DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on February 1st, 2026 have been entered. Claim 5 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed February 1st, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1). The Office Action has been updated below.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states, “at least one axially-extending notch defined in the other of the core and the first flange” in the fifth line, “the other of” should be omitted or further clarification provided. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "an end region of a core" and "a flange" in lines 4-5 of the claim. It is unclear whether the applicant is attempting to introduce a new limitation if they are referring to previously disclosed limitations found within the first few lines of the claim. If it is the latter, then the limitation should read "the end region of the core" and "the flange". Claims 18-19 are also rejected as they depend on rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kaml et al. discloses a reel (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, spool 100) comprising a core having a first end region (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, drum 110) defining a plurality of windows (Fig. 18; Pg. 2, ¶44, recess 126 corresponding to a plurality of windows), a first and second flange configured, in a connected state, to connect to the first end region of the core (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶33, flanges 114, 116), a first and second collar configured, in the connected state, to affix to the first end region of the core and the first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶38, actuator 140 corresponding to a collar), and a plurality of first and second latch members configured, in the connected state, to engage a respective window of the plurality of windows so as to connect the first end region of the core to the first flange (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 2, ¶41, locking member 130 corresponding to a plurality of first latch members).
Regarding claim 2, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the first flange defines an annular channel configured to axially receive the first end region of the core in the connected state (Fig. 11-12; Pg. 2, ¶45, through hole 115 corresponding to an annular channel).
Regarding claim 3, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are elastically deformable, and when transitioning from a disconnected state to the connected state, an axial end surface of the first end region of the core engages a curved or angled surface of each of the first latch members so as to cause the plurality of first latch members to elastically deflect in a radial direction to enable each first latch member to engage in the respective window (Fig. 18-20; Pg. 4, ¶64, locking member 130 latching onto recess 126).
Regarding claim 15, Kaml et al. discloses further comprising an anti-rotation assembly which comprises at least one lug projecting radially and extending axially from one of the core and the first flange (Fig. 18; Pg. 4, ¶63, lock fingers 136), and at least one axially-extending notch defined in the core and the first flange, wherein, in the connected state, the at least one lug is arranged in the at least one axially- extending notch (Fig. 18; Pg. 4, ¶63, retention members 125).
Regarding claim 17, Kaml et al. discloses a method of assembling a reel comprising moving an end region of a core into an annular channel of a flange (Pg. 3, ¶49), engaging, with each latch member of a plurality of latch members, a respective window of a plurality of windows defined in the end region of the core so as to connect the end region to the flange (Pg. 64, ¶64), and affixing a collar to the end region and the flange (Pg. 3, ¶50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4- -14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaml et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0107764 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are formed with the first flange (Fig. 18; Pg. 3, ¶58). Kaml et al. discloses the claimed invention except that the plurality of first latch members are formed integrally with the first flange. However, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the plurality of first latch members and the flange unitary or integral, rather than separable or modular, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure as various discrete elements involves only routine skill in the art. See Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179; In re Fridolph, 309 F.2d 509, 50 CCPA 745; In re Larson, 52 C.C.P.A. 930, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965), and MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B)-(C). In this instance, making the plurality of first latch members and the flange unitary or integral would provide a sturdier structure and allow for an efficient connection between components by minimizing the amount of detachable elements.
Regarding claim 5, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the each of the plurality of first latch members comprises a circumferentially extending latch arm that, in the connected state, extends from the first flange into a cavity defined by the first flange (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 4, ¶60, catch surfaces 134 corresponding to a latch arm), and a latch portion that, in the connected state, extends radially inwardly from the latch arm and engages in the respective one of the plurality of windows, wherein the latch portion is disposed closer to one of two circumferential ends of the latch arm (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶¶56-58, locking arms 135 corresponding to a latch portion).
Regarding claim 6, Kaml et al. discloses wherein, when transitioning from a disconnected state to an intermediate state, the core is configured to pass into an annular channel of the first flange such that an axial end surface of the first end region engages an angled or curved surface of the latch portion so as to cause the latch portion to deflect radially and enable the axial end surface to axially pass the latch portion (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 4, ¶60).
Regarding claim 7, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the first collar comprises a plurality of secondary latches configured, in the connected state, to form a snap-fit connection with the latch arm so as to disable axial movement of the first collar relative to the first flange (Fig. 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶54, entertainment members 143 corresponding to a plurality of secondary latches).
Regarding claim 8, Kaml et al. discloses wherein, when transitioning from the intermediate state to the connected state, each secondary latch of the plurality of secondary latches has an angled or curved surface that engages the latch arm of an associated one of the plurality of first latch members so as to elastically deform the secondary latch and the associated first latch member to enable the secondary latch to pass the associated first latch member (Fig. 12-18; Pg. 4, ¶60, latching hooks 144 being angled and catching onto catch surfaces 134).
Regarding claim 9, Kaml et al. discloses wherein, in the connected state, the latch arm is radially interposed between the first end region of the core and the secondary latch of the collar (Fig. 12-18; Pg. 4, ¶60).
Regarding claim 10, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the first latch members are formed with the collar and project axially from an annular rim of the collar (Fig. 18; Pg. 3-4, ¶59). Kaml et al. discloses the claimed invention except that the plurality of first latch members are formed integrally with the collar flange. However, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the plurality of first latch members and the collar unitary or integral, rather than separable or modular, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure as various discrete elements involves only routine skill in the art. See Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179; In re Fridolph, 309 F.2d 509, 50 CCPA 745; In re Larson, 52 C.C.P.A. 930, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965), and MPEP 2144.04 (V) (B)-(C). Similar to claim 4, in this instance, making the plurality of first latch members and the collar unitary or integral would provide a sturdier structure and allow for an efficient connection between components by minimizing the amount of detachable elements.
Regarding claim 11, Kaml et al. discloses wherein, in the connected state, the first flange is interposed between the annular rim and an axial end surface of the first end region of the core (Fig. 1-2, 13-14; Pg. 3, ¶49).
Regarding claim 12, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the plurality of first latch members are elastically deformable, and when transitioning from a disconnected state to the connected state, a curved or angled surface of each of the first latch members engages an axial end surface of the first end region of the core so as to cause the plurality of first latch members to elastically deflect in a radial direction to enable each first latch member to pass the axial end surface and engage in the respective window (Fig. 18-20; Pg. 4, ¶64, locking member 130 latching onto recess 126).
Regarding claim 13, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the first flange includes at least one angled rib that, in the connected state, radially supports each of the first latch members (Fig. 15-18; Pg. 3, ¶58, the flange having a through hole 15 to accept the locking member 130).
Regarding claim 14, Kaml et al. discloses wherein each first latch member defines at least one recess in which the at least one angled rib is received (Fig. 15-18 depicting the locking member 130 having a recess under lock fingers 136 to receive the rib of the flange).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kaml et al. discloses wherein the engaging of the respective windows with each latch member occurs during the moving of the end region into the annular channel (Fig. 18; Pg. 3, ¶58) or during the affixing of the collar to the end region and the flange (Fig. 18; Pg. 3-4, ¶59).
Conclusion
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654