Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 9, “ribs disposed on the cantilever”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, 12-13, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 1, “in includes” should read ---includes---.
In claim 8, line 1 and claim 19, line 1, “wherein first receiver” should read ---wherein the first receiver---.
In claim 12, line 1 and claim 13, line 1, “at least on” should read ---at least one---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recites the limitation "the protrusion" in line 10 of claim 1 and line 12 of claim 10. How does the “protrusion” in line 10 of claim 1 and line 12 of claim 10 relate to the “first lateral protrusion” in line 3 of claims 1 and 10? Are there two different protrusions being claimed? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claims 11-19 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Allwood (US9637343B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Allwood discloses a reel kit for forming a reel and core kit for use in a reel for supporting wound flexible media, comprising: a core (26; Figures 3-7) having at least a first section (28a) forming a first partial cylinder between a first edge (36a) and a second edge (36b), the first edge (36a) including a first lateral protrusion (34a) extending therefrom, the first lateral protrusion (34a) having a detent (D; see Allwood annotated Figure 6 below); and a second section (28b) forming a second partial cylinder and couplable to the first section (28a), the second section (28b) including a first receiver (34b) configured to receive the first lateral protrusion (34a) and engage the detent (D) via a retention structure (RS) to at least in part couple the first section (28a) to the second section (28b), and wherein at least one of the first lateral protrusion (34a; tabs 34a and CA portion could experience some bending during engagement/disengagement with the clip 34b) and the first receiver (34b) is elastically deformable to allow the first lateral protrusion (34a) to slide in an engagement direction past the retention structure (RS), and then release from at least part of an elastic deformation after the protrusion (34a) passes the retention structure (RS) to engage the retention structure (RS) to inhibit disengagement of the first section (28a) from the second section (28b); and wherein the first section (28a) and the second section (28b) are each configured to be coupled to a first flange (30a) and a second flange (30b).
Allwood, Annotated Figure 6
Regarding claim 2, Allwood discloses wherein the first flange (30a) and the second flange (30b) are configured to couple to the core (26).
Regarding claim 3, Allwood discloses wherein the first flange (30a) includes at least a first axial protrusion (43; Figures 3-4; projections 43 protrude from the face of the flanges 30a,30b in the axial direction) configured to engage a receptacle (56) on the core (26).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Allwood discloses wherein the first lateral protrusion (34a) comprises a cantilever (CA; see Allwood annotated Figure 6 above; CA portion could experience some bending during mating and release of the first and second sections), and wherein the detent (D) is disposed on the cantilever (CA).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Allwood discloses wherein the first receiver (34b) comprises a window (W; see Allwood annotated Figure 6 above) extending through the second section (28b), and wherein the detent (D) extends from radially outward from the cantilever (CA) at least partially through the window (W; Figure 5).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Allwood discloses wherein the retention structure (RS) comprises an edge of the window (W) formed by the second section (28b; Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Allwood discloses wherein the first section (28a) includes a plurality of lateral protrusions (34a on both sides; Figure 5) configured to be received by corresponding receivers (34b on both sides; Figure 6) on the second section (28b).
Regarding claims 12-13, Allwood discloses wherein the first section (28a) includes at least on second receiver (34b on second edge 36b of first section 28a; Figures 5-7) configured to receive a lateral protrusion (34a on second edge 36b of second section 28b) having a structure of the first lateral protrusion (34a).
Regarding claim 14, Allwood discloses wherein the first section (28a) and the second section (28b) form a cylindrical tube when coupled (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Allwood discloses wherein each of the first section (28a) and the second section has a half-cylinder wall (Figures 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allwood in view of Hoeglind (WO9819953A1).
Regarding claim 4, Allwood discloses the above reel kit and further teaches the first axial protrusion (43) and the receptacle (56) includes a void, but fails to teach the first axial protrusion includes a barb and the void receive the barb when the first flange is coupled to the core.
Hoeglind teaches a similar reel kit and further teaches the first axial protrusion (8; Figure 3) includes a barb (8b) and the void (16) receive the barb (8b) when the first flange (9) is coupled to the core (2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel kit of Allwood to include the barb as taught by Hoeglind in order to prevent accidental removal of the core from the flange in the axial direction while also preventing relative rotation between the flange and core.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allwood in view of Sakon (JP2011068454A).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Allwood discloses the above reel kit and further teaches wherein first receiver (34b) comprises a mating recess (MR; see Allwood annotated Figure 6 below; cutout behind clip 34b forms a recess for introducing and mating with the tab 34a) formed in the second section (28b), but fails to teach a pocket having an outer wall, an inner wall, and side walls configured to receive at least portion of the cantilever, and wherein the window is disposed in the outer wall.
Allwood, Annotated Figure 6
Sakon teaches a similar reel kit and further teaches a pocket (P; see Sakon annotated Figured 3 below) having an outer wall (OW), an inner wall (IW), and side walls (SW; both sides) configured to receive at least portion of the cantilever (71; Figure 5), and wherein the window (W) is disposed in the outer wall (OW). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel kit of Allwood to include the pocket as taught by Sakon in order to provide a guide for easy alignment during engagement/disengagement of the protrusion with the receiver.
Sakon, Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 9, Allwood discloses wherein the cantilever (CA) further comprises ribs (RB; see Allwood annotated Figure 4 below) disposed on the cantilever (CA).
Allwood, Annotated Figure 4
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654