DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are considered below
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 06/19/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that Shen '966’ fails “to disclose or suggest that the BS can store the authorized information in a device context. That, in Shen '966, the UE context is local to the AMF, and the BS would not be able to take advantage of the UE context. Accordingly, Shen '966 fails to disclose every element of claim 1.” (Remarks: page 3, last paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Shen discloses (the NG-RAN knows that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning services, page 2, 6th paragraph, last two lines; Also, By receiving the indication information, the NG-RAN knows that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning and it may allocate and/or schedule PC5 transmission resources for the UE to perform the Ranging/Sidelink position tasks. In other words, indication information is sent to the NG-RAN for the purpose of allowing the NG-RAN to allocate/schedule PC5 transmission resources for the UE to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning tasks), see page 7, 7th paragraph-page 8, 1st paragraph, ll. 1-3.
Examiner further submits that the claim does not concern whether the “BS would not be able to take advantage of the UE context.” It merely recites ‘store the authorized information in a device context. Or whether the authorized information in a device context can be offloaded to the BS, … .’ As stated on page 4, second paragraph.
Applicant further argues that Shen '966’ is silent with respect “to any QoS parameter, and therefore would have much less disclosed or suggested the subject matter of claim 5. The Office Action asserts on p.5 that a POSITA would understand that "information about PC5 capability" refers to QoS.” (Remarks: page 4, fourth paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Shen discloses the information about PC5 capability for Ranging/Sidelink positioning may be reported by the UE, Figure 2, S1010.
Applicant further argues with respect to claims 9 and 10 that Shen '966’ is silent with respect that “the initial context setup request or the context modification request, and therefore would have much less disclosed or suggest that the authorized information is received by the BS in an initial context setup request or a context modification request from the AMF.” (Remarks: page 5, fifth paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Shen discloses (In step S1030 (Figure 2), the AMF sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, page 7, 6th paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-14 and 17-20 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant’s submission of prior art Shen (WO 2023212966 ).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a wireless communication method comprising generating or sending a message, comprising:
receiving, by a base station (BS) (e.g., “NG-RAN (200),” Figure 1), authorized information for at least one of ranging or Sidelink (SL) positioning service for a first wireless communication device (the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service based on the information about PC5 capability of the UE for Ranging/Sidelink positioning and the information related to service authorization for Ranging/Sidelink positioning. … see page 2, 4th paragraph; and, “the AMF sends information indicating that the UE is authorized to use ranging/sidelink positioning service,” see page 2, 5th paragraph, last two lines; further, see Figures 2 and 3, step 1030 (Fig. 2), and wherein “the AMF sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, in response to determining that the UE is PC5 capable and is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service. In this context, PC5 capable for Ranging/Sidelink positioning means that the UE has the ability to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service. …, ” page 7, 6th paragraph);
and storing, by the BS, the authorized information in a device context for the first wireless communication device (the NG-RAN knows that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning services, page 2, 6th paragraph, last two lines; Also, By receiving the indication information, the NG-RAN knows that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning and it may allocate and/or schedule PC5 transmission resources for the UE to perform the Ranging/Sidelink position tasks. In other words, indication information is sent to the NG-RAN for the purpose of allowing the NG-RAN to allocate/schedule PC5 transmission resources for the UE to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning tasks, see page 7, 7th paragraph-page 8, 1st paragraph, ll. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information comprises ranging and/or SL positioning service authorization indication for the first wireless communication device (see Shen’s claims 2 and 3, and step 1030 as shown on Figure 2 and 3, wherein “the UE is PC5 capable and is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service.”), wherein the at least one of ranging or SL positioning service authorization indication indicates whether the at least one of ranging or SL positioning service is authorized or unauthorized for the first wireless communication device over a reference point (Shen’s claims 2 and 3, and step 1030 as shown on Figure 2 and 3, wherein “the UE is PC5 capable and is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service.”).
Regarding claim 3, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information comprises ranging and/or SL positioning resource management parameter for the first wireless communication device (Shen’s claims 2 and 3, and step 1030 as shown on Figure 2 and 3, wherein “the UE is PC5 capable and is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service.”), wherein the ranging and/or SL positioning resource management parameter comprises an authorized ranging and/or SL positioning parameter used by the BS to manage resources for and to schedule transmissions for the at least one of ranging or Positioning service for the first wireless communication device (the NG-RAN knows that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning services. The NG-RAN may optionally allocate and/or schedule PC5 transmission resources for the UE to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service, page 2, 6th paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information comprises ranging and/or SL positioning Quality of Service (QoS) parameter for the first UE (the information about PC5 capability for Ranging/Sidelink positioning may be reported by the UE, Figure 2, S1010. The POSITA would understand this as a disclosure involves some QoS parameters), wherein the ranging and/or SL positioning QoS parameter comprises an authorized ranging and/or SL positioning parameter used by the BS to define attributes of a QoS flow of SL communications of the first wireless communication device for the at least one of ranging or SL positioning service (The information may indicate whether the UE is capable to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning service over PC5 reference point (interface) and/or which specific PC5 Radio Access Technology (RAT) it supports, page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 5, wherein the ranging and/or SL positioning QoS parameter comprises ranging/SL positioning PC5 QoS parameter (The information may indicate whether the UE is capable to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning service over PC5 reference point (interface) and/or which specific PC5 Radio Access Technology (RAT) it supports, i.e. LTE PC5 only, NR PC5 only or both LTE and NR PC5, page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information comprises a type of the first UE for the at least one of ranging or SL positioning service (The information may indicate whether the UE is capable to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning service over PC5 reference point (interface) and/or which specific PC5 Radio Access Technology (RAT) it supports, i.e. LTE PC5 only, NR PC5 only or both LTE and NR PC5, page 7, 3rd paragraph. The POSITA would understand this as information, indicating capabilities of the UE and also disclosing what type the UE for the ranging procedures is).
Regarding claim 8, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 7, where the type of the first wireless communication device for the at least one of ranging or SL positioning service comprises at least one of a target User Equipment (UE), a reference UE, an assistant UE, or a network-assisted UE (It may also indicate that ability of the UE to perform Ranging/Sidelink tasks via PC5 reference point as a Target UE, a Reference, an Assisted UE or any combination of these three roles, page 7, 6th paragraph, and, claim 8, Shen).
Regarding claim 9, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in an initial context setup request from an Access and Mobility Management function (AMF) (In step S1030 (Figure 2), the AMF sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, page 7, 6th paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in a context modification request from an Access and Mobility Management function (AMF), the method further comprising updating, by the BS, the authorized information in the device context for the first wireless communication device (the NG-RAN might be a target NG-RAN in N2 based handover procedure to which the UE will be handed over. Then, after obtaining the information related to service authorization for Ranging/Sidelink positioning or determining whether the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service, the AMF may send the indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning services to the target NG-RAN, page 4, 6th paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in a handover request from an Access and Mobility Management function (AMF) (In another optional embodiment, when the UE is handed over from one source NG-RAN to a target NG-RAN via Xn Handover Procedure, then, after the AMF sends the indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning services to the source NG-RAN, the source NG-RAN may send the same indication information to the target NG-RAN, page 5, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the BS is a target BS in a handover procedure; and the authorized information is received in a handover request from a source BS in the handover procedure (when step S1030 is performed in Service Request Procedure, the NG-RAN is a NG-RAN to which the UE is connected to. When step S1030 is performed in N2 Handover Procedure, the NG-RAN is a target NG-RAN to which the UE switch to, page 13, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in a path switching request acknowledgement from an Access and Mobility Management function (AMF) (Further, it may happen that the UE is handed over to another target NG-RAN through Xn Handover Procedure. In this scenario, the source NG-RAN node which receives the indication information during Registration and/or Service Request Procedures may send the indication information to the target NG-RAN node. The source NG-RAN may include the indication information in a XnAP Hanover Request message or a Path Switch Request Acknowledge message and then send the message to the target NG-RAN. The target NG-RAN may then allocate and/or schedules PC5 transmission resources for the UE to user Ranging/Sidelink positioning service, page 13, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the BS is a new BS in a retrieve UE context procedure; and the authorized information is received in a retrieve UE context response from an old BS in the retrieve UE context procedure (AMF to store the PC5 capability of the UE for Ranging/Sidelink positioning before determining whether the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning, and store information about authorized PC5 capability of the UE for Ranging/Sidelink positioning as part of the UE context after determining whether the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning, page 3, 2nd paragraph).
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Shen, Figure 2, step 1030, page 7, 6th paragraph, “AMF sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, …”).
Claim 18 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Shen, Figure 2, step 1030, page 7, 6th paragraph, “AMF (e.g., “an entity”) sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, …”). Shen further discloses at least one of: receive, via the transceiver from the BS, a response to a message containing the authorized information (Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), -“entity”-, receives information … and sends an indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to a NG-RAN, e.g., BS, page 2, 4th paragraph); or receive, via the transceiver from the BS, a request for the authorized information (indication information during Registration and/or Service Request Procedures may send the indication information to the target NG-RAN node, page 13, 2nd paragraph).
Claim 19 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Shen, Figure 2, step 1030, page 7, 6th paragraph, “AMF (e.g., “an entity”) sends indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to an NG-RAN, thus, BS, …”). Shen further discloses at least one of: receiving, by the entity from the BS, a response to a message containing the authorized information; or receiving, by the entity from the BS, a request for the authorized information. (Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), -“entity”-, and sends an indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to a NG-RAN, e.g., BS, page 2, 4th paragraph); or receive, via the transceiver from the BS, a request for the authorized information (sends an indication information indicating that the UE is authorized to use Ranging/Sidelink positioning service to a NG-RAN, page 2, 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Shen discloses the wireless communication method of claim 19, wherein at least one of:
the entity is an Access and Mobility Management function (AMF) (Shen, claim 15, “... the AMF configured to”); the entity is a source BS in a handover procedure (NG-RAN node which acts as a source NG-RAN node and sends the indication information to a target NG-RAN node during Xn Handover procedure, page 2, 3rd paragraph); the entity is an old BS in a retrieve UE context procedure; or the entity is a Location Management Function (LMF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (WO 2023212966) in view of Kang et al (2022/0303821).
Regarding claim 4, Shen does not expressly disclose wherein the ranging and/or SL positioning resource management parameter comprises a User Equipment (UE) ranging/SL positioning aggregate maximum bit.
However, in similar endeavor of processing sidelink resource allocation in a V2X system, Kang discloses at least one processor may be configured to: acquire aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR) information regarding a PC5 unicast link for sidelink communication of the terminal; provide the AMBR information to a base station; receive information regarding a resource for the sidelink communication, which has been allocated on the basis of the AMBR information, see Kang, Abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method mechanisms of Shen with the mechanisms of Kang to include ranging and/or SL positioning resource management parameter comprises a User Equipment (UE) ranging/SL positioning aggregate maximum bit as taught by Knag in order to manage the maximum total bandwidth allocated for direct sidelink (SL) communication between terminal devices used particularly for ranging or positioning services efficiently routing data to their corresponding targets and, thus, ensuring efficient transfer of user information.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (WO 2023212966) in view of Shen (US 20250317886).
Regarding claim 15, Shen does not expressly disclose the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in a position information request from a Location Management Function (LMF).
However, in similar endeavor of processing sidelink resource allocation in a V2X system, Shen (‘0317886) discloses “based on the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information and the ranging/sidelink positioning content included in the ranging/sidelink positioning request, the LMF network element configured to perform the ranging/sidelink positioning service. … ,” see par. [0119].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method mechanisms of Shen with the mechanisms of Shen (‘0317886) to include the authorized information is received in a position information request from a Location Management Function as taught by Shen (‘0317886) in order to coordinate and manage direct device-to-device positioning measurements within the core network in an efficient and secure manner.
Regarding claim 16, Shen wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the authorized information is received in a SL position information request from a Location Management Function (LMF) (“based on the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information and the ranging/sidelink positioning content included in the ranging/sidelink positioning request, the LMF network element configured to perform the ranging/sidelink positioning service. … ,” see Shen (‘0317886), par. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method mechanisms of Shen with the mechanisms of Shen (‘0317886) to include the authorized information is received in a position information request from a Location Management Function as taught by Shen (‘0317886) in order to ensure the UE privacy, service authorization, and to ensure devices operate safely and in compliance within designated radio frequency spectrums without causing interference within their respective network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644