DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/506,291 (filed on 06/05/2023) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the reference character “90” (in figure 3) which is not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in figure 8, the reference character “138” has been used to designate both the bottom stop and the top stop. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In paragraph 0035, line 2, the phrase “a top stop 236” should read -- a top stop 136 --.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 6, 10, 13, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 3, line 3, the limitation “the latch arm” should read -- the latching projection --.
In claim 4, line 1, the limitation “the support member” should read -- each support member --.
In claim 6, line 1, the limitation “the common connecting structure” should read -- each common connecting structure --.
In claim 10, line 1, the limitation “the support member is configured” should read -- the support member of each latching arrangement is configured --.
In claim 13, line 1, the limitation “the latch lever is configured” should read -- the latch lever of each latching arrangement is configured --.
In claim 15, line 8, the limitation “a second end region” should read -- the second end region --.
In claim 16, line 10, the limitation “the latching member” should read -- the latching projection --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the cavity” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-13 depends from claim parent 10. Subsequently, claims 11-13 are all rejected as being indefinite for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoeglind et al. (WIPO Patent Application/Publication WO98/19953 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Hoeglind”).
In regards to claim 1, Hoeglind teach (Figures 1-6) a reel (spool illustrated in figure 1) comprising: a core (tubular core 2) having a first end region (right-side end portion of the tubular core 2 that is connected to the right-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1) defining a plurality of slots (engagement apertures 16), a first flange (right-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1), and a plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) configured to connect the first end region of the core (right-side end portion of the tubular core 2) to the first flange (right-side disc 1) in a connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2); each respective latching arrangement of the plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) including a latch arm (grip lugs 8) having a latching projection (grip edges 8b), and a support member (stiffening webs 10) that supports the latch arm (grip lugs 8) on a side of the latch arm (radially inner sides of the grip lugs 8) opposite the latching projection (grip edges 8b, which are on the radially outer sides of the grip lugs 8); wherein, each latching projection (grip edges 8b) is arranged within an associated slot of the plurality of slots (engagement apertures 16) in the connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), and each support member (stiffening webs 10) disable the latching projection (grip edges 8b) from moving out of the associated slot (engagement apertures 16) in the connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2) (see also page 4, line 13 - page 7, line 19 of the WO98/19953 A1 provided with this office action).
In regards to claims 2-3, Hoeglind teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Hoeglind further teach (Figures 1-6), each respective latching arrangement (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) being arranged in a cavity (radially inner cavity of the right-side disc 1, which is defined between the smaller diameter axially protruding flange and the larger-diameter axially protruding flange 7) defined in the first flange (right-side disc 1), in the connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2); and each latch arm (grip lugs 8) being pivotable relative to the first flange (right-side disc 1) from a disconnected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are not located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), in which the latching projection (grip edges 8b) is arranged outside the associated slot (engagement apertures 16), to the connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), in which the latching projection (grip edges 8b) is arranged in the associated slot (engagement apertures 16).
In regards to claim 14, Hoeglind teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Hoeglind further teach (Figures 1-6), the plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) being formed integrally with the first flange (right-side disc 1).
In regards to claim 15, Hoeglind teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Hoeglind further teach (Figures 1-6), the reel (spool illustrated in figure 1) additionally comprising: a second flange (left-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1), a second end region (left-side end portion of the tubular core 2 that is connected to the left-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1) of the core (tubular core 2) defining a plurality of second slots (engagement apertures 16), and a plurality of second latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) configured to connect the second end region of the core (left-side end portion of the tubular core 2) to the second flange (left-side disc 1) in a second connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2); each respective second latching arrangement of the plurality of second latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) including a second latch arm (grip lugs 8) having a second latching projection (grip edges 8b), and a second support member (stiffening webs 10) that supports the second latch arm (grip lugs 8) on a side of the second latch arm (radially inner sides of the grip lugs 8) opposite the second latching projection (grip edges 8b, which are on the radially outer sides of the grip lugs 8); wherein, each second latching projection (grip edges 8b) is arranged in an associated second slot of the plurality of second slots (engagement apertures 16) in the second connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), and each second support member (stiffening webs 10) disable the second latching projection (grip edges 8b) from moving out of the associated second slot (engagement apertures 16) in the second connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2).
In regards to claim 16, Hoeglind teach (Figures 1-6) a method of assembling a reel (spool illustrated in figure 1) comprising: inserting a first end region (right-side end portion of the tubular core 2 that is connected to the right-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1) of a core (tubular core 2), which defines a plurality of slots (engagement apertures 16), into a channel (radially outer area defined around the axially protruding flange 7) of a first flange (right-side disc 1, as illustrated in figure 1); and connecting the first end region of the core (right-side end portion of the tubular core 2) to the first flange (right-side disc 1) with a plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) by arranging a latching projection (grip edges 8b) of a latch arm (grip lugs 8) of each of the plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) in an associated slot of the plurality of slots (engagement apertures 16), and by supporting the latch arm (grip lugs 8) of each of the plurality of latching arrangements (grip lugs 8 with the stiffening webs 10) on a side of the latch arm (radially inner sides of the grip lugs 8) opposite the latching projection (grip edges 8b, which are on the radially outer sides of the grip lugs 8) with a support member (stiffening webs 10) so as to disable the latching projection (grip edges 8b) from moving out of the associated slot (engagement apertures 16) (see also page 4, line 13 - page 7, line 19 of the WO98/19953 A1 provided with this office action).
In regards to claim 17, Hoeglind teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Hoeglind further teach (Figures 1-6), the supporting of the latch arm (grip lugs 8) occurring prior to the inserting of the first end region of the core (right-side end portion of the tubular core 2) and prior to the arranging of the latching projection (grip edges 8b) in the associated slot (engagement apertures 16).
Claims 1-3 and 14-17 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Septien et al. (WIPO Patent Application/Publication WO2004/014772 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Septien”).
In regards to claim 1, Septien teach (Figures 1-6) a reel (spooled formed of the two half-cores 1 and the two end flanges 2) comprising: a core (complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) having a first end region (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) defining a plurality of slots (grooves 18), a first flange (end flange 2), and a plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) configured to connect the first end region of the core (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) to the first flange (end flange 2) in a connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the latching/longer wall portions 60 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1); each respective latching arrangement of the plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) including a latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) having a latching projection (hook portions 62), and a support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) that supports the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) on a side of the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) opposite the latching projection (hook portions 62); wherein, each latching projection (hook portions 62) is arranged within an associated slot of the plurality of slots (grooves 18) in the connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the latching/longer wall portions 60 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1), and each support member (triangular supports 72) disable the latching projection (hook portions 62) from moving out of the associated slot (grooves 18) in the connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the latching/longer wall portions 60 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1) (see also page 3, line 29 - page 8, line 16 of the WO2004/014772 A1 provided with this office action).
In regards to claims 2-3, Septien teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Septien further teach (Figures 1-6), each respective latching arrangement (latching/longer wall portions 60 with triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) being arranged in a cavity (space between the cylindrical wall 36 and the cylindrical wall 44; where said space defines the circular groove 50 and the gaps 56) defined in the first flange (end flange 2), in the connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the latching/longer wall portions 60 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1); and each latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) being pivotable relative to the first flange (end flange 2) from a disconnected state (when the hook portions 62 of the latching/longer wall portions 60 are not located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1), in which the latching projection (hook portions 62) is arranged outside the associated slot (grooves 18), to the connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the longer portions 70 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1), in which the latching projection (hook portions 62) is arranged in the associated slot (grooves 18).
In regards to claim 14, Septien teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Septien further teach (Figures 1-6), the plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) being formed integrally with the first flange (end flange 2).
In regards to claim 15, Septien teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Septien further teach (Figures 1-6), the reel (pooled formed of the two half-cores 1 and the two end flanges 2) additionally comprising: a second flange (end flange 2), a second end region (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) of the core (complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) defining a plurality of second slots (grooves 18), and a plurality of second latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) configured to connect the second end region of the core (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) to the second flange (end flange 2) in a second connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the longer portions 70 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1); each respective second latching arrangement of the plurality of second latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) including a second latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) having a second latching projection (hook portions 62), and a second support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) that supports the second latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) on a side of the second latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) opposite the second latching projection (hook portions 62); wherein, each second latching projection (hook portions 62) is arranged in an associated second slot of the plurality of second slots (grooves 18) in the second connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the longer portions 70 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1), and the second support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) disable the second latching projection (hook portions 62) from moving out of the associated second slot (grooves 18) in the second connected state (when the hook portions 62 of the longer portions 70 are located/inserted within the grooves 18 of the half-cores 1).
In regards to claim 16, Septien teach (Figures 1-6) a method of assembling a reel (spooled formed of the two half-cores 1 and the two end flanges 2) comprising: inserting a first end region (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) of a core (complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1), which defines a plurality of slots (grooves 18), into a channel (circular groove 50) of a first flange (end flange 2); and connecting the first end region of the core (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) to the first flange (end flange 2) with a plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) by arranging a latching projection (hook portions 62) of a latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) of each of the plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) in an associated slot of the plurality of slots (grooves 18), and by supporting the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) of each of the plurality of latching arrangements (latching/longer wall portions 60 with the triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) on a side of the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) opposite the latching projection (hook portions 62) with a support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) so as to disable the latching projection (hook portions 62) from moving out of the associated slot (grooves 18) (see also page 3, line 29 - page 8, line 16 of the WO2004/014772 A1 provided with this office action).
In regards to claim 17, Septien teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Septien further teach (Figures 1-6), the supporting of the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60) occurring prior to the inserting of the first end region of the core (end portion of the complete cylindrical core formed by assembling together the half-cores 1) into the channel (circular groove 50) of the first flange (end flange 2), and prior to the arranging of the latching projection (hook portions 62) in the associated slot (grooves 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for the following reasons:
In regards to claim 4, both Hoeglind and Septien independently teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Hoeglind fail to explicitly disclose, each support member (stiffening webs 10) being configured to pivot from a first position in the disconnected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are not located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), in which the support member (stiffening webs 10) does not support the latch arm (grip lugs 8), to a second position in the connected state (when the grip edges 8b of the grip lugs 8 are located/inserted within the engagement apertures 16 of the tubular core 2), in which the support member (stiffening webs 10) supports the latch arm (grip lugs 8). Septien also fails to reveal, the support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) being configured to pivot from a first position in which the support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) does not support the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60), to a second position in which the support member (triangular supports 72 of the longer portions 70) supports the latch arm (latching/longer wall portions 60). On the contrary, the support members of the latching arrangements on the reel proposed either by Hoeglind or Septien, are specifically configured to always support the corresponding latch arms of said latching arrangements. Furthermore, all other prior art of record, either individually or in combination, doe not teach nor render obvious, a reel comprising a plurality of latching arrangements (or a plurality of latching arrangements having pivotable support members) that are structurally and functionally arranged in the precise manner recited collectively by claims 1 and 3-4 (i.e. each latching arrangements of a reel including a latch arm having a latching projection that is disposed on the first side of the latch arm and configured to be positioned within an associated slot on an end region of a core, and including a support member that is disposed on the second side of the latch arm and configured to support the latch arm so as to disable the latching projection from moving out of the associated slot; wherein, each said latch arm is pivotable relative to a first flange of the reel from a disconnected state to a connected state, and each said support member is pivotable relative to the first flange the reel from a first position to a second position). Accordingly, claim 4 limitations appear to contain allowable subject matter over the cited prior art references; specially when said limitations are viewed in light of applicant’s specification, and when they are considered along with the superseding limitations in parent claims 1 and 3.
Claims 5-9 depends from claim 4. Thus, claims 5-9 also include the above noted allowable subject matter on parent claim 4.
Claims 10-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-13 depends from claim 4. Consequently, claims 10-13 also contain the above noted allowable subject matter in parent claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654