Kaml et al. can be broadly depicted as an annular channel. Furthermore, the core is formed by staves 120, as described by the applicant in page 12 of the argument, and the core of Kaml et al. requires the first locking member 130 to keep the core intact which then becomes a part of the assembly of said core (see pg. 3, ¶55 regarding the relationship between locking member 130 and drum 110). With the understanding that because the opening 115 receives the locking member 130, it receives the core as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kaml et al. discloses a reel (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, spool 100) comprising a core having a first end region (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, drum 110) defining a plurality of windows (Fig. 18; Pg. 2, ¶44, recess 126 corresponding to a plurality of windows), a first flange configured, in a connected state, to connect to the first end region of the core (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, flanges 114, 116), a first collar configured, in the connected state, to affix to the first end region of the core and the first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶38, actuator 140 corresponding to a collar), and a plurality of first latch members configured, in the connected state, to engage a respective window of the plurality of windows so as to connect the first end region of the core to the first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶41, locking member 130 corresponding to a plurality of first latch members connected to hole 126), and wherein the first flange defines an annular channel configured to axially receive the first end region of the core in the connected state (Fig. 11-12; Pg. 2, ¶45, through hole 115 corresponding to an annular channel).
Regarding claim 17, Kaml et al. discloses a method of assembling a reel comprising moving an end region of a core (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2-3, ¶¶33, 55, drum 110 and locking member 130 forming the complete core) into an annular channel of a flange (Pg. 3, ¶49, opening 115 corresponding to an annular channel disposed on flanges 114, 116), engaging, with each latch member of a plurality of latch members, a respective window of a plurality of windows defined in the end region of the core so as to connect the end region to the flange (Pg. 64, ¶64, locking member 130 corresponding to a plurality of first latch members connected to hole 126), and affixing a collar to the end region and the flange (Pg. 3, ¶50, actuator 140 corresponding to a collar).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the engaging of the respective windows with each latch member occurs during the moving of the end region into the annular channel (Fig. 18; Pg. 3, ¶58) or during the affixing of the collar to the end region and the flange (Fig. 18; Pg. 3-4, ¶59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filthaut (F.R. Patent No. 2,691,448 A1) and in further view of Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Filthaut discloses a reel (Fig. 1; Pg. 2, ¶1, winding bobbin) comprising a core having a first end region (Fig. 1; Pg. 7, ¶32, tubular core 1) defining a plurality of windows, each of the plurality of windows providing an opening from a region radially within the core to a region radially external to the core (Fig. 1; Pg. 9, ¶39, recesses 16 corresponding to a plurality of windows), a first and second flange configured, in a connected state, to connect to the first and second end regions of the core (Fig. 1; Pg. 7, ¶32, discs 2), and a plurality of first and second latch members configured, in the connected state, to engage a respective window of the plurality of windows so as to connect the first end region of the core to the first flange (Fig. 1; Pg. 9, ¶39, tubular plugs 3 having latching members to connect both the disc 2 and tubular core 1).
Filthaut discloses the claimed invention except for a collar. However, Kaml et al. teaches a first and second collar configured, in the connected state, to affix to the first end region of the core and the first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶38, actuator 140 corresponding to a collar). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a collar to the reel in order to provide enhanced securing means of the flange and the hub.
Regarding claim 3, Filthaut discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are elastically deformable, and when transitioning from a disconnected state to the connected state, an axial end surface of the first end region of the core engages a curved or angled surface of each of the first latch members so as to cause the plurality of first latch members to elastically deflect in a radial direction to enable each first latch member to engage in the respective window (Fig. 1, 4-6; Pg. 8-9, ¶¶36, 39, radially projecting elements 4 and latching lugs 15 being chamfered and plastically deformable).
Regarding claim 4, Filthaut discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are formed with the first flange (Fig. 1; Pg. 7-8, ¶33).
Regarding claim 5, Filthaut discloses wherein the each of the plurality of first latch members comprises a circumferentially extending latch arm that, in the connected state, extends from the first flange into a cavity defined by the first flange (Fig. 1, 3-6; Pg. 7-8, ¶33, projecting elements 4, corresponding to extending latch arm, being connected in axially open recess 5), and a latch portion that, in the connected state, extends radially inwardly from the latch arm and engages in the respective one of the plurality of windows, wherein the latch portion is disposed closer to one of two circumferential ends of the latch arm (Fig. 1, 3-6; Pg. 9, ¶39, latching lugs 15 engaging recesses 16).
Regarding claim 6, Filthaut discloses wherein, when transitioning from a disconnected state to an intermediate state, the core is configured to pass into an annular channel of the first flange such that an axial end surface of the first end region engages an angled or curved surface of the latch portion so as to cause the latch portion to deflect radially and enable the axial end surface to axially pass the latch portion (Fig. 4-6; Pg. 9, ¶39, bearing surface 17 being chamfered to allow the core 1 to pass to a channel of the discs 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Filthaut discloses the claimed invention except for the first collar comprising secondary latches. However, Kaml et al. teaches wherein the first collar comprises a plurality of secondary latches configured, in the connected state, to form a snap-fit connection with the latch arm so as to disable axial movement of the first collar relative to the first flange, and wherein, when transitioning from the intermediate state to the connected state, each secondary latch of the plurality of secondary latches has an angled or curved surface that engages the latch arm of an associated one of the plurality of first latch members so as to elastically deform the secondary latch and the associated first latch member to enable the secondary latch to pass the associated first latch member (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶54, entertainment members 143 corresponding to a plurality of secondary latches). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the collar with secondary latches to the reel in order to provide a detachable securing means of the flange and the hub while keeping structural sturdiness.
Regarding claim 9, Filthaut discloses wherein, in the connected state, the latch arm is radially interposed between the first end region of the core and the flange (Fig. 1, 4-6; Pg. 7-8, ¶33, projecting elements 4), but fails to disclose the latch arm radially interposed between the core the collar. However, Kaml et al teaches the secondary latch of the collar extending towards past the flange and towards the core (Pg. 3, ¶54, members 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the latch arm radially interposed between the core the collar to ensure that the flanges are sandwiched between the elements for a secure connection.
Regarding claim 10, Filthaut discloses the claimed invention except for the first latch member being formed with the collar. However, Kaml et al. teaches wherein the first latch members are formed with the collar and project axially from an annular rim of the collar (Fig. 18; Pg. 3-4, ¶59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first latch member being formed with the collar in order to provide enhanced securing means of the flange and the hub.
Regarding claim 11, Filthaut discloses wherein, in the connected state, the first flange is interposed between the annular rim and an axial end surface of the first end region of the core (Fig. 1, 3-6; Pg. 9, ¶39).
Regarding claim 12, Filthaut discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are elastically deformable, and when transitioning from a disconnected state to the connected state, a curved or angled surface of each of the first latch members engages an axial end surface of the first end region of the core so as to cause the plurality of first latch members to elastically deflect in a radial direction to enable each first latch member to pass the axial end surface and engage in the respective window (Fig. 1, 4-6; Pg. 9, ¶39, latching lugs 15).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Filthaut discloses wherein the first flange includes at least one angled rib that, in the connected state, radially supports each of the first latch members, and wherein each first latch member defines at least one recess in which the at least one angled rib is received (Fig. 1, 4-6; Pg. 9, ¶39, latching lugs 15 being chamfered).
Regarding claim 15, Filthaut discloses further comprising an anti-rotation assembly which comprises at least one lug projecting radially and extending axially from one of the core and the first flange, and at least one axially-extending notch defined in a second of core and the first flange, wherein, in the connected state, the at least one lug is arranged in the at least one axially- extending notch (Fig. 6-7; Pg. 9, ¶¶39-40, axially projecting members 20 arranged in stop 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654